DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585).
Regarding claim 1, Mari Curbelo discloses a method [e.g. figs.4 (or 3), 9/7], comprising: detecting [e.g. the sense circuit 902/702 also, see para. 0046] a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current flowing through a first transistor and a second transistor [e.g. 402, 404]; in response to detecting the load voltage, determining [e.g. 902s] whether one of the first transistor or the second transistor triggered the cross-conduction current; and in response to determining that the first transistor triggered the cross-conduction current, increasing a first delay of a first rising edge of a first gate voltage to be applied to the first transistor [e.g. add an interlock/dead time, para. 0027]; and in response to determining that the second transistor triggered the cross-conduction current, increasing a second delay of a second rising edge of a second gate voltage to be applied to the second transistor [e.g. add an interlock/dead time, para. 0027].
Regarding claim 3, Mari Curbelo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein increasing at least one of the first delay or the second delay comprises: generating [e.g. 906, 316/706, 316] a control voltage in response to the load voltage; mapping [e.g. 707/314] the control voltage to at least one of the first delay or the second delay; and delaying [e.g. 707/314] at least one of the first rising edge or the second rising edge responsive to at least one of the first delay or the second delay.
Regarding claim 13, Mari Curbelo discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first cross-conduction current is greater than the second cross-conduction current [e.g. the current sensed at different time or having different parameters, e.g. temperature].
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Wickersham et al. (US 7,741,881).
Regarding claim 4, Mari Curbelo discloses the method of claim 1. Mari Curbelo discloses a switch device that is an inverter, not a buck converter. However, a boost voltage converter, a buck voltage converter, or a buck-boost voltage converter is a well-known switch device. It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skills in the art to modify detecting method of Mari Curbelo and apply to a converter. For example, Wickersham discloses a buck converter [see fig. 1/2/3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Wickersham regarding a converter in order to provide improvement for controlling the dead time.
Claims 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Ishikura et al. (US 2018/0262101).
Regarding claim 14, Mari Curbelo discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein the first delay is an adaptive time delay based on the cross-conduction current. However, Ishikura discloses a first delay is an adaptive time delay based on the cross-conduction current [paras. 0113-0114]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Ishikura regarding to adjust dead time in order to reduce noise generated during switching operation [para. 0005].
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second delay is an adaptive time delay based on the cross-conduction current.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first delay is increased by an adaptive delay circuit.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second delay is increased by an adaptive delay circuit.
Claims 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Ishikura et al. (US 2018/0262101) and Cho et al. (US 2017/0288656).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1. The combination discloses an adaptive time delay, but does not disclose the first delay is generated by a fixed delay circuit and an adaptive delay circuit. However, Cho discloses a first delay [e.g. 215, 216, 217 fig. 4] is generated by a fixed delay circuit [e.g. 217/215] and an adaptive delay circuit [e.g. 216]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo and Ishikura in accordance with the teaching of Cho regarding a delay in order to provide a variable delay line.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1. The combination discloses an adaptive time delay, but does not disclose the second delay is generated by a fixed delay circuit and an adaptive delay circuit. However, Cho discloses a second delay [e.g. 215, 216, 217 fig. 4] is generated by a fixed delay circuit [e.g. 217/215] and an adaptive delay circuit [e.g. 216]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo and Ishikura in accordance with the teaching of Cho regarding a delay in order to provide a variable delay line.
Claims 5, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Barnes (US 6,420,909).
Regarding claim 5, Mari Curbelo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting the load voltage includes using a cross detector circuit [e.g. the sense circuit 902/702] except that includes a third transistor and a fourth transistor. Mari Curbelo does not explicitly disclose comparator 904/704 of the cross detector circuit includes a third transistor and a fourth transistor. However, it’s well-known that a comparator comprising FET transistors. For example, US 6,420,909 by Barnes discloses a comparator [e.g. fig. 4/5] comprising FET transistors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Barnes regarding a comparator in order to provide the detail of a comparator.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 5, wherein detecting the load voltage includes coupling a third transistor [e.g. 56/58 0r 40/46 Barnes] to a load [see. the phase out fig. 4/3 Mari Curbelo], and measuring a current based on a voltage generated by the load.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the third transistor and the fourth transistor are each N-Channel field effect transistors (NFETs) [e.g. 52, 54 fig. 5/30, 32 fig. 4 Barnes].
