DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application with case number 18/922,057 filed on 10/21/2024, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 10/21/2024, 08/14/2025, and 01/26/2026 has/have been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
4. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
5. Examiner notes that Applicants have used the phrase “and/or” in claim(s) 10, and 16. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) has held that use of the phrase “and/or” within a claim is not indefinite. According to the PTAB, “and/or” is not wrong, but it’s not preferred verbiage (see Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811).
6. Nevertheless, during patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification (see MPEP § 2111; Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). Based upon this guidance from the MPEP and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, the Examiner interprets the phrase “and/or” under its broadest reasonable interpretation of “or” for purposes of examination of the instant Application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Zimmerman discloses a refuse vehicle, comprising (Fig. 1, [0008], Fig. 1 depicts a conventional refuse truck):
a chassis (Figs. 1, and [0032], the container 20 is located behind a cab 12 of the refuse truck and mounted on a frame 13 [i.e., a chassis]);
a body supported by the chassis and defining a receptacle configured to store refuse therein (Fig. 1, and [0032-0033], the container 20 [i.e., a body] is located behind a cab 12 of the refuse truck and mounted on a frame 13 [i.e., supported by the chassis]. The container 20 has a refuse compartment 59 [i.e., a receptacle], for containing refuse [i.e., to store refuse]);
a tailgate pivotally coupled to the body and selectively repositionable between an open position and a closed position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the container 20 has a rear door 28 [i.e., a tailgate] which is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened when refuse is unloaded from the container 20 [implies an open position and a closed position]. As portrayed by Fig. 14, the rear door is pivotally coupled to the container 20);
a lock that is configured to releasably secure the tailgate in the closed position, the lock selectively repositionable between a locked position and an unlocked position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed [implies a lock and locked position] when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [implies unlocked position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20);
an ejector positioned within the receptacle, wherein the ejector is slidable within the receptacle between a first position that is spaced from the tailgate and a second position proximate the tailgate (Figs. 3, 7-10, and [0038-0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 and a packer panel 130 [i.e., an ejector], compacts refuse within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130. Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 is in a compacting position at compacting location 42 [i.e., a first position]. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [i.e., a second position]. Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 3, the compacting position 42 is spaced from the tailgate and the unloading location 44, or the second position, is near the tailgate); and
(Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [implies unlocked position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20), (b) transition the tailgate from the closed position to the open position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [i.e., open position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20), and (c) transition the ejector from the first position to the second position both (Figs. 3, 9-10, and [0042], Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [implies eject refuse])
Zimmerman does not teach a processor configured to provide command signals and in response to receiving a single input … without receiving multiple input commands.
However, Turner teaches the user depresses a single pushbutton in order to activate or turn ON all of security devices 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . . , 312.sub.N. The user depresses console pushbutton 308 [i.e., without receiving multiple input commands], which sends a signal to processor 314 [i.e., a processor]. Processor 314, in turn, responds to receipt of the signal indicating the depressing of pushbutton 308 by activating or turning ON all of security devices [i.e., provide command signals] 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . . , 312.sub.N (Fig. 1, and [0018]). Examiner notes, the limitation above was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant' s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as sending commands for activating multiple units based on a single button press in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, by incorporating the teachings of Turner, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that a processor is added to open the rear door and unload the refuse by transitioning the packer panel to an unloading location by a single button press.
The motivation to modify is that, providing an efficient way of operating a complex system which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the operator to start the unloading process by a single button press.
In regard to claim 3
, Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 1, wherein the ejector is a compactor, and wherein the ejector is at least partially defined by a packer extending obliquely to a floor of the receptacle (Figs. 3, 9-10, and [0038 & 0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 and a packer panel 130, compacts refuse [implies compactor] within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [implies ejector]. Examiner notes, as depicted by Fig. 3 (reproduced and annotated below for Applicant’s convenience), the packer extends obliquely to a floor of the receptacle).
Figure 1 - Annotated Fig. 3 of Zimmerman
In regard to claim 4
, Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to receive the single input from a remote device.
Further, Turner teaches the vehicle include a security device for an emergency telephone call, a panic pushbutton, side view cameras, a visible alert, a front view camera, an exterior warning loudspeaker, a remote engine starter [i.e., remote device] ([0022]). Examiner notes, a remote engine starter sends a signal that the processor on the vehicle receives.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Turner, by further incorporating the teachings of Turner, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that a remote device is used to send signals to the processor.
The motivation to modify is that, to provide an efficient way of operating a complex system remotely which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the operator to remotely operate the vehicle.
