DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 June 2026
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed on 1 June 2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-11 and 13-14 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn as noted above.
Claims 1-14 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7 May 2026 and 4 June 2025 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDSs are hereby attached.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “wherein accessing the drive route for the refrigerated trailer comprises accessing the drive route for the refrigerated trailer”. The examiner believes that this recitation is a typographical error as the limitation is repeated without further limiting the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “selecting a stored drive route from a historical drive route database;” and “in response to a leg of the stored drive route corresponding to a current leg in the set of legs of the drive route, detecting a state of charge of the battery assembly for a subsequent leg from the stored drive route”. It is not clear how a state of charge of a battery assembly can be detected for a subsequent route based on a leg of a stored drive route. That is, the current state of a charge of a battery cannot be detected based on a past route. Further a current state of charge of a battery cannot be detected for a subsequent route, not yet traversed Rather, a predicted state of charge of the battery can be determined based on a stored route for a subsequent route.
Claim 7 recites “allocating the excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly for torque output by the refrigerated trailer to a second leg, in the set of legs, characterized by a positive slope”. It is unclear to the examiner what is being characterized by a positive slope. The language here is wholly unclear. As written, it appears that the “allocating excess electrical energy” is characterized by a positive slope, but it is not clear how the step of allocating can be characterized by a positive slope. Instead, perhaps it is the excess electrical energy stored that is characterized by a positive slope. In another interpretation the set of legs can be interpreted as being characterized by a positive slope.
Claim 9 recites “wherein calculating the target state of charge of the battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer comprises calculating the target state of charge of the battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer to supply the quantity of electrical energy to an electrical refrigeration subsystem to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer”. Claim 9 depends from claim 1 which recites “calculating a target state of charge of a battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer to supply the quantity of electrical energy to a refrigeration system to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer”. It is not clear if the calculation of claim 9 is the same calculation or a different calculation of the target state of charge. Is this a separate step of calculating or does the limitation of claim 9 further refine the first calculation of the target state of charge. For example, it is not clear if the target state of charge of claim 9 (which takes into account the liquid fuel) is the same as that of claim 1 (which does not take into the liquid fuel).
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: identifying an absence of shore power. The examiner notes that the process recites “in response to identifying absence of shore power…” however, there is no step to determine whether there an absence of shore power. Claim 11 has a similar recitation of “in response to identifying presence of shore power”. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 14 recites “ interpreting the first energy preference as a maximum fuel efficiency”. It is not clear what is meant by interpreting as a step in a claim wherein the step is presumably carried out by a computer. A computer does not “interpret”. The examiner recommends reciting “setting the first energy preference as a maximum fuel efficiency”
Claim 8 depend from claim 7 and is similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on its dependency on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec et al. (US-20200141746-A1, hereinafter Srnec) in view of Hance et al. (US 20190066041 A1 hereinafter Hance).
Regarding claim 1, Srnec teaches a method for monitoring energy of a refrigerated trailer comprising:
accessing a drive route for the refrigerated trailer between a current location and a destination location (see at least Srnec Figure 2-6, receive planned route 206 and receive route status data 208, determine energy sufficient to complete the planned route 210 , [0044-0050],”In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered.” [0046] “In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” [0050] “At 210, the method 200 determines whether the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route. Processor 110 can generate a prediction of the energy consumption of transport climate control system 102 over the planned route received at 206, based on the route status data received at 208.” See also [0076])
accessing a target temperature range for an interior of the refrigerated trailer containing a set of goods (see at least Srnec [0076-0078] wherein a lookup table can include identification and preferred temperatures and an allowable set point adjustment for the goods can be determined, e.g. a maximum allowable deviation temperature. See [0076-0077] “At 602, processor 110 receives cargo data. The cargo data may be stored in a memory, or provided to processor 110 via remote device 114 via communication link 116. The cargo data may include, for example, identification and/or classification of the goods carried in the transport unit 100. An identification of the goods may be a particular identifier such as the type of goods, such as the particular kind of fruit or vegetable included in the cargo. A classification of the goods may be an indication of the category of goods being carried, such as meats, produce, or the like. In an embodiment, a lookup table correlating identifications or classifications of goods with preferred and/or permissible temperatures is stored in a memory coupled to processor 110. This lookup table may be used to identify the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods in transport unit 100, based on the cargo data received at 602. In an embodiment, the cargo data received at 602 includes the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for those goods during transit. In an embodiment, the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods may be data that is manually entered into the system, for example at the time of loading. In an embodiment, a user input at display 112, such as a touch-screen included in display 112 may be used to enter the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods. In an embodiment, remote device 114 may be used to enter the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods. In an embodiment, display 112 and/or remote device 114 may prompt a user for the input of preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods, for example when a route is started. The method 600 then proceeds to 604….[0078] At 604, processor 110 determines an allowable set point adjustment. The allowable set point adjustment is the a deviation from the current temperature set points of the transport climate control system 102 that remains within the preferred and/or permissible temperatures obtained in or based on the cargo data received by the processor 110 at 602. In an embodiment, the allowable set point adjustment can be the maximum permissible deviation from the current temperature set points based on the permissible temperatures for the goods.”)
estimating a quantity of electrical energy to maintain temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer within the target temperature range for the time duration (see at least Srnec Figure 4, determine predicted energy consumption 608 and [0065] “At 406, processor 110 determines the predicted energy consumption for the planned route. The predicted energy consumption can be determined based on the planned route and the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. In particular, the predicted energy consumption may be determined by using the planned route and the route status data to determine the location and duration of when the transport climate control system 102 is powered by the energy storage device 106. The route status data may further be used to provide information on ambient conditions during the planned route. The ambient conditions may include, for example, ambient temperature and cloud cover or solar intensity where the transport climate control system 102 is located. The ambient conditions corresponding to the time and location of the transport climate control system 102 when it is being powered solely by the energy storage device 106 may be used to determine the energy consumption of the transport climate control system 102 during the planned route. The energy consumption may be determined based on a model, such as a function, simulation data, or a predetermined lookup table for energy consumption over time by the transport climate control system 102 based on ambient conditions. In an embodiment using such a mode, the total energy consumption can be an integral over time of the energy consumption based on the ambient conditions at particular points in time.” See also Figure 6, determine predicted energy consumption 608 based an adjusted set point temperature for the goods based on the preferred temperature for said goods, [0080] At 608, processor 110 determines a predicted updated energy consumption for transport climate control system 102 when the adjusted set point values determined at 606 are adopted. The predicted updated energy consumption may be determined by processor 110 by conducting the determination of energy consumption as described in 406, but using an alternative model for energy consumption that is reflective of the adjusted set point values determined at 606.” See also [0050].);
calculating a target state of charge of a battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer to supply the quantity of electrical energy to a refrigeration system to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec Figure 6 wherein the target state of charge of the battery assembly is greater than the determined predicted energy consumption and wherein it is determined that the energy consumption allows the route to be completed in 612. See at least [0082] “At 612, the processor 110 determines whether the predicted updated energy consumption allows the route to be completed. The predicted updated energy consumption determined at 608 is compared to the energy level received at 610. In an embodiment, when it is determined that the updated energy consumption does not allow the route to be completed, the process may iterate by returning to 606, where processor 110 determines another adjusted set point 606. When processor 110 determines that the updated energy consumption allows the route to be completed at 612, the adjusted set point values are provided to the user, for example as part of the notification provided at 216 of method 200 described above and shown in FIG. 2…” See also Figure 2, 4, and [0056], [0062] which describe determining if the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route.),; and
during traversal of the drive route by the refrigerated trailer coupled to a tow vehicle:
selectively outputting torque to a driven axle of the refrigerated trailer to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle (see at least Srnec Figure 1, prime mover 122 which causes the vehicle to move using torque applied to a driven axle. This is done selectively based on the user’s input, e.g. throttle. Though an axle is not explicitly shown in the figure, [0041] discloses an axle. See [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100.” The examiner notes the language “to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle is intended use language and is not given patentable weight);
selectively regeneratively braking the driven axle to recharge the battery assembly and to achieve the target state of charge of the battery assembly upon arrival of the refrigerated trailer at the destination location (see at least Srnec [0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114. See also [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may optionally be included in vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 captures mechanical energy and converts it to electrical energy. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may be connected to energy storage device 106 and used to provide power to charge and/or supplement energy storage device 106.” [0044] “At 204, an energy level is determined by processor 110 based on the state of charge obtained at 202 by power meter 108. In some embodiments, the energy level is the state of charge. In some embodiments, the energy level further includes energy provided to the system by one or more energy harvesting devices. The energy harvesting devices may be, for example, solar panels 118 and/or regenerative braking device 120. In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered. In an embodiment, traffic data may further be used to predict the harvested energy.”)
