DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You (KR-20230077004-A – of record – citing US-20230161242-A1 as English equivalent) in view of Yamabuchi (US 2019/0372002 A1).
Regarding claim 1, You teaches a mask assembly comprising a mask frame assembly MFA may include a mask MK, a stick part SK, a frame FR, and a stage ST; the frame FR may be below the mask MK to support the mask MK, e.g., between the mask MK and the stage ST; wherein a portion of the mask MK may overlap a portion of the frame FR on the plane, e.g., along the third direction DR3; wherein an opening HA1 may be defined in the frame FR and may correspond to a shape of the mask MK, while having a smaller area on the plane than the mask MK (mask assembly comprising: a stage; a mask frame disposed on an upper surface of the stage, the mask frame comprising a frame opening bounded on first sides extending in a first direction and second sides extending in a second direction transverse to the first direction; and a mask disposed on an upper surface of the mask frame) (Fig 1-3 and ¶0045-0057).
In Fig 2, You discloses that a lower surface of the FR (mask frame) comprises a first surface surrounding the opening HA1 (frame opening) in a plan view, the first surface is disposed on the upper surface of the stage.
While You discloses a mask assembly comprising a lower surface of the mask frame comprising a first surface, You does not disclose a second surface adjacent to at least one corner among corners of the mask frame in the plan view, wherein the second surface is spaced apart from the upper surface of the stage in a third direction transverse to both the first direction and the second direction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, mask frames, Yamabuchi teaches the known technique wherein a plurality of recesses P on the lower surface on the edge portion FA may be formed in a matrix shape in the longitudinal direction and the width direction of the sheet, and openings J of the recesses P are, for example, formed in the shape of a rectangle having round corners (Fig 7A-7C and ¶0039).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the mask assembly disclosed in You by applying the known technique of a plurality of recesses P on the lower surface on the edge portion FA may be formed in a matrix shape in the longitudinal direction and the width direction of the sheet disclosed in Yamabuchi to the lower surface of the mask frame disclosed in You in order to form a second surface adjacent to at least one corner among corners of the mask frame in the plan view, wherein the second surface is spaced apart from the upper surface of the stage in a third direction transverse to both the first direction and the second direction with predictable results and resulting in an improved mask assembly. MPEP 2143(D).
Regarding claims 2-5, as applied to claim 1, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein a first distance between the second surface and the upper surface of the stage in the third direction is greater than a second distance between the first surface and the upper surface of the stage in the third direction; wherein a difference between the first and second distances is in a range of about 0.05 mm to about 0.15 mm; wherein: the lower surface of the mask frame further comprises a third surface, the third surface comprising a (3-1)-th surface extending in the second direction and a (3-2)-th surface extending in the first direction, and a fourth distance between the third surface and the upper surface of the stage in the third direction is greater than the first distance; wherein the second surface comprises: a (2-1)-th surface extending in the second direction along a second side among the second sides of the mask frame; a (2-2)-th surface adjacent to a corner among the corners of the mask frame; and a (2-3)-th surface extending in the first direction along a first side among the first sides of the mask frame.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the combination such that a first distance between the second surface and the upper surface of the stage in the third direction is greater than a second distance between the first surface and the upper surface of the stage in the third direction; wherein a difference between the first and second distances is in a range of about 0.05 mm to about 0.15 mm; wherein: the lower surface of the mask frame further comprises a third surface, the third surface comprising a (3-1)-th surface extending in the second direction and a (3-2)-th surface extending in the first direction, and a fourth distance between the third surface and the upper surface of the stage in the third direction is greater than the first distance; wherein the second surface comprises: a (2-1)-th surface extending in the second direction along a second side among the second sides of the mask frame; a (2-2)-th surface adjacent to a corner among the corners of the mask frame; and a (2-3)-th surface extending in the first direction along a first side among the first sides of the mask frame, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein, in the plan view: the (3-1)-th surface is disposed between the first surface and the (2-1)-th surface, and the (3-2)-th surface is disposed between the first surface and the (2-3)-th surface.