This action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment/remarks filed 10/05/2026.
Claims 3-11 and 14-23 are currently pending.
The IDS statement filed 10/05/2026 has been considered. An initialed copy accompanies this action.
Response to the Requirement for Information
Examiner acknowledges and thanks Applicant for supplying a response to the requirement for information of the publication date or public availability date of the Lv et al. NPL reference cited on the IDS filed 04/30/2025. Applicant has stated on the record said reference was first published and/or made publicly available on August 3, 2026 and no earlier disclosure took place (see the paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6 of the response filed 10/05/2026). While the Examiner contends that the first publication date or public availability date is actually April 30, 2025 in view of Applicant’s explanation1, regardless of whether the NPL reference’s publication/availability date is April 30, 2025 or August 3, 2026, the reference is not available as prior art because it was published and/or publicly available well-after the present application’s effective filing date of on or before October 21, 2024.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The 102 and 103 rejections over/based-on Liu et al. (US 2021/0116152 A1) are withdrawn in view of the above amendment and remarks.
The 102 and 103 rejections over Zhang et al. (“Solid-state cooling by elastocaloric polymer with uniform chain-lengths”, Nature Communications, 2022, 13:9) are withdrawn in view of the above amendment and remarks.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections made in the previous Office action have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 23, the term “the pristine state” lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claims. It is unclear what “the pristine state” refers to as nothing in the instant claim or parent claim indicates anything “pristine”. What is the pristine state? Is it an ideal, perfect state of the co-polymer, an initial state or structure prior to obtaining the actual composite (i.e., a product-by-process limitation), or some other particular state?
There is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of these claim due to the serious lack of clarity of a term/limitation therein, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention. Where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims. See MPEP 2173.06.
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Interpretation
As similarly set forth in the previous Office action, the claims recite several limitations describing how the composite or its components are made (e.g., that the thermoplastic block co-polymer has melt-spun materials, that the materials are cross-linked by certain types of irradiation, that the composite is formed with a certain activation energy relative to another composite, etc.) are product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process limitations are not recited to the recited steps except to the extent they suggest structure of the composition. Here, the claims merely require the structure implied by the process steps but not the recited process steps themselves (e.g., the recited chemical structure of a thermoplastic block-copolymer with elastocaloric/twistocaloric properties regardless of whether made by melt spinning or some other process, that the material is cross-linked regardless of whether made by a certain irradiating process or some other process, the material itself regardless of some relative activation energy during formation, etc.). The product-by-process limitations are extended little patentable weight. See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
Claims 3, 6-9, 11, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1,2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bramante et al. (US 2009/0068436 A1).
As to independent claim 15, Bramante et al. teach compositions suitable for and made into elastic fibers (i.e., a composite in the form of fibers) comprising an ethylene/alpha-olefin interpolymer (abstract). The ethylene/alpha-olefin interpolymer is thoroughly defined with sufficient specificity as being synonymous with an olefin block copolymer (para. 0040-0046). Examples demonstrate the fibers are made by melt-spinning pellets of compositions comprising the olefin block copolymer (para. 0276-0278 and 0282-0284). The fibers are capable of stress relaxation (para. 0245) which reads on the claimed twisting or stretching deformation.
In view of the details to the process of making the fibers and the composition thereof, Bramante et al.’s fibers are regarded as inherently meeting the claimed plurality of at least one melt-spun elastocaloric or twistocaloric materials that have reversible temperature shifts stored therein after a combination of at least one of twisting or stretching deformation of the at least one melt-spun elastocaloric or twistocaloric materials as Bramante et al.’s fibers are made from the same material as that claimed (olefin block copolymers) via substantially the same product-by-process limitations as that claimed (melt spinning olefin block copolymers and making, i.e., storing, some sort of deformation/stretching that affects the fiber).
In the event Bramante et al.’s melt-spun and deformed/stretched olefin block copolymer fibers do not directly meet the claimed olefin block copolymer fibers with elastocaloric or twistocaloric properties having reversible temperature shifts stored therein after a combination of at least one of twisting or stretching deformations of the melt-spun olefin block copolymer fibers under the meaning of anticipation, even if Bramante et al.’s fibers are made by a different process than that instantly claimed, Bramante et al.’s obtained product is either identical with the claimed product or only slightly different than the claimed product due to the final product ultimately being a composite in the form of melt-spun and deformed/stretched fibers comprising an olefin block copolymer that the skilled artisan would reasonably expect and understand is substantially the same final product as claimed. See also the various parameters of the fibers disclosed among para. 0028-0090 (fiber diameters, block content, molecular weight, etc.) that one of ordinary skill in the art may obviously vary and tailor in order to affect the properties and/or final structure of the fibers.