Srnec teaches the vehicle includes many stops along a route and thus, the time for unloading is included in the determination of the overall sufficient energy level calculated, however to further prosecution the examiner provides Hance to teach this feature.
Hance teaches predicting a time duration between arrival of the refrigerated trailer at the destination location and unloading of the set of goods (see at least Hance [0173] “For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle.” See also [0171] and claim 9 and 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srnec with the teaching of Hance, with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Hance teaches this assists with predicting a time for unloading of cargo and thus whether a vehicle will reach the location by the deadline so as to ensure a smooth supply chain of goods.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
further comprising:
calculating a total distance of the drive route between the current location and the destination location (see at least Srnec Figure 2-6, receive planned route 206 and receive route status data 208, determine energy sufficient to complete the planned route 210 , [0044-0050],”In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered.” [0046] “In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” [0050] “At 210, the method 200 determines whether the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route. Processor 110 can generate a prediction of the energy consumption of transport climate control system 102 over the planned route received at 206, based on the route status data received at 208.” See also [0076])
accessing a battery capacity of the battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec, Figure 2 and 3, obtain state of charge 202 and receive state of charge 302, see also [0043-0044] “power meter 108, coupled to energy storage device 106. The state of charge is obtained while vehicle 10 and transport unit 100 are in transit and transport climate control system 102 is in operation. The state of charge may be obtained by power meter 108 through, for example, measurement of voltages and current, measurement of changes in voltage and current based on loading, or the like. The method then proceeds to 204….[0044] At 204, an energy level is determined by processor 110 based on the state of charge obtained at 202 by power meter 108. In some embodiments, the energy level is the state of charge.”); and
during traversal of the drive route by the refrigerated trailer:
- estimating an energy consumption rate of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec Figure 4, determine predicted energy consumption 608 and [0065] “At 406, processor 110 determines the predicted energy consumption for the planned route. The predicted energy consumption can be determined based on the planned route and the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. In particular, the predicted energy consumption may be determined by using the planned route and the route status data to determine the location and duration of when the transport climate control system 102 is powered by the energy storage device 106. The route status data may further be used to provide information on ambient conditions during the planned route. The ambient conditions may include, for example, ambient temperature and cloud cover or solar intensity where the transport climate control system 102 is located. The ambient conditions corresponding to the time and location of the transport climate control system 102 when it is being powered solely by the energy storage device 106 may be used to determine the energy consumption of the transport climate control system 102 during the planned route. The energy consumption may be determined based on a model, such as a function, simulation data, or a predetermined lookup table for energy consumption over time by the transport climate control system 102 based on ambient conditions. In an embodiment using such a mode, the total energy consumption can be an integral over time of the energy consumption based on the ambient conditions at particular points in time.” See also Figure 6, determine predicted energy consumption 608 based an adjusted set point temperature for the goods based on the preferred temperature for said goods, [0080] At 608, processor 110 determines a predicted updated energy consumption for transport climate control system 102 when the adjusted set point values determined at 606 are adopted. The predicted updated energy consumption may be determined by processor 110 by conducting the determination of energy consumption as described in 406, but using an alternative model for energy consumption that is reflective of the adjusted set point values determined at 606.” See also [0050].);; and
- predicting a distance traversable by the refrigerated trailer based on the battery capacity and the energy consumption rate of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec [0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route.); and
wherein selectively regeneratively braking to the driven axle comprises, in response to the distance traversable by the refrigerated trailer falling below the total distance of the drive route, triggering a motor of the refrigerated trailer to regeneratively brake the driven axle (see at least Srnec [0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114. See also [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may optionally be included in vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 captures mechanical energy and converts it to electrical energy. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may be connected to energy storage device 106 and used to provide power to charge and/or supplement energy storage device 106.” [0044] “At 204, an energy level is determined by processor 110 based on the state of charge obtained at 202 by power meter 108. In some embodiments, the energy level is the state of charge. In some embodiments, the energy level further includes energy provided to the system by one or more energy harvesting devices. The energy harvesting devices may be, for example, solar panels 118 and/or regenerative braking device 120. In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered. In an embodiment, traffic data may further be used to predict the harvested energy.”)
