DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
The term “inflexible” is interpreted to mean substantially rigid, such that the bridge does not flex or bend in order to accommodate angular offsets.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1
Claim 1 recites the limitation “A system comprising: processor configured to…”. It appears the limitation is missing an article (“a”) prior to “processor”. Accordingly, it is suggested that the recitation be amended to read: “A system comprising: a processor…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the steps of obtaining information, determining, calculating and rendering sets of parameters associated with a fixed bridge when aligning an electronic device with a solar panel. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the obtaining, determining and rendering steps are considered mathematical concepts.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, with the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, the claims only require performing calculation steps using mathematical parameters to determine alignment between an electronic device and a solar panel.
Regarding the limitations of “obtain …” and “determine …”, the Examiner submits that these limitations consist of using mathematical concepts as included in an abstract idea.
Regarding the additional limitations of “processor”, the Examiner submits that this limitation utilizes a generic computer (a processor) to perform the process.
Regarding the limitation of “obtain, from a user device, user input …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation consists of mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Regarding the additional limitations of “render …”, the Examiner submits that this limitation consists of insignificant extra-solution activity, which is performed by a generic computer (a processor system) to perform the process of providing information relating to gaps, slope, and angular difference between adjacent modules.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Dependent claims 2, 4-8, 10 and 12-16 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because the claims involve implementing mathematical concepts to calculate offset, gap, and angular misalignment of adjacent solar panels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0093330 A1, Castellucci et al. (hereinafter Castellucci).
Regarding claim 1
Castellucci teaches a system (corresponding to a solar collection system 10) comprising:
a processor (CPU 1200) [para. 0089] configured to:
obtain, from a user device (corresponding to modules 1208, 1210 and/or 1212 which can be accessible to users to change values stored therein) [para. 0089], a user input comprising a first set of parameters associated with a fixed bridge (corresponding to, for example, mechanical slop history as well as dimensional variations of link members 64, 66 and 68, any one of said link members reading on the claimed “fixed bridge”, wherein users can determine and change values stored) [Figs. 1I-IK, paras. 0051, 0065-0072 and 0089], wherein the fixed bridge (any one of link members 64, 66 and 68) is an inflexible coupling (the drive links contribute to angular offsets and therefore do not bend) between a first solar panel (solar collection module 12) of a set of solar panels and a second solar panel (adjacent solar collection module 12) of the set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant (see solar collector array 11) [Figs. 1A and 1J-1K, paras. 0053 and 0065], and wherein the set of solar panels (12) is associated with a tracker (the solar collection modules are pivotally adjustable for sun-tracking purposes) [para. 0051];
determine a second set of parameters associated with the fixed bridge (any one of link members 64, 66 and 68) based on the first set of parameters (a second set of parameters is determined in order to help convey a robotic cleaning device 200 across the upper surface of the solar collectors 12, the second set of parameters based on the position of each module as a result of the angular offsets contributed by the link members i.e., the first set of parameters); and
render the second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a module edge of the first solar panel and a module edge of the second solar panel (sensors detect the gap between adjacent solar collectors, wherein a user may change the values stored in the modules) [paras. 0089, 0097 and 0101-0102], a second parameter indicative of a slope angle across the fixed bridge (the system determines offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection module and provides information to the robotic cleaning device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0121 and 0149-0150],
a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between two sides of the fixed bridge (a maximum height H of the upper surface of the modules 12 can be determined using known trigonometric functions using the determined or estimated angle of inclination, wherein the robotic cleaning device 200 is positioned to be at least as high as the maximum height of the upper surface of the module 12) [Figs. 1J-1K and 15-15, paras. 0168-0169], and
a fourth parameter indicative of the width of a flat surface associated with a fail-safe location of an electronic device (corresponding to, for example, the end of a row of PV modules, wherein sensors can be used to direct the robotic cleaning/electronic device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [paras. 0101, 0121 and 0140].
Regarding claim 3
Castellucci teaches the system (10) as set forth above, wherein the processor (CPU 1200) is configured to:
determine a set of navigation instructions for the electronic device (200) based on the second set of parameters (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device can change directions or correct its course) [paras. 0101, 0121, 0140-0141],
wherein the set of navigation instructions is associated with cleaning of the set of solar panels of the PV power plant (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device 200 cleans the upper surface of the PV modules) [Figs. 15-20, paras. 0091, 0115 and 0140-0141];
transmit the set of navigation instructions to the electronic device (200) [paras. 0141 and 0147]; and
control the electronic device (200) based on the set of navigation instructions (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device can change directions or correct its course) [paras. 0101, 0121, 0140-0141 and 0147-0148].