As to claim 3, Bramante et al. teach the fiber is usually cross-linked and cross-linking agents include irradiation with electron beams and gamma rays (para. 0243).
As to claims 6 and 17, Bramante et al. is silent to their material being crystalline, which meets the claimed limitations the material is amorphous or substantially amorphous. In any event, Bramante et al. further teach the olefin block copolymer is made of hard and soft segments that may each be adjusted from 1-99 wt.% of the olefin block copolymer (para. 0045-0046), meaning the crystallinity/amorphousness of the olefin block copolymer may be adjusted.
As to claim 7, this claim is a product-by-process limitation (Id.). The structure of Bramante et al.’s material meets the claimed product-by-process limitation for the reasons of record.
As to claim 8 and 18, regarding the claimed limitations the Young’s Modulus depends on a temperature of the disposal of the thermoplastic block-co-polymer, this property is presumed inherent of Bramante et al.’s material as Bramante et al.’s material broadly has the same structure and composition as that instantly claimed. In any event, if not inherent, this property would otherwise flow naturally from the disclosed structure of the reference and/or the process parameters of the reference (Id.). Similarly regarding claim 8, regarding the claimed limitations there is a property that is configured to be adjusted, this property is presumed inherent of Bramante et al.’s material as Bramante et al.’s material broadly has the same structure and composition as that instantly claimed. In any event, if not inherent, this property would otherwise flow naturally from the disclosed structure of the reference and/or the parameters of the reference’s fibers (Id.).
As to claims 9, 11, and 20, Bramante et al. teach various additives may be added to the compositions and/or fibers such as antioxidants, fillers, process additives, talc, die build up stabilizers, antioxidants, fillers, spin finish agents and mixtures thereof (para. 0248-0251) which read on the further presence of a dopant. Regarding the nano-scale or micro-scale phase separated inclusions, the disclosed fillers read on these components because the fibers may have diameters between about 7 and 30 microns (para. 0037), meaning any filler present would need to have a size significantly less than said diameter in order to be sufficiently disposed (or fit) within the composition/fiber as an additive.
As to claim 16, Bramante et al. teach the material may be uncrosslinked (para. 0030), which meets the limitation the composite is substantially devoid of crosslinks.
As to claim 19, regarding the claimed limitation a mechanocaloric temperature change of the material between its fully relaxed configuration and its fully deformed configured is approximately in a range from about 1.5°C to about 30°C, this property is presumed inherent of Bramante et al.’s material as Bramante et al.’s material broadly has the same structure and composition as that instantly claimed. In any event, if not inherent, this property would otherwise flow naturally from the disclosed structure of the reference and/or the parameters of the reference’s fibers (Id.).
As to claim 21, regarding the claimed limitation elasticity of the thermoplastic block copolymer is enabled by chain entanglement without cross-linking, this limitation is presumed inherent or would flow naturally from the teachings of the reference as Bramante et al. similarly teach the fibers are elastic, are made from olefin block copolymers, are melt-spun, and are uncrosslinked, all as instantly claimed.
As to claim 22, Bramante et al. teach the thermoplastic block copolymer (the olefin block copolymer) comprises alternating crystallizable polyethylene hard blocks and amorphous ethylene/alpha-olefin soft blocks (see para. 0042, 0043, 0045, and 0046).
Claims 6-8, 15-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1,2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Stoiljkovic et al. (WO 2020/167727 A1).
As to independent claim 15, Stoiljkovic et al. teach fibers (i.e., a composite in the form of fibers) of an olefin block copolymer (i.e., a thermoplastic block co-polymer comprising one or more olefin block co-polymers) that are spun into fibers, cooling the fibers, stretched to a nominal elongation of 50-900%, and then relaxed to form elastic fibers (abstract and para. 0008). The spinning comprises melt-spinning (para. 0008, claim 6, Fig. 1, etc.). See also the thoroughly disclosed details of the olefin block copolymer (para. 0024-0054). The stretching and relaxing steps of the fibers read on the claimed twisting or stretching deformation. See also the Examples in Table 4 of elastic filaments made from various Infuse trade name olefin block copolymers.
In view of the details to the process of making the fibers and the composition thereof, Stoiljkovic et al.’s fibers are regarded as inherently meeting the claimed plurality of at least one melt-spun elastocaloric or twistocaloric materials that have reversible temperature shifts stored therein after a combination of at least one of twisting or stretching deformation of the at least one melt-spun elastocaloric or twistocaloric materials as Stoiljkovic et al.’s fibers are made from the same material as that claimed (olefin block copolymers) via substantially the same product-by-process limitations as that claimed (melt spinning olefin block copolymers and making, i.e., storing, some sort of deformation/stretching that affects the fiber).
