DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 14, 16, and 18-19 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-20 remain pending and have been examined in this application.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “the electronic control system is configured to perform” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As best understood, the claims will be interpreted broadly to instead recite that the process is further configured to perform the acts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biester (DE 10 2013 224 716 A1, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 4/27/2026 and is being relied upon) in view of Miyahara (US 2016/0290255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Biester discloses a vehicle system comprising: an engine configured to selectably operate in a drive state wherein the engine outputs torque to propel the vehicle system and a motoring state wherein the engine is driven by torque from the vehicle system (see at least [0009, 0020, 0032] – coasting in overrun mode, applying a friction brake, coasting with drive engine disengaged… engine provides drive torque for the motor vehicle); and an electronic control system in operative communication with the engine, the electronic control system being an integrated circuit based electronic control system and being configured to perform the acts of: receiving a plurality of inputs indicative of vehicle system operating conditions, receiving one or more requests to perform a diagnostic of the engine with the engine in the motoring state, selecting a selected diagnostic in response to a predicted duration of the engine in the motoring state, and performing the selected diagnostic (see at least Figs. 2-3, [0021, 0045, 0050, 0054, 0058-0063] – enabling the execution of the requested diagnostic and/or adaptation function by providing a required operating state for a required duration… speed profile is determined based on the route characteristics… coasting in overrun mode in order to carry out a second requested diagnostic function D2 during a second period of time T2… if an unexpected event occurs that changes the operating state, this may lead to an abort of the diagnostic or adaptation function in an attempt to obtain the requested diagnostic).
Biester does not appear to explicitly disclose selecting a selected diagnostic corresponding to one of the one or more requests, the selected diagnostic selected by the selecting varying in response to a predicted duration of the engine in the motoring state.
Miyahara, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: selecting a selected diagnostic corresponding to one of the one or more requests, the selected diagnostic selected by the selecting varying in response to a predicted duration of the engine in the motoring state (see at least [0027-0030] - When the vehicle is decelerated, the electronic control unit 10 selects either air flow meter diagnosis processing (which is hereinafter referred to also as “AFM diagnosis processing”) for diagnosing the air flow meter 101 as normal or not or EGR diagnosis processing for diagnosing the EGR device 30 as being able to operate normally or not, and executes the selected diagnosis processing… The AFM diagnosis processing takes longer time to complete than the EGR diagnosis processing… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be long, select the AFM diagnosis… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be short, select the EGR diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Miyahara into the invention of Biester with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so ensure the opportunity for all of the necessary diagnosis processing to be executed promptly based on the predicted decelerating time, thereby increasing reliability of performing the necessary diagnoses (Miyahara – [0008, 0011, 0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Biester discloses wherein the plurality of inputs comprise a vehicle speed (see at least [0024] – speed profile), a brake status (see at least [0039, 0059] - braking), and a current road grade (see at least [0021, 0024, 0043, 0060] – slope or gradient).
Regarding claim 3, Biester discloses wherein the plurality of inputs comprise one or more look-ahead inputs (see at least [0021, 0024, 0044, 0049] – preceding track characteristics).
Regarding claim 4, Biester discloses wherein the one or more look-ahead inputs comprise one or more of a look-ahead road grade and look-ahead traffic information (see at least [0021, 0024, 0044, 0049] – preceding track characteristics… traffic… slope or gradient).
Regarding claim 5, Biester discloses wherein the electronic control system is configured to perform the acts of: evaluating a respective strike parameter for the one or more requests, and in response to the evaluating, excluding from the selecting at least one of the one or more requests (see at least [0040-0042, 0062] – postpone or perform the diagnosis at a later time).
Miyahara, in the same field of endeavor, also teaches the following limitations: wherein the electronic control system is configured to perform the acts of: evaluating a respective strike parameter for the one or more requests, and in response to the evaluating, excluding from the selecting at least one of the one or more requests (see at least [0027-0030] - When the vehicle is decelerated, the electronic control unit 10 selects either air flow meter diagnosis processing (which is hereinafter referred to also as “AFM diagnosis processing”) for diagnosing the air flow meter 101 as normal or not or EGR diagnosis processing for diagnosing the EGR device 30 as being able to operate normally or not, and executes the selected diagnosis processing… The AFM diagnosis processing takes longer time to complete than the EGR diagnosis processing… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be long, select the AFM diagnosis… when the duration of deceleration of the vehicle is short, the AFM diagnosis processing may not be able to be completed because the deceleration of the vehicle may be ended before the AFM diagnosis processing is completed).
