DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/924,682 filed on 10/23/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 10/23/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Mommileti (US 2025/0365302).
Regarding claim 1, Mommileti discloses a method for large language model security comprising steps of:
inline monitoring a Large Language Model (LLM) (Mommileti par. 0117; The security platform performs LLM tracking and determines interactions of any malware. See also par. 0110 and 0119);
detecting an attack on the LLM and defining an attack type of a plurality of attack types based on the monitoring (Mommileti par. 0119 and 0122; The security platform detects and prevents LLMs, models, prompts and pipelines. In another part of the invention, the security platform tracks lineage, interactions, access and activities. If and when the malware is contained, the security platform attempts to identify where the malware came from; wherein 1 form of finding an origin of the malware is engaging in incident correlation, wherein an incident is compared to past incidents to see if there is a similarity; wherein another form of finding an origin of the malware is analyzing lineage of the malware; wherein the detector detects different types of anomalous events, including: anomalous log messages; data pipeline lineage; AI resource tracking; Artifacts change; AI risk forecasting; Copyright & legal exposure; Sensitive information disclosure; Data privacy violation; Social engineering attack; Tagging attack; and Labelling attack; wherein the artificial intelligence system accepts prompts from a user; wherein the security platform performs prompt analytics on the prompts entered by the user; wherein the prompt analytics include prompt interaction analysis, prompt risk analysis, prompt injections detector and a prompt web application filter. See also par. 0109);
providing a notification of the attack (Mommileti par. 0118; The security platform then runs an AI/ML application security filter with configuration and tags. The security platform then runs a web application filter for AI. Step 6 involves SIEM for AI. The security platform performs a correlation of anomalous logs, metrics, events to AI models, pipelines, alert enrichment and threat prioritization and incident correlation); and
causing a defense to the attack based on the attack type (Mommileti par. 0119 and 0121; The security platform detects and prevents LLMs, models, prompts and pipelines. The present invention includes adversarial machine learning, attack surface management, including discovery, tracking and lineage. Another aspect of the invention is security posture management, including experiments, models, jobs, runs, artifacts and prompts. Another aspect of the invention is risk analysis, including adversarial attacks, spills, leaks, contaminations, exfiltration and infiltration. These actions can be taken in any order. See also par. 0019).
Regarding claim 2, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the monitoring includes monitoring a user input to the LLM (Mommileti par. 0122; Wherein the artificial intelligence system accepts prompts from a user; wherein the security platform performs prompt analytics on the prompts entered by the user; wherein the prompt analytics include prompt interaction analysis, prompt risk analysis, prompt injections detector and a prompt web application filter).
Regarding claim 3, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the defense includes blocking the user input to the LLM (Mommileti par. 0114; The detector connects and reads all threat intelligence and configuration from a database. The Connector connects and reads topic data and meta data from detections. The Connector creates a session table, and then breaks into sessions and aggregates Minutes, Hourly and Daily Observations. The Connector correlates detections to discovery, tracking via tracking services, lineage, risks and rejected inputs).
Regarding claim 4, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the plurality of attack types includes prompt hacking and adversarial attack (Mommileti par. 0122; The security platform analyzes the malware by creating a risk analysis based on each detected malware; wherein based on the risk analysis, the security platform engages in adversarial threat mapping; wherein adversarial threat mapping includes input filtering, output filtering and masking; wherein the security platform also tracks the malware utilizing a variety of tracking services; wherein, if malware is detected, then the security platform informs a user of the system that the user has been hacked. See also par. 0018).
Regarding claim 5, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 4,
Mommileti further discloses wherein prompt hacking is one of a prompt injection and a jailbreaking attack (Mommileti par. 0122; Wherein the prompt analytics include prompt interaction analysis, prompt risk analysis, prompt injections detector and a prompt web application filter).
Regarding claim 6, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 4,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the adversarial attack is one of a backdoor attack and a data poisoning attack (Mommileti par. 0016; There are numerous different types of attacks, including: adversarial attacks, poison and evasion attacks, training time attacks, inference time attacks, distortion attacks, traversal attacks, polarization attacks, contamination attacks, polarized data pollution attacks, prompt slicing attacks, feature corruption attacks, external agency attacks and internal agency attacks. Transboundary pollution is the result of contaminated Features, Data, Prompts from one Environment spilling into the classify, training, inference pipelines of another).