In the event Stoiljkovic et al.’s melt-spun and deformed/stretched olefin block copolymer fibers do not directly meet the claimed olefin block copolymer fibers with elastocaloric or twistocaloric properties having reversible temperature shifts stored therein after a combination of at least one of twisting or stretching deformations of the melt-spun olefin block copolymer fibers under the meaning of anticipation, even if Stoiljkovic et al.’s fibers are made by a different process than that instantly claimed, Stoiljkovic et al.’s obtained product is either identical with the claimed product or only slightly different than the claimed product due to the final product ultimately being a composite in the form of melt-spun and deformed/stretched fibers comprising an olefin block copolymer that the skilled artisan would reasonably expect and understand is substantially the same final product as claimed. See also the parameters of the melt spinning process (para. 0008-0012) and stretching and relaxing steps of the olefin block copolymer fibers (para. 0013-0018) that one of ordinary skill in the art may obviously vary and tailor in order to affect the properties and/or final structure of the fibers.
As to claims 6 and 17, Stoiljkovic et al. is silent to their material being crystalline, which meets the claimed limitations the material is amorphous or substantially amorphous. In any event, Stoiljkovic et al. further teach the olefin block copolymer is made of hard and soft segments that may each be adjusted from 1-99 wt.% of the olefin block copolymer (para. 0028-0029), meaning the crystallinity/amorphousness of the olefin block copolymer may be adjusted. Furthermore, the reference’s exemplary olefin block copolymers are made from various Infuse trade name olefin block copolymers (Id.), which is the same olefin block copolymer product as disclosed in the present application’s original specification.
As to claim 7, this claim is a product-by-process limitation (Id.). The structure of Stoiljkovic et al.’s material meets the claimed product-by-process limitation for the reasons of record.
As to claim 8 and 18, regarding the claimed limitations the Young’s Modulus depends on a temperature of the disposal of the thermoplastic block-co-polymer, this property is presumed inherent of Stoiljkovic et al.’s material as Stoiljkovic et al.’s material broadly has the same structure and composition as that instantly claimed. In any event, if not inherent, this property would otherwise flow naturally from the disclosed structure of the reference and/or the process parameters of the reference (Id.). Similarly regarding claim 8, regarding the claimed limitations there is a property that is configured to be adjusted, this property is presumed inherent of Stoiljkovic et al.’s material as Stoiljkovic et al.’s material broadly has the same structure and composition as that instantly claimed. In any event, if not inherent, this property would otherwise flow naturally from the disclosed structure of the reference and/or the process parameters of the reference (Id.).
As to claim 16, Stoiljkovic et al. teach the olefin block copolymer is not cross-linked (para. 0086, claim 9, etc.), which meets the claimed limitations the material is substantially devoid of crosslinks.
As to claim 19, regarding the claimed limitation a mechanocaloric temperature change of the material between its fully relaxed configuration and its fully deformed configured is approximately in a range from about 1.5°C to about 30°C, this property is presumed inherent of Stoiljkovic et al.’s material as Stoiljkovic et al.’s material broadly has the same structure and composition as that instantly claimed. In any event, if not inherent, this property would otherwise flow naturally from the disclosed structure of the reference and/or the process parameters of the reference (Id.).
As to claim 21, regarding the claimed limitation elasticity of the thermoplastic block copolymer is enabled by chain entanglement without cross-linking, this limitation is presumed inherent or would flow naturally from the teachings of the reference as Stoiljkovic et al. similarly teach the fibers are elastic, are made from olefin block copolymers, are melt-spun, and are not crosslinked, all as instantly claimed. Furthermore, the reference’s exemplary olefin block copolymers are made from various Infuse trade name olefin block copolymers (Id.), which is the same olefin block copolymer product as disclosed in the present application’s original specification.
As to claim 22, Stoiljkovic et al. teach the thermoplastic block copolymer (the olefin block copolymer) comprises alternating crystallizable polyethylene hard blocks and amorphous ethylene/alpha-olefin soft blocks (see para. 0024, 0025, and 0028-0030). Furthermore, the reference’s exemplary olefin block copolymers are made from various Infuse trade name olefin block copolymers (Id.), which is the same olefin block copolymer product as disclosed in the present application’s original specification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 4. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). While the wording is not identical, claim 4’s “wherein one or more phase change materials are coupled to the plurality of at least one of melt-spun elastocaloric or twistocaloric materials” and claim 14’s “at least one of the fiber or yarn having a phase-change material coupled to” seem to encompass the same scope in view of the amendment to the independent claim specifying “the composite is in the form of a fiber or yarn”. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record fail to teach or suggest a composite in the form of a fiber or yarn comprising an olefin block copolymer having reversible temperature shifts stored therein after twisting or stretching deformations (elastocaloric or twistocaloric features) comprising a phase change material coupled thereto or doped therein (claims 4, 5, and 14) or comprising a magnetocaloric or electrocaloric material doped therein (claim 10).
