DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Application filed 10/22/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 and 12/08/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --ISOLATION APPARATUS AND METHOD OF A FAULT SEGMENT IN A TRANSFORMER LOOP--.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 5 recite(s) “each source configuration”. It appears that it should be “each source configuration information”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 – 9, 11 – 12, 15, 18 – 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7,154,722; (hereinafter Stoupis), cited by Applicant(s).
Regarding claim 2, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses a control system comprising: an electronic processing module comprising one or more electronic processors [e.g. CPU; col. 4, lines 15 – 21 recites “equipment such as control devices for reclosers comprise a central processing unit (CPU), memory storage means, a power supply module, a communication module, a digital input/output module, and PT/CT (Potential Transformer/Current Transformer) A/D (Analog-to-Digital) module”]; and an electronic storage [e.g. col. 4, lines 15 – 21 with respect to memory storage means] coupled to the electronic processing module, the electronic storage configured to store source configuration information that identifies at least one switching apparatus [e.g. 302, 303, 304, 307, 309, 310] of a transformer apparatus [e.g. 301, 305, 306, 308, respectively] as a normally open point [e.g. Fig. 3B, 303 and 309 of transformers 305 and 308 identified as normally open; Fig. 3C, 302, 303 and 309 of transformers 301, 305 and 308 identified as normally open; Fig. 3D, 304 and 309 of transformers 305 and 308 identified as normally open; Fig. 3E, 307 and 309 of transformers 306 and 308 identified as normally open; Fig. 3F, 310 of transformer 308 identified as normally open; col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “a set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”] in a transformer loop [e.g. 300].
Regarding claim 3, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the source configuration information further identifies to which of a plurality of electrical sources [e.g. Distribution line 318 and/or Distribution line 319] each of a plurality of transformer apparatuses [e.g. 301, 305, 306, 308] in the transformer loop are connected [e.g. as shown in Figs. 3A – 3F; col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “A set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”].
Regarding claim 4, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the source configuration information comprises a plurality of source configurations [e.g. Figs. 3A-3F], and each source configuration identifies one normally open switching apparatus of a transformer apparatus [e.g. Fig. 3B, 309 of transformer 308 is normally open; Fig. 3C, 309 of transformer 308 is normally open; Fig. 3D, 309 of transformer 308 is normally open; Fig. 3E, 309 of transformer 308 is normally open; Fig. 3F, 310 of transformer 308 is normally open] as the normally open point [e.g. col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “a set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”] in the transformer loop.
Regarding claim 5, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the source configuration further identifies to which of a plurality of electrical sources [e.g. Distribution line 318 and/or Distribution line 319] each of a plurality of transformer apparatuses [e.g. 301, 305, 306, 308] in the transformer loop are connected [e.g. col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “A set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”].
Regarding claim 6, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage further comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to cause the normally open switching apparatus to close in response to a command to change to a second one of the plurality of source configurations [e.g. from Fig. 3E to Fig. 3F].
Regarding claim 7, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage further comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to cause the switching apparatus identified as the normally open point in the second one of the plurality of source configurations to open [e.g. Fig. 3F shows switch 309 is closed from Fig. 3E; col. 9 lines 11 – 13 recite “fault 319 causes fault interrupter 309 to sense a loss of voltage on its upstream side and to open and lock out”].
Regarding claim 8, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to cause a closed switching apparatus [e.g. 310 in Fig. 3E] in the transformer loop to open [e.g. 310 in Fig. 3F] in response to a trigger [e.g. loss of voltage; col. 9, lines 26 – 28 recite “As shown in FIG. 3F, fault 320 causes fault interrupter 310 to sense a loss of voltage on its downstream side, and thus trip and lock out”].
Regarding claim 9, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage comprises fault information that defines one or more fault conditions [e.g. loss of voltage], and instructions that, when executed, compare measured data [e.g. voltage] to the fault information [e.g. loss of voltage] to determine if a fault condition exists, and generate the trigger if the fault condition exists [e.g. col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”].
