DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 4-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim(s) 4 and 13 the limitation(s), “the rearview mirror” is/are unclear. The limitation is confusing as the limitation lacks antecedent basis and in part renders the scope of the claim indefinite.
In re claim(s) 5; included due to dependency upon rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1.
1. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
A system, comprising:
[0003] Embodiments herein describe glare prevention for a windshield of a vehicle. A projector inside the vehicle is dynamically controlled to counteract glare and bright light sources. Images from the projector blend glare on the windshield with the observable environment outside the vehicle to reduce eye strain for the vehicle operator. In addition to reducing contrast between glare and the environment, the projected images may increase contrast for particular objects in the environment to further improve visibility for the operator)
Glatfelter: FIG.1
a memory [154; claim.15] that stores computer executable components of a vehicle; and
a processor [152] that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprise:
[0020] While the specific hardware implementation of the anti-glare system 150 is subject to design choices, one particular embodiment may include one or more processors 152 coupled with a memory 154. ...
[0040] a control element may be implemented as instructions executable by a processor or a computer to perform the functions of the element. Some examples of instructions are software, program code, and firmware. The instructions are operational when executed by the processor to direct the processor to perform the functions of the element.
a glare detection component that detects glare on a window from an external light source;
[0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.
a display component that displays a virtual window on an infotainment system whereby allowing a driver or occupant to manually select a portion of the virtual window to block the glare; and
[0026] The anti-glare system 150 also includes an interface 342 to communicate over one or more wired or wireless networks 350. For instance, the anti-glare system 150 may exchange messages with a graphical user interface (GUI) 360, vehicle systems/devices 362, and/or external systems/devices 364. The GUI 360 enables a user to input data and configure the user settings 335 stored in data storage 330.)
[0027] the processor 152 may be configured with machine learning circuitry or other type of learning function configured to learn patterns of glare on the windshield 101 as the vehicle 100 is operated over time. A user, or occupant, of the vehicle 100 may view/access the glare pattern data 336 via the GUI 360 to customize the dimming effect (and/or highlighting effect, or other customizable options in the user settings 335) for particular glare pattern features (e.g., time of day, vehicle operator, vehicle passenger, etc.). Additional details of operation and examples are described below.)
a glare blocking component that projects an anti-glare image on the window to darken glare spots identified on the virtual window.
[0019] The projectors 140-141 may be mounted in the cabin 106 to project respective images 160-161 toward the interior side 102 of the windshield 101. The projectors 140-141 may each be assigned to one or more of the zones 111-118 for which it projects images 160-161 to reduce glare.)
[0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.)
[0036] anti-glare system 150 activating one or more projectors 541-548 in an exemplary embodiment. As shown here, the anti-glare system 150 determines to activate projector 543 to reduce the glare 650 in zone 113. The anti-glare system generates a counteracting image 750 that is based on the dominant color 640, the location of the glare 650 in zone 113 (or windshield 101), and/or the size/shape of the glare 650 with respect to a view of an occupant of the vehicle 100.)
3. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable components further comprise:
an image generator component that generates an image covering one or more glare spots based (i.e. counteracting image 750) on information from the glare detection component and the display component [0026-0027].
[0026] The anti-glare system 150 also includes an interface 342 to communicate over one or more wired or wireless networks 350. For instance, the anti-glare system 150 may exchange messages with a graphical user interface (GUI) 360, vehicle systems/devices 362, and/or external systems/devices 364. The GUI 360 enables a user to input data and configure the user settings 335 stored in data storage 330.)
[0027] the processor 152 may be configured with machine learning circuitry or other type of learning function configured to learn patterns of glare on the windshield 101 as the vehicle 100 is operated over time. A user, or occupant, of the vehicle 100 may view/access the glare pattern data 336 via the GUI 360 to customize the dimming effect (and/or highlighting effect, or other customizable options in the user settings 335) for particular glare pattern features (e.g., time of day, vehicle operator, vehicle passenger, etc.). Additional details of operation and examples are described below.)
[0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.)
[0036] anti-glare system 150 activating one or more projectors 541-548 in an exemplary embodiment. As shown here, the anti-glare system 150 determines to activate projector 543 to reduce the glare 650 in zone 113. The anti-glare system generates a counteracting image 750 that is based on the dominant color 640, the location of the glare 650 in zone 113 (or windshield 101), and/or the size/shape of the glare 650 with respect to a view of an occupant of the vehicle 100.)
7. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the display component comprises a user interface for drawing out a region of the virtual window to block out glaring light (i.e. view/access the glare pattern data 336 via the GUI 360 to customize the dimming effect (and/or highlighting effect, or other customizable options in the user settings 335) for particular glare pattern features).
[0026] The anti-glare system 150 also includes an interface 342 to communicate over one or more wired or wireless networks 350. For instance, the anti-glare system 150 may exchange messages with a graphical user interface (GUI) 360, vehicle systems/devices 362, and/or external systems/devices 364. The GUI 360 enables a user to input data and configure the user settings 335 stored in data storage 330.)
[0027] the processor 152 may be configured with machine learning circuitry or other type of learning function configured to learn patterns of glare on the windshield 101 as the vehicle 100 is operated over time. A user, or occupant, of the vehicle 100 may view/access the glare pattern data 336 via the GUI 360 to customize the dimming effect (and/or highlighting effect, or other customizable options in the user settings 335) for particular glare pattern features (e.g., time of day, vehicle operator, vehicle passenger, etc.). Additional details of operation and examples are described below.)
[0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.)
[0036] anti-glare system 150 activating one or more projectors 541-548 in an exemplary embodiment. As shown here, the anti-glare system 150 determines to activate projector 543 to reduce the glare 650 in zone 113. The anti-glare system generates a counteracting image 750 that is based on the dominant color 640, the location of the glare 650 in zone 113 (or windshield 101), and/or the size/shape of the glare 650 with respect to a view of an occupant of the vehicle 100.)
8. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the glare detection component estimates the location of glare on the windshield based on sensor data from the occupant’s seat position [0031].
[0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.
[0031] Each occupant may be associated with different user settings 335 which the processor 152 may refer to in generating customized images for different zones as viewed by different occupants. Therefore, the view through the windshield 101 may be made comfortable and safe by all occupants of the vehicle 100. The processor 152 may use the relative positions of any of the cameras 110 and/or imaging devices 302-303 with respect to the occupants of the vehicle 100 to determine the perspective of the occupant.)
9. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 8, wherein the glare detection component determines and tracks the current field of view (i.e. the perspective of the occupant) of the driver using one or more cameras positioned within the vehicle.
[0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.
[0031] Each occupant may be associated with different user settings 335 which the processor 152 may refer to in generating customized images for different zones as viewed by different occupants. Therefore, the view through the windshield 101 may be made comfortable and safe by all occupants of the vehicle 100. The processor 152 may use the relative positions of any of the cameras 110 and/or imaging devices 302-303 with respect to the occupants of the vehicle 100 to determine the perspective of the occupant.)
11. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 1.
12. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 3 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 3.
16. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 7 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 7.
17. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 8 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 8.
18. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 9 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 9.
19. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 1.
20. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Naito US-20200269690-A1.
2. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the glare detection component is connected to a camera [110]
(Glatfelter [0018-0019] vehicle 100 is therefore enhanced with an anti-glare system 150 that is communicatively coupled with one or more cameras 110,… The optical sensors 121-128 and/or the camera(s) 110 may be mounted to an interior of the vehicle 100 (e.g., in the cabin 106) or the exterior of the vehicle 100 (e.g., on the nose 104 or the roof 105)… that alternative arrangements, configurations, and number of components (e.g., the camera 110, the optical sensors 121-128, and/or the projectors 140-141) are possible.)
[0026] The anti-glare system 150 also includes an interface 342 to communicate over one or more wired or wireless networks 350. For instance, the anti-glare system 150 may exchange messages with a graphical user interface (GUI) 360, vehicle systems/devices 362, and/or external systems/devices 364. The GUI 360 enables a user to input data and configure the user settings 335 stored in data storage 330.)
(Glatfelter [0027] the processor 152 may be configured with machine learning circuitry or other type of learning function configured to learn patterns of glare on the windshield 101 as the vehicle 100 is operated over time. A user, or occupant, of the vehicle 100 may view/access the glare pattern data 336 via the GUI 360 to customize the dimming effect (and/or highlighting effect, or other customizable options in the user settings 335) for particular glare pattern features (e.g., time of day, vehicle operator, vehicle passenger, etc.). Additional details of operation and examples are described below.)
