DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 01/28/2026 for application 18/922,950. Claims 1-2, 14-17 and 20 have been amended. Claims 13 and 18-19 have been canceled. Claims 21-23 have been added as new. Claims 1-12, 14-17 and 20-23 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. After further search and a through examination of the present application, claims 1 and 21-22 remain rejected.
A double patenting rejection is maintained because terminal disclaimer has not been filed by the applicant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 14-17 and 20-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 14-17, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,040 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of followings.
Present Application 18/922950
US PAT. 12125040 B2
A method for resolving data collisions on a blockchain comprising: providing a blockchain network comprising a blockchain operating in accordance with a set of consensus formation rules; providing a first node of a first firm, said first node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a first firm database; providing a second node of a second firm, said second node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a second firm database; providing an audit node of an artificial intelligence (Al) auditor module, said audit node being a node of said blockchain network; said first node posting to said blockchain network a first data representation of a transaction between said first firm and said second firm; said second node posting to said blockchain network a second data representation of said transaction: receiving, at said first node, said second data representation; receiving, at said second node, said first data representation; receiving, at said audit node, said first data representation and said second data representation; and at each of said first node, said second node, and said audit node, selecting one of said first data representation and said second data representation for inclusion on said blockchain, said selecting using said consensus formation rules.
21. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein said first firm database comprises transactional data for said first firm and said second firm database comprises transactional data for said second firm.
22. (New) The method of claim 21, wherein said AI auditor module comprises a plurality of AI models, each AI model in said plurality of AI models trained to audit transactional data for a type of quantification.
23. (New) The method of claim 22, wherein said first data representation comprises: a first value of said transaction selected from said first firm database; a unique identifier of said transaction; a unique identifier of a parent transaction for said transaction; and a data tag for a quantification associated with said transaction; and said second data representation comprises: a second value of said transaction selected from said second firm database; said unique identifier of said transaction; said unique identifier of said parent transaction for said transaction; and said data tag for said quantification associated with said transaction.
1. A method for resolving data collisions on a blockchain comprising: providing a blockchain network comprising a blockchain operating in accordance with a set of consensus formation rules; providing a first node of a first firm, said first node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a first firm database comprising transactional data for said first firm; providing a second node of a second firm, said second node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a second firm database comprising transactional data for said second firm; providing an audit node of an artificial intelligence (AI) auditor module, said audit node being a node of said blockchain network and said AI auditor module comprising a plurality of AI models, each AI model in said plurality of AI models trained to audit transactional data for a type of quantification; said first node posting to said blockchain network a first data representation of a transaction between said first firm and said second firm, said first data representation comprising: a first value of said transaction selected from said first firm database; a unique identifier of said transaction; a unique identifier of a parent transaction for said transaction; and a data tag for a quantification associated with said transaction; said second node posting to said blockchain network a second data representation of said transaction, said second data representation comprising: a second value of said transaction selected from said second firm database; said unique identifier of said transaction; said unique identifier of said parent transaction for said transaction; and said data tag for said quantification associated with said transaction; receiving, at said first node, said second data representation; receiving, at said second node, said first data representation; receiving, at said audit node, said first data representation and said second data representation; and at each of said first node, said second node, and said audit note, selecting one of said first data representation and said second data representation for inclusion on said blockchain, said selecting using said consensus formation rules.
It should be noted that the table above distinguishes the equivalent limitations between the instant application and that of '040. In conclusion, claims 1, 21-23 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of '040 in that claim 1 contains all the limitations of claims 1, 21-23 of the instant application. The instant application claims are broader or equivalent in every aspect than claim 1 of '040 and is therefore an obvious variant thereof. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patently distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of '040. That is, claims 1, 21-23 of instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of '040.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to claim 2 of US Patent '040.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of US Patent '040.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of US Patent '040.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of US Patent '040.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of US Patent '040.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to claim 7 of US Patent '040.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 8 of US Patent '040.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 9 of US Patent '040.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to claim 10 of US Patent '040.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of US Patent '040.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to claim 12 of US Patent '040.
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to claim 14 of US Patent '040.
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to claim 15 of US Patent '040.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to claim 16 of US Patent '040.
Claim 17 of the instant application corresponds to claim 17 of US Patent '040.
Claim 20 of the instant application corresponds to claim 20 of US Patent '040.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent
therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 1 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claims as a whole, claim 1 is determined to be directed to an abstract idea and not significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
At Step 1:
Regarding with independent claim 1, it recites providing a blockchain network comprising a blockchain operating in accordance with a set of consensus formation rules; providing a first node of a first firm, said first node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a first firm database; providing a second node of a second firm, said second node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a second firm database; providing an audit node of an artificial intelligence (Al) auditor module, said audit node being a node of said blockchain network; said first node posting to said blockchain network a first data representation of a transaction between said first firm and said second firm; said second node posting to said blockchain network a second data representation of said transaction: receiving, at said first node, said second data representation; receiving, at said second node, said first data representation; receiving, at said audit node, said first data representation and said second data representation; and at each of said first node, said second node, and said audit node, selecting one of said first data representation and said second data representation for inclusion on said blockchain, said selecting using said consensus formation rules.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The limitation of “said first node posting…, a first data representation of a transaction, said second node posting…., a second data representation of said transaction, receiving, at said first node, said data representation, receiving, at second node, said first data representation, receiving, at said audit node, said first data representation and said second data representation and at each of said first node, said second node, and said audit node, selecting one of said first data representation and said second data representation for inclusion on said blockchain, said selecting using said consensus formation rules” recites a mental process because human mind can receive transaction records, evaluating them, and selecting one based on rules by observation, evaluation and judgment.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claims recite additional elements of " blockchain network", “first node… communicably coupled to a first firm database”, “second node…communicably coupled to a second firm database”, “audit node of an artificial intelligence (AI) auditor module” to perform steps. However, the limitations merely amount to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f) and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(h) and Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data). Therefore, the limitation does not recite any improvement to the technology.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B: The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
The claim does not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The use of a "blockchain network," "nodes," "databases," and an "Al auditor module" amounts to no more than generic computer implementation of the mental process. There is no recited unconventional technical solution, no improvement to consensus mechanisms, and no specific implementation that meaningfully limits how the "selecting ... using said consensus formation rules" is carried out. Accordingly, at step 2B, these additional elements, both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05. Therefore, the claim is not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
In regards with claims 21-22, wherein said first firm database comprises transactional data for said first firm and said second firm database comprises transactional data for said second firm, and wherein said AI auditor module comprises a plurality of AI models, each AI model in said plurality of AI models trained to audit transactional data for a type of quantification, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers the process of process of mental processes. The claim has not added any additional elements that could integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thekadath et al (US 2020/0304518 A1) in view of Sanghvi et al (US 2021/0064763 A1).