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein at least one of the first delay or the second delay is provided by a counter or a resistor-capacitor network. However, it’s well-known to provide a delay by using a counter. For example, Thompson discloses to provide a delay by using a counter [see at least abstract, para. 0010]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Thompson regarding a counter in order to provide a delay by using a well-known counter.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Kawagishi et al. (US 8,058,854).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are each N-Channel field effect transistors (NFETs). However, it’s well-known to replace a p-type transistor with n-type transistor, and vice versa. For example, Kawagishi discloses to replace a p-type transistor with n-type transistor, and vice versa [Col. 4, lines 49-51]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Kawagishi regarding a transistor in order to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Barnes (US 6,420,909) and Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329).
Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first transistor is coupled to a load [see. the phase out fig. 4/3 Mari Curbelo]. The combination does not disclose the first transistor and the second transistor are FET transistors. However, it’s well known to utilize FET transistors. For example, Thompson discloses to utilize MOSFETs as a first transistor and a second transistor [e.g. 508, 518 fig, 5], such that the new combination discloses a drain of the first transistor is coupled to a load [see. the phase out fig. 4/3 Mari Curbelo], and a source of the first transistor is coupled to a drain of the second transistor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo and Barnes in accordance with the teaching of Thompson regarding MOSFETs in order to utilize well-known FETs as the switching transistors.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) in view of Barnes (US 6,420,909) and Sato et al. (US 2018/006250).
Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first transistor is coupled to a load [see. the phase out fig. 4/3 Mari Curbelo]. The combination does not disclose the first transistor and the second transistor are FET transistors. However, it’s well known to utilize FET transistors. For example, Sato discloses to utilize MOSFETs as a first transistor and a second transistor [e.g. Q1, Q2 fig, 1; 402, 404 fig. 7, paras. 0018, 0045], such that the new combination discloses a drain of the first transistor is coupled to a load [see. the phase out fig. 4/3 Mari Curbelo], and a source of the first transistor is coupled to a drain of the second transistor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo and Barnes in accordance with the teaching of Sato regarding MOSFETs in order to utilize well-known FETs as the switching transistors.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, wherein a gate of the first transistor is coupled to a gate of the third transistor, a gate of the second transistor is coupled to a gate of the fourth transistor, and a source of the third transistor is coupled to a drain of the fourth transistor [see transistors 702s, 703s fig. 7, to provide parallel switching].
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585).
Regarding claim 20, Mari Curbelo discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein the load voltage is amplified by a control circuit. However, it’s notorious well-known to utilize an amplifier to amplify a signal to increase the sensitivity. The official notice of the foregoing fact is hereby taken. For example, US 2018/0344196 discloses to utilize an amplifier to amplify a signal [e.g. para. 0059/0067, figs. 5-7]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo to increase the sensitivity.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329) in view of Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a method [e.g. fig. 5], comprising: detecting [e.g. 540/550] a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current flowing through a first transistor [e.g. 518] and a second transistor [e.g. 508]; in response to detecting the load voltage, determining [e.g. 540, 550] whether one of the first transistor or the second transistor triggered the cross-conduction current; and in response to determining that the first transistor triggered the cross-conduction current, increasing a first delay of a first rising edge of a first gate voltage to be applied to the first transistor [e.g. add a dead time; see at least paras. 0045-0047]; and in response to determining that the second transistor triggered the cross-conduction current, increasing a second delay of a second rising edge of a second gate voltage to be applied to the second transistor. Thompson discloses to detect the output signal of 568, Thompson does not disclose to detect the output signal of 566. However, Mari Curbelo discloses to detect on both high-side and low-side switches, such that the combination discloses in response to determining that the second transistor triggered the cross-conduction current, increasing a second delay of a second rising edge of a second gate voltage to be applied to the second transistor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Thompson in accordance with the teaching of Mari Curbelo regarding a switch device in order to control switches based on the detected signal, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising in response to not detecting the load voltage [e.g. it’s not below threshold. Thompson only compares the detected value to a threshold], reducing the first delay and the second delay [see para. 0054 Thompson].
