DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the application filed on October 23, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Request for priority to Provisional Application No. 63/592,462, filed on October 23, 2023, is acknowledged. The Examiner notes that the current claims do not appear to be fully supported by the provisional application, and further notes that the Applicant may be requested to perfect one or more of the claims in the situation where applied prior art has priority falling between the filing date of the non-provisional application date October 23, 2024, and the provisional application dated October 23, 2023. No action on the part of the Applicant is requested at this time.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 07, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite an abstract idea determining and calculating docking parameters for a docking station when aligning with a solar panel, which is a mathematical concept. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims only require performing calculations steps using mathematical parameters to determine the alignment of the docking station.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1 and 8 are directed to a system/ method for determining docking station parameters (i.e., a process), and Claim 15 is directed to a computer programmable product for determining docking station parameters. Therefore, Claims 1, 8, and 15 are within at least one of the four statutory categories. Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected due to their dependencies on Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of a) an abstract idea, b) a law of nature, or c) a natural phenomenon.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the bolded portions represent an “abstract idea”; and where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations”):
Claim 1 recites the following:
A system comprising: a memory to store computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
obtain, from a user device, user input comprising a first set of parameters associated with a docking station for an electronic device, wherein the electronic device is used to clean a set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant;
determine a second set of parameters associated with the docking station based on the first set of parameters; and
render the determined second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a docking station frame associated with the docking station and a module edge associated with a solar panel of the set of solar panels, a second parameter indicative of a design slope between the docking station frame and the module edge, and a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between the docking station and an adjacent solar panel of a first tracker.
Regarding the limitations of “obtain …” and “determine …”, the Examiner submits that these limitations consist of using mathematical concepts as included in an abstract idea. These limitations recite using a processor to determine calculate and determine the docking parameters of the station.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
For the following reason(s), the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “one or more processors …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation utilizes a generic computer (a processor) to perform the process. Similarly for the limitation of “a computer programmable product …” in Claim 15.
Regarding the limitation of “obtain, from a user device, user input …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation consists of mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
For the following reason(s), the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of “render …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation consists of insignificant extra-solution activity, which is performed by a generic computer (a processor system) to perform the process of providing information relating to docking station gaps, slope, and angular difference between the docking station and the panel.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, implement/ use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitations does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent Claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above, the additional limitation of “render …”, the Examiner submits that this limitations consist of insignificant post-solution activity. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because the claims involve implementing mathematical concepts to calculate offset, gap, and angular misalignment of various parts of the docking station relative to the panel. Therefore, dependent Claims 3-6 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively.
Elements of dependent Claims 3, 10, and 17, if incorporated into the independent claims, would appear to overcome the current 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. For example, inclusion of the elements of transmitting the instructions AND controlling the electronic device based on the navigation instructions would appear to overcome the current 35 U.S.C. 101. As another example, rendering the data or controlling the robot to move in response to user input would also appear to potentially overcome the current 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0093330 A1, to Castellucci, et al (hereinafter referred to as Castellucci).
As per Claim 1, Castellucci discloses the features of a system comprising: a memory to store computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (e.g. Paragraphs [0081], [0089]; where the system includes a control unit, which can include a CPU, comprising software for performing the functions, and stored in memory), wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
obtain, from a user device (e.g. Paragraphs [0089]; where the modules can be accessible to allow users to changes values stored in the modules, and the scheduling module can include a user interface for allowing a user to choose or input scheduling or cleaning data), user input comprising
a first set of parameters associated with a docking station for an electronic device (e.g. Paragraphs [0138], [0146]; where the robotic cleaning device can receive information relating to the servicing station when in range of the servicing station), wherein
the electronic device is used to clean a set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant (e.g. Paragraphs [0091]; where the control system can include a self-cleaning control system for cleaning of the system);
determine a second set of parameters associated with the docking station based on the first set of parameters (e.g. Paragraphs [0135]-[0137]; where the solar energy collection system comprises a cleaning device conveyor mechanism, and includes a servicing station which includes a location for filling a material, recharging (i.e. docks on the servicing station), etc. and an operator can provide input to the robot and the servicing station how much cleaning solution to provide to the robot); and
render the determined second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a docking station frame associated with the docking station and a module edge associated with a solar panel of the set of solar panels (e.g. Paragraphs [0089], [0097], [0101]-[0102]; where the track can assist the robotic cleaning device in transitioning across gaps between adjacent solar collectors, and provide positional feedback to the robot, and where the modules can be accessible to allow users to changes values stored in the modules, and the scheduling module can include a user interface for allowing a user to choose or input scheduling or cleaning data),
a second parameter indicative of a design slope between the docking station frame and the module edge (e.g. Paragraphs [0051], [0121], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 15; where the system can determine offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection modules and provide information to the robotic cleaning deice to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment), and
a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between the docking station and an adjacent solar panel of a first tracker (e.g. Paragraphs [0090], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 19; where the row alignment module can be configured to move the robot into alignment by vertically and/or pivotably adjusting a position of the robot to orient the robot in a better position for alignment; and where the CPU can calculate the angle to be used by the motor controller as a target angle).