to recharge the battery assembly (see at least Srnec [0036] “The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120.”) .; and
to drive the battery assembly to a state of charge greater than the target state of charge (see at least Srnec [0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114. See also [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may optionally be included in vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 captures mechanical energy and converts it to electrical energy. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may be connected to energy storage device 106 and used to provide power to charge and/or supplement energy storage device 106.” [0044] “At 204, an energy level is determined by processor 110 based on the state of charge obtained at 202 by power meter 108. In some embodiments, the energy level is the state of charge. In some embodiments, the energy level further includes energy provided to the system by one or more energy harvesting devices. The energy harvesting devices may be, for example, solar panels 118 and/or regenerative braking device 120. In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered. In an embodiment, traffic data may further be used to predict the harvested energy.”)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
further comprising, at the refrigerated trailer during traversal of the drive route:
segmenting the drive route into a set of legs between the current location and the destination location (see at least Srnec Figure 5, [0071] “identifying and selecting route segments expected to have ambient temperatures, cloud cover, and/or solar intensity conditions that would reduce energy consumption by the transport climate control system 102 when it is powered by the energy storage device 106. In an embodiment, the alternate route may adjust the order of stops to perform all stops outside of dense urban areas first, for example to maximize the power harvested by solar panels 118. In an embodiment, the processor 110 can determine the alternate route by identifying and selecting route segments that reduce the amount of time the transport climate control system must be powered by the energy storage device or that increase the amount of time the transport climate control system is powered by prime mover 122 and/or during which the energy storage device 106 may be charged by alternator 124. In an embodiment, off-board processing at a processor connected to or in communication with remote device 114 may be used to determine the alternate route. The route segments are combined into a route among all of the necessary stops identified at 504. The method 500 then proceeds to 508” See also Srnec [0051] “ Optionally, at 212, an alternate route is determined using processor 110. The alternate route is a route different from the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route includes all stops from the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route includes fewer stops than the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106. In an embodiment, the determination of the alternate route includes selecting stops to skip based on a prioritization ranking for each of the stops. The prioritization ranking may be based on the frequency of deliveries to that customer, the cargo being delivered to that customer, previous skipping of that customer, etc. An example embodiment of 212 providing a method for processor 110 to determine an alternate route is shown in FIG. 5 and described in detail below. The method 200 then proceeds to 216” );
selecting a stored drive route from a historical drive route database (see at least Srnec Figure 5 [0059] “In an embodiment, previous trip data may be used to predict energy harvesting. For example, an average energy harvesting over a number of previous trips along the same route as the predicted route may be used as the value for predicted energy harvesting. In an embodiment, the previous trip data corresponding to the planned route and the energy harvesting data for that previous trip data may be obtained via remote device 114 and data storage and processing outside of vehicle 10.” See also [0051] and [0071] as cited above);
in response to a leg of the stored drive route corresponding to a current leg in the set of legs of the drive route, detecting a state of charge of the battery assembly for a subsequent leg from the stored drive route (see at least Srnec Figure 5 [0059] “In an embodiment, previous trip data may be used to predict energy harvesting. For example, an average energy harvesting over a number of previous trips along the same route as the predicted route may be used as the value for predicted energy harvesting. In an embodiment, the previous trip data corresponding to the planned route and the energy harvesting data for that previous trip data may be obtained via remote device 114 and data storage and processing outside of vehicle 10.”; See also Srnec [0051] “ Optionally, at 212, an alternate route is determined using processor 110. The alternate route is a route different from the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route includes all stops from the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route includes fewer stops than the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106. In an embodiment, the determination of the alternate route includes selecting stops to skip based on a prioritization ranking for each of the stops. The prioritization ranking may be based on the frequency of deliveries to that customer, the cargo being delivered to that customer, previous skipping of that customer, etc. An example embodiment of 212 providing a method for processor 110 to determine an alternate route is shown in FIG. 5 and described in detail below. The method 200 then proceeds to 216”).; and
detecting an exit state of charge of the battery assembly while the refrigerated trailer exits the current leg (see at least Srnec Figure 5, 510 determine whether energy consumption allows alternative route to be completed; See also [0073] At 510, processor 110 determines whether the energy consumption determined at 508 allows the alternate route to be completed”) and
wherein selectively regeneratively braking to the driven axle comprises, in response to the exit state of charge of the battery assembly falling below the state of charge of the battery assembly for the subsequent leg, triggering a motor of the refrigerated trailer to output regenerative braking torque to the driven axle to recharge the battery assembly and to reduce a difference between the exit state of charge and the state of charge (see at least Srnec [0061] “] At 308, the state of charge, predicted charging, and predicted energy harvesting are combined to determine the overall energy level. The overall energy level determined by processor 110 via the method 300 can include the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 and predicted values for additional energy that may be provided over the route by a prime mover and energy harvesting devices such as solar panels, regenerative braking devices, or the like. The combined value may then continue through the method 200 shown in FIG. 2, to be used in determining whether the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route at 210.”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1, further comprising, during traversal of the drive route by the refrigerated trailer:
detecting a first state of charge of the battery assembly along a first leg in a set of legs of the drive route (see at least Srnec Figure 4 wherein the process is iterated [0062] “determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.).; and
in response to the first state of charge exceeding the target state of charge of the battery assembly route (see at least Srnec Figure 4 wherein the process is iterated [0062] “determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.).:
calculating an excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly based on a difference between the first state of charge and the target state of charge of the battery assembly route (see at least Srnec Figure 4 wherein the process is iterated [0062] “determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.).; and
allocating the excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly for torque output by the refrigerated trailer to a second leg, in the set of legs, characterized by a positive slope route (see at least Srnec Figure 4 wherein the process is iterated [0062] “determining segments of the route using stored energy 404, determining predicted energy consumption 406, and comparing the predicted energy consumption to the energy level 408. Where the energy level is greater than the predicted energy consumption, the method 200, 400 may end or continue iterating by returning to obtaining the state of charge at 202 as shown in FIG. 2 and described above.)..
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
further comprising:
predicting a second time duration for the refrigerated trailer to traverse the drive route (see at least Srnec [0010] “ In an embodiment, the method further includes determining a predicted run time for the transport climate control system based on the energy level, the planned route, and the route data, and presenting the predicted run time to the user via the display”. [0058] “In particular, the predicted charging can be based on, for example, the efficiency of alternator 124, the predicted time prime mover 122 will be operated during the planned route, the consumption of energy by transport climate control system 102 during operation of prime mover 122, and the like.”); and
estimating a quantity of energy from liquid fuel to supply to a diesel-powered refrigeration subsystem within the refrigeration system to maintain temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer within the target temperature range for the second time duration (see at least Srnec Figure 3, wherein the state of charge, prime mover charging and predicted energy harvesting are combined to determine whether energy level is sufficient See also [0028] “Compressor 104 may be an electrically powered compressor, powered by energy storage device 106 and optionally further capable of receiving power from alternator 124 connected to prime mover 122 or from a vehicle power source. Compressor 104 may be a hybrid compressor, powered by energy storage device 106 and a mechanical connection to prime mover 122.” See also [0031] “0031] Prime mover 122 may be an internal combustion engine, such as a gasoline or diesel engine. In some embodiments, prime mover 122 can directly drive operation of compressor 104 at least a portion of the time when the transport climate control system 102 is in use.” See also {0046] In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” This teaches the supply of fuel available); and
wherein calculating the target state of charge of the battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer comprises calculating the target state of charge of the battery assembly of the refrigerated trailer to supply the quantity of electrical energy to an electrical refrigeration subsystem to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec Figure 6 wherein the target state of charge of the battery assembly is greater than the determined predicted energy consumption and wherein it is determined that the energy consumption allows the route to be completed in 612. See at least [0082] “At 612, the processor 110 determines whether the predicted updated energy consumption allows the route to be completed. The predicted updated energy consumption determined at 608 is compared to the energy level received at 610. In an embodiment, when it is determined that the updated energy consumption does not allow the route to be completed, the process may iterate by returning to 606, where processor 110 determines another adjusted set point 606. When processor 110 determines that the updated energy consumption allows the route to be completed at 612, the adjusted set point values are provided to the user, for example as part of the notification provided at 216 of method 200 described above and shown in FIG. 2…” See also Figure 2, 4, and [0056], [0062] which describe determining if the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route.); and