In regard to claim 7
, Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 1, wherein the receptacle is pivotally coupled to the chassis and is selectively movable between a stowed position and a raised position, and wherein the raised position is angularly offset from the stowed position; and further comprising an actuator coupled to the chassis, wherein the actuator is selectively movable to transition the receptacle between the stowed position and the raised position, wherein the actuator is in communication with the processor (Fig. 14, and [0043], when the operator determines the refuse truck is full or otherwise needs to be unloaded, then the refuse truck travels to a land fill. Upon positioning the refuse truck for unloading, an unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., the actuator] rotates the front wall 22 of container 20 upward (the z-direction) until the container floor 24 has sufficient slope [i.e., raised position] for the refuse to slide out of the container. Examiner notes, the stowed position is the normal position of the receptacle which is the position of the receptacle when it is not raised. As portrayed by Fig. 14 (reproduced and annotated below for Applicant’s convenience), the refuse compartment 59 [i.e., receptacle] is raised and the raised position is angularly offset from the stowed position. Furthermore, the unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., the actuator] is coupled to frame 13 [i.e., chassis]).
Further, Turner teaches an electronic processor 314 communicatively coupled to a Bluetooth module 316, a WiFi module 318, console pushbutton 308, and security devices 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . ., 312.sub.N (Fig. 1, and [0017]). Examiner notes, Turner teaches coupling different devices and modules with a processor.
Figure 2 - Annotated Fig. 14 of Zimmerman
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Turner, by further incorporating the teachings of Turner, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the actuator is coupled to the processor as a module.
The motivation to modify is that , providing an efficient way of operating a complex system which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the operator to start the unloading process by a single button press.
9. Claim(s) 2
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Marsolek et al. (US-20190188620-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to automatically receive the single input upon the refuse vehicle entering a geographically indicated location.
However, Marsolek teaches the truck controller 136 and/or the controller 116 use information included in one or more signals received from the location sensor 138 to determine the location of the haul truck 104 relative to an earth reference (e.g., GPS), relative to one or more geofences [i.e., a geographically indicated location], relative to another machine (Fig. 1, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Marsolek, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the vehicle receives a signal when it is determined that the vehicle is near one or more geofences.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Marsolek, to manage the worksite accurately ([0002]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicles and the operators stay safe.
10. Claim(s) 5
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Hallek (DE-102017125123-A).
In regard to claim 5
, Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, does not teach further comprising a sensor coupled to the body and configured to detect an obstacle, and wherein the processor is further configured to receive a signal from the sensor indicative of the presence of the obstacle, and to cease at least one of reconfiguring the lock, transitioning the tailgate, or transitioning the ejector.
However, Hallek teaches an obstacle detection device for monitoring the opening process of a tailgate which includes a sensor suitable for detecting an obstacle in the rear area of a motor vehicle or in the swing area of a tailgate. The obstacle detection device is coupled to a control unit for automatically controlling the opening movement of the tailgate. Depending on sensor signals from the sensor, the control unit issues control commands that cause an opening movement of the tailgate to be stopped and/or blocked [i.e., cease transitioning the tailgate] ([0011 & 0029 & 0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Hallek, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the obstacle detection device is used to detect obstacles in the swing area of the tailgate and stops opening or closing operation of the tailgate when an obstacle is detected.
The motivation to modify is that to stop the tailgate and prevent damage or injury which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the opening/closing operation to be handled in a safe manner.
11. Claim(s) 6
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Steege et al. (US-20170057743-A1).
In regard to claim 6
, Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to provide command signals (Figs. 3, 9-10, and [0042], Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [implies ejector is transitioning from the first position to the second position]).
Zimmerman, as modified by Turner, does not teach to drive the refuse vehicle forward.
However, Steege teaches for a tip-to-dump operation for tilting the storage compartment 24 via the lift cylinder 91 for emptying the refuse material contained within the storage compartment, it is necessary to swing or pivot the tailgate assembly 26 at least 135° to its fully opened position so that when the vehicle body 20 is in its raised position, the tailgate assembly 26 will clear the pile of unloaded refuse material as the refuse collection vehicle 10 pulls forward [i.e., to drive the refuse vehicle forward] (Fig. 1, and [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Steege, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the vehicle is controlled to move forward when the refuse material is being emptied.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Steege, to improve the egress of the waste material from within the storage compartment during the ejection or dumping process ([0008]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the waste material to be emptied without causing a blockage.