As per Claim 8, Castellucci discloses the features of a method comprising:
obtaining, from a user device (e.g. Paragraphs [0089]; where the modules can be accessible to allow users to changes values stored in the modules, and the scheduling module can include a user interface for allowing a user to choose or input scheduling or cleaning data), user input comprising
a first set of parameters associated with a docking station for an electronic device (e.g. Paragraphs [0138], [0146]; where the robotic cleaning device can receive information relating to the servicing station when in range of the servicing station), wherein
the electronic device is used to clean a set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant (e.g. Paragraphs [0091]; where the control system can include a self-cleaning control system for cleaning of the system);
determining a second set of parameters associated with the docking station based on the first set of parameters (e.g. Paragraphs [0135]-[0137]; where the solar energy collection system comprises a cleaning device conveyor mechanism, and includes a servicing station which includes a location for filling a material, recharging (i.e. docks on the servicing station), etc. and an operator can provide input to the robot and the servicing station how much cleaning solution to provide to the robot); and
rendering the determined second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a docking station frame associated with the docking station and a module edge associated with a solar panel of the set of solar panels (e.g. Paragraphs [0089], [0097], [0101]-[0102]; where the track can assist the robotic cleaning device in transitioning across gaps between adjacent solar collectors, and provide positional feedback to the robot, and where the modules can be accessible to allow users to changes values stored in the modules, and the scheduling module can include a user interface for allowing a user to choose or input scheduling or cleaning data),
a second parameter indicative of a design slope between the docking station frame and the module edge (e.g. Paragraphs [0051], [0121], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 15; where the system can determine offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection modules and provide information to the robotic cleaning deice to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment), and
a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between the docking station and an adjacent solar panel of a first tracker (e.g. Paragraphs [0090], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 19; where the row alignment module can be configured to move the robot into alignment by vertically and/or pivotably adjusting a position of the robot to orient the robot in a better position for alignment; and where the CPU can calculate the angle to be used by the motor controller as a target angle).
As per Claim 15, Castellucci discloses the features of a computer programmable product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions, which when executed by one or more processors (e.g. Paragraphs [0081], [0089]; where the system includes a control unit, which can include a CPU, comprising software for performing the functions, and stored in memory), cause the one or more processors to conduct operations, comprising:
obtaining, from a user device (e.g. Paragraphs [0089]; where the modules can be accessible to allow users to changes values stored in the modules, and the scheduling module can include a user interface for allowing a user to choose or input scheduling or cleaning data), user input comprising
a first set of parameters associated with a docking station for an electronic device (e.g. Paragraphs [0138], [0146]; where the robotic cleaning device can receive information relating to the servicing station when in range of the servicing station), wherein
the electronic device is used to clean a set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant (e.g. Paragraphs [0091]; where the control system can include a self-cleaning control system for cleaning of the system);
determining a second set of parameters associated with the docking station based on the first set of parameters (e.g. Paragraphs [0135]-[0137]; where the solar energy collection system comprises a cleaning device conveyor mechanism, and includes a servicing station which includes a location for filling a material, recharging (i.e. docks on the servicing station), etc. and an operator can provide input to the robot and the servicing station how much cleaning solution to provide to the robot); and
rendering the determined second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a docking station frame associated with the docking station and a module edge associated with a solar panel of the set of solar panels (e.g. Paragraphs [0089], [0097], [0101]-[0102]; where the track can assist the robotic cleaning device in transitioning across gaps between adjacent solar collectors, and provide positional feedback to the robot, and where the modules can be accessible to allow users to changes values stored in the modules, and the scheduling module can include a user interface for allowing a user to choose or input scheduling or cleaning data),
a second parameter indicative of a design slope between the docking station frame and the module edge (e.g. Paragraphs [0051], [0121], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 15; where the system can determine offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection modules and provide information to the robotic cleaning deice to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment), and
a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between the docking station and an adjacent solar panel of a first tracker (e.g. Paragraphs [0090], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 19; where the row alignment module can be configured to move the robot into alignment by vertically and/or pivotably adjusting a position of the robot to orient the robot in a better position for alignment; and where the CPU can calculate the angle to be used by the motor controller as a target angle).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claims 10 and 17, Castellucci discloses the features of Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, and Castellucci further discloses the features of wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
determine navigation instructions for the electronic device based on the second set of parameters (e.g. Paragraphs [0141], [0184]; where the robotic cleaning device can receive instructions to change direction, for example, or to drive off the module and onto the support platform), wherein
