This office action is in response to application 18920595 filed on October 18, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated January 10, 2025 and December 22, 2025 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609, a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 10, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (WO2022121817A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method for creating a group in a virtual environment, the method comprising:
displaying a first virtual object and a plurality of second virtual objects in the virtual environment (In order to facilitate social interaction between users, users can create groups in social applications to communicate with more people at the same time … For example, as shown in FIG. 2 , the group identifiers of the multiple chat groups may be the group identifier A of the chat group 1 and the group identifier B of the chat group 2 … As shown in FIG. 5 , the target interface displays a contact S1 , a contact S2 , a contact S3 , a contact S4 and the user himself S5)([8], [54], and [70]; Figures 2 and 5 – displaying plurality of virtual objects is shown);
receiving a touch input on at least one of the plurality of second virtual objects (The user drags the group identifier A onto the group identifier B … After selecting the contact S1, the contact S2 and the contact S3, the user can drag the identification S1 of the contact S1, the identification S2 of the contact S2 and the identification S3 of the contact S3 to the identification S5 of the user S5)([54] and [70]);
based on the at least one of the plurality of second virtual objects including at least two second virtual objects of the plurality of second virtual objects, selecting the at least two second virtual objects from the plurality of second virtual objects as group creation virtual objects (The user S5 may merge the contact S1, the contact S2, and the contact S3 into the same chat group)([70]; if a user selects multiple virtual objects they are included in group creation); and
creating the group that includes the first virtual object and the group creation virtual objects (to create a chat group. 1. That is, the members in the first chat group include: contact S1, contact S2, contact S3 and user S5)([70]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
generating and displaying a group identifier in the virtual environment after the group is created (After the electronic device receives the first input, it will generate a new identity, that is, the target group identity, according to the group identity A and the group identity B. As shown in FIG. 3 , the electronic device generates a target group identification AB according to the group identification)([61]); and
adding a third virtual object to the group in response to a drag operation to move the third virtual object to a location of the group identifier, wherein the third virtual object is one of the plurality of second virtual objects not previously included in the group (The multiple chat groups in the above embodiment may be chat groups created by merging contacts corresponding to the same chat topic)([64]; a user can continually drag additional objects to include in a group).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the touch input includes receiving a plurality of drag operations performed on the plurality of second virtual objects (After selecting the contact S1, the contact S2 and the contact S3, the user can drag the identification S1 of the contact S1, the identification S2 of the contact S2 and the identification S3 of the contact S3)([70]); and
when the plurality of drag operations are completed at a target location of a group identifier, the selecting includes selecting the plurality of second virtual objects corresponding to the received drag operations as the group creation virtual objects (to the identification S5 of the user S5 to create a chat group. 1. That is, the members in the first chat group include: contact S1, contact S2, contact S3 and user S5)([70]).
Regarding apparatus claims 13 and 19, the claims generally correspond to method claims 1 and 7, respectively, and recite similar features in apparatus form; therefore, the claims are rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 20, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 1, and recite similar features in non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form; therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in further view of Wakai et al. (US20070050726A1).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the method as applied above, wherein multiple objects are selected (The user drags the group identifier A onto the group identifier B … After selecting the contact S1, the contact S2 and the contact S3, the user can drag the identification S1 of the contact S1, the identification S2 of the contact S2 and the identification S3 of the contact S3 to the identification S5 of the user S5)([54] and [70]).
Huang differs from the claim in that Huang fails to teach a slide operation selecting multiple objects, wherein the slide operation includes a plurality of pause positions, each pause position pausing the slide operation for a predefined duration to select objects. However, a slide operation selecting multiple objects, wherein the slide operation includes a plurality of pause positions, each pause position pausing the slide operation for a predefined duration to select objects is taught by Wakai (Drag stop execution means 23 executes processing corresponding to a stop during a drag on the drag object. The stop during a drag represents a state where the movement of the icon being dragged has stopped for a predetermined time period (for example, one second) or more .. FIG. 9 depicts a view illustrating an example of a state in which objects are dragged according to the third embodiment ... In reference numeral 900, an object 910 in the object display area corresponding to a drag start location 97 is dragged as 98 along a path passing through other objects ... In reference numeral 901, a drag stop at 99 is made on the drag object being dragged by a continued drag, followed by a drag as 9 a proceeds ... Reference numeral 902 denotes an example where the mouse cursor is stopped at 9 b on the drag object by a further continued drag, followed by a drag as 9 c ... The drag objects 910 to 912, 914 being dragged are pasted on the image 95 at the current stop location 9 d ... FIG. 10 depicts a view illustrating an example of drag object management data according to the third embodiment)([0046], [0078], [0080-0083], and [0085]; Figures 9 and 10 - a slide operation selecting multiple objects upon pausing for a duration is shown).
