DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-16, in the reply filed on 7/7/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that searching and examination of the claims would have been done by the examiner without serious burden. This is not found persuasive because the restriction requirement is required not only for the search burden but they have acquired in different status in the art, as discussed in the previous office communication.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (US 2017/0335139) in view of Singh (US 2003/0162399) supported by Ward et al (US 2021/0017421).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong et al disclose a CMP slurry composition for polishing copper including: polishing particles; and deionized water, wherein the polishing particles include inorganic particles and organic particles, and both the inorganic particles and the organic particles have a positive zeta potential [0008], aforesaid inorganic particles may include metal oxide [0026]; and have an average particle diameter (D50) of about 10 nm to about 500 nm [0037]; and such corresponds to the claimed “nano-abrasive particles”; and the “organic particles” corresponds to the claimed “soft particles”.
Unlike the instant invention, Jeong et al fail to teach the nano-abrasive particles having a Mohs hardness greater than about 5; and the soft particles having a Mohs hardness lower than the Mohs hardness of the nano-abrasive particles.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Singh discloses a CMP slurry composition [0040], wherein the slurry composition includes particles, such particles can be soft particles being soft or having soft surfaces, which is defined herein as a particle which provides a surface hardness less than 3.0 on the Mohs scale [0041]; Singh also discloses the slurry the slurry can also include a plurality of abrasive particles. As used herein, the term "abrasive" refers to particles which have hardness greater or equal to 3.0 on the Mohs scale. Examples of abrasive particles in the slurry include silica, alumina, zirconia, yttria, silicon nitride, carbon, their mixtures, and their related compounds [0041]; and aforesaid teaching appears to reads on the limitation of the nano-abrasive particles having greater than about 5 (supported by Ward et al; [0028] and the Mohs hardness of the soft particles is lower than that of the nano-abrasive particle’s Mohs hardness.
Additionally, Wads et al support that the abrasive of alumina, zirconia having a Mohs hardness of about 5.5 or more [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Singh’s teaching (supported by Ward et al) of using soft particles and abrasives with the specified Mohs hardness into the teaching of Jeong et al for polishing with high selectivity as suggested by Sing ([0032],[0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong et al disclose the organic particles (corresponds to the soft particles) may include polymer such as polystyrene, poly(meth)acrylate, polyvinyl chloride, polyacetal, polyester, polyamide, polyimide, or a copolymer thereof [0031].
Regarding claim 3, modified Jeong et al disclose above that Mohs hardness of soft particles is lower than that of the nano-abrasive particle’s Mohs hardness. So, the difference in the Mohs hardness among them would be greater than or equal to about 1 as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, Jeong et al disclose that the average particle diameter (D50) of the organic particles (soft particles) (D2) may be greater than the average particle diameter (D50) of the inorganic particles (nano-abrasive particles) (D1) [0037].
Regarding claim 5, Jeong et al disclose that each of the inorganic particles and the organic particles, which are the polishing particles, may have an average particle diameter (D50) of about 10 nm to about 500 nm [0037], which overlaps the claimed range of less than or equal to 100 nm; and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong et al disclose that the organic particles (soft particles), which are the polishing particles, may have an average particle diameter (D50) of about 10 nm to about 500 nm [0037], which overlaps the claimed range of about 50 nm to about 20 micrometers; and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Jeong et al disclose that the polishing particles include inorganic particles (a1) and organic particles (a2) having the same charge [0024]; and most likely both of them having a positive zeta potential [0025].
Regarding claim 8, Jeong et al disclose that the organic particles (corresponds to the soft particles) may include polymer such as polystyrene, poly(meth)acrylate, polyvinyl chloride, polyacetal, polyester, polyamide, polyimide, or a copolymer thereof [0031].
Regarding claims 9-10, Jeong et al disclose that the inorganic particles (a1) (corresponds to the nano-abrasive particles) may include a metal oxide ; and the inorganic particles (a1) may include silica (SiO.sub.2), the surface of which has a positive zeta potential, alumina (Al.sub.2O.sub.3) [0026].
Regarding claim 11, Jeong et al disclose that the polishing particles may be present in an amount of about 0.01 wt % to about 20 wt % in the CMP slurry composition [0039], which overlaps the claimed range of about 0.01 to about 15 wt%.
Regarding claim 12, Jeong et al disclose that the polishing particles may include the inorganic particles and the organic particles in a weight ratio of about 1:0.1 to about 1:0.5 [0038], which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Jeong et al disclose above that the composition comprises a inorganic (nano-abrasive) particles and organic particles (soft particles) in a weight ratio of about 1:0.1 to about 1:0.5 [0038] and the claimed volume ratio would have been obvious with in the weight ratio of such particles and the shape of the organic particles (soft particles) would have been commonly spherical in the polishing technology.
In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Jeong et al disclose that the composition further comprises oxidant (oxidizing agent ) [0041], a surfactant, a modifier, a pH regulator, a dispersant, and the like [0047]; chelating agent [0044].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al (US 2022/0193733) disclose inorganic particles 151 include spherical or polygonal aluminum oxide particles, spherical or polygonal silicon carbide particles, spherical or polygonal diamond particles, spherical or polygonal quartz particles, spherical or polygonal zirconia (ZrO.sub.2) particles, spherical or polygonal ceria (CeO.sub.2) particles or a combination thereof. The particle size of the aforementioned inorganic particles is about 0.02 μm-50 μm, and the aforementioned inorganic particles have a Mohs hardness of larger than or equal to 7 [0042]; and the organic particles 141 have a Mohs hardness of less than 7 [0068] used in a polishing pad.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713