DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 October 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, “a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the adjacent read filter unit” in lines 3-4 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same spacing mentioned previously or a different spacing? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same spacing mentioned previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uedaira (USPGPub 20210311231 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8564580 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Uedaira teaches an ambient light sensor (1), wherein the ambient light sensor (1) is adapted to be arranged under a display screen (102) of an electronic device (see figure 18, optical sensor 1 disposed under display panel 102; and ¶33, the optical sensor 1 is an illuminance sensor detecting illuminance of ambient light), and comprises: a light filter unit array comprising a sub-array composed of a red filter unit (R1), a green filter unit (G1), and a blue filter unit (B1) (abstract, The multiple color filters include a red color filter, a green color filter and a blue color filter), and a pixel unit array located below the light filter unit array and comprising a plurality of pixel units (42), the plurality of pixel units (42) being configured to receive a light signal of ambient light after passing through the display screen (102) and the light filter unit array, for ambient light detection (see figure 5, optical receivers 42 (i.e. pixel units), comprising photodiodes PD, disposed beneath color filters 61); wherein a gravity center of a pattern formed by the red filter unit in the sub-array, a gravity center of a pattern formed by the green filter unit in the sub-array, and a gravity center of a pattern formed by the blue filter unit in the sub-array coincide with each other (see figure 4, the center of each red, green, and blue patten is located at point C; and ¶49, the plurality of signal detection light receiving portions R1, G1 and B1 are respectively disposed on dot symmetrical positions relative to a center C (center of gravity) of the light receiving area 41 as a center of symmetry). However, Uedaira fails to explicitly teach wherein an arrangement direction of light filter units in each line or each row of the light filter unit array is aligned with a line scan direction of the display screen.
However, Sakai teaches wherein an arrangement direction of light filter units in each line or each row of the light filter unit array is aligned with a line scan direction of the display screen (see figure 27A-27C, detectors 321, 221, etc. having color filters, being aligned with scan lines 7-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Uedaira to incorporate the teachings of Sakai to further have the photodetectors (and their respective color filters) be aligned with the scan lines of the display because the mere rearrangement of parts that would not modify the function of the device is a matter of choice (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Regarding claim 2, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches the ambient light sensor (Uedaira 1) according to claim 1, wherein the gravity center of the pattern formed by the red filter unit, the gravity center of the pattern formed by the green filter unit, and the gravity center of the pattern formed by the blue filter unit are located in a center region of the sub-array (Uedaira, see figure 4, the center of each red, green, and blue patten is located at point C; and ¶49, the plurality of signal detection light receiving portions R1, G1 and B1 are respectively disposed on dot symmetrical positions relative to a center C (center of gravity) of the light receiving area 41 as a center of symmetry).
Regarding claim 6, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches the ambient light sensor according to claim 1, wherein a number of the green filter units (Uedaira G1) is located between the number of the blue filter units (Uedaira B1) and the number of the red filter units (Uedaira R1) (Uedaira, see figure 4, green filters G1 located between red and blue filters R1 and B1).
Regarding claim 8, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches the ambient light sensor according to claim 1, wherein the light filter unit array further comprises a wide band light filter unit (Uedaira 11C) configured to allow for transmittance of a visible light signal and an infrared light signal (Uedaira, see figure 4, light receiving portion 11 having a plurality of color filters arranged in a 2D array having visible light filters R1, G1, and B1, and wide band filters 11C; and ¶51, A transparent light receiving portion 11C capable of receiving visible light and infrared light is formed on a corner of the light receiving area 41).
Regarding claim 13, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches the ambient light sensor according to claim 1, wherein the pixel unit (Uedaira 42) comprises a photodiode (PD), and the PD is arranged below each light filter unit in the light filter unit array (Uedaira, ¶43, The red light receiving portion 11R includes a photodiode 15R, the green light receiving portion 11G includes a photodiode 15G, and the blue light receiving portion 11B includes a photodiode 15B).