Regarding claim 3, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, wherein increasing at least one of the first delay or the second delay comprises: generating a control voltage in response to the load voltage [e.g. 540, 550 Thompson. Note: the combination also detect he output signal of 566]; mapping [e.g. 560 Thompson] the control voltage to at least one of the first delay or the second delay; and delaying [e.g. 560] at least one of the first rising edge or the second rising edge responsive to at least one of the first delay or the second delay.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising operating a converter based on at least one of the first gate voltage or the second gate voltage, the converter including at least one of a boost voltage converter, a buck voltage converter, or a buck-boost voltage converter [see at least abstract Thompson].
Regarding claim 5, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the detecting the load voltage includes using a cross detector circuit [e.g. 540/550 Thompson] that includes a third transistor and a fourth transistor [see the two N-type FET current mirror transistors on the left side (between label 602 and label 630 fig. 6) Thompson].
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 12, wherein detecting the load voltage includes coupling a third transistor [ see the left transistor of the two N-type FET current mirror transistors on the left side (between label 602 and label 630] to a load [see. Vout Thompson], and measuring a current based on a voltage generated by the load.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first delay or the second delay is provided by a counter [see at least abstract Thompson] or a resistor-capacitor network.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the third transistor and the fourth transistor are each N-Channel field effect transistors (NFETs) [see the two N-type FET current mirror transistors on the left side (between label 602 and label 630; or two of transistor coupled to a resistor load (under VBAT) on the right side of 610].
Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 10, wherein a drain of the third transistor is coupled to a load [a resistor load (under VBAT)], and a source of the third transistor is coupled to a drain of the fourth transistor.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first cross-conduction current is greater than the second cross-conduction current.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329) in view of Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) and Kawagishi et al. (US 8,058,854).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein the first transistor and the second transistor are each N-Channel field effect transistors (NFETs). However, it’s well-known to replace a p-type transistor with n-type transistor, and vice versa. For example, Kawagishi discloses to replace a p-type transistor with n-type transistor, and vice versa [Col. 4, lines 49-51]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Thompson and Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Kawagishi regarding a transistor in order to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329) in view of Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585), and Sato et al. (US 2018/0062501).
Regarding claim 12, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 11, except wherein a gate of the first transistor is coupled to a gate of the third transistor, a gate of the second transistor is coupled to a gate of the fourth transistor, and a source of the third transistor is coupled to a drain of the fourth transistor. However, Sato discloses parallel switching device [ see 702, 704 fig, 7], such that the combination discloses a gate of the first transistor is coupled to a gate of the third transistor, a gate of the second transistor is coupled to a gate of the fourth transistor, and a source of the third transistor is coupled to a drain of the fourth transistor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Thompson, and Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Sato regarding a switching device in order to provide parallel driving.
Claims 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329) in view of Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585) and Ishikura et al. (US 2018/0262101).
Regarding claim 14, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein the first delay is an adaptive time delay based on the cross-conduction current. However, Ishikura discloses a first delay is an adaptive time delay based on the cross-conduction current [paras. 0113-0114]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Mari Curbelo in accordance with the teaching of Ishikura regarding to adjust dead time in order to reduce noise generated during switching operation [para. 0005].
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second delay is an adaptive time delay based on the cross-conduction current.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first delay is increased by an adaptive delay circuit.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second delay is increased by an adaptive delay circuit.
