DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12-13, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12137072. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because conflicting claims are in a patent by the same inventive entity.
Furthermore, where claims in the instant application are broader than the claims of the ‘072 patent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to omit elements when the remaining elements perform as before. A person of ordinary skill could have arrived at the present claims by omitting the details of the patent claims. See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decided January 16, 1963 ("Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if remaining elements perform same function as before").
Instant application
‘072 patent
Claim 1, 9, 16 (claim 1 exemplary)
A method comprising:
receiving, by a client device, a data message, the data message comprising a region tag and an account tag;
determining, by the client device, whether the region tag corresponds to a region server assigned to serve the client device;
in response to determining the region tag corresponds to the region server assigned to serve the client device, determining, by the client device, whether an account identification (ID) associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message; and
in response to determining the account ID matches the account tag, consuming, by the client device, the data message.
Claim 2, 10, 18 (claim 2 exemplary)
The method of claim 1, wherein the data message is associated with a topic subscribed from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device.
Claim 4, 12 (claim 4 exemplary)
The method of claim 1, wherein the region tag indicates a region server producing the data message, and
wherein the account tag indicates one or more client accounts that can consume the data message.
Claim 5, 13 (claim 5 exemplary)
The method of claim 1, wherein the region server is a home region server originally assigned to serve the client device,
wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server; and
in response to determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device, determining whether a client account associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message.
Claim 1, 10, 17 (claim 1 exemplary)
A method comprising:
receiving, by a client device via a client application, a data message associated with a topic subscribed by the client application from an application service provider, the data message comprising a region tag associated with a region server producing the data message and an account tag representing a group of client accounts associated with the data message;
determining, by the client device via the client application, whether the region tag corresponds to a home region server assigned to the client application;
in response to determining the region tag corresponds to the home region server assigned to the client application, determining, by the client device via the client application, whether an account identification (ID) corresponding to the client application matches the account tag in the data message; and
in response to determining the account ID matches the account tag, consuming, by the client device via the client application, the data message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0058047 to Baron et al. (“Baron”) in view U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0103892 to Rieger et al. (“Rieger”).
As to claim 1, Baron discloses a method (Baron: fig 1-9, [0020]: ... while certain functions of the messaging system 100 are described herein as being performed by either a messaging client application 104 or by the messaging system 108 it will be appreciated that the location of certain functionality either within the messaging client application 104 or by the messaging system 108 is a design choice ... ) comprising:
receiving, by a client device, a data message, the data message comprising a region tag and an account tag (Baron: fig 1-9, [0005-62]: ... operations including transmitting data to, receiving data from, and processing data generated by a messaging client application 104 (receiving, by a client device, a data message ...) ... this data may include message content (... the data message comprising ...), client device information (an account tag), geolocation information (a region tag), media annotation and overlays, virtual objects, message content persistence conditions, social network information and live vent information, as examples ... [0021] ... fig 3 ... illustrates structure of a message 300 generated by a messaging client application 104 (... by the client device ...) for communication to a further messaging client application 104 (receiving/determining, by client device ...) or a messaging server application 114 ... the content of a particular message 300 is used to populate a message table 214 stored in a database 120 ... content of message 300 is stored in memory as in-transit or in-flight data of client device 102 or application server 112 and message 300 is shown to include ... a message identifier 302: a unique identifier that identifies the message 300 ... message geolocation parameter 316 ... message sender identifier 322 ... message receiver identifier 324 ... the contents e.g. values of the various components of message 300 may be pointers to locations in the tables within which content values are stored ... values stored within the message sender identifier 322 and the message receiver identifier 324 may point to user records stored within an entity table );
determining, by the client device, whether the region tag corresponds to a region server assigned to serve the client device (Baron: fig 1-9, [0005-62]: ... while certain functions of the messaging system 100 are described herein as being performed by either a messaging client application 104 or by the messaging system 108 it will be appreciated that the location of certain functionality either within the messaging client application 104 or by the messaging system 108 is a design choice (determining, by the client device and/or server ...) [0020] ... each storage device 131 may be located in a different geographical location and is configured to store messaging application data for client devices 102 ... for example, a first storage devices 131 may be located in a first geographical region (e.g., a first state in the United States of America) ... first storage devices 131 is configured to store data for user devices which are currently located in the first geographical region (e.g., the first state in the United States of America) or which are predicted to be located in the first geographical region at a future time (... whether the region tag corresponds to a region server assigned to serve the client device) [0029]).
Baron did not explicitly disclose in response to determining the region tag corresponds to the region server assigned to serve the client device, determining, by the client device, whether an account identification (ID) associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message.
