DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species IV, Figs. 14-20 in the reply filed on 05/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Figures 14-20 are different view of that same shower system 100 which is capable of transitioning between a standing position shown in Figs. 1-8 and a seated position shown in Figs. 9-22.This is found persuasive. Therefore, the restriction requirement among inventions I, II, III, IV and V, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 03/27/2026, is hereby withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,850. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application teaches a shower system comprising a shower system comprising: a shower frame; a plurality of nozzles located on the shower frame and configured to spray water from the shower frame; and a shower seat pivotally connected to the shower frame and configured to pivot between a first position and a second position relative to the shower frame, all of which are recited in claim 1 of the US patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng et al. (2022/0259841).
Regarding claim 1, Peng et al. disclose a shower system comprising: a shower frame 3,1, 61 ;a plurality of nozzles 3 located on the shower frame 3,1,61 and configured to spray water from the shower frame 3,1,61; and a shower seat 62 pivotally connected to the shower frame 3,1,61 and configured to pivot between a first position (Fig. 2) and a second position (Fig. 3) relative to the shower frame 3,1,61.
Regarding claim 6, Peng et al. disclose a mounting structure 61 configured to be mounted on a substantially vertical surface; wherein the shower seat 62 is hingedly connected to the mounting structure 61 along a rear edge of the shower seat 62.
Regarding claim 7, the shower seat 62 is pivotally connected to the shower frame 3,1,61 along a side edge of the shower seat 62 such that: the shower frame 3,1,61 moves toward a wall upon which the shower system is mounted when the shower seat 62 moves into the second position; and the shower frame 3,1,61 moves away from the wall upon which the shower system is mounted when the shower seat 62 moves into the first position.
Regarding claim 15, Peng et al. disclose a shower system comprising: a waterway 3 comprising a plurality of nozzles 31; a shower seat 62 comprising a seat base 62 configured to support a user in a seated position and a seat back 61; and a set of controls 4 located on the shower seat and configured to control a flow of water to the plurality of nozzles 31.
Regarding claim 19, the waterway comprises a shower frame 3,1,61 comprising a plurality of substantially coplanar frame segments 3 forming at least part of a perimeter of the shower frame 3,1,61; and the plurality of nozzles 31 are distributed across the plurality of substantially coplanar frame segments 3,1,61 and configured to spray water inward from the perimeter of the shower frame 3,1,61.
Regarding claim 20, the seat base 62 is pivotally connected to the seat back 61 and configured to pivot between a first position in which the seat base 62 is substantially perpendicular to the seat back 61 and a second position in which the seat base 62 is substantially parallel with the seat back 61.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-14 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoshida et al. teach a shower system comprising a shower frame 47, 28; a plurality of nozzles 48 on the frame 47,28 and a shower seat 29 pivotally connected to the shower frame 47, 28.
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754