Claims 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329) in view of Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585), Ishikura et al. (US 2018/0262101) and Cho et al. (US 2017/0288656).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1. The combination discloses an adaptive time delay, but does not disclose the first delay is generated by a fixed delay circuit and an adaptive delay circuit. However, Cho discloses a first delay [e.g. 215, 216, 217 fig. 4] is generated by a fixed delay circuit [e.g. 217/215] and an adaptive delay circuit [e.g. 216]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Thompson, Mari Curbelo and Ishikura in accordance with the teaching of Cho regarding a delay in order to provide a variable delay line.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed in claim 14 discloses the method of claim 1. The combination discloses an adaptive time delay, but does not disclose the second delay is generated by a fixed delay circuit and an adaptive delay circuit. However, Cho discloses a second delay [e.g. 215, 216, 217 fig. 4] is generated by a fixed delay circuit [e.g. 217/215] and an adaptive delay circuit [e.g. 216]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Thompson, Mari Curbelo and Ishikura in accordance with the teaching of Cho regarding a delay in order to provide a variable delay line.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al. (US 2014/0300329) in view of Mari Curbelo et al. (US 2015/0035585)
Regarding claim 20, the combination discussed above discloses the method of claim 1, except wherein the load voltage is amplified by a control circuit. However, it’s notorious well-known to utilize an amplifier to amplify a signal to increase the sensitivity. The official notice of the foregoing fact is hereby taken. For example, US 2018/0344196 discloses to utilize an amplifier to amplify a signal [e.g. para. 0059/0067, figs. 5-7]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Thompson and Mari Curbelo to increase the sensitivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
‘In the rejection of claim 1, the Office Action cited Curbelo's paragraph [0046] and sense circuits 902/702 for the alleged disclosure of "detecting a load voltage in response to a cross- conduction current flowing through a first transistor and a second transistor." (Office Action, 3.) However, the cited portions do not disclose "detecting a load voltage in response to a cross- conduction current". Cross- conduction occurs "when both high-side and low-side transistors are enabled at the same time." ([0020]) The Examiner has not provided any explanation or justification whatsoever, for alleging Curbelo's "collector-emitter current" discloses a cross-conduction current. (Curbelo, [0046].)
For at least these reasons, claim 1 is not anticipated by Curbelo. Moreover, USPTO's burden of factually supporting a prima facie case of obviousness has not been met. Claims 2-5 and 7-12 are also not anticipated by Curbelo at least due to their dependence from claim 1. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully requests the Office withdraw the § 102 rejection of claims 1 and 3.’
However, item-to-item matched was provided to reject the claims. Curbelo a sense circuit 902/702 to detect a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current flowing through a first transistor and a second transistor [e.g. 402, 404], i.e. short circuit. Curbelo also disclose an interlock time may be imposed to prevent the shot circuit.
Applicant argues:
‘In the rejection of claim 1, the Office Action cited FIG. 5 of Thompson for the alleged
disclosure of "detecting a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current flowing through a first transistor and a second transistor." (Office Action, 8.) In particular, the Office Action argued components 540 and 550 in the cited figure disclose "detecting ... a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current." Id. However, Thompson's components 540 and 550 do not respond to a cross-conduction current flowing through a first and second transistor.
Additionally, the Applicant respectfully submits that the references, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the subject matter of claim 1, such as "detecting a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current flowing through a first transistor and a second transistor."
For at least these reasons, claim 1 is allowable over Thompson in view of Curbelo. Claims 2-5 and 7-12 depend from and further limit one of independent claim 1 and are patentable over the cited references based at least on this dependence. Furthermore, the dependent claims recite additional elements that may further distinguish them over the cited references. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the Office withdraw the § 103 rejections and allow claims 1-5 and 7-12.’
However, Thompson discloses a sense circuit 540 is coupled to receive voltage node LX 530 and comprises sensing circuitry, for example a comparator, to process the information delivered at input terminal 542. Accordingly. Thompson discloses “detecting ... a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current.” In addition, similar to the discussion discussed above, Curbelo discloses “detecting ... a load voltage in response to a cross-conduction current.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836