Bramante et al. (US 2009/0068436 A1) teach compositions suitable for and made into elastic fibers comprising an ethylene/alpha-olefin interpolymer (abstract). The ethylene/alpha-olefin interpolymer is thoroughly defined with sufficient specificity as being synonymous with an olefin block copolymer (para. 0040-0046). The fibers are made by melt-spinning pellets of compositions comprising the olefin block copolymer (para. 0276-0278 and 0282-0284). The fibers are capable of stress relaxation (para. 0245) which reads on a twisting or stretching deformation. The fibers may further comprise various additives such as antioxidants, fillers, process additives, talc, die build up stabilizers, antioxidants, fillers, spin finish agents and mixtures thereof (para. 0248-0251) but the reference fails to fairly teach or suggest the further inclusion of a phase change material, magnetocaloric material, or electrocaloric material as claimed.
Zhang et al. (“Difunctional olefin block copolymer/paraffin form-stable phase change materials with simultaneous shape memory property”, Solar Energy Materials & Solar Cells, 117, 2013, 259-266) teach form-stable phase change materials (FSPCMs) which possesses a shape memory function and consist of paraffin with melting point of approximately 53 °C as a latent heat storage material and olefin block copolymer as a supporting material (abstract). The composite is in the form of films made by melt blending and compression molding the components (§2.1 p.260, Fig. 9). Zhang et al. fail to teach or suggest the composite is in the form of a yarn or fiber or that the olefin block copolymer has reversible temperature shifts stored therein by twisting or stretching deformations. Zhang et al.'s shape memory feature is distinct from the claimed elastocaloric or twistocaloric feature.
Stoiljkovic et al. (WO 2020/167727 A1) teach fibers of an olefin block copolymer that are melt-spun into fibers, cooled the fibers, stretched, and relaxed to form elastic fibers (abstract, para. 0008, claim 6, Fig. 1). The Examples in Table 4 demonstrate the elastic filaments are made from various Infuse trade name olefin block copolymers. While the stretching and relaxing steps of the fibers read a twisting or stretching deformation, the reference fails to teach or suggest the further inclusion of a phase change material, magnetocaloric material, or electrocaloric material as claimed.
Liu et al. (US 2021/0116152 A1) teach twisted, coiled, or supercoiled yarns or fibers capable of cooling/refrigeration when twisted-untwisted (abstract). This describes an elastocaloric and/or twistocaloric material and a reversible shift in temperature by twisting/stretching deformation, and the reference even further teaches the material may be elastocaloric (para. 0026). The fibers comprise natural rubber fibers, NiTi wires, and polyethylene fishing line (abstract). Liu et al. fail to teach or suggest the presence of an olefin block copolymer in the fiber or yarn composite as claimed. Liu et al. also fail to teach or suggest the further inclusion of a phase change material as claimed.
Feng et al. (“High cycle-life twistocaloric cooling of poly-p-phenylene benzodioxole fibers”, Macromol. Rapid Commun., 2023, 44, 2300318) teach a fiber material with elasto- and twistocaloric properties comprising poly-p-phenylene benzodioxole (PBO) (abstract). While similar or close by the disclosed elasto- and twistocaloric properties, Feng et al. fails to meet, teach, or suggest the claimed limitation that the composite comprises an olefin block co-polymer, let alone a thermoplastic block co-polymer, as the disclosed PBO is not an olefin block copolymer as claimed and is merely an alternating copolymer (e.g., -A-B-A-B-A-B-…) rather than a block copolymer (…-A-A-A-A-B-B-B-B-…) as instantly claimed. See Fig. 1 showing the molecular structure of the PBO fiber alternates between benzodioxole units and phenylene units rather than having block(s) of benzodioxole units and block(s) of phenylene units as required by the term “block” of “block co-polymer” of the instantly claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MATTHEW R DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/M.R.D./
November 6, 2026
1 April 3, 2025 is the date Applicant uploaded the subject NPL reference to the present application’s file wrapper. The present application’s file wrapper was made publicly available/searchable on April 24, 2025, the corresponding pre-grant publication date. When Applicant uploaded a copy of the NPL reference with the IDS, it was made publicly available at the same time.