Regarding claim 11, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses an apparatus comprising: a switching apparatus [e.g. 309 - 310] configured to be electrically connected to a transformer [e.g. transformer 308], the switching apparatus comprising: a first controllable switch [e.g. 310], and a second controllable switch [e.g. 309] electrically connected to the first controllable switch; and a control system configured to control the switching apparatus, the control system comprising: an electronic processing module comprising one or more electronic processors [e.g. CPU; col. 4, lines 15 – 21 recites “equipment such as control devices for reclosers comprise a central processing unit (CPU), memory storage means, a power supply module, a communication module, a digital input/output module, and PT/CT (Potential Transformer/Current Transformer) A/D (Analog-to-Digital) module”]; and an electronic storage [e.g. col. 4, lines 15 – 21 with respect to memory storage means] coupled to the electronic processing module, the electronic storage comprising instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to: process data identifying one of the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch as an identified switch [e.g. col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “a set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”]; and cause the identified switch to change states [e.g. col. 6, line 55 – col. 7, line 2 recite “Fault interrupters 303, 304, 309, and 310 having sensing transformers (not shown) that operate to open the fault interrupters when a loss of voltage appears on their downstream or on their upstream side. Such a loss of voltage may be created by a fault that appears on the downstream or upstream side of the fault interrupter. Alternatively, fault interrupters 303 and 309 may be set up to open on faults that appear on their upstream side, and fault interrupters 304 and 310 may be set to trip on faults that appear on their downstream side. In either case, as will be discussed with reference to FIGS. 3B through 3F, allowing fault interrupters 303, 304, 309, and/or 310 to open on a loss of voltage on their downstream or upstream sides, facilitates the configuration of system 300 for providing loop control without feeding or back feeding current into the fault”].
Regarding claim 12, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage further stores source configuration information that identifies a normally open point in a transformer loop [e.g. 300; col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “a set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”]; and wherein the normally open point is one of the first controllable switch, the second controllable switch, and a third controllable switch in another switching apparatus [e.g. 302 (Fig. 3C)].
Regarding claim 15, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses a system comprising:
a switching apparatus comprising: a first controllable switch [e.g. 310] and a second controllable switch [e.g. 309]; a transformer [e.g. 308] comprising: a first electrically conductive coil [e.g. primary winding] electrically connected to the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch; and a second electrically conductive coil [e.g. secondary winding] configured to magnetically couple to the first electrically conductive coil and to electrically connect to a load [e.g. 315]; and a control system configured to control the switching apparatus, the control system comprising: an electronic processing module comprising one or more electronic processors [e.g. CPU; col. 4, lines 15 – 21 recites “equipment such as control devices for reclosers comprise a central processing unit (CPU), memory storage means, a power supply module, a communication module, a digital input/output module, and PT/CT (Potential Transformer/Current Transformer) A/D (Analog-to-Digital) module”]; and an electronic storage [e.g. col. 4, lines 15 – 21 with respect to memory storage means] coupled to the electronic processing module, the electronic storage configured to store source configuration information that identifies a normally open point in a transformer loop [e.g. col. 4, lines 21 – 34 recite “a set of instructions indicative of a power restoration scheme may be stored in the memory storage means of the control device. Accordingly, the restoration scheme may be active when the reclosers of a loop system act in accordance to roles that have been predefined by the stored instructions. For example, a loop may comprise a number of reclosers having a predefined configuration (e.g., configuration as defined by the restoration scheme) that allow the flow of current along the loop. When a fault occurs in the loop, the reclosers act in accordance to the predefined instructions to isolate the fault and attempt to energize the remaining undisturbed portion of the loop”], wherein the normally open point comprises one of the first controllable switch [e.g. Fig. 3F], the second controllable switch [e.g. Fig. 3E], and a third controllable switch [e.g. 307 in Fig. 3E] electrically connected to a second transformer [e.g. 306].
