DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1, 11, and 18 have been amended. No claims have been newly added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 remain pending and have been examined in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-11, 13, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma (US 2022/0024485 A1) in view of Clare (US 2022/0267992 A1) and Popov (US 2021/0156960 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Theverapperuma discloses an agricultural vehicle (see at least [0036] – autonomous vehicle 120 can be a dump truck, tractor, bull dozer, excavator, forklift), comprising: a propulsion system configured to move the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0038] – propulsion system); a steering system configured to orient the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0038] – steering system); a navigation controller operably coupled to the propulsion system and the steering system (see at least [0035, 0038, 0042] - autonomous vehicle management system 122 (also referred to as a controller system) is configured to process data describing the state of autonomous vehicle 120 and the state of the autonomous vehicle's environment, and based upon the processing, control one or more autonomous functions or operations of autonomous vehicle 120… autonomous vehicle management system 122 may issue instructions/commands to vehicle systems 112 to programmatically and autonomously control various aspects of the autonomous vehicle's motion such as the propulsion, braking, steering or navigation); a camera operably coupled to the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0007, 0039], claims 1 and 14 - camera); a radar operably coupled to the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0007, 0039], claims 1, 14, and 20 – LIDAR sensor or radar sensor); and a computing device operably coupled to the radar and the camera (see at least [0007, 0039], claims 1, 14, and 20 - sensor data can then be fed to autonomous vehicle management system 122), the computing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to (see at least [0007, 0043], claims 1 and 14 - autonomous vehicle management system 122… software may be stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g., on a memory device) and may be executed by one or more processors (e.g., by computer systems) to perform its functions): receive image data from the camera (see at least [0007, 0039], claims 1 and 14 – camera… at least one camera image of a physical environment… sensor data can then be fed to autonomous vehicle management system 122); receive radar data from the radar and generate a radar point cloud based on the radar data (see at least [0007, 0039], claims 1, 14, and 20 – LIDAR sensor or radar sensor… 3D representation of the physical environment as a point cloud… sensor data can then be fed to autonomous vehicle management system 122); identify one or more objects in the image data using a neural network trained using a dataset of objects to generate labeled image data (see at least [0007, 0039, 0059, 0134], claims 1 and 14 – neural network trained to identify objects in the image data… used to identify and classify objects in the environment of the autonomous vehicle 120); fuse the labeled image data with the radar point cloud to obtain fused data (see at least [0007, 0083, 0112, 0148], claims 1 and 14 – generating an output representation… combine data from a camera with data from other sensors (e.g., LIDAR point clouds)); and perform one or more navigation operations based on the fused data (see at least claims 1 and 14, [0007] – based on the output representation, determining the plan of action involving autonomously navigating and executing the plan of action).
Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose a neural network trained using a dataset of agricultural objects including at least one of wildlife, livestock, agricultural equipment, crops, or obstacles specific to agricultural fields to generate labeled image data; wherein each pixel of the fused data comprises image data including an object label and radar data including a velocity, an azimuth angle, and an elevational angle; the one or more navigation operations including avoiding collision with the identified agricultural objects during an agricultural operation.
Clare, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: a neural network trained using a dataset of agricultural objects including at least one of wildlife, livestock, agricultural equipment, crops, or obstacles specific to agricultural fields to generate labeled image data (see at least [0065] - The one or more objects is classified as one of a plurality of object types. The plurality of object types may include a person object and a non-person object. In some embodiments, the plurality of object types may include a person construction worker object, a person non-construction worker object, and a non-person object. Further examples of object types may include other mobile machines, vehicles, high hazard objects (cliffs, water, etc.), low hazard objects (trees, rocks, etc.), among other possibilities. In some embodiments, the one or more objects are classified using an image classifier, such as a trained neural network image classifier.), the one or more navigation operations including avoiding collision with the identified agricultural objects during an agricultural operation (see at least [0072] – The mobile machine performs various follow-up actions based on the detected objects and/or their classifications… mobile machine may perform obstacle avoidance maneuvers to avoid people or stationary objects while completing an active job.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Clare into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of identifying the type of object and whether it is a high hazard or low hazard object, and performing obstacle avoidance maneuvers to avoid people or stationary objects while completing an active job (Clare – [0065, 0072]).