As per claim 1, Thekadath teaches a method for resolving data collisions on a blockchain comprising:
providing a blockchain network comprising a blockchain ([0024], e.g., discloses wherein each data center can maintain a separate network record in the form of a blockchain ledger);
providing a first node of a first firm, said first node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a first firm database ([0031]-[0034], e.g., discloses wherein node computers associated with entities participating in transactions and each node interacts with associated systems storing data);
providing a second node of a second firm, said second node being a node of said blockchain network communicably coupled to a second firm database ([0058], e.g., discloses wherein recipient institution computer associated with a recipient node computer communicating with a transaction repository);
said first node posting to said blockchain network a first data representation of a transaction between said first firm and said second firm ([0047], [0087], e.g., discloses wherein each node within an asset transfer network may store their own copy of the ledger of transactions, processing, by a first data center computer, a first digital asset that indicates the transfer of a value from a sender to a recipient);
said second node posting to said blockchain network a second data representation of said transaction ([0047], e.g., discloses wherein each node within an asset transfer network may store their own copy of the ledger of transactions);
receiving, at said first node, said second data representation ([0255], e.g., the processing computer 750A can include instructions for, after creating a new block or otherwise adding a new digital asset to the transaction ledger);
receiving, at said second node, said first data representation ([0247], e.g., the second data center 850 receives a ledger update from the first data center 750, the second data center 850 can validate each new digital asset and/or block before updating its own ledger);
receiving, at said audit node, said first data representation and said second data representation, and at each of said first node, said second node, and said audit node, selecting one of said first data representation and said second data representation for inclusion on said blockchain ([0247], e.g., the second data center 850 receives a ledger update from the first data center 750, the second data center 850 can validate each new digital asset and/or block before updating its own ledger, accordingly, each digital asset and/or block can be validated and approved by each data center),
Thekadath does not explicitly teach providing an audit node of an artificial intelligence (Al) auditor module, said audit node being a node of said blockchain network and operating in accordance with a set of consensus formation rules and said selecting using said consensus formation rules.
However, Sanghvi teaches providing an audit node of an artificial intelligence (Al) auditor module, said audit node being a node of said blockchain network and operating in accordance with a set of consensus formation rules and said selecting using said consensus formation rules ([0013], e.g., discloses wherein a blockchain hybrid consensus platform that uses artificial intelligence (AI) to select one or more consensus protocols from a set of consensus protocols and to select nodes for recording a transaction to a blockchain).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sanghvi with the teachings of Thekadath in order to efficiently enabling a method and system for selecting a consensus protocol from a set of consensus protocols and record the transactions to the blockchain by the set of consensus nodes (Sanghvi).
As per claim 21, wherein said first firm database comprises transactional data for said first firm and said second firm database comprises transactional data for said second firm (fig.1, and [0083]-[0088], [0154], e.g., user database… transaction repository explicitly teaches storage of transaction data in databases, Thekadath).
As per claim 22, wherein said AI auditor module comprises a plurality of AI models, each AI model in said plurality of AI models trained to audit transactional data for a type of quantification (Fig.3A, e.g., AI system includes multiple evaluation components and Multiple evaluation components correspond to a plurality of AI models, Sanghvi).
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any wav. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 2-12, 14-17, 20 dependent from claim 23 and also objected as allowable subject matter.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Vijayaraghavan discloses US 11861619 B1 Systems and Methods For Payment Transactions, Alerts, Dispute Settlement, And Settlement Payments, Using Multiple Blockchains.
Lokanath discloses US 20210241241 A1 SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUSES FOR CONDUCTING TRANSACTIONS BETWEEN BOTS USING DISTRIBUTED LEDGER TECHNOLOGY IN A CLOUD BASED COMPUTING ENVIRONMENT.
Padmanabhan discloses US 20210243193 A1 SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUSES FOR IMPLEMENTING CONSENSUS ON READ VIA A CONSENSUS ON WRITE SMART CONTRACT TRIGGER FOR A DISTRIBUTED LEDGER TECHNOLOGY (DLT) PLATFORM.
VIJAYARAGHAVAN discloses US 20230098747 A1 SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR PAYMENT TRANSACTIONS, ALERTS, DISPUTE SETTLEMENT, AND SETTLEMENT PAYMENTS, USING MULTIPLE BLOCKCHAINS.
Dalton discloses US 20220318788 A1 USING AN INTERNAL LEDGER WITH BLOCKCHAIN TRANSACTIONS.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad A Sana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166