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in You in view of Yamabuchi such that in the plan view: the (3-1)-th surface is disposed between the first surface and the (2-1)-th surface, and the (3-2)-th surface is disposed between the first surface and the (2-3)-th surface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention is an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claims 7-8, as applied to claim 4, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein: the first surface comprises: a (1-1)-th surface adjacent to the frame opening; a (1-2)-th surface extending in the second direction along a second side among the second sides of the mask frame; and a (1-3)-th surface extending in the first direction along a first side among the first sides of the mask frame, and in the plan view, the (3-1)-th surface is disposed between the (1-1)-th surface and the (1-2)-th surface, and in the plan view, the (3-2)-th surface is disposed between the (1-1)-th surface and the (1-3)-th surface nor wherein: the (3-1)-th surface extends in the second direction from a first side of the mask frame to another first side of the mask frame, the first side of the mask frame and the another first side of the mask frame opposing each other in the second direction, and the (3-2)-th surface extends in the first direction from a second side of the mask frame to another second side of the mask frame, the second side of the mask frame and the another second side of the mask frame opposing each other in the first direction.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the combination such that the first surface comprises: a (1-1)-th surface adjacent to the frame opening; a (1-2)-th surface extending in the second direction along a second side among the second sides of the mask frame; and a (1-3)-th surface extending in the first direction along a first side among the first sides of the mask frame, and in the plan view, the (3-1)-th surface is disposed between the (1-1)-th surface and the (1-2)-th surface, and in the plan view, the (3-2)-th surface is disposed between the (1-1)-th surface and the (1-3)-th surface nor wherein: the (3-1)-th surface extends in the second direction from a first side of the mask frame to another first side of the mask frame, the first side of the mask frame and the another first side of the mask frame opposing each other in the second direction, and the (3-2)-th surface extends in the first direction from a second side of the mask frame to another second side of the mask frame, the second side of the mask frame and the another second side of the mask frame opposing each other in the first direction, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 7, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein: the second surface is one of a plurality of second surfaces, each of the plurality of second surfaces is disposed adjacent to a respective corner among the corners of the mask frame, the (3-1)-th surface is disposed between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces adjacent to each other in the second direction, and the (3-2)-th surface is disposed between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces adjacent to each other in the first direction.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the combination such that the second surface is one of a plurality of second surfaces, each of the plurality of second surfaces is disposed adjacent to a respective corner among the corners of the mask frame, the (3-1)-th surface is disposed between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces adjacent to each other in the second direction, and the (3-2)-th surface is disposed between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces adjacent to each other in the first direction, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claims 10-12, as applied to claim 1, You in view of Yamabuchi teach wherein: the mask frame comprises: a first portion comprising the first surface and the second surface; and a second portion extending from an upper surface of the first portion, the second portion protrudes toward the frame opening further than the first portion, and inner surfaces of the first portion and the second portion bounding respective portions of the frame opening are inclined from at least one of the first direction and the second direction; wherein: the frame opening comprises: a first opening bounded by the inner surfaces of the first portion; and a second opening bounded by the inner surfaces of the second portion, and the first opening is fluidically connected with the second opening within the mask frame; and further comprising: a first stick disposed between the mask frame and the mask in the third direction, the first stick extending in the first direction; and a second stick disposed between the first stick and the mask in the third direction, the second stick extending in the second direction, wherein each of the first stick and the second stick is disposed in a corresponding groove in an upper surface of the second portion (see You, Fig 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, You teaches a mask assembly comprising a mask frame assembly MFA may include a mask MK, a stick part SK, a frame FR, and a stage ST; the frame FR may be below the mask MK to support the mask MK, e.g., between the mask MK and the stage ST; wherein a portion of the mask MK may overlap a portion of the frame FR on the plane, e.g., along the third direction DR3; wherein an opening HA1 may be defined in the frame FR and may correspond to a shape of the mask MK, while having a smaller area on the plane than the mask MK (a mask assembly comprising: a stage; a mask frame disposed on an upper surface of the stage, the mask frame comprising a frame opening; and a mask disposed on an upper surface of the mask frame such that the upper surface of the mask frame faces the mask in a first direction and a lower surface of the mask frame faces the upper surface of the stage in a second direction opposite the first direction) (Fig 1-3 and ¶0045-0057).
