DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 21, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 20220320252 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20180204901 A1) and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20200310493 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Sano teaches a flexible substrate (Fig 1; 100) comprising: an insulating base (Fig 2; 4) including a plurality of first strip portions extending along a first direction and aligned along a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig 2; 41, D1, D2), a plurality of second strip portions extending along the second direction and aligned along the first direction (Fig 2; 42, D1, D2), and a plurality of island-shaped portions each located at an intersection between a respective one of the first strip portions and a respective one of the second strip portions (Fig 2; 40, 41, 42); a plurality of electrical elements overlapping the island-shaped portions, respectively (Figs 2, 5; 3, 40); a plurality of scanning lines extending while overlapping the first strip portions, respectively (Figs 2-4; 1, 41); a plurality of signal lines extending while overlapping the second strip portions, respectively (Figs 2-4; 2, 42); a first organic insulating film located on a layer above the scanning lines and the signal lines (Figs 6-7; 56, 2, 11-13) and overlapping the first strip portions and the second strip portions (Figs 2, 6-7; 56, 41, 42).
Sano does not explicitly disclose a second organic insulating film located on the first organic insulating film; a stopper layer located between the first organic insulating film and the second organic insulating film; and a barrier layer located on the second organic insulating film.
Hwang teaches a second organic insulating film located on the first organic insulating film (Figs 7-9; 160a, 160b; Hwang [0095, 0098]); a stopper layer located between the first organic insulating film and the second organic insulating film (Figs 6-9; 180, 185, 160a, 160b; Hwang [0021]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Sano with a second organic insulating film located on the first organic insulating film; a stopper layer located between the first organic insulating film and the second organic insulating film as taught by Hwang in order to prevent the progress of cracks because Hwang [0100] teaches the crack prevention lines may serve as a “dam preventing a development of cracks”.
Kim teaches a barrier layer located on the second organic insulating film (Fig 4; 110, 120, 130, 140; Kim [0058-0061]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Sano in view of Hwang with a barrier layer located on the second organic insulating film as taught by Kim to “prevent or substantially prevent impurities such as oxygen and moisture from being permeated into the flexible display device” (Kim [0061]).
Regarding Claim 2 – Sano in view of Hwang and Kim teaches the flexible substrate of claim 1, wherein a first film thickness of the first organic insulating film and a second film thickness of the second organic insulating film are equal to each other (Kim Fig 4; 110, 130; Kim [0060] teaches “second base layer 130… may have substantially the same thickness as that of the first base layer 110”).
Regarding Claim 5 – Sano in view of Hwang and Kim teaches the flexible substrate of claim 1, wherein the stopper layer is formed from any one of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, polysilicon, aluminum, titanium, and copper (Hwang Figs 6-9; 180, 185; Hwang [0108-0109]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 20220320252 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20180204901 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20200310493 A1) and in further view of Leng et al. (US 20170373121 A1)
Regarding Claim 3 – Sano in view of Hwang and Kim teaches the flexible substrate of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a rigidity of the stopper layer is equal to or less than a rigidity of the barrier layer.
Leng teaches a rigidity of the stopper layer is equal to or less than a rigidity of the barrier layer (Figs 1a-1b; 110, 120; Leng [0061] teaches “through controlling the material, elastic modulus, and thickness of each of the first protective film 110 and the second protective film 120, the local flexibility and rigidity of the flexible display panel may be adjusted as desired” and [0062] teaches the second protective film 120 has a greater thickness than the first protective film 110 and the films may be made from the same material).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Sano in view of Hwang and Kim with a rigidity of the stopper layer is equal to or less than a rigidity of the barrier layer as taught by Leng in order to provide desired flexibility and protection.
Regarding Claim 4 – Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Leng teaches the flexible substrate of claim 3, wherein the stopper layer is formed from a material identical to that of the barrier layer, and a third film thickness of the stopper layer is equal to or less than a fourth film thickness of the barrier layer (Leng Figs 1a-1b; 110, 120; Leng [0062] teaches “the thickness D of the second protective film 120 may be configured to be larger than the thickness d of the first protective film 110” and “the first protective film 110 and the second protective film 120 may be made from the same material”).