further comprising, during traversal of the drive route, triggering the diesel-powered refrigeration subsystem to supply the quantity of energy to the refrigeration system to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec [0051] “In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124.”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
wherein accessing the drive route for the refrigerated trailer comprises accessing the drive route for the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec Figure 2-6, receive planned route 206 and receive route status data 208, determine energy sufficient to complete the planned route 210 , [0044-0050],”In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered.” [0046] “In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for example a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.” [0050] “At 210, the method 200 determines whether the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route. Processor 110 can generate a prediction of the energy consumption of transport climate control system 102 over the planned route received at 206, based on the route status data received at 208.” See also [0076]) , the drive route specifying:
an intermediate location between the current location and the destination location (see at least Srnec wherein there are multiple stops and the stops may be prioritized based on power needs See Srnec [0068-0071] “At 502, the processor 110 determines the necessary stops. In an embodiment, all stops included in the planned route are treated as necessary. In an embodiment, the necessary stops may be determined based on, for example, flags or identifiers associated with each of the stops in the planned route. The method 500 then proceeds to 502….[0070] At 504, the processor 110 identifies the necessary stops in areas requiring stored energy. In an embodiment, all stops included in the planned route are treated as necessary stops….In an embodiment, the planned route includes data prioritizing each stop, and necessary stops are identified based on the prioritization data. … In an embodiment, the prioritization data may include whether charging facilities, such as a shore power connection, are available at the stop. The inclusion of charging facilities in the prioritization data may be included as a factor when generating the prioritization data…” See also Hance Figure 21 where there are multiple delivery locations, See also Hance [0172-0174] describing multiple stops “[0172] Additionally, although FIGS. 18-21 illustrate only a single additional stop on the second route before the initial delivery location, further examples may involve multiple stops. For example, cargo may be picked up from an automated warehouse and dropped off at a different delivery location before the delivery is completed at the initial delivery location….[0173] Further examples may involve generating a route for a delivery vehicle that involve stops at multiple separate automated warehouses. For instance, cargo may be picked up at a first automated warehouse and delivered to a second automated warehouse. In such scenarios, projected wait times may be determined for both automated warehouses before a decision to reroute a truck is made. For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle. The projected unload time may be determined based on cargo metrology information collected by one or more robots at the first automated warehouse….[0174] In further examples, additional processing time at one or more downstream stops may be caused by a decision to reroute a delivery vehicle to make an extra stop. In some examples, a central planning system may predict this additional processing time at one or more downstream stops, and factor this predicted amount of time into truck routing decisions…”) .; and
a storage duration for the set of goods contained in the refrigerated trailer at the intermediate location (see at least Srnec wherein the planned route takes into account the storage duration as the route includes multiple stops. Srnec [0051] “ Optionally, at 212, an alternate route is determined using processor 110. The alternate route is a route different from the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route includes all stops from the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route includes fewer stops than the planned route. In an embodiment, the alternate route increases the amount of time spent outside an area where the transport climate control system is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106, for example to allow a prime mover 122 to charge the energy storage device 106 via alternator 124. In an embodiment, alternate route alternates stops within and outside the area where the transport climate control system 102 is to be solely powered by the energy storage device 106. In an embodiment, the determination of the alternate route includes selecting stops to skip based on a prioritization ranking for each of the stops. The prioritization ranking may be based on the frequency of deliveries to that customer, the cargo being delivered to that customer, previous skipping of that customer, etc. An example embodiment of 212 providing a method for processor 110 to determine an alternate route is shown in FIG. 5 and described in detail below. The method 200 then proceeds to 216”). See also Hance wherein the total time including the duration at the intermediate location is considered [0171-0178] For example [0173] “Further examples may involve generating a route for a delivery vehicle that involve stops at multiple separate automated warehouses. For instance, cargo may be picked up at a first automated warehouse and delivered to a second automated warehouse. In such scenarios, projected wait times may be determined for both automated warehouses before a decision to reroute a truck is made. For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle. The projected unload time may be determined based on cargo metrology information collected by one or more robots at the first automated warehouse. [0178] In further examples, instead of determining if the delivery vehicle can meet the SLA deadline for one or more downstream stops, the central planning system may in some cases allow the delivery vehicle to be late to a stop and incur a potential penalty. In such scenarios, the central planning system may be configured to solve an optimization problem to globally optimize one or more metrics. For instance, an example metric for the system may involve minimizing cumulative minutes late across all stops. Another example metric may involve maximizing revenue booked by a company while factoring in potential costs associated with missed deadlines”)
further comprising, in response to identifying absence of shore power at the intermediate location on the drive route (see at least Srnec [0070] “In an embodiment, necessary stops may be determined based on the availability of charging at the particular stop. In an embodiment, the prioritization data may include whether charging facilities, such as a shore power connection, are available at the stop. The inclusion of charging facilities in the prioritization data may be included as a factor when generating the prioritization data. The method 500 then proceeds to 506.” The examiner notes the 112 rejection above, wherein there is no determination that there is an absence of shore power and thus, this limitation and the following limitations do not need to be met as the limitation is contingent on the determination. See MPEP § 2111.04 II regarding contingent limitations):.
estimating a second quantity of electrical energy to supply to an electrical refrigeration subsystem within the refrigeration system to maintain temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer within the target temperature range for the storage duration see at least Srnec Figure 4, determine predicted energy consumption 608 and [0065] “At 406, processor 110 determines the predicted energy consumption for the planned route. The predicted energy consumption can be determined based on the planned route and the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. In particular, the predicted energy consumption may be determined by using the planned route and the route status data to determine the location and duration of when the transport climate control system 102 is powered by the energy storage device 106. The route status data may further be used to provide information on ambient conditions during the planned route. The ambient conditions may include, for example, ambient temperature and cloud cover or solar intensity where the transport climate control system 102 is located. The ambient conditions corresponding to the time and location of the transport climate control system 102 when it is being powered solely by the energy storage device 106 may be used to determine the energy consumption of the transport climate control system 102 during the planned route. The energy consumption may be determined based on a model, such as a function, simulation data, or a predetermined lookup table for energy consumption over time by the transport climate control system 102 based on ambient conditions. In an embodiment using such a mode, the total energy consumption can be an integral over time of the energy consumption based on the ambient conditions at particular points in time.” See also Figure 6, determine predicted energy consumption 608 based an adjusted set point temperature for the goods based on the preferred temperature for said goods, [0080] At 608, processor 110 determines a predicted updated energy consumption for transport climate control system 102 when the adjusted set point values determined at 606 are adopted. The predicted updated energy consumption may be determined by processor 110 by conducting the determination of energy consumption as described in 406, but using an alternative model for energy consumption that is reflective of the adjusted set point values determined at 606.” See also [0050].); and
calculating a second target state of charge of the battery assembly, greater than the target state of charge, to supply the second quantity of electrical energy to the electrical refrigeration subsystem to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer , (see at least Srnec Figure 4, determine predicted energy consumption 608 and [0065] “At 406, processor 110 determines the predicted energy consumption for the planned route. The predicted energy consumption can be determined based on the planned route and the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. In particular, the predicted energy consumption may be determined by using the planned route and the route status data to determine the location and duration of when the transport climate control system 102 is powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also at least Srnec [0080] At 608, processor 110 determines a predicted updated energy consumption for transport climate control system 102 when the adjusted set point values determined at 606 are adopted. The predicted updated energy consumption may be determined by processor 110 by conducting the determination of energy consumption as described in 406, but using an alternative model for energy consumption that is reflective of the adjusted set point values determined at 606.” See also [0050].); and
wherein selectively regeneratively braking the driven axle comprises selectively regeneratively braking the driven axle:
to recharge the battery assembly; and