12. Claim(s) 8-9, 12, 14, and 19
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Gillmore et al. (US-20150175353-A1) and further in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1).
In regard to claim 8
, Zimmerman teaches a refuse vehicle, comprising (Fig. 1, [0008], Fig. 1 depicts a conventional refuse truck):
a chassis (Figs. 1, and [0032], the container 20 is located behind a cab 12 of the refuse truck and mounted on a frame 13 [i.e., a chassis]);
a body supported by the chassis and defining a receptacle configured to store refuse therein (Fig. 1, and [0032-0033], the container 20 [i.e., a body] is located behind a cab 12 of the refuse truck and mounted on a frame 13 [i.e., supported by the chassis]. The container 20 has a refuse compartment 59 [i.e., a receptacle], for containing refuse [i.e., to store refuse]), the receptacle pivotally coupled to the chassis and moveable between a first position and a second position that is angularly offset from the first position (Fig. 14, and [0043], when the operator determines the refuse truck is full or otherwise needs to be unloaded, then the refuse truck travels to a land fill. Upon positioning the refuse truck for unloading, an unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 rotates the front wall 22 of container 20 upward (the z-direction) until the container floor 24 has sufficient slope [i.e., second position] for the refuse to slide out of the container. Examiner notes, the first position is the normal position of the receptacle which is the position of the receptacle when it is not raised. As portrayed by Fig. 14 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), the refuse compartment 59 [i.e., receptacle] is raised and the second position is angularly offset from the first position);
a tailgate is pivotally coupled to the body and selectively repositionable between an open position and a closed position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the container 20 has a rear door 28 [i.e., a tailgate]. The rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened when refuse is unloaded from the container 20 [implies an open position and a closed position]. As portrayed by Fig. 14 (reproduced above for Applicant’s convenience), the rear door is pivotally coupled to the container 20);
a lock that is configured to releasably secure the tailgate in the closed position, the lock selectively repositionable between a locked position and an unlocked position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed [implies a lock and locked position] when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [implies unlocked position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20);
a second actuator coupled to the chassis, the second actuator configured to transition the receptacle between the first position and the second position (Fig. 14, and [0043], when the operator determines the refuse truck is full or otherwise needs to be unloaded, then the refuse truck travels to a land fill. Upon positioning the refuse truck for unloading, an unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., second actuator] rotates the front wall 22 of container 20 upward (the z-direction) until the container floor 24 has sufficient slope [i.e., second position] for the refuse to slide out of the container. Examiner notes, the first position is the normal position of the receptacle which is the position of the receptacle when it is not raised. As portrayed by Fig. 14 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), the refuse compartment 59 [i.e., receptacle] is raised and the second position is angularly offset from the first position. Furthermore, the unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., second actuator] is coupled to frame 13 [i.e., chassis]);
a third actuator coupled to the body and configured to transition an ejector within the body between a third position and a fourth position (Figs. 3, 7-10, and [0038-0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 [i.e., third actuator] and a packer panel 130 [i.e., an ejector], compacts refuse within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130. Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 is in a compacting position at compacting location 42 [i.e., a third position]. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [i.e., a fourth position]); and
(Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [implies unlocked position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20), (b) (Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [i.e., open position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20), and (c) the second actuator to transition the receptacle between the first position and the second position (Fig. 14, and [0043], when the operator determines the refuse truck is full or otherwise needs to be unloaded, then the refuse truck travels to a land fill. Upon positioning the refuse truck for unloading, an unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., second actuator] rotates the front wall 22 of container 20 upward (the z-direction) until the container floor 24 has sufficient slope [i.e., second position] for the refuse to slide out of the container. Examiner notes, the first position is the normal position of the receptacle which is the position of the receptacle when it is not raised), and (d) the third actuator to transition the ejector from the third position to the fourth position (Figs. 3, 7-10, and [0038-0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 [i.e., third actuator] and a packer panel 130 [i.e., ejector], compacts refuse within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130. Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 is in a compacting position at compacting location 42 [i.e., a third position]. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [i.e., a fourth position])
Zimmerman does not teach a first actuator coupled to the tailgate and the body and configured to transition the tailgate from the closed position to the open position;
a processor configured to provide command signals,
the first actuator,
in response to receiving a single input … without receiving multiple input commands.
