DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levy (US 20170280969 A1).
As to claim 1, Levy discloses:
An apparatus (Fig. 39-40) comprising:
an objective lens system 39132 (par. 0732) mounted in a distal end of the apparatus, the objective lens system having a lengthwise axis.
a window 3936 (par. 0732) mounted in a distal face of the apparatus, the window having a surface (outer surface is flat, inner surface is angled/curved and flat) oriented at an angle (90 degrees for flat portions, other angles for curved surface) to the lengthwise axis (vertical axis in Fig. 39A) of the objective lens system, wherein the window reflects light out of a field of view of the objective lens system (all materials will reflect some percentage of some spectrum of light at some angle due to the material property of reflectance, thus some percentage of incoming light will be reflected away from the exterior surface of the flat window material, and never enter the objective lens system or its field of view).
As to claim 14, Levy discloses:
wherein the surface of the window is not coated with a coating material (no additional coating is disclosed, merely a protective window; par. 0732).
As to claim 18, Levy discloses:
wherein the apparatus is a zero-degree endoscope (zero-degree tip angle at the top surface of window 3936 and device 3900; see Fig. 39A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy (US 20170280969 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barbato (US 20170280988 A1).
As to claim 2, Levy does not disclose:
wherein the angle is twelve degrees.
However, Barbato discloses:
wherein the angle (between the lengthwise axis of the lens 1652, 1654, 1660 and the window1650; Fig. 16) is twelve degrees (between five and forty-five degrees; par. 0103).
in order to view at an angle different than the endoscope axis (par. 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Levy as suggested by Barbato, e.g., providing:
wherein the angle is twelve degrees;
in order to view at an angle different than the endoscope axis.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative angles between the window and lens for effecting the desired results of viewing angle) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 13, Levy does not disclose:
wherein the angle is between one degree to forty-five degrees.
However, Barbato discloses:
wherein the angle (between the lengthwise axis of the lens 1652, 1654, 1660 and the window1650; Fig. 16) is between one degree to forty-five degrees (between five and forty-five degrees; par. 0103);
in order to view at an angle different than the endoscope axis (par. 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Levy as suggested by Barbato, e.g., providing:
wherein the angle is between one degree to forty-five degrees;
in order to view at an angle different than the endoscope axis.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has also been held that discovering an optimum value of a result-effective variable (e.g., the relative angles between the window and lens for effecting the desired results of viewing angle) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy (US 20170280969 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scott (US 20100261961 A1).
As to claim 17, Levy does not disclose: wherein the window is made of sapphire.
However, Scott discloses:
wherein the window 206 is made of sapphire (par. 0052, 0066);
in order to provide a scratch-, heat-, moisture-, and solvent-resistant material that is also transparent to a range of wavelengths of light (par. 0066) and can survive sterilization in an autoclave (par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Levy as suggested by Scott, e.g., providing:
wherein the window is made of sapphire;
in order to provide a scratch-, heat-, moisture-, and solvent-resistant material that is also transparent to a range of wavelengths of light and can survive sterilization in an autoclave.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 3-12 and 15, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus as recited in the dependent claims 3 and 15, for identical reasons as provided in the previous Office Action.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claimed Elements Not Taught
Applicant has suggested that claim 1 incorporates allowable subject matter from previous claim 16.
In response, Examiner notes that claim 1 does not include allowable subject matter from claim 16, because it does not refer to or require “reflects light that passes the through the window back towards the window” (from parent claim 15). Claim 1 merely recites “wherein the window reflects light out of a field of view of the objective lens system”, which includes any light reflected from any surface of the window.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB R CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841