(Glatfelter [0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.)
(Glatfelter [0031] Each occupant may be associated with different user settings 335 which the processor 152 may refer to in generating customized images for different zones as viewed by different occupants. Therefore, the view through the windshield 101 may be made comfortable and safe by all occupants of the vehicle 100. The processor 152 may use the relative positions of any of the cameras 110 and/or imaging devices 302-303 with respect to the occupants of the vehicle 100 to determine the perspective of the occupant.)
(Glatfelter [0036] anti-glare system 150 activating one or more projectors 541-548 in an exemplary embodiment. As shown here, the anti-glare system 150 determines to activate projector 543 to reduce the glare 650 in zone 113. The anti-glare system generates a counteracting image 750 that is based on the dominant color 640, the location of the glare 650 in zone 113 (or windshield 101), and/or the size/shape of the glare 650 with respect to a view of an occupant of the vehicle 100.)
Naito US-20200269690-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for monitoring a landscape seen ahead of a line of sight of a driver comprising “…a camera placed at eye level on the headrest of a vehicle seat”;
(Naito [0035] A camera 6 is provided inside a roof 8 of the vehicle and near the head of the driver 5 to capture an image including the entirety of the combiner 3 and an image of the same landscape as that seen ahead of the line of sight of the driver 5, or an image including the entirety of the combiner 3 and an image of the landscape similar thereto. Note that the camera 6 may be provided at any position as long as the camera 6 can capture an image including the entire combiner 3, such as the headrest of the seat where the driver 5 sits, and an image of the same scenery as the scenery seen from the line of sight of the driver 5, or an image of the landscape similar thereto.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include a camera placed at eye level on the headrest of a vehicle seat with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Naito, for the benefit of providing an imaging device arranged within a cabin of a vehicle such that a line of sight of a driver is able to be imaged/monitored.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1, as applied to claim 1 and 11 above and further in view of O'Keeffe US-20190366811-A1 and Rother US-20220254132-A1.
4. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the glare blocking component utilizes
(Glatfelter [0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.)
(Glatfelter [0036] anti-glare system 150 activating one or more projectors 541-548 in an exemplary embodiment. As shown here, the anti-glare system 150 determines to activate projector 543 to reduce the glare 650 in zone 113. The anti-glare system generates a counteracting image 750 that is based on the dominant color 640, the location of the glare 650 in zone 113 (or windshield 101), and/or the size/shape of the glare 650 with respect to a view of an occupant of the vehicle 100.)
O'Keeffe US-20190366811-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle systems and methods wherein “…the glare blocking component utilizes a 360-degree projector, positioned within the vehicle, to project the anti-glare image on a front windshield window, a left-side window, a right-side window and a rear windshield window when the glare spot was identified ….”;
(O'Keeffe [0096] In some embodiments the vehicle control system dynamically operates the windshield (and optionally other windows and openings) to provide additional functionality in autonomous-driving-mode or when not in driver-mode. For example, in selecting a light state that provides reduced visual access from the outside the vehicle control system reduces sunlight transmittance (i.e. the solar spectrum from UV to infrared) with the advantage that solar heating of the vehicle's interior is reduced. In another example, in selecting a light state that provides reduced visual access from the outside the vehicle control system reduces glare for a vehicle's occupants from sunlight or oncoming vehicles. In some embodiments the vehicle control system can use one or more camera-based subsystems to identify sources of glare such as the sun or a car's head lights at night and momentarily select a suitable light state for a switchable window in line of sight to minimize glare from the bright light source and revert to the prior level of visual access when the source of glare has passed. Preferably the camera-based subsystem can identify the orientation of glare sources with respect to the orientation of the vehicle and provides 360 degrees coverage.)
(O'Keeffe [0103] In embodiment 500 the vehicle control system 30 can change the eye adaptation of occupants over time by using the electrically selectable light states of its switchable windows 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 to significantly reduce the illuminance inside a vehicle when compared to outside in autonomous-driving-mode. In some embodiments the vehicle control system 30 can use an eye tracking subsystem 65 to monitor the eye adaption of one or more occupants and use this data as input to the decision to select a light state)
O'Keeffe: FIG.5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include 360 degree monitoring and glare adjustment on a left, right, and rear window/windshield based upon input data with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by O'Keeffe, for the benefit of providing glare reduction throughout an interior cabin of a vehicle [0103].