the navigation instructions are associated with cleaning of the set of solar panels of the PV power plant (e.g. Paragraphs [0091]; where the control system can include a self-cleaning control system for cleaning of the system);
transmit the navigation instructions to the electronic device (e.g. Paragraphs [0141], [0184]; where the robotic cleaning device can receive instructions to change direction, for example, or to drive off the module and onto the support platform); and
control the electronic device based on the navigation instructions (e.g. Paragraphs [0141], [0148], [0184]; where the robotic cleaning device can receive instructions to change direction, for example, or to drive off the module and onto the support platform).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claims 11 and 18, Castellucci discloses the features of Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, and Castellucci further discloses the features of wherein the electronic device comprises of at least one of a track-based robot, a crawler robot, a drone-based robot, a water-based robot, a dry dust removal robot, a modular cleaning robot, an automated scrubber robot, or a vacuum cleaner robot (e.g. Paragraph [0092]; where the cleaning device can be a robot or robotic cleaner).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claims 12 and 19, Castellucci discloses the features of Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, and Castellucci further discloses the features of wherein the second set of parameters is determined using an application of one or more mathematical operations on the first set of parameters (e.g. Paragraphs [0061], [0064], [0090]; where the controller performs calculations for controlling the drive so as to orient the modules, determine angular positions and offsets of the modules).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claims 13 and 20, Castellucci discloses the features of Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, and Castellucci further discloses the features of, wherein the first set of parameters comprises of:
a first parameter indicative of the gap between the docking station frame and the module edge panels (e.g. Paragraphs [0101], [0121]; Figure 16; where the robotic cleaning device can detect the gap between an adjacent solar panel and the edge of the adjacent solar panel, and can receive directions to direct or change its course to maintain proper alignment),
a second parameter indicative of the design slope between the docking station frame and the module edge (e.g. Paragraphs [0051], [0121], [0149]-[0150]; Figure 15; where the system can determine offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection modules and provide information to the robotic cleaning deice to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment),
a third parameter indicative of a maximum vertical offset of the docking station and an adjacent solar panel of the first tracker (e.g. Paragraph [0170]; where the collector alignment module can raise the support platform of the robotic cleaning device to height such that the upper surface of the support platform is equal to or higher than the upper surface of the module by using a vertical offset, so as to maintain alignment with the module),
a fourth parameter indicative of a maximum horizontal offset of the docking station and the adjacent solar panel of the first tracker (e.g. Paragraphs [0170]; Figures 15, 17, 18 where the support platform can be adjusted such that the robot can then drive onto the upper surface of a module that is horizontal or tilted relative to the horizontal),
a fifth parameter indicative of a rotational angular misalignment of the first tracker at a motor level (e.g. Paragraphs [0149]-[0150], [0154], [0164]; where the row alignment module can align the robot with the positions of each of the rows of modules, by adjusting the position of the robot, vertically, pivotably, etc. to orient the robot, and determine when the robot is in alignment with a row of modules to perform a cleaning cycle; and where the row alignment control module can be connected to the motor so as to drive the motor to align the support platform into the desired alignment),
a sixth parameter indicative of a rotational angular misalignment of the first tracker at a torque tube level (e.g. Paragraph [0051], [0054]; where the solar collection system can include a controller for driving the associated hardware for sun-tracking purposes and includes a tracking drive connected to the torque tube, and the robot can raise or lower the support platform of the robot to align the robot),
a seventh parameter indicative of a total rotational angular misalignment of the first tracker (e.g. Paragraph [0176]; where the collector alignment module can determine an angular orientation of a solar module to be cleaned, and then actuate the actuator to orient the support platform on the robot at that angle, using output from sensors to determine if the support platform is aligned with a solar module to be cleaned), and an
eighth parameter indicative of a maximum total angular misalignment between the docking station and the adjacent solar panel of the first tracker (e.g. Paragraphs [0149]-[0150], [0154], [0176]-[0177]; where the row alignment module can align the robot with the positions of each of the rows of modules, by adjusting the position of the robot, vertically, pivotably, etc. to orient the robot, and determine when the robot is in alignment with a row of modules to perform a cleaning cycle; and where the collector alignment module can determine an angular orientation of a solar module to be cleaned, and then actuate the actuator to orient the support platform on the robot at that angle, using output from sensors to determine if the support platform is aligned with a solar module to be cleaned, and can adjust the vertical and pivotal adjustment actuators to provide further adjustments to the support platform of the robot), wherein
the first tracker associated with the PV power plant tracks a movement of sun in one axis (e.g. Paragraph [0054]; where the system can include a tracking device connected to the torque tube for tracking the movement of the sun).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0093330 A1, to Castellucci, et al (hereinafter referred to as Castellucci), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0030863 A1, to Brulo, et al (hereinafter referred to as Brulo).