to achieve the second target state of charge of the battery assembly upon arrival of the refrigerated trailer at the intermediate location (see at least Srnec [0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114. See also [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may optionally be included in vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 captures mechanical energy and converts it to electrical energy. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may be connected to energy storage device 106 and used to provide power to charge and/or supplement energy storage device 106.” [0044] “At 204, an energy level is determined by processor 110 based on the state of charge obtained at 202 by power meter 108. In some embodiments, the energy level is the state of charge. In some embodiments, the energy level further includes energy provided to the system by one or more energy harvesting devices. The energy harvesting devices may be, for example, solar panels 118 and/or regenerative braking device 120. In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered. In an embodiment, traffic data may further be used to predict the harvested energy.” See also Srnec [0061] “] At 308, the state of charge, predicted charging, and predicted energy harvesting are combined to determine the overall energy level. The overall energy level determined by processor 110 via the method 300 can include the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 and predicted values for additional energy that may be provided over the route by a prime mover and energy harvesting devices such as solar panels, regenerative braking devices, or the like. The combined value may then continue through the method 200 shown in FIG. 2, to be used in determining whether the energy level is sufficient to complete the planned route at 210.”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
wherein accessing the target temperature range for the interior of the refrigerated trailer comprises receiving a cargo specification for the refrigerated trailer from a user via a user interface (see at least Srnec [0077] At 602, processor 110 receives cargo data. The cargo data may be stored in a memory, or provided to processor 110 via remote device 114 via communication link 116. The cargo data may include, for example, identification and/or classification of the goods carried in the transport unit 100. An identification of the goods may be a particular identifier such as the type of goods, such as the particular kind of fruit or vegetable included in the cargo. A classification of the goods may be an indication of the category of goods being carried, such as meats, produce, or the like. In an embodiment, a lookup table correlating identifications or classifications of goods with preferred and/or permissible temperatures is stored in a memory coupled to processor 110. This lookup table may be used to identify the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods in transport unit 100, based on the cargo data received at 602. In an embodiment, the cargo data received at 602 includes the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for those goods during transit. In an embodiment, the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods may be data that is manually entered into the system, for example at the time of loading. In an embodiment, a user input at display 112, such as a touch-screen included in display 112 may be used to enter the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods. In an embodiment, remote device 114 may be used to enter the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods. In an embodiment, display 112 and/or remote device 114 may prompt a user for the input of preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods, for example when a route is started. The method 600 then proceeds to 604.”), the cargo specification defining:
a delivery window for unloading the set of goods (see at least Hance [0159] … More specifically, the projected availability time indicates a time at which the delivery vehicle is expected to be able to pick up the cargo from the automated warehouse based on the scheduling information for the robots at the automated warehouse. In some examples, the projected availability time may be a window of time during which the cargo can be made available for pickup at the automated warehouse. In some examples, one or more robots at the automated warehouse make cargo available for pickup by moving the cargo to a loading dock (or the end of a loading dock) at the automated warehouse. See also Hance[0171] “Although FIGS. 18-21 illustrate a scenario in which a pickup from an automated warehouse is scheduled, it should be understood that example embodiments also include scenarios where a dropoff is made at an automated warehouse as well or instead. In such examples, a projected availability time may be a time at which one or more robots at the automated warehouse are expected to be available at a loading dock to unload cargo from a delivery truck. See Hance [0173] “For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle.” See also Hance claim 9 and 20);
a quantity of the set of goods contained within the interior of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Hance [0120] “Also, warehouse and supply-chain coordinator 100 can maintain manifest information for some or all shipments in the supply chain shown in FIGS. 2-6. For example, the manifest information for shipment 622 includes a listing of items included in the shipment; e.g., the listing includes complete quantity CQ600 of goods G600 as well as any other goods shipped from manufacturer 120 to warehouse 130 via truck 124 that is part of shipment 622.”); and
the target temperature range for the interior of the refrigerated trailer interface (see at least Srnec [0077] At 602, processor 110 receives cargo data. The cargo data may be stored in a memory, or provided to processor 110 via remote device 114 via communication link 116. The cargo data may include, for example, identification and/or classification of the goods carried in the transport unit 100. An identification of the goods may be a particular identifier such as the type of goods, such as the particular kind of fruit or vegetable included in the cargo. A classification of the goods may be an indication of the category of goods being carried, such as meats, produce, or the like. In an embodiment, a lookup table correlating identifications or classifications of goods with preferred and/or permissible temperatures is stored in a memory coupled to processor 110. This lookup table may be used to identify the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods in transport unit 100, based on the cargo data received at 602. In an embodiment, the cargo data received at 602 includes the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for those goods during transit. In an embodiment, the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods may be data that is manually entered into the system, for example at the time of loading. In an embodiment, a user input at display 112, such as a touch-screen included in display 112 may be used to enter the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods. In an embodiment, remote device 114 may be used to enter the preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods. In an embodiment, display 112 and/or remote device 114 may prompt a user for the input of preferred and/or permissible temperatures for the goods, for example when a route is started. The method 600 then proceeds to 604.”),; and
wherein predicting the time duration between arrival of the refrigerated trailer at the destination location and unloading of the set of goods comprises predicting the time duration between arrival of the refrigerated trailer at the destination location and unloading of the set of goods (see at least Hance [0173] “For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle.” See also [0171] and claim 9 and 20).
based on the quantity of the set of goods (see at least Hance [0113] Upon production of complete quantity CQ600 of goods G600, truck 124 picks up complete quantity CQ600 of goods G600 and conveys the goods as part of shipment 622 to warehouse 130. Complete quantity CQ600 of goods G600 are then unloaded and stored at warehouse 130.” The examiner notes that the quantity of goods and the number of robots to unload the cargo necessarily affects the unload time. See also Hance [0162] “In some examples, the software simulation may use a machine learning model for the prediction. In further examples, a number of robots that will be available to prepare the cargo for pickup and/or load the cargo onto a delivery vehicle may be predicted and used to generate the projected availability time.” See also [0171] and [0173] For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle. The projected unload time may be determined based on cargo metrology information collected by one or more robots at the first automated warehouse.”) ; and
based on the delivery window for unloading the set of goods (see at least Hance [0159] … More specifically, the projected availability time indicates a time at which the delivery vehicle is expected to be able to pick up the cargo from the automated warehouse based on the scheduling information for the robots at the automated warehouse. In some examples, the projected availability time may be a window of time during which the cargo can be made available for pickup at the automated warehouse. In some examples, one or more robots at the automated warehouse make cargo available for pickup by moving the cargo to a loading dock (or the end of a loading dock) at the automated warehouse. See also Hance[0171] “Although FIGS. 18-21 illustrate a scenario in which a pickup from an automated warehouse is scheduled, it should be understood that example embodiments also include scenarios where a dropoff is made at an automated warehouse as well or instead. In such examples, a projected availability time may be a time at which one or more robots at the automated warehouse are expected to be available at a loading dock to unload cargo from a delivery truck. See Hance [0173] “For the second warehouse, a projected unload time may be determined by which one or more robots at the second warehouse are expected to have unloaded the cargo from the delivery vehicle.” See also Hance claim 9 and 20).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Hance in further view of Ducher (US-20230243314-A1, hereinafter Ducher).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1 further comprising:
identifying an emissions regulation zone intersecting the drive route and accessing an emissions threshold for the tow vehicle, hauling the refrigerated trailer, within the emissions regulation zone (see at least Srnec [0035] “The route status data is data regarding the conditions affecting the route…The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. The route status data may include road availability information, such as, for example, road closures, detours, etc. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also Srnec [0046] “In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.”).
estimating a total energy to traverse a leg of the drive route within the emissions regulation zone (see at least Srnec Figures 2-4, determining whether the energy level is sufficient when the prime mover cannot be used within the emission zone. [0035] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. … In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106….[0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114.”);
However the combination of Srnec and Hance does not teach:
calculating a maximum energy from liquid fuel, available to the tow vehicle within the emissions regulation zone, based on the emissions threshold; and
calculating a minimum electrical energy stored in the battery assembly, upon entering the emissions regulation zone, based on a difference between the total energy and the maximum energy from liquid fuel; and
wherein selectively outputting torque to the driven axle comprises:
detecting a first current location of the refrigerated trailer; and
in response to the first current location intersecting the emissions regulation zone, triggering the battery assembly to supply the minimum electrical energy to a motor to output torque to the driven axle and to comply with the emissions threshold during traversal of the emissions regulation zone.
