DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,4,6,12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Coco et al.(US2020/0307776).
[claim 1] Coco teaches an apparatus for supporting at least a part of an engine(see para0026]), the apparatus comprising: an engine stand(200) configured to support at least a part of an engine(see para[0026]); an accelerometer(816, fig 8) coupled to the engine stand and configured to measure acceleration of the engine stand and generate accelerometer data; and a first processor(840) coupled to the engine stand configured to receive the accelerometer data from the accelerometer(fig 8).
[claim 3] further comprising a first memory(842), the first processor being configured to control the first memory to store the received accelerometer data(fig 8).
[claim 4] further comprising a first transmitter(see para[0039], interface 832 receives wired or wireless data from the sensors which would require a transmitter), the first processor being configured to control the first transmitter to transmit the accelerometer data.
[claim 6] further comprising a global navigation satellite system(GNSS) sensor(818) coupled to the engine stand, the global navigation satellite system sensor being configured to determine a location of the engine stand.
[claim 12] further comprising a photodetector(sensor detecting navigation marks, vision system or cameras, see para[0025]) coupled to the engine stand and configured to measure optical light at the engine stand, and generate light data.
[claim 13] further comprising a position sensor(230) coupled to the engine stand and configured to measure a parameter associated with the presence of an engine being supported by the engine stand and generate engine position data.
[claim 14] further comprising: an accessory(250) of the engine stand; and a third transmitter coupled to the accessory(see para[0039], interface 832 receives wired or wireless data from the sensors which would require a transmitter), the third transmitter being configured to transmit a signal(from 230) to indicate the presence of the accessory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5,7,8,9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coco et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
[claim 5] Coco teaches an apparatus as detailed above, with an interface(832) configured to receive the accelerometer date from the first transmitter, the interface being configured to perform an action in response to the measured data exceeding a threshold value(para[0039]). Coco however does not specifically state that the interface is a remote computer or that the action is specifically in response to acceleration data. First it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the interface as a remote computer, as there are only two possible locations for the computer, i.e. an onboard or directly connected computer, or a remote computer, and given that Coco teaches the interface can receive wireless data(para[0039]) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use a remote computer, as this would allow a user to monitor the apparatus from a different location. Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the acceleration data to perform an action, as this would allow the computer to control either unwanted vibration or acceleration of the system.
[claim 7,8] Coco teaches an apparatus as detailed above, however Coco does not detail how the accelerometer and first processor are housed or attached to the engine stand, and does not specifically teach that the accelerometer and first processor are housed in a first housing attached with an interface plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to place the accelerometer and processor in a housing, as this would provide protection to the components, and to use an interface plate to attach the housing to the engine stand as this would allow the housing to be removably connected to the stand.
[claim 9,10,11] Coco teaches an apparatus as detailed above including load sensors(230), accelerometers(816) speedometers(814) and additional sensors(812). Coco however does may not specifically teach that the additional sensors include a humidity sensor coupled to the engine stand, the humidity sensor being configured to measure humidity at the engine stand and generate humidity data, with a second transmitter and second processor configured to receive the humidity data from the sensor and control the second transmitter to transmit the humidity data, or that the additional sensors include a temperature sensor coupled to the engine stand, the temperature sensor being configured to measure temperature at the engine stand, and generate temperature data. The use of humidity and temperature sensors to measure local climate conditions is well known, as such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use humidity and temperature sensors, along with associated processors and transmitters, to measure local humidity and temperature of the apparatus, as this would provide a user with data about the local climate conditions at the apparatus and would merely be using known elements for their known functions.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coco et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rossway et al.(US6298536).
[claim 2] Coco teaches an apparatus as detailed above, wherein the engine stand comprises a base frame(120) and an engine support frame(240) with the accelerometer coupled to the engine support frame. Coco however may not teach the use of a shock absorber coupled between the base frame and the engine support frame. The use of shock absorbers is well known to isolate supported loads from unwanted vibrations. Rossway teaches a similar apparatus which utilizes shock absorbers(32,38) between a base frame(16) and an engine support frame(87). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use shock absorbers between the base frame and engine support frame of Coco, as this would help prevent vibrations from being transferred to the supported load as taught by Rossway.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US10920621, US20080023618, US6298536.
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632