Rother US-20220254132-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicular monitoring with camera view optimization a system configured to detect a “…glare spot was identified using the image of the rearview mirror”;
(Rother [claim.7; 0017] [0017] Optionally, the ECU, based on image data captured by the interior camera, calculate areas of vehicle mirrors (e.g., rearview mirror, side mirrors, etc.) that should be dimmed when the driver or other occupants are at risk of glare from a light source from behind the vehicle. That is, based on the captured image data, only portions of the mirror may be dimmed (i.e., the portions that reflect the detected glare light). The ECU may perform the calculations via, for example, triangulation of the mirror(s) and the camera positions...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include glare spot was identified using the image of the rearview mirror with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Rother, for the benefit of providing a consideration for the effect and addressing of glare for an operator of a vehicle with regards to windshields, windows, and mirrors (i.e. rear view mirror).
Examiner’s Note: Please see also Lagowski (US-20200019034-A1) disclosed in the Conclusion below.
5. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 4, wherein the glare detection component detects glare on the front windshield window,
(Glatfelter [0035-0036])
Glatfelter: FIG.1
O'Keeffe US-20190366811-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle systems and methods wherein glare is detected on “…the left-side window, the right-side window and a rear windshield window”;
(O'Keeffe [0096] In some embodiments the vehicle control system dynamically operates the windshield (and optionally other windows and openings) to provide additional functionality in autonomous-driving-mode or when not in driver-mode. For example, in selecting a light state that provides reduced visual access from the outside the vehicle control system reduces sunlight transmittance (i.e. the solar spectrum from UV to infrared) with the advantage that solar heating of the vehicle's interior is reduced. In another example, in selecting a light state that provides reduced visual access from the outside the vehicle control system reduces glare for a vehicle's occupants from sunlight or oncoming vehicles. In some embodiments the vehicle control system can use one or more camera-based subsystems to identify sources of glare such as the sun or a car's head lights at night and momentarily select a suitable light state for a switchable window in line of sight to minimize glare from the bright light source and revert to the prior level of visual access when the source of glare has passed. Preferably the camera-based subsystem can identify the orientation of glare sources with respect to the orientation of the vehicle and provides 360 degrees coverage.)
(O'Keeffe [0103] In embodiment 500 the vehicle control system 30 can change the eye adaptation of occupants over time by using the electrically selectable light states of its switchable windows 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 to significantly reduce the illuminance inside a vehicle when compared to outside in autonomous-driving-mode. In some embodiments the vehicle control system 30 can use an eye tracking subsystem 65 to monitor the eye adaption of one or more occupants and use this data as input to the decision to select a light state)
O'Keeffe: FIG.5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include glare operations for the left-side window, the right-side window and a rear windshield window with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by O'Keeffe, for the benefit of providing glare reduction throughout an interior cabin of a vehicle [0103].
6. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the display component
(Glatfelter [0026] The anti-glare system 150 also includes an interface 342 to communicate over one or more wired or wireless networks 350. For instance, the anti-glare system 150 may exchange messages with a graphical user interface (GUI) 360, vehicle systems/devices 362, and/or external systems/devices 364. The GUI 360 enables a user to input data and configure the user settings 335 stored in data storage 330.)
(Glatfelter [0027] the processor 152 may be configured with machine learning circuitry or other type of learning function configured to learn patterns of glare on the windshield 101 as the vehicle 100 is operated over time. A user, or occupant, of the vehicle 100 may view/access the glare pattern data 336 via the GUI 360 to customize the dimming effect (and/or highlighting effect, or other customizable options in the user settings 335) for particular glare pattern features (e.g., time of day, vehicle operator, vehicle passenger, etc.). Additional details of operation and examples are described below.)
O'Keeffe US-20190366811-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for autonomous vehicle systems and methods wherein glare is detected on “…renders an interactive image of a front windshield, a left-side window, a right-side window”;
(O'Keeffe [0102] infotainment system 35, or an independent dashboard mounted display, provides occupants with information on the status of the windows, …The information can be displayed in the form of an icon or a text message. …In some embodiments a graphic similar to FIG. 5 can be displayed to show the status of the windows to occupants...)