The examiner notes Huang and Wakai teach a selecting objects on a user interface. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to include the selecting of Wakai such that a slide operation selects multiple objects, wherein the slide operation includes a plurality of pause positions, each pause position pausing the slide operation for a predefined duration to select objects. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving usability by selecting of multiple objects with a single operation.
Regarding claim 6, Huang-Wakai teach the method according to claim 5, further comprising: displaying a management interface for a single second virtual object when the slide operation is completed and only one pause position is detected, the only one pause position is detected indicating that the at least one of the plurality of second virtual objects is one second virtual object (Wakai - FIG. 7 depicts a view illustrating an example of the drag operation of objects ... In reference numeral 701, an object 711 is dragged as 7 a via a drag stop at 79 on the image 75)([0072]; Figure 7 – selecting a single object upon a single pause position is shown).
Regarding apparatus claims 17 and 18, the claims generally correspond to method claims 5 and 6, respectively, and recite similar features in apparatus form; therefore, the claims are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in further view of Hong (US20170109013A1).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the method as applied above, wherein a group identifier is displayed (After the electronic device receives the first input, it will generate a new identity, that is, the target group identity, according to the group identity A and the group identity B. As shown in FIG. 3 , the electronic device generates a target group identification AB according to the group identification)([61]).
Huang differs from the claim in that Huang fails to teach displaying a group chat interface including a return control element, wherein activation of the return control element displays the group identifier. However, displaying a group chat interface including a return control element, wherein activation of the return control element displays a group identifier is taught by Hong (A screenshot shown in FIG. 7 is a chat window list screen of a messenger program ... The terminal 100 may display a group icon in a certain area of the item of this group chat window ... a screenshot shown in FIG. 8 is a group chat window screen 710 of a messenger program ... Although not shown, the terminal 100 may inactivate the text input region not to be displayed when a user's input is detected from a return button ... the terminal 100 may leave the current chat window screen and then display a certain execution screen of the messenger program)([0130], [0132], and [0138]).
The examiner notes Huang and Hong teach managing communication between users. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to include the displaying of Hong such that a group chat interface including a return control element, wherein activation of the return control element displays a group identifier. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing a user to seamlessly transition between interfaces.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, Hong, and in further view of “Reorder the teams list in Microsoft Teams” (publicly accessible June 4, 2020); hereinafter referred to as Teams.
Regarding claim 9, Huang-Hong discloses the method as applied above, wherein a group identifier is displayed (Huang - After the electronic device receives the first input, it will generate a new identity, that is, the target group identity, according to the group identity A and the group identity B. As shown in FIG. 3 , the electronic device generates a target group identification AB according to the group identification)([61]).
Huang-Hong differs from the claim in that Huang-Hong fails to teach moving the group identifier in response to a drag operation. However, moving a group identifier in response to a drag operation is taught by Teams (To see all your teams, look under Your teams ... Hold and drag it anywhere on your list of teams)(page 2).
The examiner notes Huang, Hong, and Teams teach managing communication between users. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang-Hong to include the moving of Teams such that a group identifier is moved in response to a drag operation. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of allowing a user customize presentation a user interface.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in further view of Oddiraju et al. (US20130246975A1).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses the method as applied above, wherein a group is generated and a group identifier is displayed (After the electronic device receives the first input, it will generate a new identity, that is, the target group identity, according to the group identity A and the group identity B. As shown in FIG. 3 , the electronic device generates a target group identification AB according to the group identification)([61]).
Huang differs from the claim in that Huang fails to teach generating a group in response to simultaneous long press operations on objects. However, generating a group in response to simultaneous long press operations on objects is taught by Oddiraju (FIG. 3 is a flow chart illustrating one example of determining a group selection based on gesture input ... Moving to 301, a processor determines whether the direction of a gesture input relative to the icon indicates a group selection ... The gesture, may include a touch with multiple fingers or two hands moving ... If determined that the gesture distance indicates a group, selection, the method proceeds to 303 to determine whether the duration of the gesture input indicates a group selection)([0025], [0027], and [0030]).
The examiner notes Huang and Oddiraju teach grouping objects. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to include the generating of Oddiraju such that a group is generated in response to simultaneous long press operations on objects. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of avoiding accidental selection of objects.
Regarding claim 12, Huang-Oddiraju teach the method according to claim 11, wherein the drag operation starts from the long-press operation (Oddiraju - The user may then perform a dragging gesture motion indicating that the selected icon is to be added to a group selection. The determination may be based on the distance, duration, and direction of the dragging motion)([0018]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for grouping objects.
US20080235610A1
US20110191718A1
US20110193785A1
US20130328804A1
US20140068468A1
US20160378291A1
US10296128B2
US11376509B2
CN108449260A
CN112866092A
CN111740850A
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118