Rieger discloses in response to determining the region tag corresponds to the region server assigned to serve the client device (Rieger: fig 1-13, [0008-225]: a “posting” (data message) from a source to a target user community via a server ... the target user community for a posting defined in terms of e.g., by a bounded region on a map ... targeted users, i.e., those whose geographical location falls within the bounded region of a posting (in response to determining the region tag corresponds to the region server ...) , receive notification of the posting either automatically via email, or by logging on to the server (... region server assigned to serve the client device) ... via a user interface [0003] ... a user account is comprised of an "antenna" descriptor (determining, by the client device ...), which describes the user's "base" location, e.g., the location of the user's residence, in geographical coordinate space ... user(s) may define this antenna descriptor by drawing an outline or cross hair on one of the system's maps (... whether an account identification (ID) associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message...).
Baron and Rieger are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to posting.
Before the effective filing date, for AIA , it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Rieger into the method by Baron. The suggestion/motivation would have been to service mobile and stationary users in targeted areas of various postings to automatically receive those postings at the posted information’s point of relevance (Rieger: [0004]).
Baron and Rieger further disclose in response to determining the account ID matches the account tag, consuming, by the client device, the data message (Rieger: fig 1-13, [0008-225]: ... in addition to the antenna descriptor for the base location (see with [0003; 84] above - in response to determining the account ID matches the account tag ... ), each user account would be capable of maintaining a list of additional antenna descriptors, permitting the user to intercept postings (data message) relevant to multiple locations of interest (... consuming, by the client device, the data message) [0084] ... each antenna can be selectively enabled or disabled to receive messages (see with [0003;84] above - in response to determining the account ID matches the account tag, consuming, by the client device, the data message) on various channels by the presence of one or more SelectedReceiveChannel objects depicted in Table 4 [0123]).
Same motivation applies as mentioned above to make the proposed modification.
As to claim 9, see similar rejection to claim 1 where the system is taught by the method.
As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 1 where the medium is taught by the method.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0058047 to Baron et al. (“Baron”) in view U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0103892 to Rieger et al. (“Rieger”) and further in view U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0110372 to Borgendale et al. (“Borgendale”).
As to claim 2, Baron and Rieger disclose the method of claim 1.
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
Baron did not explicitly disclose wherein the data message is associated with a topic subscribed from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device (emphasis added).
Specifically, Baron and Rieger disclose wherein the data message is associated with a relevant topic from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device (emphasis added) (Rieger: fig 1-13, abstract, [0008-225]: ... state, county, and local organizations could post news about topical events to residents in relevant regions (wherein the data message is associated with a relevant topic from an application service provider ...) [0016] ... any user of the system can also browse and receive geographically relevant postings (see with [0019] - wherein the data message is associated with a topic ...) simply by identifying a point or region of interest on one of the system's maps (see with [0019] - relevant topic from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device) [abstract] and see fig 11 ‘ browse for postings’ and ‘please identify point or region of interest’ and pull-down ‘category’ (i.e. topics)).
Nonetheless, Baron did not explicitly disclose wherein the data message is associated with a topic subscribed from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device (emphasis added).
Borgendale discloses wherein the data message is associated with a topic subscribed from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device (emphasis added) (Borgendale: fig 1-7, [0002-]: ... messaging environment may support point-to-point messaging, publish and subscribe messaging, or both ... a message producer may address an application message to a single message consumer ... a message producer may publish an application message to a particular channel or topic (wherein the data message is associated with a topic ... ) and any message consumer that subscribes to that channel or topic receives the message (... subscribed from an application service provider by a client account associated with the client device) [0004]).
Baron, Rieger and Borgendale are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to messaging environments.
Before the effective filing date, for AIA , it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Borgendale into the method by Baron and Rieger. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide for reliable messaging (Borgendale: [0002]).
As to claim 10, see similar rejection to claim 2 where the system is taught by the method.
Claims 3-8, 11-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0058047 to Baron et al. (“Baron”) in view U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0103892 to Rieger et al. (“Rieger”) and further in view U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0248204 to Anderson et al. (“Anderson”).
As to claim 3, Baron and Rieger disclose the method of claim 1.
For motivation, see rejection of claim 1.
Baron did not explicitly disclose further comprising querying an application service provider to obtain server information associated with the client device, wherein the server information comprises home region server information and backup region server information.