In Fig 2, You discloses that a lower surface of the FR (mask frame) comprises a first surface surrounding the opening HA1 (frame opening) in a plan view.
While You discloses a mask assembly comprising a lower surface of the mask frame comprising a first surface, You does not disclose a second surface adjacent to an edge of the mask frame in the plan view, and a step connects the first surface with the second surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, mask frames, Yamabuchi teaches the known technique wherein a plurality of recesses P on the lower surface on the edge portion FA may be formed in a matrix shape in the longitudinal direction and the width direction of the sheet, and openings J of the recesses P are, for example, formed in the shape of a rectangle having round corners (Fig 7A-7C and ¶0039).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the mask assembly disclosed in You by applying the known technique of a plurality of recesses P on the lower surface on the edge portion FA may be formed in a matrix shape in the longitudinal direction and the width direction of the sheet disclosed in Yamabuchi to the lower surface of the mask frame disclosed in You in order to form a second surface adjacent to an edge of the mask frame in the plan view, and a step that connects the first surface with the second surface with predictable results and resulting in an improved mask assembly. MPEP 2143(D).
Regarding claims 14-17, as applied to claim 13, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein a first distance between the second surface and the upper surface of the stage in the first direction is greater than a second distance between the first surface and the upper surface of the stage in the first direction; wherein: the lower surface of the mask frame further comprises a third surface surrounding the first surface in the plan view, and a third distance between the third surface and the upper surface of the stage in the first direction is greater than the first distance; wherein the second surface extends along at least one first side among first sides of the mask frame that extend in a third direction transverse to the first direction or at least one second side among second sides of the mask frame that extend in a fourth direction transverse to both the first direction and the third direction; nor wherein the second surface is disposed further from the frame opening than the third surface.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the combination such that wherein a first distance between the second surface and the upper surface of the stage in the first direction is greater than a second distance between the first surface and the upper surface of the stage in the first direction; wherein: the lower surface of the mask frame further comprises a third surface surrounding the first surface in the plan view, and a third distance between the third surface and the upper surface of the stage in the first direction is greater than the first distance; wherein the second surface extends along at least one first side among first sides of the mask frame that extend in a third direction transverse to the first direction or at least one second side among second sides of the mask frame that extend in a fourth direction transverse to both the first direction and the third direction; and wherein the second surface is disposed further from the frame opening than the third surface, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 13, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein: the second surface is one of a plurality of second surfaces, and each of the plurality of second surfaces is disposed adjacent to a respective corner among corners of the mask frame.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the combination such that the second surface is one of a plurality of second surfaces, and each of the plurality of second surfaces is disposed adjacent to a respective corner among corners of the mask frame, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claims 19-20, as applied to claim 18, You in view of Yamabuchi do not explicitly disclose wherein the lower surface of the mask frame further comprises a third surface extending in a third direction and a fourth direction in the plan view, both the third direction and the fourth direction being transverse to the first direction, the third surface is disposed between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces that are adjacent to each other in the third direction and between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces that are adjacent to each other in the fourth direction, and the third surface is disposed further from the frame opening than the first surface nor wherein the first surface directly contacts the upper surface of the stage.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the combination such that the lower surface of the mask frame further comprises a third surface extending in a third direction and a fourth direction in the plan view, both the third direction and the fourth direction being transverse to the first direction, the third surface is disposed between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces that are adjacent to each other in the third direction and between second surfaces among the plurality of second surfaces that are adjacent to each other in the fourth direction, and the third surface is disposed further from the frame opening than the first surface and wherein the first surface directly contacts the upper surface of the stage, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B).
Conclusion
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743