DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on October 21st, 2024, has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the activation system and the alignment system must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "activation system" in claim 8 and "alignment system" in claim 9 “Activation system” is interpreted as an actuator (pg13, L20-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “alignment system” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is nothing in the specification that details what an alignment system is, and it is also not shown in the drawings. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1, L1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This claim will be interpreted as if the term “substantially” was removed.
Claim 5 is rendered indefinite for reciting “optionally the polymer comprises polyether ether ketone.” It is unclear whether this is a limitation or not.
The term “substantially” in claim 7, L1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This claim will be interpreted as if the term “substantially” was removed.
Claim 9 is rendered indefinite for reciting “the semiconductor processing system of claim 9.” It is unclear how claim 9 can depend on itself. This claim will be interpreted as if it depends on claim 7.
The term “substantially” in claim 10, L3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This claim will be interpreted as if the term “substantially” was removed.
Claims 2-4, 6, and 8 are rejected by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al (US 20020029963), hereafter Yoshioka.
With regards to claim 1, Yoshioka discloses a workpiece holder (Abstract Fig. 7A) for holding a planar, quadrilateral workpiece (Article worked upon by an apparatus; MPEP 2115) in a processing chamber of a wet or semiconductor processing system, the workpiece holder being adapted for insertion into and removal from the processing chamber while holding the workpiece, wherein the workpiece holder comprises: a support frame (hinge mechanism 115), first (first holding member 111) and second perimeter sealing plates (second holding member 112) attached to the support frame, each of the first and second perimeter sealing plates having respective interlocking features (pawls 120, ring retainers 119) attached thereto, and a locking plate (ring clamp 114), the locking plate being moveable relative to the support frame between a locked configuration in which the locking plate engages with the interlocking features of both the first and second perimeter sealing plates (Fig. 8, P0064), and an open configuration in which the locking is disengaged therefrom (Fig. 7A), wherein in the open configuration the first and second perimeter sealing plates may be separated sufficiently to allow the workpiece (wafer 116) to be inserted therebetween (Fig. 7A), and in the locked configuration the workpiece is clamped relative to the support frame (Fig. 8, P0064), and wherein the second perimeter sealing plate comprises a flexure (packing 113) biased to provide sealing force to the workpiece when the locking plate is in the locked configuration. Yoshioka does not directly disclose the first perimeter sealing plate comprises a flexure biased to provide sealing force to the workpiece when the locking plate is in the locked configuration. However, this is a simple duplication of parts and is therefore rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a flexure on both perimeter sealing plates in order to provide extra protection for the workpiece (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B),
With regards to claim 2 Yoshioka discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Yoshioka further discloses a plurality of internal contact plates (conductive elements 117, 118) located between the first and second perimeter sealing plates, the internal contact plates providing electrical contact to the workpiece when the locking plate is in the locked configuration.
With regards to claim 3 Yoshioka discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Yoshioka does not directly disclose in which the locking plate is in electrical connection to the internal contact plates. However, this is a simple rearrangement of parts and is therefore rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention based on what type of processing the holder is being used for.
With regards to claims 4-5 Yoshioka discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Yoshioka does not directly disclose what material the perimeter sealing plates are made of. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that this is known in the art and therefore rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose an appropriate material based on balancing sealing efficiency with protecting the workpiece from damage.
With regards to claim 6 Yoshioka discloses all the elements of claim 2 as outlined above. Yoshioka does not directly disclose where the internal contact plates are separable from the first and second perimeter sealing plates. However, making things separable is considered to be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for ease of maintenance and replacement of components (MPEP 2144.04.V.C)
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka, further in view of Liu et al. (US 20220382143), hereafter Liu.
With regards to claim 7 Yoshioka discloses a semiconductor processing system for processing a substantially planar, quadrilateral workpiece while loaded into the workpiece holder of claim 1 (Fig. 4), the system comprising: a processing chamber (plating bath 30) for wet chemical etch, cleaning or electrodeposition. Yoshida does not disclose a workpiece loader for loading the workpiece into the workpiece holder during a loading operation. However, Liu discloses and a workpiece loader for loading the workpiece into the workpiece holder during a loading operation (generally indicated by load port 14; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the workpiece loader as disclosed by Liu to the system disclosed by Yoshida in order to prevent damage to the workpiece.
With regards to claim 8, Yoshioka and Liu disclose all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Yoshioka does not disclose wherein the workpiece loader comprises: first and second chucks an end effector wherein the first and second chucks are configured to grip the first and second perimeter sealing plates, separating them sufficiently so that the end effector and workpiece may be inserted into the workpiece holder; and wherein the first and second chucks are configured to provide sufficient force to the first and second perimeter sealing plates so that the locking plate can be inserted between the interlocking features.
However, Liu discloses wherein the workpiece loader comprises: first and second chucks (lift pins 15), an end effector (blade 13 on transfer mechanism 12), wherein the first and second chucks are configured to grip the first and second perimeter sealing plates, separating them sufficiently so that the end effector and workpiece may be inserted into the workpiece holder (P0028); and wherein the first and second chucks are configured to provide sufficient force to the first and second perimeter sealing plates so that the locking plate can be inserted between the interlocking features (P0028). Therefore, the combination of Yoshioka and Liu discloses this feature. Liu does not disclose an activation system for sliding the locking plate between the locked and open configurations. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that this is known in the art and therefore is rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in order for the holder to be able to function as intended.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka and Liu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Moura et al. (US 20140147234) hereafter Moura.
With regards to claim 9 Yoshioka discloses all the elements of claim 7 as outlined above. Yoshioka and Liu do not disclose wherein the workpiece loader comprises an alignment system for aligning the workpiece with respect to the workpiece holder prior to inserting the workpiece into the workpiece holder.
However, Moura discloses an alignment system (105) that aligns a workpiece on a support(P0042). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have an alignment mechanism as disclosed by Moura in the system disclosed by Yoshioka and Liu to prevent damage to the workpiece ensuring it is seated properly in the workpiece holder.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka, Liu and Moura as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hodos (US 5295777).
With regards to claim 10 Yoshioka, Liu and Moura disclose all the elements of claim 9 as outlined above. Yoshioka, Liu and Moura do not disclose wherein the workpiece loader comprises a rotation actuator for rotating the workpiece holder between a horizontal configuration and a vertical configuration.
However, Hodos discloses wherein a workpiece loader (holder 25) comprises a rotation actuator (turret 27) for rotating the workpiece holder between a horizontal configuration (Fig. 2) and a vertical configuration (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a rotation actuator as disclosed by Hodos to the workpiece loader as disclosed by Yoshioka and Liu, depending on the layout and space constraints of the processing chamber.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
US-12387958, US-20230148165, and US-20160108539 also disclose workpiece holders with sealing plates and a locking mechanism.
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653