Anderson discloses further comprising querying an application service provider to obtain server information associated with the client device, wherein the server information comprises home region server information and backup region server information (Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]: fig 3-4 ... a device registered for a customer of a software platform may be located in a premises of the customer (i.e. wherein the server information comprises home region server information), may be located external to the premises (i.e. wherein the server information comprises ... backup region server information), or may be mobile and movable between a location within the premises and a location external to the premises (i.e. wherein the server information comprises home region server information and/or backup region server information) ... device location registration tool 404 thus is configured to register one or more locations (i.e. wherein the server information comprises home region server information and/or backup region server information) for each device of a customer (1st 2nd ... n client device(s)) of the software platform. [0067] ... software of software platform may include one or more of a chat application, a video meeting application, a phone call application, or a shared virtual workspace application (1st 2nd ... n server(s)) and, as such, transmission of an alert to devices may cause output of a message representing the alert [0114] ... software platform may store records of registered locations of devices registered and a record of a registered location includes, for example, at least a street address (see with [0067;114] above - location of client device(s)) and a network information (see with [0067;114] above - wherein the server information comprises home region server information or backup region server information) usable to identify one or both of the device (see with [0067;114] above - client device(s)) and/or network device (see with [0067;114] above - home region server information or backup region server information) through which the device connects to access a network ... software platform may search (querying) through these records to identify a location of a current device (client device(s) and/or home region server information or backup region server information) ... may determine current location and compare it to location(s) within the software platform records (further comprising querying an application service provider to obtain server(s) information associated with the client device(s)) ... then signal a location of device responsive to a determination a location of device matches a record [0110] ... signaling the location of device may include appending data representative of location of device to a bitstream of a call or embedding such data within such a bitstream (i.e. data message) [0109] ... a location of a device (client device) is determined by searching (querying) records of a software platform (application service provider) based on information associated with a network device and information associated with the location of the device (client device) is signaled .. to which an emergency call is routed [0005] ... at a first/second/third time, a first/second/third network device through which a first/second/third device registered with a software platform connects to access a network at a premises/external/current location associated with the software platform using the first/second/third record ... [0004]).
Baron, Rieger and Anderson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to modes of communication.
Before the effective filing date, for AIA , it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the strategies by Baron and Rieger into the method by Baron and Rieger. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a unified communications as a service (UCaaS) to deliver complete communication experience regardless of physical location (Anderson: [0001]).
As to claim 4, Baron, Rieger and Anderson disclose wherein the region tag indicates a region server producing the data message, and wherein the account tag indicates one or more client accounts that can consume the data message (Rieger: fig 1-13, [0008-225]: ... in addition to the antenna descriptor for the base location (wherein the region tag indicates a region server producing the data message), each user account would be capable of maintaining a list of additional antenna descriptors, permitting the user to intercept postings (data message) relevant to multiple locations of interest (wherein the account tag indicates one or more client accounts that can consume the data message) [0084] ... each antenna can be selectively enabled or disabled to receive messages (see with [0003;84] above - wherein the account tag indicates one or more client accounts that can consume the data message) on various channels by the presence of one or more SelectedReceiveChannel objects depicted in Table 4 [0123];
Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]:... device location registration tool 404 thus is configured to register one or more locations (i.e. wherein the server information comprises home region server information and/or backup region server information) for each device of a customer (see with [0114] below - wherein the account tag indicates one or more client accounts) of the software platform. [0067] ... software of software platform may include one or more of a chat application, a video meeting application, a phone call application, or a shared virtual workspace application (wherein the region tag indicates a region server producing the data message) and, as such, transmission of an alert to devices may cause output of a message representing the alert (wherein the account tag indicates one or more client accounts that can consume the data message) [0114]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 5, Baron, Rieger and Anderson disclose wherein the region server is a home region server originally assigned to serve the client device (Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]: ... prompting an operator of the software platform to identify, a location of the device within the premises as a first location (wherein the region server is a home region ...), and generating a first record for the device (client device) indicating the first location (region) and information associated with the first network device (wherein the region server is a home region server originally assigned to serve) [0004]),
wherein the method further comprises: determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server; and in response to determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device, determining whether a client account associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message (Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]: ... responsive to detecting, at a third time, that an emergency call is placed from the device (client device), a current location of the device is determined using the first record (determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server ...) or the second record and information associated with the current location of the device is then signaled to a public safety answering point to which the emergency call is routed (in response to determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device ...) [0004] ... device location registration tool 404 thus is configured to register one or more locations for each device of a customer (see with [0114] below - determining whether a client account associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message) of the software platform. [0067] ... software of software platform may include one or more of a chat application, a video meeting application, a phone call application, or a shared virtual workspace application (see with [0004] above - in response to determining that the region tag corresponds to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device) and, as such, transmission of an alert to devices may cause output of a message representing the alert (see with [004;67] above - determining whether a client account associated with the client device matches the account tag of the data message) [0114]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 6, see similar rejection to claim 5 where the method is taught by the method.
