DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaya US 20160170105 in view of Li US 2021/0130222.
Regarding claim 1, Nagaya teaches an optical filter comprising: an absorber (glass support [0089) ; an absorption layer (transparent resin layer [0089]) comprising a dye (compounds having absorption maximum in wavelength region 600 to 850nm) and a resin [0089], the dye having a maximum absorption wavelength between 350 nm and 1,200 nm ([0089]) ; and a dielectric multilayer film (dielectric multilayer [0095]). Nagaya does not teach the absorber comprising an inorganic material comprising ytterbium but does teach the absorber can be a glass support ([0089]). Li teaches a filter glass with high refractive index with low visible light absorption [0018] with good infrared absorption properties that does not contain toxic components containing Ytterbium (see claim 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the glass of Nagaya with the glass of Li to improve infrared absorption to improve visible light transmission while improving infrared absorption without use of toxic material.
Regarding claim 2, Nagaya teaches the optical filter according to claim 1, wherein the absorber has a flat plate shape (see fig. 1 optical filter 1 has a flat plate shape therefore the absorber which is the main support will have a flat plate shape).
Regarding claim 3, Nagaya teaches the optical filter according to claim 1, wherein the absorber has a thickness of 3 mm or less [0342].
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses a glass comprising ytterbium, and the glass comprises 10 mol % or more of Yb2O3 in terms of mol % based on an oxide (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, Nagaya teaches the optical filter according to claim 1, wherein the following spectral characteristic (i-2) is satisfied: (i-2) in a spectral transmittance curve at a wavelength of 800 nm to 900 nm and an incident angle of 0 degrees, a maximum transmittance T.sub.800-900(0 deg)MAX is 60% or more (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Nagaya teaches the optical filter according to claim 1, wherein the following spectral characteristic (i-3) is satisfied: (i-3) in a spectral transmittance curve at a wavelength of 930 nm to 950 nm and an incident angle of 0 degrees, a maximum transmittance T.sub.930-950(0 dog)MAX is 20% or less (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Nagaya teaches the optical filter according to claim 1, wherein the following spectral characteristic (i-1) is satisfied: (i-1) in a spectral transmittance curve at a wavelength of 450 nm to 600 nm and an incident angle of 0 degrees, an average transmittance T.sub.450-600(0 deg)AVE is 60% or more (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Nagaya teaches an imaging device (claim 16) comprising the optical filter according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871