Claims 6-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 20220320252 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20180204901 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20200310493 A1) and in further view of Mitani (US 10923553 B2)
Regarding Claim 6 – Sano in view of Hwang and Kim teaches the flexible substrate of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the stopper layer has a slit.
Mitani teaches the stopper layer has a slit (Figs 3B-8; 42; Mitani teaches “cutout (groove) having certain width and length is referred to as a slit” and bending slit 42 extending through inorganic layers).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Sano in view of Hwang and Kim with the stopper layer has a slit as taught by Mitani in order to prevent propagation of cracks because Mitani teaches “a first slit pattern and a second slit pattern prevent the crack from extending to its surroundings”.
Regarding Claim 7 – Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Mitani teaches the flexible substrate of claim 6, wherein the slit is linear in plan view (Mitani Fig 3B; 42; Mitani teaches bending slit 42 is a “continuous slit… which continuously extends like a solid line”).
Regarding Claim 9 – Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Mitani teaches the flexible substrate of claim 6, wherein the slit penetrates the stopper layer (Mitani Figs 6-8; 42a; Mitani teaches “lower bending slit 42a extending through the inorganic barrier film 3”).
Regarding Claim 10 – Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Mitani teaches the flexible substrate of claim 6, wherein the slit does not penetrate the stopper layer (Mitani teaches “the first slit pattern and the second slit pattern do not reach the barrier layer”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 20220320252 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20180204901 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20200310493 A1) and in further view of Mitani (US 10923553) and Jeong (US 20210124399 A1)
Regarding Claim 8 – Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Mitani teaches the flexible substrate of claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the slit is curved in plan view.
Jeong teaches the slit is curved in plan view (Fig 3; SL; Jeong [0070] teaches “the slit opening SL may be formed along a curved line” and “may have an arc shape”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Mitani with the slit is curved in plan view as taught by Jeong because Jeong teaches that “the stress is dispersed by the slit opening SL” thereby preventing damage and cracking.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 20220320252 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 20180204901 A1) and Kim et al. (US 20200310493 A1) and in further view of Takumi (US 20230345644 A1)
Regarding Claim 11 – Sano in view of Hwang and Kim teaches the flexible substrate of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the stopper layer includes a plurality of strip- shaped first portions extending along the first direction and aligned along the second direction and a plurality of strip-shaped second portions extending along the second direction and aligned along the first direction, the first portions extend while overlapping the first strip portions, respectively, and the second portions extend while overlapping the second strip portions, respectively.
Takumi teaches the stopper layer includes a plurality of strip- shaped first portions extending along the first direction and aligned along the second direction and a plurality of strip-shaped second portions extending along the second direction and aligned along the first direction, the first portions extend while overlapping the first strip portions, respectively, and the second portions extend while overlapping the second strip portions, respectively (Figs 2, 13; BR, 41, 42; Takumi [0045, 0078] teaches D1/D2 arrangement of the first and second strip portions 41 and 42 and barrier layer BR patterned to overlap first and second strip portions 41 and 42).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Sano in view of Hwang and Kim with the stopper layer includes a plurality of strip- shaped first portions extending along the first direction and aligned along the second direction and a plurality of strip-shaped second portions extending along the second direction and aligned along the first direction, the first portions extend while overlapping the first strip portions, respectively, and the second portions extend while overlapping the second strip portions, respectively as taught by Takumi in order to provide the protective layer along the patterned portions of the flexible substrate.
Regarding Claim 12 – Sano in view of Hwang, Kim, and Takumi teaches the flexible substrate of claim 11, wherein the first strip portions and the second strip portions are each formed in a wavy shape (Takumi Fig 2; 41, 42; Takumi [0031]).
Conclusion
/ADITYA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847