Ducher teaches
identifying an emissions regulation zone intersecting the drive route (see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.”);
accessing an emissions threshold for the tow vehicle, hauling the refrigerated trailer, within the emissions regulation zone (see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.”)
calculating a maximum energy from liquid fuel, available to the tow vehicle within the emissions regulation zone, based on the emissions threshold see at least Ducher wherein the engine or prime mover cannot be used and thus zero energy is available from the liquid fuel [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.”); and
calculating a minimum electrical energy stored in the battery assembly, upon entering the emissions regulation zone, based on a difference between the total energy and the maximum energy from liquid fuel (see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.” See also [0058-0059] “[0058] The method may comprise controlling the operational state of the engine such that the power level of the battery unit will be above a second predetermined value when the vehicle enters the region in which the engine should not be operated. The second predetermined level may be above 50%, above 55%, above 60%, above 65%, above 70%, above 75%, above 80%, above 85%, above 90%, or above 95% of the capacity of the battery unit….Even when a current power level of the battery unit indicates that the engine does not need to be operated, it may be desirable to charge the battery unit so that there is sufficient charge in the battery unit to power the refrigeration system of the transport refrigeration unit as the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. In this way, the vehicle may avoid the need either to operate the engine within the region or to deactivate the refrigeration system of the transport refrigeration unit.”); and
wherein selectively outputting torque to the driven axle comprises:
detecting a first current location of the refrigerated trailer; and
in response to the first current location intersecting the emissions regulation zone, triggering the battery assembly to supply the minimum electrical energy to a motor to output torque to the driven axle and to comply with the emissions threshold during traversal of the emissions regulation zone (see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.” See also Ducher [0134] “During the normal mode of operation, the control system 220 will switch the engine 250 to an operational state if a current power level of the battery unit 280 indicates that the battery unit 280 requires charging, as described above. However, if the current location indicates that the vehicle 100 has entered a region in which the engine 250 should not be operated, such as a low noise zone or a low emission zone, the control system 220 may switch the engine 250 to a non-operational state, if not already.” The examiner notes that the when the engine is in the non-operational state the battery supplies the minimum electrical energy to provide the motive force as described in Ducher).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Hance with the teaching of Ducher with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Ducher teaches this ensures that the battery has sufficient charge prior to entering the low or no emissions zone (see at least Ducher [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
further comprising:
identifying an emissions regulation zone intersecting the drive route (see at least Srnec [0035] “The route status data is data regarding the conditions affecting the route…The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. The route status data may include road availability information, such as, for example, road closures, detours, etc. In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also Srnec [0046] “In some embodiments, the energy level further includes predicted charging by alternator 124 coupled to the energy storage device 106. The predicted charging by the alternator 124 may be based on the planned route, for a predicted time or distance during which prime mover 122 can be operated before the route enters an emissions-restricted zone and the transport climate control system 102 must be operated without using prime mover 122.”);
estimating a total energy required to operate the refrigeration system of the refrigerated trailer during a leg of the drive route within the emissions regulation zone (see at least Srnec Figures 2-4, determining whether the energy level is sufficient when the prime mover cannot be used within the emission zone. [0035] “The route status data may include geographic data indicating characteristics of the geographic areas, such as constraints on emissions that may affect the ability to operate the prime mover 122. … In an embodiment, the route status data identifies areas where the transport climate control system 102 can be solely powered by the energy storage device 106….[0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114.”);
The combination of Srnec and Hance does not teach:
accessing a threshold emissions limit for the refrigeration system of the refrigerated trailer within the emissions regulation zone;
calculating a maximum energy from liquid fuel, available to a diesel-powered subsystem, within the refrigeration system, within the emissions regulation zone, based on the threshold emissions limit; and
calculating a minimum electrical energy, stored in the battery assembly, to supply to an electrical refrigeration subsystem, within the refrigeration system, upon entering the emissions regulation zone based on a difference between the total energy and the maximum energy from liquid fuel; and
further comprising, during traversal of the emissions regulation zone by the refrigerated trailer:
detecting a first current location of the refrigerated trailer; and
in response to the first current location intersecting the emissions regulation zone, triggering the battery assembly to supply the minimum electrical energy to the electrical refrigeration subsystem to comply with the threshold emissions limit during traversal of the emissions regulation zone.
Ducher teaches
identifying an emissions regulation zone intersecting the drive route (see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.”);
accessing a threshold emissions limit for the refrigeration system of the refrigerated trailer within the emissions regulation zone (see at least Ducher wherein the determination includes the refrigeration system of the refrigerated trailer [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.”);
calculating a maximum energy from liquid fuel, available to a diesel-powered subsystem, within the refrigeration system, within the emissions regulation zone, based on the threshold emissions limit (see at least Ducher wherein the engine or prime mover cannot be used and thus zero energy is available from the liquid fuel [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.” The examiner notes that Srnec teaches that the fuel is either gasoline or diesel Srnec [0031])); and
calculating a minimum electrical energy, stored in the battery assembly, to supply to an electrical refrigeration subsystem, within the refrigeration system, upon entering the emissions regulation zone based on a difference between the total energy and the maximum energy from liquid fuel see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.” See also [0058-0059] “[0058] The method may comprise controlling the operational state of the engine such that the power level of the battery unit will be above a second predetermined value when the vehicle enters the region in which the engine should not be operated. The second predetermined level may be above 50%, above 55%, above 60%, above 65%, above 70%, above 75%, above 80%, above 85%, above 90%, or above 95% of the capacity of the battery unit….Even when a current power level of the battery unit indicates that the engine does not need to be operated, it may be desirable to charge the battery unit so that there is sufficient charge in the battery unit to power the refrigeration system of the transport refrigeration unit as the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. In this way, the vehicle may avoid the need either to operate the engine within the region or to deactivate the refrigeration system of the transport refrigeration unit.”); and
further comprising, during traversal of the emissions regulation zone by the refrigerated trailer:
detecting a first current location of the refrigerated trailer; and
in response to the first current location intersecting the emissions regulation zone, triggering the battery assembly to supply the minimum electrical energy to the electrical refrigeration subsystem to comply with the threshold emissions limit during traversal of the emissions regulation zone (see at least Ducher [0057] “The method may comprise determining that the route of the vehicle passes through a region in which the engine should not be operated. The region in which the engine should not be operated may be a low emission zone or a low noise zone.” See also Ducher [0134] “During the normal mode of operation, the control system 220 will switch the engine 250 to an operational state if a current power level of the battery unit 280 indicates that the battery unit 280 requires charging, as described above. However, if the current location indicates that the vehicle 100 has entered a region in which the engine 250 should not be operated, such as a low noise zone or a low emission zone, the control system 220 may switch the engine 250 to a non-operational state, if not already.” The examiner notes that the when the engine is in the non-operational state the battery supplies the minimum electrical energy to provide the motive force as described in Ducher).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Hance with the teaching of Ducher with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Ducher teaches this ensures that the battery has sufficient charge prior to entering the low or no emissions zone (see at least Ducher [0059]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Hance in further view of Nimchuk (US 20180080776 A1, hereinafter Nimchuk).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1:
further comprising, during traversal of the drive route by the refrigerated trailer:
detecting a first location of the refrigerated trailer and a fuel consumption rate of the refrigerated trailer (see at least Srnec [0010] “ In an embodiment, the method further includes determining a predicted run time for the transport climate control system based on the energy level, the planned route, and the route data, and presenting the predicted run time to the user via the display”. See also Srnec [0065] “The energy consumption may be determined based on a model, such as a function, simulation data, or a predetermined lookup table for energy consumption over time by the transport climate control system 102 based on ambient conditions. In an embodiment using such a mode, the total energy consumption can be an integral over time of the energy consumption based on the ambient conditions at particular points in time”).;