As per Claim 2, and similarly for Claims 9 and 16, Castellucci discloses the features of Claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, but Castellucci fails to disclose every feature of wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine a set of instructions for installation of the docking station based on the second set of parameters, wherein the set of instructions is associated with the installation of the docking station; and transmit the set of instructions to an installation device.
However, Brulo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of determine a set of instructions for installation of the docking station based on the second set of parameters, wherein the set of instructions is associated with the installation of the docking station. Brulo teaches a solar panel installation method, where the autonomous working vehicle (AWV) receives information for the pose for the first panel of the first row; and the carrier may be pitched, slanted, sloped, inclined, or declined to align with and install a solar panel), where the ADV may communicate with the autonomous working vehicle (AWV) the information relating to the virtual dock, including the location, placement, orientation, arrangement, positioning of the virtual dock such that the ADV may then align with the virtual dock on the autonomous working vehicle (AWV) (e.g. Paragraphs [0240], [0242], [0298], [0365]; Figures 93, 95).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the self-cleaning solar power system of Castellucci, with the feature of providing installation instructions to a vehicle in the system of Brulo, in order to maximize the speed of the solar panel installation (see at least Paragraphs [0201], [0302] of Brulo).
Brulo further teaches the features of transmit the set of instructions to an installation device. Brulo teaches a solar panel installation method, where an installation vehicle may be an autonomous working vehicle (AWV), which receives information from a delivery vehicle or ADV about installing solar panels (e.g. Paragraphs [0137], [0167], [0174]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the self-cleaning solar power system of Castellucci, with the feature of transmitting instructions to a vehicle in the system of Brulo, in order to cause the ADV to move (see at least Paragraph [0236] of Brulo).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0093330 A1, to Castellucci, et al (hereinafter referred to as Castellucci), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0072681 A1, to Morankar, et al (hereinafter referred to as Morankar).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 14, Castellucci discloses the features of Claims 6 and 13, respectively, but Castellucci fails to disclose every feature of wherein the adjacent solar panel of the first tracker is indicative of the solar panel associated with the first tracker adjacent to the docking station.
However, Morankar, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for cleaning photovoltaic modules, where a docking station is disposed adjacent to a solar panel to provide a space for cleaning equipment to dock and move onto a solar panel (e.g. Paragraphs [0106], [0109]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the self-cleaning solar power system of Castellucci, with the feature of aligning a docking station with a solar panel in the system of Morankar, in order to provide a space for cleaning equipment to dock (see at least Paragraph [0109] of Morankar).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choori (U.S. 2019/0009313 A1), which teaches a robot which is docked to a trolley, which moves along a row to enable a robot to clean solar panels.
Meller, et al (U.S. 2013/0305474 A1), which teaches a method for cleaning rows of solar panels.
Jiang, et al (U.S. 2018/0241343 A1), which teaches a solar panel cleaning robot.
Tadayon (U.S. 2012/0152877 A1), which teaches a method for maintaining a solar farm using a robot.
Qu, et al (CN 210876678 U), which teaches a method for aligning a robot so as to clean a photovoltaic module.
Wang, et al (CN 105834144 A), which teaches a charging bin for charging a robotic body and moving the robot onto a solar panel for cleaning.
/MERRITT E LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666