Popov teaches the following limitations: wherein each pixel of the fused data comprises image data including an object label (see at least [0029, 0031-0032, 0034, 0050, 0056, 0059] – a channel (e.g., classifier) for each class of object to be detected to predict classification data… channel may be thought of as a heat map with confidence/probability values that each pixel belongs to the class corresponding to the channel) and radar data including a velocity, an azimuth angle, and an elevational angle (see at least [0028, 0039, 0045] – for each pixel on the projection image where one or more detections land, a set of features may be calculated or determined from reflection characteristics of the RADAR detection(s) (e.g., bearing, azimuth, elevation, range, intensity, Doppler velocity, RADAR cross section (RCS), reflectivity, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Popov into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing so is to be able to distinguish between stationary obstacles—such as cars—and stationary background noise, which is particularly important when navigating in a cluttered urban environment, and to perform object detection in inclement weather and at night, in situations where camera-based and LIDAR-based detection techniques degrade and fail (Popov – [0008]). Doing so will improve accuracy in predicting object classification, dimension, and orientation (Popov – [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform the one or more navigation operations comprising at least one of reducing a speed and changing a direction of travel of the agricultural vehicle based on the fused data (see at least claims 1 and 14, [0007, 0042, 0044] – based on the output representation, determining the plan of action involving autonomously navigating and executing the plan of action… make decisions regarding actions (e.g., navigation, braking, acceleration)).
Regarding claim 7, Theverapperuma discloses wherein a field of view of the radar overlaps a field of view of the camera (see at least [0007, 0041, 0080, 0108], claims 1 and 14).
Regarding claim 8, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the computing device to synchronize the radar data with the image data (see at least [0007, 0080], claims 1 and 14).
Regarding claim 9, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to project the radar point cloud onto the classified image data to form the fused data (see at least [0007, 0083, 0100-0101, 0108], claims 1, 14, and 20 - combine data from a camera with data from another sensor, for example, to merge 2D camera images with 3D data from other sensors (e.g., LIDAR point clouds)… LIDAR-centric fusion).
Regarding claim 10, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to project the classified image data onto the radar point cloud to form the fused data (see at least [0007, 0083, 0100-0101, 0108], claims 1, 14, and 20 - combine data from a camera with data from another sensor, for example, to merge 2D camera images with 3D data from other sensors (e.g., LIDAR point clouds)… camera-centric fusion).
Regarding claim 11, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claim 11 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 1; therefore, claim 11 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Theverapperuma discloses wherein controlling one or more operations of the agricultural vehicle based on the fused data comprises performing an object avoidance operation based on the fused data (see at least [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving a user input of an agricultural operation prior to receiving the image data; and labeling objects in the image data based on a predetermined set of agricultural objects selected based on the agricultural operation.
However, Theverapperuma does disclose receiving a user input of an agricultural operation prior to receiving the image data (see at least [0035, 0038, 0044, 0061] - the autonomous operation may be the ability of the vehicle 120 to autonomously sense its environment and navigate or drive along a path autonomously and substantially free of any human user or manual input. Examples of other autonomous operations include, without limitation, scooping and dumping operations, moving materials or objects (e.g., moving dirt or sand from one area to another), lifting materials, driving, rolling, spreading dirt, excavating, transporting materials or objects from one point to another point, and the like… a goal to be set by an operator).
Clare, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: labeling objects in the image data based on a predetermined set of agricultural objects selected based on the agricultural operation (see at least [0065-0068] – current state such as executing an active job, waiting to receive a job, and attention needed... object directed indicator generated for each object based on the current state of the mobile machine… safety indicator generated for each object based on the current state of the mobile machine… state indicator generated for each object based on the current state of the mobile machine).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Clare is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claim 18 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 1; therefore, claim 18 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the imaging controller comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the imaging controller to perform the object detection operation using a neural network trained with a dataset (see at least [0035-0036, 0038, 0044, 0059, 0061]).
Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose a neural network trained with an agricultural dataset.
Clare, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: a neural network trained with an agricultural dataset (see at least [0065] - The one or more objects is classified as one of a plurality of object types. The plurality of object types may include a person object and a non-person object. In some embodiments, the plurality of object types may include a person construction worker object, a person non-construction worker object, and a non-person object. Further examples of object types may include other mobile machines, vehicles, high hazard objects (cliffs, water, etc.), low hazard objects (trees, rocks, etc.), among other possibilities. In some embodiments, the one or more objects are classified using an image classifier, such as a trained neural network image classifier.).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Clare is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 2, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma in view of Clare, Popov, Bharathwaj (US 2024/0282105 A1), and Arafat (CN 115731524 A, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 1/20/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 2, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform a segmentation to identify instances of objects (see at least [0007, 0034, 0039, 0059, 0084, 0134], claims 1 and 14 – segmenting a 2D image captured by a camera).
Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform an instance segmentation operation on the fused data to identify instances of agricultural objects in the fused data.
Bharathwaj, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform an instance segmentation operation on the data to identify instances of agricultural objects in the data (see at least [0137-0139]).
Since Theverapperuma teaches that the vehicle can be a tractor (Theverapperuma – [0036, 0038]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Bharathwaj into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of tailoring the instant segmentation task with respect to a particular agricultural item of interest to improve the ability to identify particular objects relating to agriculture (Bharathwaj – [0139, 0147]).
Arafat, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: perform an instance segmentation operation on the fused data to identify instances of objects in the fused data (see at least [0033]).
Since Theverapperuma teaches that semantic segmentation can be performed on the image data and the LIDAR or radar data (Theverapperuma – [0084]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Arafat into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving detection of objects by segmenting the fused data (Arafat – [0007, 0033]). Instance segmentation is advantageous over semantic segmentation because it is more detailed as it identifies and separates each individual object. Furthermore, instance segmentation is known to be performed on image data, LIDAR/radar data, or both, and therefore these modifications could be carried out to yield predictable results. Doing so would provide a more detailed and accurate depiction of the environment for safer control of the agricultural vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose performing an image segmentation operation on the fused data to identify instances of agricultural objects in the fused data.
Bharathwaj, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing an image segmentation operation on the data to identify instances of agricultural objects in the data (see at least [0137-0139]).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Bharathwaj is the same as in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Arafat, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing an image segmentation operation on the fused data to identify instances of objects in the fused data (see at least [0033]).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Arafat is the same as in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15, Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein performing an image segmentation operation on the fused data comprises performing the image segmentation operation using a neural network trained with a dataset comprising image data and radar data of agricultural objects.
Bharathwaj, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein performing an image segmentation operation on the data comprises performing the image segmentation operation using a neural network trained with a dataset comprising image data and radar data of agricultural objects (see at least [0137-0139]).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Bharathwaj is the same as in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Arafat, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein performing an image segmentation operation on the fused data comprises performing the image segmentation operation using a neural network trained with a dataset comprising image data and radar data of objects (see at least [0033]).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Arafat is the same as in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 19, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 2, and it has been determined that claim 19 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 2; therefore, claim 19 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma in view of Clare, Popov, and Bharathwaj.
Regarding claim 3, Theverapperuma discloses wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform a segmentation operation on the image data to generate the labeled image data (see at least [0007, 0039, 0059, 0084, 0134], claims 1 and 14 – segmenting a 2D image captured by a camera… segmentation is typically performed concurrently with classification (determining the class of each segment)).
Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose an instance segmentation operation.
Bharathwaj, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: an instance segmentation operation (see at least [0137-0139]).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Bharathwaj is the same as in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma in view of Clare, Popov, and Carvalho (BR 10 2021 013 431 A2, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 1/20/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 5, Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the camera is configured to receive image data comprising RGB data, SWIR data, and NIR data.
