DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22nd, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendment to further define that each slot has an undefined lower direction overcomes Moore et al. but is rendered obvious in view of Loring et al. see the rejection below for more detail. Regarding Applicant’s amendment to further define each pair of projections is positioned on an opposite side of the first elongated opening as the slots of the pair of legs as anticipated by Moore et al. under a new interpretation of the art. The projections being part of the resection guide which resides above the elongated slot best show in the annotated figure below. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments and remarks are not found persuasive to overcome the prior art and/or rejections of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moore et al. (US 2022/0370081).
Regarding claim 10, Moore et al. disclose a resection guide releasably couplable with a bone of a patient, the resection guide comprising a pair of projections (see figure below) extending upward from a body of the resection guide, each of the pair of projections comprising an opening (see figure below, ¶186 “wires 97 placed through corresponding holes in the resection guide locator 26 and/or resection guide 12”, figures 17A-17B, 17F) disposed therein and extending from a top surface through to a bottom surface of the resection guide; a first elongated opening (88, figure 18A) disposed in the body and beneath the pair of openings, wherein the first elongated opening comprises at least one scalloped opening (94/96) therein; and a pair of legs (see figure below) extending substantially downward from the body of the resection guide, wherein each of the pair of legs comprises a slot (90/92), wherein the slot is open in at least one direction; wherein the pair of projections is positioned on an opposite side of the first elongated opening as the slots of the pair of legs (figures 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 11, Moore et al. disclose a second pair of openings (98, 100) disposed within the body of the resection guide.
Regarding claim 13, Moore et al. disclose wherein each of the openings comprise a central axis (central longitudinal axis), wherein the central axes are substantially parallel to one another (figures 18A, 18C, 18D).
Regarding claim 14, Moore et al. disclose the at least one scalloped opening defines at least a portion of a substantially cylindrical geometry (figure 18A, 22B) extending from the top surface of the resection guide and at least partially through to the bottom surface of the resection guide (figures 18A-22B).
Regarding claim 15, Moore et al. disclose the pair of legs extend from the body at a substantially oblique angle (figures 18A, 22B).
Regarding claim 16, Moore et al. disclose the first elongated opening has a substantially curved geometry (figures 18A-18D, 22B, 22C, arced at the scalloped regions). Regarding claim 17, Moore et al. disclose wherein an apex of the first elongated opening is positioned laterally between the pair of projections (figures 17C, 18A, 22B).
Regarding claim 18, Moore et al. disclose a second elongated opening (114, figure 18C) positioned below the first elongated opening (figure 18C).
Regarding claim 19, Moore et al. disclose the second elongated opening is defined laterally by each of the pair of legs (figure 18C).
Regarding claim 20, Moore et al. disclose the second elongated opening is configured to receive at least a portion of a cutting tool therein (¶190).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (US 2022/0370081) in view of Loring et al. (US 2016/0135815).
Regarding claim 1, Moore et al. disclose an orthopedic instrument system, comprising a resection guide (figure 22B) releasably couplable with a bone of a patient, the resection guide comprising a pair of openings (see figure below, ¶186 “wires 97 placed through corresponding holes in the resection guide locator 26 and/or resection guide 12”, figures 17A-17B, 17F) disposed in the resection guide and extending from a top surface through to a bottom surface of the resection guide (figure 22C); an elongated opening (88, figure 18A) disposed in a body of the resection guide and beneath the pair of openings, wherein the elongated opening comprises at least one scalloped opening therein (94/96); and a pair of legs (see figure below) extending substantially downward from the body of the resection guide, wherein each of the legs comprises a slot (90/92), wherein the slot opens in at least one direction (figures 18A, 22B); and a drill guide (136/138, figures 22A-22B) configured to be inserted into and removed from each of the at least one scalloped openings (figure 22B, ¶193).
Moore et al. fails to expressly teach or disclose the slot opens in at least one direction to provide each slot with an undefined lower direction.
Loring et al. teach the use of a slot (180c/190c, figures 12A-12B) which in at leas tone direction has an undefined lower direction (figures 12A-12B, is open at its “bottom” end) to provide an open guide path (¶144) and restricts the resection tool in a direction normal to the base such that the resection tool may be slid downwardly out of the fourth resection guide but not upwardly (¶145). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have constructed the slots of Moore et al. to open in at least one direction to provide each slot with an undefined lower direction as taught by Loring et al. as this provides insertion of the resection tool along two axes as well as restricts the resection tool in a direction normal to the base such that the resection tool may be slid downwardly out of the fourth resection guide but not upwardly.
Regarding claim 2, Moore et al. disclose wherein the pair of legs are positioned at an angle relative to one another (figure 18A, diverge). Regarding claim 3, Moore et al. disclose wherein each of the openings comprises a central axis (considered the central longitudinal axis), wherein the central axes of the openings are substantially parallel (figures 18A, 18C, 18D).
Regarding claim 4, Moore et al. disclose a second pair of openings (98, 100)disposed within the body of the resection guide and extending from the top surface through to the bottom surface thereof. Regarding claims 5 and 12, Moore et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the express teaching of the central axes of the second pair of openings are either converging or diverging. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the second pair of openings either convergent or divergent, since applicant has not disclosed that their respective orientation solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with generally parallel openings.
Regarding claim 6, Moore et al. disclose wherein the elongated opening comprises a substantially arced geometry (figures 18A-18D, 22B, 22C, arced at the scalloped regions).
Regarding claim 7, Moore et al. disclose a pair of projections (see figure below) extending substantially upward from the body of the resection guide, wherein the pair of projections is positioned on an opposite side of the elongated opening as the slots of the pair of legs (see figure below).
Regarding claim 8, Moore et al. disclose wherein each of the openings are disposed within each of the pair of projections (see figure below). Regarding claim 9, Moore et al. disclose wherein an apex of the elongated opening is positioned within the body and laterally between each of the pair of projections (figures 17C, 18A, 22A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619