Regarding claim 14, Uedaira teaches an electronic device, comprising: a display screen (102) (see figure 18, display panel 102); and an ambient light sensor (1) provided below the display screen (102) (see figure 18, optical sensor 1 disposed under display panel 102; and ¶33, the optical sensor 1 is an illuminance sensor detecting illuminance of ambient light), wherein the ambient light sensor (1) comprises: a light filter unit array comprising a sub-array composed of a red filter unit (R1), a green filter unit (G1), and a blue filter unit (B1) (abstract, The multiple color filters include a red color filter, a green color filter and a blue color filter), and a pixel unit array located below the light filter unit array and comprising a plurality of pixel units, the plurality of pixel units being configured to receive a light signal of ambient light after passing through the display screen and the light filter unit array, for ambient light detection (see figure 5, optical receivers 42 (i.e. pixel units), comprising photodiodes PD, disposed beneath color filters 61); wherein a gravity center of a pattern formed by the red filter unit in the sub-array, a gravity center of a pattern formed by the green filter unit in the sub-array, and a gravity center of a pattern formed by the blue filter unit in the sub-array coincide with each other (see figure 4, the center of each red, green, and blue patten is located at point C; and ¶49, the plurality of signal detection light receiving portions R1, G1 and B1 are respectively disposed on dot symmetrical positions relative to a center C (center of gravity) of the light receiving area 41 as a center of symmetry). However, Uedaira fails to explicitly teach wherein an arrangement direction of light filter units in each line or each row of the light filter unit array is aligned with a line scan direction of the display screen.
However, Sakai teaches wherein an arrangement direction of light filter units in each line or each row of the light filter unit array is aligned with a line scan direction of the display screen (see figure 27A-27C, detectors 321, 221, etc. having color filters, being aligned with scan lines 7-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Uedaira to incorporate the teachings of Sakai to further have the photodetectors (and their respective color filters) be aligned with the scan lines of the display because the mere rearrangement of parts that would not modify the function of the device is a matter of choice (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uedaira (USPGPub 20210311231 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8564580 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12068350 B2) and Saito et al. (USPGPub 20190145826 A1).
Regarding claim 3¸ Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches the ambient light sensor according to claim 1, wherein the light filter unit array is an array composed of M lines×N rows of light filter units, wherein the light filter unit array further comprises a wide band light filter unit (Uedaira 11C), the wide band light filter unit (Uedaira 11C) is located on an edge of the light filter unit array, and M and N are each a positive integer greater than 1 (Uedaira, see figure 4, light receiving portion 11 having a plurality of color filters arranged in a 2D array having visible light filters R1, G1, and B1, and wide band filters 11C; and ¶51, A transparent light receiving portion 11C capable of receiving visible light and infrared light is formed on a corner of the light receiving area 41); and the wide band light filter unit (Uedaira 11C) is configured to allow for transmittance of a visible light signal and an infrared light signal (Uedaira, ¶51, A transparent light receiving portion 11C capable of receiving visible light and infrared light is formed on a corner of the light receiving area 41). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach a visible light filter unit and a light shielding unit, wherein the visible light filter unit and the light shielding unit are located on an edge of the light filter unit array.
However, Saito teaches a visible light filter unit, wherein the visible light filter unit is located on an edge of the light filter unit array (see figure 2, yellow filters Y (i.e. visible light filters) disposed on the edge of the filter array).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira and Sakai to incorporate the teachings of Saito to further include an additional visible light filter because the yellow wavelength band, which is the wavelength band between the green color and the red color, can be detected by the first light receiving element and the yellow filter covering the light receiving surface of the first light receiving element. Therefore, the detection accuracy of the optical sensor can be enhanced (Saito, ¶7). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach a light shielding unit, wherein the light shielding unit is located on an edge of the light filter unit array.
However, Lee teaches a light shielding unit (OB), wherein the light shielding unit (OB) is located on an edge of the light filter unit array (see figures 3 and 4, optically black region OB (i.e. light shielding unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira, Sakai, and Saito to incorporate the teachings of Lee to further include a light shielding region in order to provide compensation for dark current, allowing for more precise measurements of light with less noise.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uedaira (USPGPub 20210311231 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8564580 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horn et al. (USPGPub 20060232668 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches a light filter unit array comprising a sub-array composed of a red filter unit (R1), a green filter unit (G1), and a blue filter unit (B1) (abstract, The multiple color filters include a red color filter, a green color filter and a blue color filter). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein a number of the blue filter units is larger than a number of the red filter units, and the number of the blue filter units is twice or more than twice as much as the number of the red filter units.
However, Horn teaches wherein a number of the blue filter units is larger than a number of the red filter units, and the number of the blue filter units is twice or more than twice as much as the number of the red filter units (see figure 2A and 2B, blue filters 13 having a higher density then the red and green filters; and ¶5, the blue sensitive elements occur approximately twice as frequently as the red sensitive elements and approximately twice as frequently as the green sensitive elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira and Sakai to incorporate the teachings of Horn to provide more blue filters than red filters in order to increase precision in low light environments where red wavelengths would be more difficult to detect.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uedaira (USPGPub 20210311231 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8564580 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uchida et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4758734 A) and Holenarsipur et al. (USPGPub 20120187513 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches a light filter unit array comprising a sub-array composed of a red filter unit (R1), a green filter unit (G1), and a blue filter unit (B1) (abstract, The multiple color filters include a red color filter, a green color filter and a blue color filter). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein a size of the red filter unit, a size of the green filter unit, and a size of the blue filter unit are larger than or equal to 160 um; and a spacing between two adjacent light filter units among the red filter unit, the green filter unit, and the blue filter unit is larger than or equal to 40 um.