Regarding claim 18, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the control system further comprises an input/output interface [e.g. Fig. 3F; 330] configured to communicate with an electronic device [e.g. 220] that is separate from the system [e.g. 220 is at Substation 104; col. 9, lines 41 – 43 recite “a communication device 330 may be in communication with fault interrupter 310, normally-open switch 350, and circuit breaker 220”].
Regarding claim 19, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to: process data identifying one of the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch as an identified switch; and cause the identified switch to change states [e.g. states of switches 309 and 310 between Fig. 3E and Fig. 3F; col. 6, line 55 – col. 7, line 2 recite “Fault interrupters 303, 304, 309, and 310 having sensing transformers (not shown) that operate to open the fault interrupters when a loss of voltage appears on their downstream or on their upstream side. Such a loss of voltage may be created by a fault that appears on the downstream or upstream side of the fault interrupter. Alternatively, fault interrupters 303 and 309 may be set up to open on faults that appear on their upstream side, and fault interrupters 304 and 310 may be set to trip on faults that appear on their downstream side. In either case, as will be discussed with reference to FIGS. 3B through 3F, allowing fault interrupters 303, 304, 309, and/or 310 to open on a loss of voltage on their downstream or upstream sides, facilitates the configuration of system 300 for providing loop control without feeding or back feeding current into the fault”].
Regarding claim 20, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to: process data identifying a controllable switch in another switching apparatus [e.g. 307 in Fig. 3E] that is part of the transformer loop as an identified switch; and cause the identified switch to change states [e.g. 307 from Fig. 3E to Fig. 3F].
Regarding claim 21, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage comprises instructions that, when executed, cause the electronic processing module to cause the normally open point [e.g. Fig. 3E; 307] to close [e.g. Fig. 3F; 307] in response to a trigger [e.g. col. 9, lines 33 – 36 recite “fault interrupters 302 304, 307 and 309 remain closed under fault 320 to provide power to loads 312 315. Accordingly, none of the customers serviced by loop system 300 will lose power”].
Regarding claim 23, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the electronic storage is co-located with one or more of the transformer and the switching apparatus col. 4, lines 15 – 21 recites “equipment such as control devices for reclosers comprise a central processing unit (CPU), memory storage means, a power supply module, a communication module, a digital input/output module, and PT/CT (Potential Transformer/Current Transformer) A/D (Analog-to-Digital) module”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoupis in view of US Patent No. 5,973,899; (hereinafter Williams), cited by Applicant(s).
Regarding claim 10, Stoupis fails to disclose wherein the trigger comprises a trigger from a device external to the control system.
Williams teaches wherein the trigger comprises a trigger from a device external to the control system [e.g. col. 5, lines 11 – 14 recite “Remote control of power distribution system 10 is available through remote terminal units (not shown) that are connectable to processors 50 and 52 or to any of the breakers and switches”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Stoupis by wherein the trigger comprises a trigger from a device external to the control system as taught by Williams in order of being able to efficiently locate, isolate, and provide fast restoration in the system after the occurrence of a feeder fault or overcurrent condition, col. 2, lines 43 - 50.
Regarding claim 13, Stoupis fails to disclose wherein the data identifying one of the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch is received from a device that is distinct from the apparatus.
Williams teaches wherein the data identifying one of the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch [e.g. 42, 46 respectively] is received from a device [e.g. remote control] that is distinct from the apparatus [e.g. col. 5, lines 11 – 14 recite “Remote control of power distribution system 10 is available through remote terminal units (not shown) that are connectable to processors 50 and 52 or to any of the breakers and switches”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Stoupis by wherein the first controllable switch is a first vacuum interrupter as taught by Williams in order of being able to efficiently locate, isolate, and provide fast restoration in the system after the occurrence of a feeder fault or overcurrent condition, col. 2, lines 43 - 50.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoupis in view of US Pub. No. 2022/0102974; (hereinafter Seng).