(O'Keeffe [0103] In embodiment 500 the vehicle control system 30 can change the eye adaptation of occupants over time by using the electrically selectable light states of its switchable windows 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 to significantly reduce the illuminance inside a vehicle when compared to outside in autonomous-driving-mode. In some embodiments the vehicle control system 30 can use an eye tracking subsystem 65 to monitor the eye adaption of one or more occupants and use this data as input to the decision to select a light state)
O'Keeffe: FIG.5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include glare operations for the left-side window, the right-side window with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by O'Keeffe, for the benefit of providing glare reduction throughout an interior cabin of a vehicle [0103].
Rother US-20220254132-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for vehicular monitoring with camera view optimization a system configured to detect a “…rearview mirror”;
(Rother [claim.7; 0017] [0017] Optionally, the ECU, based on image data captured by the interior camera, calculate areas of vehicle mirrors (e.g., rearview mirror, side mirrors, etc.) that should be dimmed when the driver or other occupants are at risk of glare from a light source from behind the vehicle. That is, based on the captured image data, only portions of the mirror may be dimmed (i.e., the portions that reflect the detected glare light). The ECU may perform the calculations via, for example, triangulation of the mirror(s) and the camera positions...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include glare spot was identified using the image of the rearview mirror with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Rother, for the benefit of providing a consideration for the effect and addressing of glare for an operator of a vehicle with regards to windshields, windows, and mirrors (i.e. rear view mirror).
13. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 4 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 4.
14. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 5 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 5.
15. The limitation(s) are similar to those disclosed in the system of claim(s) 6 and are therefore rejected under the same premise, for more information please see claim(s) 6.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mori US-20210229553-A1.
10. Glatfelter US-20190047382-A1 discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the glare detection component detects glare
(Glatfelter [0035] The anti-glare system 150 may confirm the glare 650 using the obtained image data and/or proceed to further image analysis for object detection and glare reduction. In this example, the anti-glare system 150 determines that zone 113 of the windshield 101 is impacted by the glare 650. The anti-glare system 150 detects the dominant color 640 (e.g., grey) for zone 113 (e.g., excluding the color of the glare 650). The anti-glare system 150 further detects that a navigation mark 652 is present in the environment for zone 113.)
(Glatfelter [0036] anti-glare system 150 activating one or more projectors 541-548 in an exemplary embodiment. As shown here, the anti-glare system 150 determines to activate projector 543 to reduce the glare 650 in zone 113. The anti-glare system generates a counteracting image 750 that is based on the dominant color 640, the location of the glare 650 in zone 113 (or windshield 101), and/or the size/shape of the glare 650 with respect to a view of an occupant of the vehicle 100.)
Mori US-20210229553-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for a vehicle display and control method comprising “…using a wearable device wirelessly connected to the glare detection component and placed on driver’s face, the wearable device comprising one or more cameras that tracks the current field of view of the driver”;
(Mori [0065] A pair of the peripheral image capture cameras 42 that image ahead of the AR glasses 40 are attached to the outer side faces of the lenses 50L, 50R at positions that do not obstruct the field of view of the occupant P wearing the AR glasses 40. A pair of the gaze cameras 44 that capture eyes of the occupant P wearing the AR glasses 40 in order to detect the gaze of the occupant P are attached to the inner side faces of the lenses 50L, 50R at positions that do not obstruct the field of view of the occupant P wearing the AR glasses 40.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Glatfelter to include using a wearable device wirelessly connected to the glare detection component and placed on driver’s face, the wearable device comprising one or more cameras that tracks the current field of view of the driver with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Mori, for the benefit of providing a wearable imaging device configured to track a gaze direction of a user for integration into a user interface [0065].
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Lagowski (US-20200019034-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0030] In some embodiments, the at least one outward facing light sensor 27 may be a component of an anti-glare system that prevents glare from appearing in images in rearview mirror assembly 35. In some embodiments, the at least one outward facing light sensor 27 may comprise a plurality of imagers or photodetectors configured to detect the amount of light entering the passenger compartment 20 of vehicle 10 through the windshield 46.”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663