As to claim 6, Baron, Rieger and Anderson further disclose determining that the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device (Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]: ... at a second time, a second network device through which the device connects to access a network at a location external to the premises is detected (... the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device) and operator is prompted to identify, as a second location, the location external to the premises (determining that the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device), and a second record for the device indicating the second location and information associated with the second network device is generated (... the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device) [0004]); and in response to determining that the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device, determining whether the region tag corresponds to a backup region server currently assigned to serve the client device (Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]: ... responsive to detecting, at a third time, that an emergency call is placed from the device (client device), a current location of the device is determined using the first record or the second record (in response to determining that the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device) and information associated with the current location of the device is then signaled to a public safety answering point to which the emergency call is routed (determining whether the region tag corresponds to a backup region server currently assigned to serve the client device) [0004] ... device location registration tool 404 thus is configured to register one or more locations for each device of a customer (see with [0114] below - determining that the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device) of the software platform. [0067] ... software of software platform may include one or more of a chat application, a video meeting application, a phone call application, or a shared virtual workspace application (see with [0004] above in response to determining that the region tag does not correspond to the home region server originally assigned to serve the client device ... ) and, as such, transmission of an alert to devices may cause output of a message representing the alert (see with [004;67] above - determining whether the region tag corresponds to a backup region server currently assigned to serve the client device) [0114]).
For motivation, see rejection of claim 3.
As to claim 7, see similar rejection to claim 5-6.
As to claim 8, see similar rejection to claim 5-6.
As to claim 8, Baron, Rieger and Anderson further disclose in response to determining that the region tag does not correspond to the backup region server currently assigned to serve the client device, discarding the data message (Anderson: fig 1-12, [0002-137]: ... push notifications, calls, emails, instant messages, SMS messages, or other alerts may be communicated to user devices registered with the software platform ... depending on the emergency type, all, or some but not all, devices registered for the customer may receive these alerts and, for example, in some implementations, only devices located at the site of an emergency event may receive these alerts (i.e. in response to determining that the region tag does not correspond to the backup region server currently assigned to serve the client device, discarding the data message) [0098]).
As to claims 11-16, see similar rejection to claims 3-8, respectively, where the system is taught by the method.
As to claim 18, see similar rejection to claims 2 and 4, where the medium is taught by the method.
As to claim 19, see similar rejection to claim 5.
As to claim 20, see similar rejection to claims 5-8.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A) US 20120206647 – Allsbrook
A system and method are provided to tag and identify content in the form of streaming video and other media. The tags are applied by location and time coordinates corresponding to the content of the streaming video. The tags are used for identifying, requesting, using and adding to such tagged items. For this purpose, the present invention is directed to a web based media content player and backend servers loaded with tagged streaming video and other media content. The media content player loads and plays the streaming video, including tags identifying items in the content, such as songs, locations, characters, products and individuals. The system and method provide a variety of uses for the tagged content.
B) US 20220245283 - Springer
Methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on computer storage media provide for the intelligent detection of sensitive information within a communication platform. The system displays a communication interface including a first input section for receiving an input message associated with a sending user account, and a display section for displaying message information received by the sending user account from other user accounts. The system determines or retrieves a sensitive messaging profile for the sending user account, then receives an input message associated with the sending user account. The system detects that the input message comprises sensitive information, and transmits a sensitive message to one or more receiving user accounts within a sensitive container component, with the sensitive message including at least a subset of the input message.
C) US 20230138424 - Oh
One example method includes initiating a video conference by a video conference provider, receiving, at the video conference provider, a plurality of video streams associated with the video conference, receiving, at the video conference provider, a plurality of time zone indications, each of the plurality of time zone indications associated with one of the plurality of video streams, determining, by the video conference provider, a time zone-specific content associated with each of the plurality of time zone indications, and transmitting the plurality of video streams and associated time zone-specific content to a plurality of client devices.
D) US 20230239169 – Chan
One example method includes receiving, at a video conference server, interaction data representing a plurality of participant interactions in a virtual expo with a plurality of virtual expo elements; storing the interaction data in a data store, the interaction data including a participant identifier, a virtual expo element identifier, and an interaction characteristic; determining one or more analytics for one or more of the plurality of virtual expo elements based on the interaction data; and causing the one or more analytics for one or more of the plurality of virtual expo elements to be displayed on a client device.
/JUNE SISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455