However, Gillmore teaches an actuator [i.e., a first actuator], shown as lift cylinder 70, is coupled to body 40 and positioned to move tailgate 60. Extension and retraction of lift cylinder 70 rotates tailgate 60 about pinned connection 62 between an open position (e.g., a partially open position, a fully open position, etc.) and a closed position (Fig. 7, and [0019]). As such, Gillmore teaches a first actuator coupled to the tailgate and the body and configured to transition the tailgate from the closed position to the open position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, by incorporating the teachings of Gillmore, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that an actuator is used to rotate the tailgate between an open and closed position.
The motivation to modify is that, to keep the waste material sealed in the container which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the streets to stay clean.
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore, is silent on a processor configured to provide command signals and without receiving multiple input commands.
However, Turner teaches the user depresses a single pushbutton in order to activate or turn ON all of security devices 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . . , 312.sub.N. The user depresses console pushbutton 308 [i.e., without receiving multiple input commands], which sends a signal to processor 314 [i.e., a processor]. Processor 314, in turn, responds to receipt of the signal indicating the depressing of pushbutton 308 by activating or turning ON all of security devices [i.e., provide command signals] 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . . , 312.sub.N (Fig. 1, and [0018]). Examiner notes, the limitation above was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant' s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as sending commands for activating multiple units based on a single button press in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore, by incorporating the teachings of Turner, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that a processor is added to open the rear door and unload the refuse by transitioning the packer panel to an unloading location by a single button press.
The motivation to modify is that , providing an efficient way of operating a complex system which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the operator to start the unloading process by a single button press.
In regard to claim 9
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to receive the single input from a remote device.
Further, Turner teaches the vehicle include a security device for an emergency telephone call, a panic pushbutton, side view cameras, a visible alert, a front view camera, an exterior warning loudspeaker, a remote engine starter [i.e., remote device] ([0022]). Examiner notes, a remote engine starter sends a signal that the processor on the vehicle receives.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner, by further incorporating the teachings of Turner, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that a remote device is used to send signals to the processor.
The motivation to modify is that , providing an efficient way of operating a complex system remotely which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the operator to remotely operate the vehicle.
In regard to claim 12
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 8, further comprising the ejector, wherein the ejector includes a packer wall extending obliquely to a floor of the receptacle (Figs. 3, 9-10, and [0038 & 0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 and a packer panel 130, compacts refuse within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130 [i.e., a packer wall]. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44. Examiner notes, as depicted by Fig. 3 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), the packer extends obliquely to a floor of the receptacle).
In regard to claim 14
, Zimmerman teaches a (Fig. 3, and [0038], Fig. 3 depicts an a compacting system 100):
a lock that is configured to releasably secure a tailgate of a refuse vehicle in a closed position, the lock selectively repositionable between a locked position and an unlocked position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 [i.e., a tailgate] is securely closed [implies a lock and locked position] when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [implies unlocked position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20);
a second actuator configured to power movement of a body of a refuse vehicle relative to a chassis of the refuse vehicle between a first position and a second position (Fig. 14, and [0043], when the operator determines the refuse truck is full or otherwise needs to be unloaded, then the refuse truck travels to a land fill. Upon positioning the refuse truck for unloading, an unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., second actuator] rotates the front wall 22 of container 20 upward (the z-direction) until the container floor 24 has sufficient slope [i.e., second position] for the refuse to slide out of the container. Examiner notes, the first position is the normal position of the receptacle which is the position of the receptacle when it is not raised. As portrayed by Fig. 14 (reproduced and annotated above for Applicant’s convenience), the refuse compartment 59 [i.e., receptacle] is raised and the second position is angularly offset from the first position. Furthermore, the unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., second actuator] is coupled to frame 13 [i.e., chassis]);
a third actuator configured to transition an ejector within the body between a third position and a fourth position (Figs. 3, 7-10, and [0038-0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 [i.e., third actuator] and a packer panel 130 [i.e., an ejector], compacts refuse within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130. Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 is in a compacting position at compacting location 42 [i.e., a third position]. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [i.e., a fourth position]); and
(Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [implies unlocked position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20) (b) the first actuator to transition the tailgate from the closed position to the open position (Fig. 1, and [0032], the rear door 28 is securely closed when the refuse truck collects refuse and is opened [i.e., open position] when refuse is unloaded from the container 20), and (c) the second actuator to transition the body between the first position and the second position (Fig. 14, and [0043], when the operator determines the refuse truck is full or otherwise needs to be unloaded, then the refuse truck travels to a land fill. Upon positioning the refuse truck for unloading, an unloading hydraulic cylinder 160 [i.e., second actuator] rotates the front wall 22 of container 20 upward (the z-direction) until the container floor 24 has sufficient slope [i.e., second position] for the refuse to slide out of the container. Examiner notes, the first position is the normal position of the receptacle which is the position of the receptacle when it is not raised), and (d) the third actuator to transition the ejector from the third position to the fourth position (Figs. 3, 7-10, and [0038-0042], the compacting system 100, comprising two hydraulic cylinders 90 [i.e., third actuator] and a packer panel 130 [i.e., ejector], compacts refuse within container 20 of a refuse truck. The hydraulic cylinders 90 are activated by an operator and provide forces for pushing and pulling the packer panel 130. Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 is in a compacting position at compacting location 42 [i.e., a third position]. Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [i.e., a fourth position])
Zimmerman does not teach a control system,
a first actuator configured to power movement of the tailgate from the closed position to an open position;
a processor configured to provide command signals,
the first actuator,
in response to receiving a single input without receiving multiple input commands.