However, Uchida teaches wherein a size of the red filter unit, a size of the green filter unit, and a size of the blue filter unit are larger than or equal to 160 um (col. 5, lines 46-47, The shape of each color filter is a square of 180 .mu.m.times.220 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira and Sakai to incorporate the teachings of Uchida to provide color filters of the aforementioned size because a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.02 II A). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach a spacing between two adjacent light filter units among the red filter unit, the green filter unit, and the blue filter unit is larger than or equal to 40 um.
However, Holenarsipur teaches a spacing between two adjacent light filter units among the red filter unit, the green filter unit, and the blue filter unit is larger than or equal to 40 um (¶32, in an example array 206, between approximately twenty (20) to approximately forty (40) microns of "empty" space (channels) may be left between each color interference filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira, Sakai, and Uchida to incorporate the teachings of Holenarsipur to provide filters spaced apart by the aforementioned distance because a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.02 II A).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uedaira (USPGPub 20210311231 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8564580 B2) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12068350 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches a light filter unit array (abstract, The multiple color filters include a red color filter, a green color filter and a blue color filter). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the light filter unit array further comprises a light shielding unit configured to block or absorb a light signal.
However, Lee teaches wherein the light filter unit array further comprises a light shielding unit (OB) configured to block or absorb a light signal (see figures 3 and 4, optically black region OB (i.e. light shielding unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira and Sakai to incorporate the teachings of Lee to further include a light shielding region in order to provide compensation for dark current, allowing for more precise measurements of light with less noise.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uedaira (USPGPub 20210311231 A1) in view of Sakai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8564580 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saito et al. (USPGPub 20190145826 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Uedaira as modified by Sakai teaches the wide band light filter unit (Uedaira 11C) (Uedaira, see figure 4). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the light filter unit array further comprises a visible light filter unit configured to allow for transmittance of a visible light signal, and a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the visible light filter unit adjacent to the wide band light filter unit is larger than a spacing between the visible light filter unit and other light filter units adjacent to the visible light filter unit.
However, Saito teaches wherein the light filter unit array further comprises a visible light filter unit (Y) configured to allow for transmittance of a visible light signal, and a spacing between the wide band light filter unit (C) and the visible light filter unit (Y) adjacent to the wide band light filter unit (C) is larger than a spacing between the visible light filter unit (Y) and other light filter units (R/G/B) adjacent to the visible light filter unit (Y) (see figure 2, yellow filter Y (i.e. visible light filter) disposed adjacent to other light filters including B1, R1, and G1 as well as diagonally adjacent to clear filter C (i.e. wide band filter); and NOTE: while the yellow filter is closely disposed adjacent to color filters B1, R1, and G1, it is further from the clear filter C due to the spacing between the clear filters and the other filters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Uedaira and Sakai to incorporate the teachings of Saito to further include an additional visible light filter because the yellow wavelength band, which is the wavelength band between the green color and the red color, can be detected by the first light receiving element and the yellow filter covering the light receiving surface of the first light receiving element. Therefore, the detection accuracy of the optical sensor can be enhanced (Saito, ¶7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the ambient light sensor according to claims 3 and 1 as claimed, wherein a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the adjacent red filter unit thereof is larger than a spacing between the red filter unit and the adjacent blue filter unit thereof, or a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the adjacent red filter unit thereof is larger than a spacing between the red filter unit and the adjacent green filter unit thereof; more specifically in combination with the light shielding unit is arranged non-adjacent to the wide band light filter unit, and the light shielding unit is arranged non-adjacent to the red filter unit; and a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the adjacent visible light filter unit thereof is larger than a spacing between the visible light filter unit and other light filter units adjacent to the visible light filter unit.
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the ambient light sensor according to claims 8 and 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the wide band light filter unit is not adjacent to the red filter unit, the wide band light filter unit is not adjacent to the green filter unit, and the wide band light filter unit is not adjacent to the blue filter unit; or a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the red filter unit, a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the green filter unit, and a spacing between the wide band light filter unit and the blue filter unit are each larger than or equal to a preset value of 80 um.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the ambient light sensor according to claims 10, 8, and 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the light shielding unit is not adjacent to the wide band light filter unit, and the light shielding unit is not adjacent to the red filter unit; or a spacing between the light shielding unit and the wide band light filter unit and a spacing between the light shielding unit and the red filter unit are each larger than or equal to a preset value of 80 um.
Conclusion
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878