Regarding claim 14, Stoupis [e.g. Fig. 3A-4] discloses wherein the second controllable switch is a second vacuum interrupter [e.g. col. 7, lines 3 – 10 recite “Fault interrupters 301, 303, 304, and 309 may be controlled by commercially available devices, or commercially available devices modified to operate as described. For example, fault interrupters 301, 303, 304, and 309 may be controlled by any one of the following models available from ABB Incorporated: a Power Control Device (i.e., recloser controller) PCD2000, or an MAV3 magnetically actuated vacuum interrupter”].
Stoupis fails to disclose wherein the first controllable switch is a first vacuum interrupter.
Seng [e.g. Fig. 11] teaches wherein the first controllable switch is a first vacuum interrupter [e.g. 268] and the second controllable switch is a second vacuum interrupter [e.g. 276; paragraph 042 recites “The circuit 262 includes a vacuum interrupter 268, an actuator 270, a Rogowski coil 272 and a capacitor 274 and the circuit 264 includes a vacuum interrupter 276…”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Stoupis by wherein the first controllable switch is a first vacuum interrupter as taught by Seng in order of being able to safely interrupt electric current by extinguishing the arc that forms when contacts separate.
Claim(s) 16 – 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoupis in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0203139; (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 16, Stoupis fails to disclose further comprising a tank that encloses the first controllable switch, the second controllable switch, the first electrically conductive coil, and the second electrically conductive coil, and wherein the control system is outside of the tank.
Jiang [e.g. Fig.1-2 and 5] teaches further comprising a tank [e.g. 12] that encloses the first controllable switch [e.g. 16A], the second controllable switch [e.g. 16B], the first electrically conductive coil [e.g. primary winding of 14], and the second electrically conductive coil [e.g. secondary winding of 14], and wherein the control system is outside of the tank [e.g. Fig. 5 28 via communication 34; paragraph 016 recites “The communication line 30 may then extend to the ground surface 32 to a communications port or interface 34 or may be connected to a centralized management system. It is understood that the communication port 34 may also be within the substation 10 and the communication line 30 may extend from the substation 10 to the ground surface 32. Thus, the communication line 30 may allow remote operation of the substation 10, monitoring of substation performance, etc.”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Stoupis by further comprising a tank that encloses the first controllable switch, the second controllable switch, the first electrically conductive coil, and the second electrically conductive coil, and wherein the control system is outside of the tank as taught by Jiang in order of being able to provide protection against environment conditions and provide easy access to operators.
Regarding claim 17, Stoupis fails to disclose further comprising a housing, and wherein the tank is in the housing and the control system is accessible from outside of the housing.
Jiang [e.g. Fig.1-2 and 5] teaches further comprising a housing [e.g. 12], and wherein the tank is in the housing and the control system is accessible from outside of the housing [e.g. remotely; paragraph 016 recites “The communication line 30 may then extend to the ground surface 32 to a communications port or interface 34 or may be connected to a centralized management system. It is understood that the communication port 34 may also be within the substation 10 and the communication line 30 may extend from the substation 10 to the ground surface 32. Thus, the communication line 30 may allow remote operation of the substation 10, monitoring of substation performance, etc.”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Stoupis by further comprising a housing, and wherein the tank is in the housing and the control system is accessible from outside of the housing as taught by Jiang in order of being able to provide easy access to operators.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoupis in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0109164; (hereinafter Schweitzer).
Regarding claim 22, Stoupis fails to disclose wherein the electronic storage is part of a remote device that is separate from the transformer and the switching apparatus.
Schweitzer teaches wherein the electronic storage is part of a remote device that is separate from the transformer [e.g. 106] and the switching apparatus [e.g. 122 / 124; paragraph 022 recites “a particular software module or component may comprise disparate instructions stored in different locations of a memory device which together implement the described functionality of the module… may be practiced in a distributed computing environment where tasks are performed by a remote processing device linked through a communications network. In a distributed computing environment, software modules or components may be located in local and/or remote memory storage devices”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Stoupis by wherein the electronic storage is part of a remote device that is separate from the transformer and the switching apparatus as taught by Schweitzer in order of being able to provide easy access to operators.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838