predicting a distance traversable by the refrigerated trailer based on the fuel level and the fuel consumption rate (See at least Srnec[0053] At 216, processor 110 directs display 112 or remote device 114 to present a notification to the user. When it is determined at 210 that the energy level is insufficient to complete the planned route, the notification may be a notice that the energy level is insufficient to complete the planned route. The notification may be an indication of a predicted runtime or distance that can be successfully completed based on the energy level. The notification may optionally include an alternate route determined in 212 or operational adjustments determined in 214. In an embodiment, the notification includes a prompt for the user to accept the alternate route or the operational adjustments. In some embodiments, the method 200 can then optionally proceed to 218.) ; and
wherein selectively outputting torque to the driven axle to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle comprises, in response to the distance exceeding the remaining distance of the drive route, triggering the battery assembly to supply electrical energy to the driven axle for the remaining distance of the drive route to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle (see at least Srnec Figure 1, prime mover 122 which causes the vehicle to move using torque applied to a driven axle. See also at least Srnec [0036] The processor 110 is configured to determine, based on the planned route and the route status data, whether an energy level including the state of charge of the energy storage device 106 is sufficient to complete the planned route. The energy level may further include charging provided by alternator 124 when prime mover 122 is operated. In an embodiment, the energy level further includes power harvested by solar cells 118 and/or regenerative braking energy harvester 120. In an embodiment, when the energy level is not sufficient to complete the planned route, processor 110 sends a notification to display 112 and/or remote device 114. See also [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may optionally be included in vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 captures mechanical energy and converts it to electrical energy. Regenerative braking energy harvester 120 may be connected to energy storage device 106 and used to provide power to charge and/or supplement energy storage device 106.” [0044] “At 204, an energy level is determined by processor 110 based on the state of charge obtained at 202 by power meter 108. In some embodiments, the energy level is the state of charge. In some embodiments, the energy level further includes energy provided to the system by one or more energy harvesting devices. The energy harvesting devices may be, for example, solar panels 118 and/or regenerative braking device 120. In an embodiment, the energy output of the energy harvesting devices is predicted based on planned route and/or the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. For example, where the energy harvesting device is a regenerative braking device, the route data may be used to predict the amount of energy recovered. In an embodiment, traffic data may further be used to predict the harvested energy.”)
The combination of Srnec and Hance do not explicitly teach calculating a remaining distance of the drive route between the first location of the refrigerated trailer and the destination location and detecting a fuel level in a fuel tank
Nimchuk teaches calculating a remaining distance of the drive route between the first location of the refrigerated trailer and the destination location and detecting a fuel level in a fuel tank (see at least Nimchuk [0109] “The system includes: (a) a service receiving directly from the vehicle or through an external module vehicle data including current fuel levels and an average or expected fuel consumption rate; (b) a service generating an estimated time or distance remaining which the vehicle might travel prior to fuel levels falling below a refueling threshold; (c) a service determining whether a next planned fuel stop in a trip plan exceeds the estimate time or distance; and (d) a service updating the trip plan and a navigation route to include a replacement fuel stop that is predicted to be reachable within the average or expected fuel consumption rate and the refueling threshold.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Hance with the teaching of Nimchuk, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the process allows the system to determine whether there is sufficient energy to arrive at the destination.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Hance in view of Rehouma (US 20240278686 A1 hereinafter Rehouma).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 7, including where it is determined based on the map data elevation changes (see at least Srnec [0059] “A function defining the efficiency and/or output of the solar panels may then be used to determine a predicted solar energy. In an embodiment where the energy harvesting devices include regenerative braking energy harvesters, the length of the route, determined from the planned route, may be combined with traffic data or geographic data such as elevation changes, speed limits, etc. from the route status data to determine planned acceleration and deceleration during the planned route, and these used to determine the amount of energy likely to be harvested by regenerative braking.”), but does not teach wherein allocating the excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly for torque output by the refrigerated trailer comprises:
accessing a first elevation profile of the second leg, in the set of legs, from a map database; and
in response to the first elevation profile indicating an altitude increase across the second leg, allocating the excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly for torque output, by the refrigerated trailer, to the second leg in the set of legs along the drive route.
Rehouma teaches wherein allocating the excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly for torque output by the refrigerated trailer comprises:
accessing a first elevation profile of the second leg, in the set of legs, from a map database; and
in response to the first elevation profile indicating an altitude increase across the second leg, allocating the excess electrical energy stored in the battery assembly for torque output, by the refrigerated trailer, to the second leg in the set of legs along the drive route (see at least Rehouma [0038] “In one example, the network is further configured such that: ii) when the truck is moving uphill at an incline and at an accelerating speed, energy flows simultaneously from the battery pack and the fuel storage system via the junction box to the electric motor as to power the truck.”);.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Hance with the teaching of Rehouma to use the stored energy during an incline, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure enough energy for the trip and to increase fuel efficiency.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Hance in view of Perten et al. (US-20080252469-A1 hereinafter Perten).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Srnec and Hance teach the method of Claim 1, further comprising, in response to identifying presence of shore power at an intermediate location of the drive route (The examiner notes the 112 rejection above, wherein there is no determination that there is an absence of shore power and thus, this limitation and the following limitations do not need to be met as the limitation is contingent on the determination. See MPEP § 2111.04 II regarding contingent limitations)::
decreasing the target state of charge of the battery assembly to supply the quantity of electrical energy to the refrigeration system to modulate temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer at the destination location (see at least Srnec Figure 4, determine predicted energy consumption 608 and [0065] “At 406, processor 110 determines the predicted energy consumption for the planned route. The predicted energy consumption can be determined based on the planned route and the route status data received by processor 110 at 206 and 208, respectively. In particular, the predicted energy consumption may be determined by using the planned route and the route status data to determine the location and duration of when the transport climate control system 102 is powered by the energy storage device 106.” See also at least Srnec [0080] “At 608, processor 110 determines a predicted updated energy consumption for transport climate control system 102 when the adjusted set point values determined at 606 are adopted. The predicted updated energy consumption may be determined by processor 110 by conducting the determination of energy consumption as described in 406, but using an alternative model for energy consumption that is reflective of the adjusted set point values determined at 606.” See also [0050].);;
assigning the prompt to the intermediate location within the drive route (see at least Srnec Figure 5 and [0071] and [0051] wherein there are multiple stops and the user accepts the alternative route using the user interface, See also Hance Figure 21 wherein there are intermediate stops and Figure 17 wherein the second route is provided to the delivery vehicle See at least Hance [0167] “[0167] Referring back to FIG. 17, method 1700 may further include providing the second route to the delivery vehicle, as shown by block 1760. More specifically, an electronic communication may be sent to the delivery vehicle or a computing device on the delivery vehicle in order to cause the delivery vehicle to follow the second route and stop at the automated warehouse. For instance, the second route may be displayed on a user device of a driver of the delivery vehicle or instructions to follow the second route may be sent to an autonomous control system of the delivery vehicle.”)); and
presenting the drive route to the user within a user interface vehicle See at least Hance [0167] “Referring back to FIG. 17, method 1700 may further include providing the second route to the delivery vehicle, as shown by block 1760. More specifically, an electronic communication may be sent to the delivery vehicle or a computing device on the delivery vehicle in order to cause the delivery vehicle to follow the second route and stop at the automated warehouse. For instance, the second route may be displayed on a user device of a driver of the delivery vehicle or instructions to follow the second route may be sent to an autonomous control system of the delivery vehicle.”).