However, Gillmore teaches an actuator [i.e., a first actuator], shown as lift cylinder 70, is coupled to body 40 and positioned to move tailgate 60. Extension and retraction of lift cylinder 70 rotates tailgate 60 about pinned connection 62 between an open position (e.g., a partially open position, a fully open position, etc.) and a closed position. The actuators are controlled manually or automatically as part of a prop control system [i.e., a control system] (Fig. 7, and [0019 & 0037]). As such, Gillmore teaches a first actuator configured to power movement of the tailgate from the closed position to an open position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, by incorporating the teachings of Gillmore, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that an actuator is used to rotate the tailgate between an open and closed position.
The motivation to modify is that, to keep the waste material sealed in the container which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the streets to stay clean.
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore, is silent on a processor configured to provide command signals and in response to receiving a single input without receiving multiple input commands.
However, Turner teaches the user depresses a single pushbutton in order to activate or turn ON all of security devices 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . . , 312.sub.N. The user depresses console pushbutton 308 [i.e., without receiving multiple input commands], which sends a signal to processor 314 [i.e., a processor]. Processor 314, in turn, responds to receipt of the signal indicating the depressing of pushbutton 308 by activating or turning ON all of security devices [i.e., provide command signals] 312.sub.1, 312.sub.2, . . . , 312.sub.N (Fig. 1, and [0018]). Examiner notes, the limitation above was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant' s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as sending commands for activating multiple units based on a single button press in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore, by incorporating the teachings of Turner, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that a processor is added to open the rear door and unload the refuse by transitioning the packer panel to an unloading location by a single button press.
The motivation to modify is that , providing an efficient way of operating a complex system which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the operator to start the unloading process by a single button press.
In regard to claim 19
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the control system of claim 14.
Claim 19 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 9 above, therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
13. Claim(s) 10, and 16
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Gillmore et al. (US-20150175353-A1) and further in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Hallek (DE-102017125123-A).
In regard to claim 10
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 8, accordingly the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated.
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, does not teach further comprising a sensor that is configured to detect an obstacle, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a signal from the sensor indicative of the presence of the obstacle, and to cease at least one of reconfiguring the lock or providing command signals to the first actuator, the second actuator, and/or the third actuator responsive to receiving the signal.
However, Hallek teaches an obstacle detection device for monitoring the opening process of a tailgate which includes a sensor suitable for detecting an obstacle in the rear area of a motor vehicle or in the swing area of a tailgate. The obstacle detection device is coupled to a control unit for automatically controlling the opening movement of the tailgate. Depending on sensor signals from the sensor, the control unit issues control commands that cause an opening movement of the tailgate to be stopped and/or blocked ([0011 & 0029 & 0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Hallek, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the obstacle detection device is used to detect obstacles in the swing area of the tailgate and stops the opening or closing operation of the tailgate when an obstacle is detected, by providing a command to the first actuator.
The motivation to modify is that to stop the tailgate and prevent damage or injury which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the opening/closing operation to be handled in a safe manner.
In regard to claim 16
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the control system of claim 14.
Claim 16 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 10 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
14. Claim(s) 11, and 15
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Gillmore et al. (US-20150175353-A1) and further in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Steege et al. (US-20170057743-A1).
In regard to claim 11
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to provide command signals (Figs. 3, 9-10, and [0042], Fig. 9 and Fig. 10 depict the system of Fig. 3 when the packer panel 130 has transitioned to an unloading location 44 [implies transitioning the ejector from the third position to the fourth position]).
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, does not teach to drive the refuse vehicle forward.