Carvalho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the camera is configured to receive image data comprising RGB data, SWIR data, and NIR data (see at least [2200]).
Since Theverapperuma teaches that the vehicle can be a tractor (Theverapperuma – [0036, 0038]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Carvalho into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of better evaluating the state of vegetables and organisms while also providing simplicity of use and installation (Carvalho – [100, 5500]). Selecting the camera to be a known specific type of camera that is capable of being used in a vehicle environment requires only routine skill in the art and doing so would yield predictable results. Furthermore, this would only increase the abilities of the camera in tractor applications, since the camera could now be used to detect in the visible spectrum for object and terrain detection and classification, but also in the NIR and SWIR spectrum to monitor plants.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma in view of Clare, Popov, and Kanthan (US 2020/0387713 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to select the neural network from a set of neutral networks based on an operation to be performed with the agricultural vehicle.
However, Theverapperuma does disclose an operation to be performed with the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0035, 0038, 0044, 0061] - the autonomous operation may be the ability of the vehicle 120 to autonomously sense its environment and navigate or drive along a path autonomously and substantially free of any human user or manual input. Examples of other autonomous operations include, without limitation, scooping and dumping operations, moving materials or objects (e.g., moving dirt or sand from one area to another), lifting materials, driving, rolling, spreading dirt, excavating, transporting materials or objects from one point to another point, and the like… a goal to be set by an operator).
Kanthan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the computing device comprises instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to select the neural network from a set of neutral networks based on an operation to be performed with the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0049, 0071, 0101, 0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Kanthan into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving processing performance and accuracy of detection by selecting neural networks for subgroups of attributes of interest (Kanthan – [0049]). For example, if Theverapperuma’s vehicle was a watercraft it would be more efficient and accurate to utilize neural networks for detecting objects that are expected to be encountered on the water (i.e., buoys, docks, swimmers) but not utilizing neural networks that detect objects that would not be encountered on the water (i.e., bicycles). The same reasoning applies to buses, tractors, dump trucks, cars, etc.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma in view of Clare, Popov, and Madsen (US 2023/0304818 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Theverapperuma discloses wherein controlling one or more operations of the agricultural vehicle based on the fused data comprises: providing the fused data to a remote location (see at least [0043] – autonomous vehicle management system 122 can be remote from the autonomous vehicle 120); and generating a map of an area traversed by the agricultural vehicle (see at least [0035, 0044, 0058-0059, 0061] – generate and/or update the map of the real-time environment of the autonomous vehicle…).
Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the area is a field.
Madsen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the area is a field (see at least [0016, 0046, 0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Madsen into the invention of Theverapperuma with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of generating 3D terrain maps in agricultural/farming applications for different applications, such as determining a height of the vegetation on the terrain above the ground surface to help determine whether a crop is ready for harvesting, to identify brush that may need to be cleared from a field before planting, to assess the health of crops, to identify moisture levels of the terrain to help identify safe paths for vehicle planning to drive over to avoid equipment sinking or damaging the field, or the like (Madsen – [0046, 0048]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theverapperuma in view of Clare, Popov, and Arafat.
Regarding claim 17, Theverapperuma discloses wherein fusing the labeled image data with the radar data to form fused data comprises projecting the labeled image data onto a 3D point cloud (see at least [0007, 0083, 0100-0101, 0108], claims 1, 14, and 20 - combine data from a camera with data from another sensor, for example, to merge 2D camera images with 3D data from other sensors (e.g., LIDAR point clouds)… LIDAR-centric fusion).
Theverapperuma does not appear to explicitly disclose the method further comprising: performing an image segmentation operation on the fused data.
Arafat, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: performing an image segmentation operation on the fused data (see at least [0033]).
The motivation to combine Theverapperuma and Arafat is the same as in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9 filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the previous prior art rejection(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Popov.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892. The following is the relevant prior art that was cited but not applied: US 2021/0096241 A1 and US 2023/0417896 A1.
/CAITLIN R MCCLEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3669