Regarding claim 7, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein causing the defense includes causing any of a prevention-based defense and a detection-based defense (Mommileti par. 0119 and 0121; The security platform detects and prevents LLMs, models, prompts and pipelines. The present invention includes adversarial machine learning, attack surface management, including discovery, tracking and lineage. Another aspect of the invention is security posture management, including experiments, models, jobs, runs, artifacts and prompts. Another aspect of the invention is risk analysis, including adversarial attacks, spills, leaks, contaminations, exfiltration and infiltration. These actions can be taken in any order. See also par. 0019).
Regarding claim 8, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein any of the monitoring, detecting, providing a notification, and causing the defense is performed by an intermediate system before a query reaches the large language model (Mommileti par. 0118; The security platform then begins model training, inference and pipeline analytics. The security platform then detects spills, leaks and other contamination detection. The security platform then runs a prompt interaction analyzer. Step 5 involves prompt masking, redaction, prompt input filter and an AI web app filter. The security platform performs masking and redacting sensitive data from prompts. The security platform then runs an AI/ML application security filter with configuration and tags. The security platform then runs a web application filter for AI. Step 6 involves SIEM for AI. The security platform performs a correlation of anomalous logs, metrics, events to AI models, pipelines, alert enrichment and threat prioritization and incident correlation. Then the security platform creates events for a security operations center (“SOC”) analysts. Lastly, the security platform performs log forwarding and tags AI risk events to SIEM. Various actions can be done at different points, and so this is not the only series of events that the security platform can perform).
Regarding claim 9, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the defense includes one of removing, altering, and redesigning an output (Mommileti par. 0119 and 0121; The security platform detects and prevents LLMs, models, prompts and pipelines. The present invention includes adversarial machine learning, attack surface management, including discovery, tracking and lineage. Another aspect of the invention is security posture management, including experiments, models, jobs, runs, artifacts and prompts. Another aspect of the invention is risk analysis, including adversarial attacks, spills, leaks, contaminations, exfiltration and infiltration. These actions can be taken in any order. See also par. 0019).
Regarding claim 10, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the detection includes one of response-based detection and prompt-based detection (Mommileti par. 0119 and 0122; AI resource tracking; Artifacts change; AI risk forecasting; Copyright & legal exposure; Sensitive information disclosure; Data privacy violation; Social engineering attack; Tagging attack; and Labelling attack; wherein the artificial intelligence system accepts prompts from a user; wherein the security platform performs prompt analytics on the prompts entered by the user; wherein the prompt analytics include prompt interaction analysis, prompt risk analysis, prompt injections detector and a prompt web application filter. See also par. 0109).
Regarding claim 11, Mommileti discloses the method of claim 1,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the defense includes one of system-mode self-reminder prompts, smooth LLM, black-box defense, and pretrained language model defense (Mommileti par. 0023-0030; The different aspects of the invention include: Discovery: Discovery, Lineage & Analysis AI visibility: Inventory, Monitoring & Tracking via tracking services Models; Detections: Anomalies, Threat Forecasting; Adversarial analytics: Adversarial Attacks; Large Language model (“LLM”), a computational model notable for its ability to achieve general-purpose language generation and other natural language processing tasks such as classification, Prompt analytics: Prompt interaction analytics; Prompt risk analytics, Prompt Injections detector and Prompt web application Filter).
Regarding claims 12-19; claims 12-19 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium associated with the method claimed in claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9- 11 respectively. Claims 12-19 are similar in scope to claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9- 11 respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, Mommileti discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12,
Mommileti further discloses wherein the defense includes a three-step clustering based defense comprising representation learning, clustering, and filtering (Mommileti par. 0117; After that, the security platform handles cluster resources and compute networks. Stage 2 involves the security platform performing tracking experiments, running jobs, performing runs, and analyzing datasets. Then the security platform creates tracking models, different versions and artifacts. After that, the security platform creates tracking parameters, creates and analyzes metrics, and makes predictions and artifacts. After that, the security platform performs LLM tracking and determines interactions of any malware. Stage 3 involves the security platform performing pipeline analysis, and analyzing data sources and data sinks. The security platform then creates a map based on topology of streams related to potential malware. Various actions can be done at different points, and so this is not the only series of events that the security platform can perform).
Conclusion
/SANCHIT K SARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495