The combination of Srnec and Hance teaches using shore power to power the refrigerator truck at an intermediate point (see at least Srnec [0070] “In an embodiment, the prioritization data may include whether charging facilities, such as a shore power connection, are available at the stop. The inclusion of charging facilities in the prioritization data may be included as a factor when generating the prioritization data...”), however, the combination does not do not teach generating a prompt for a user to manually connect shore power at the intermediate location to an electrical port arranged on the refrigerated trailer; and
Perten discloses notifying the user to manually connect shore power at the intermediate location (see at least Perten [0040] “Thus, the system notifies the user whether the container (which is running on genset power) is within connecting range of a shore-based power outlet. The system performs such notification via web-page screen, email, or other transmission. Thus, if a unit is known to be running on genset power, but is known to be located near a shore power outlet, the system notifies the user to switch to shore power.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Hance with the teaching of Perten to provide the notification with a reasonable expectation of success, because the notification can ensure that the charging facilities are used, leading to a more fuel efficient energy (see at least Perten [0006]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srnec and Hance in further view of Ducher (US-20230243314-A1, hereinafter Ducher) and Yasuda (US 20230049900 A1 hereinafter Yasuda).
Regarding claim 14, Srnec and Hance teaches the method of Claim 1 including a user interface for inputting a user preference (see at least Srnec [0074] “In an embodiment including a prompt for user input, at 218, user input may be received accepting or rejecting the alternate route, for example via a user interface device such as a touchscreen, keyboard, microphone, etc. included in display 112 and/or remote device 114. In this embodiment, at 218 when the received user input accepts the alternate route, the method 200 described above and shown in FIG. 2 proceeds to 220 where the alternate route is implemented by changing a route provided to the driver of the vehicle from the planned route to the alternate route.” The examiner notes that the route improves efficiency and outputs torque to the driven axle) and
wherein selectively outputting torque to the driven axle comprises prioritizing torque output assist at the refrigerated trailer by triggering the battery assembly to supply electrical energy to a motor of the refrigerated trailer to output torque to the driven axle and to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle according to the first energy preference (see at least Srnec Figure 1, prime mover 122 which causes the vehicle to move using torque applied to a driven axle. This is done selectively based on the user’s input, e.g. throttle. Though an axle is not explicitly shown in the figure, [0041] supports that there is an axle. See [0041] “Regenerative braking energy harvester may be, for example, an axle-mounted energy harvester attached to the vehicle 10 or transport unit 100.” The examiner notes the language “to output torque to the driven axle and to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle according to the first energy preference” is intended use language and is not given patentable weight).
However, the combination of Srnec and Hance does not teach
further comprising:
rendering a first slider, in a set of sliders, in a user interface representing a first energy preference in a set of energy preferences, the first energy preference comprising fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle; and
interpreting the first energy preference as maximum fuel efficiency based on a first change in a position of the first slider bar; and
Ducher teaches further comprising:
[[rendering a first slider, in a set of sliders,]]in a user interface representing a first energy preference in a set of energy preferences, the first energy preference comprising fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle (see at least Ducher [0032] The control system may be configured to (i) switch the engine to an operational state or (ii) to switch the refrigeration system off, if the predicted power level indicates that the power level of the battery unit will become insufficient to power the refrigeration system whilst the vehicle is in the region, based on a user setting).; and
interpreting the first energy preference as maximum fuel efficiency based on user input [a first change in a position of the first slider bar] (see at least Ducher [0032] The control system may be configured to (i) switch the engine to an operational state or (ii) to switch the refrigeration system off, if the predicted power level indicates that the power level of the battery unit will become insufficient to power the refrigeration system whilst the vehicle is in the region, based on a user setting).;; and
wherein selectively outputting torque to the driven axle comprises prioritizing torque output assist at the refrigerated trailer by triggering the battery assembly to supply electrical energy to a motor of the refrigerated trailer to output torque to the driven axle and to increase fuel efficiency of the tow vehicle according to the first energy preference (see at least Ducher [0032] The control system may be configured to (i) switch the engine to an operational state or (ii) to switch the refrigeration system off, if the predicted power level indicates that the power level of the battery unit will become insufficient to power the refrigeration system whilst the vehicle is in the region, based on a user setting” See also [0064] [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec and Hance with the teaching of Ducher, with a reasonable expectation of success, because as Ducher teaches a user can set a preference to ensure sufficient power to the refrigeration system (see Ducher [0032] [0064] [0138}).
The combination of Srnec, Hance and Ducher do not teach a first slider in a set of sliders to input the user preference.
Yasuda (US 20230049900 A1) Yasuda teaches a first slider in a set of sliders to input the user preference (see at least [0025] “[0025] In some arrangements, the user interface(s) 132 can be provided for controlling at least one of an environmental, entertainment, information component or feature of a vehicle. The user interface(s) 132 may be virtual buttons or sliders on touchscreens, finger gestures on touchscreens (e.g., pinch, swipe, etc.), physical buttons/sliders/volume knobs, or any other in-vehicle surfaces that can be associated to system functions (e.g., mirrors, levers, trim lights, door, windows, AC outlets, etc.). In some arrangements, cameras and/or projectors can be used to turn any surface in a vehicle into a touch surface with displaced haptic feedback in another area of the vehicle. For instance, a projector can be used to project buttons or other user interface elements of a vehicle surface.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Srnec, Hance and Ducher with the teaching of Yasuda, with a reasonable expectation of success because as Yasuda teaches that a slider is one of many options know to be used to input a user’s preference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While Srnec teaches that the temperature of an environment may affect the predicted quantity of harvest energy (e.g. solar harvesting) and uses historical conditions of a route, Srnec does not teach using historical weather conditions for the delivery window using the predicted ambient temperature and ambient humidity to estimate the quantity of energy needed to maintain the temperature of the interior of the refrigerated trailer. Further, no other cited reference remedies the deficiencies of Srnec.
Further, the examiner cannot determine a reasonable motivation, either in the known prior art or the existing case law, to combine the known elements to render the claimed invention without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Accordingly, none of the references, taken either alone, or in combination discloses “based on historical weather conditions for the destination location within time windows analogous to the delivery time window, predicting an ambient temperature of air forecast … and predicting an ambient humidity of air forecast …wherein estimating the quantity of electrical energy to maintain temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer within the target temperature range comprises calculating the quantity of electrical energy to maintain temperatures of the interior of the refrigerated trailer within the target temperature range for the time duration inversely proportional to the ambient temperature of air forecast; and inversely proportional to the ambient humidity of air forecast” in combination with the other limitations of claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20250058602-A1 to Harney et al, US-20210365680-A1 to Mossberg et al. and US-20220357748-A1to Kita et al. are cited for showing an unload time of cargo and a cargo window (see at least [0144] and Figure 5.2 and 5.3 of Harney, [0069] of Mossberg, and [0125] of Kita).
US-20220169252-A1 to Yhr and US-20180312121-A1 to Weber disclose adjusting the torque and regenerative braking (for example see at least Yhr [0029], [0069-0090], Figure 2, and [0050])
/JENNIFER M ANDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662