However, Steege teaches for a tip-to-dump operation for tilting the storage compartment 24 via the lift cylinder 91 for emptying the refuse material contained within the storage compartment, it is necessary to swing or pivot the tailgate assembly 26 at least 135° to its fully opened position so that when the vehicle body 20 is in its raised position, the tailgate assembly 26 will clear the pile of unloaded refuse material as the refuse collection vehicle 10 pulls forward [i.e., to drive the refuse vehicle forward] (Fig. 1, and [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Steege, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the vehicle is controlled to move forward when the refuse material is being emptied.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Steege, to improve the egress of the waste material from within the storage compartment during the ejection or dumping process ([0008]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the waste material to be emptied without causing a blockage.
In regard to claim 15
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the control system of claim 14.
Claim 15 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 11 above, therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 11.
15. Claim(s) 13, and 18
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Gillmore et al. (US-20150175353-A1) and further in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Marsolek et al. (US-20190188620-A1).
In regard to claim 13
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 8,
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, does not teach wherein the processor automatically receives the single input upon the refuse vehicle entering a geographically indicated location.
However, Marsolek teaches the truck controller 136 and/or the controller 116 use information included in one or more signals received from the location sensor 138 to determine the location of the haul truck 104 relative to an earth reference (e.g., GPS), relative to one or more geofences [i.e., a geographically indicated location], relative to another machine such as the paving machine 106, and/or relative to the paving plant 102 or one or more components of the paving plant 102 (Fig. 1, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Marsolek, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the vehicle receives a signal when it is determined that the vehicle is near one or more geofences.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Marsolek, to manage the worksite accurately ([0002]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicles and the operators stay safe.
In regard to claim 18
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the control system of claim 14.
Claim 18 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 13 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
16. Claim(s) 17
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Gillmore et al. (US-20150175353-A1) and further in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Hallek (DE-102017125123-A) and further in view of Je et al. (KR-20190102640-A).
In regard to claim 17
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner and Hallek, teaches the control system of claim 16, accordingly the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated.
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner and Hallek, does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate a notification responsive to the signal.
However, Je teaches a control unit (180) that output a warning notification in at least one form among visual, auditory, or tactile forms when the current distance between the tailgate (190) and the obstacle is less than or equal to the reference distance. The control unit (180) controls the operation of the tailgate (190) to be stopped when the current distance between the tailgate (190) and the obstacle is less than or equal to the reference distance (Figs. 1-11, and [0120-0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner and Hallek, by incorporating the teachings of Je, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the a control system is used to issue a warning notification when the tailgate is blocked by an obstacle.
The motivation to modify is that to inform the operator and prevent damage or injury which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to remove the obstacle or pull the car forward such that the operation is handled appropriately.
17. Claim(s) 20
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US-20130239827-A1) in view of Gillmore et al. (US-20150175353-A1) and further in view of Turner et al. (US-20180118160-A1) and further in view of Downing et al. (US-20190177098-A1) and further in view of Patel (US-20150343992-A1).
In regard to claim 20
, Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, teaches the control system of claim 14, accordingly the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated.
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner, does not teach wherein the processor is communicably coupled to the lock, the first actuator, the second actuator, and the third actuator.
However, Downing teaches Fig. 3 is a block diagram of a system 100 for operating a container handler mounted on a vehicle (Fig. 3, and [0034]). Examiner notes, a control unit necessarily has a processor. As portrayed by Fig. 3 (reproduced and annotated below for Applicant’s convenience), the control system 102 is communicably coupled to actuator(s) 116 [i.e., the first actuator, the second actuator, and the third actuator].
Figure 3 - Annotated Fig. 3 of Downing
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner, by incorporating the teachings of Downing, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the actuators are communicably coupled to the control unit.
The motivation to modify is that to send signal to the actuators which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows to control and automate the operation of the actuators.
Zimmerman, as modified by Gillmore and Turner and Downing, does not teach wherein the processor is communicably coupled to the lock.
However, Patel teaches the processor 24 is operationally coupled to the vehicle locking assembly 16 [i.e., lock] wherein the vehicle locking assembly 16 is lockable by the processor 24 (Fig. 1, and [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify refuse truck of Zimmerman, as already modified by Gillmore and Turner and Downing, by incorporating the teachings of Patel, with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems, such that the lock system is communicably coupled to the processor.
The motivation to modify is that to monitor and to lock and unlock the locking system which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to stay safe.
Conclusion
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davis et al. (US-20170121108-A1) teaches a refuse vehicle.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661