The motivation to combine Biester and Miyahara is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Biester discloses comprising determining a predicted duration of the motoring state in response to the plurality of inputs, wherein the act of selecting the selected diagnostic is responsive to the predicted duration (see at least Figs. 2-3, [0021, 0045, 0050, 0054, 0058-0063] – enabling the execution of the requested diagnostic and/or adaptation function by providing a required operating state for a required duration… speed profile is determined based on the route characteristics… coasting in overrun mode in order to carry out a second requested diagnostic function D2 during a second period of time T2).
Miyahara, in the same field of endeavor, also teaches the following limitations: determining a predicted duration of the motoring state in response to the plurality of inputs, wherein the act of selecting the selected diagnostic is responsive to the predicted duration (see at least [0027-0030] - When the vehicle is decelerated, the electronic control unit 10 selects either air flow meter diagnosis processing (which is hereinafter referred to also as “AFM diagnosis processing”) for diagnosing the air flow meter 101 as normal or not or EGR diagnosis processing for diagnosing the EGR device 30 as being able to operate normally or not, and executes the selected diagnosis processing… The AFM diagnosis processing takes longer time to complete than the EGR diagnosis processing… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be long, select the AFM diagnosis… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be short, select the EGR diagnosis).
The motivation to combine Biester and Miyahara is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Biester does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the selected diagnostic comprises a diagnostic comprising a greatest run time that does not exceed the predicted duration of the engine motoring state.
Miyahara, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the selected diagnostic comprises a diagnostic comprising a greatest run time that does not exceed the predicted duration of the engine motoring state (see at least [0027-0030] - When the vehicle is decelerated, the electronic control unit 10 selects either air flow meter diagnosis processing (which is hereinafter referred to also as “AFM diagnosis processing”) for diagnosing the air flow meter 101 as normal or not or EGR diagnosis processing for diagnosing the EGR device 30 as being able to operate normally or not, and executes the selected diagnosis processing… The AFM diagnosis processing takes longer time to complete than the EGR diagnosis processing… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be long, select the AFM diagnosis… if it is determined that the duration of deceleration will be short, select the EGR diagnosis).
The motivation to combine Biester and Miyahara is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Biester discloses wherein the electronic control system is configured to perform an act of adjusting the determining the predicted duration of the engine motoring state in response to operation of the engine (see at least [0058-0064] – when an unexpected event occurs that changes or necessitates a change in the operating state of the motor vehicle… perform adaptation function).
Regarding claim 10, Biester discloses wherein the act of adjusting the determining comprises comparing a predicted motoring time and an observed motoring time, and adjust the subsequent acts of the determining based on a difference between the predicted motoring time and the observed motoring time (see at least [0058-0064] – when an unexpected event occurs that changes or necessitates a change in the operating state of the motor vehicle… perform adaptation function).
Regarding claims 11-17 and 19-20, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claims 1-7 and 9-10, and it has been determined that claims 11-17 and 19-20 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claims 1-7 and 9-10; therefore, claims 11-17 and 19-20 are also rejected over the same rationale as claims 1-7 and 9-10.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biester in view of Miyahara and Krupadanam (US 2009/0312889 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Biester does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the determining the predicted duration of the motoring state utilizes an empirically determined model.
However, Biester does disclose wherein the determining the predicted duration of the motoring state utilizes a model (see at least [0059-0064]).
Krupadanam, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the determining the predicted variable of a vehicle state utilizes an empirically determined model (see at least [0028] - Theoretical and empirical models of these stochastic processes and variables can be created to predict expected operating conditions and vehicle states.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Krupadanam into the invention of Biester with a reasonable expectation of success. Relying on an empirical model can provide more accurate and reliable predictions for various parameters, such as the predicted duration of the engine motoring state in Biester. This is applying a known tool or process (empirical model) which is used in various applications to a specific application (Biester’s predicted duration) and doing so would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 8, and it has been determined that claim 18 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 8; therefore, claim 18 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 8.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous claim objects have been withdrawn.
In light of the amendments to the claims, claim limitations are no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
In light of the amendments to the claims, many of the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections have been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claim 15 has not been addressed and is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8 filed 7/22/2026, with respect to the previous prior art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 11 to overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection. In light of these amendments, the examiner agrees that Biester alone does not appear to explicitly disclose the newly amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 11, and therefore these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Miyahara.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN R MCCLEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669