Regarding claim 4
Castellucci teaches the system (10) as set forth above, wherein the set of navigation instructions comprises a first navigation instruction to control the electronic device to navigate through the fixed bridge (the robotic cleaning device 200 is conveyed over gaps between adjacent solar collectors that are at different heights, wherein sensors are used to provide positional feedback) [paras. 0101, 0121 and 0140].
Regarding claim 5
Castellucci teaches the system (10) as set forth above, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of a track-based robot, a crawler robot, a drone-based robot, a water-based robot, a dry dust removal robot, a modular cleaning robot, an automated scrubber robot, or a vacuum cleaner robot (the robotic cleaning device 200 is a robot or robotic cleaner) [para. 0092].
Regarding claim 6
Castellucci teaches the system (10) as set forth above, wherein the second set of parameters is determined using an application of one or more mathematical operations on the first set of parameters (Data from the module 1208, 1210, 2112 can be utilized by the CPU 1200 in performing calculations) [paras. 0089-0090].
Regarding claim 7
Castellucci teaches the system (10) as set forth above, wherein the first set of parameters comprises of a first parameter indicative of the gap between the module edge of the first solar panel and the module edge of the second solar panel (sensors detect the gap between adjacent solar collectors, wherein a user may change the values stored in the modules) [paras. 0089, 0097 and 0101-0102],
a second parameter indicative of a maximum design ground slope of a terrain on which the PV power plant is installed (the system can determine offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection modules and provide information to the robotic cleaning deice to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0121 and 0149-0150],
a third parameter indicative of a maximum vertical offset of axially adjacent module edges (the height difference between adjacent panels is determined using known trigonometric functions) [paras. 0117, 0119, 0167 and 0169-0170],
a fourth parameter indicative of a maximum horizontal offset of the axially adjacent module edges (the system determines offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection module and provides information to the robotic cleaning device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0067-0068, 0121 and 0149-0150], and
a fifth parameter indicative of a maximum magnitude of total angular misalignment between the module edge of the first solar panel and the module edge of the second solar panel (a controller can serve as means for compensating for angular offsets of the orientation of the solar collection modules, during sun-tracking operations, including those offsets caused by differences in thermal expansion and/or “mechanical slop” of components of the system, as well as other sources of such angular offsets) [paras. 0051].
Regarding claim 8
Castellucci teaches the system (10) as set forth above, wherein the axially adjacent module edges are indicative of a first module edge and a second module edge axially adjacent and aligned along a first axis (corresponding to edges defining the gaps between adjacent modules in the horizontal direction) [Figs. 1J-1K, paras. 0051, 0097 and 0101-0102], and wherein the first module edge is associated with the first solar panel (12) and the second module edge is associated with the second solar panel (adjacent solar panel 12) [Figs. 1J-1K, paras. 0051, 0097 and 0101-0102].
Regarding claim 9
Castellucci teaches a method comprising:
obtaining, from a user device (corresponding to modules 1208, 1210 and/or 1212 which can be accessible to users to change values stored therein) [para. 0089], a user input comprising a first set of parameters associated with a fixed bridge (corresponding to, for example, mechanical slop history as well as dimensional variations of link members 64, 66 and 68, any one of said link members reading on the claimed “fixed bridge”, wherein users can determine and change values stored) [Figs. 1I-IK, paras. 0051, 0065-0072 and 0089], wherein the fixed bridge (any one of link members 64, 66 and 68) is an inflexible coupling (the drive links contribute to angular offsets and therefore do not bend) between a first solar panel (solar collection module 12) of a set of solar panels and a second solar panel (adjacent solar collection module 12) of the set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant (see solar collector array 11) [Figs. 1A and 1J-1K, paras. 0053 and 0065], and wherein the set of solar panels (12) is associated with a tracker (the solar collection modules are pivotally adjustable for sun-tracking purposes) [para. 0051];
determine a second set of parameters associated with the fixed bridge (any one of link members 64, 66 and 68) based on the first set of parameters (a second set of parameters is determined in order to help convey a robotic cleaning device 200 across the upper surface of the solar collectors 12, the second set of parameters based on the position of each module as a result of the angular offsets contributed by the link members i.e., the first set of parameters); and
render the second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a module edge of the first solar panel and a module edge of the second solar panel (sensors detect the gap between adjacent solar collectors, wherein a user may change the values stored in the modules) [paras. 0089, 0097 and 0101-0102], a second parameter indicative of a slope angle across the fixed bridge (the system determines offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection module and provides information to the robotic cleaning device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0121 and 0149-0150],
a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between two sides of the fixed bridge (a maximum height H of the upper surface of the modules 12 can be determined using known trigonometric functions using the determined or estimated angle of inclination, wherein the robotic cleaning device 200 is positioned to be at least as high as the maximum height of the upper surface of the module 12) [Figs. 1J-1K and 15-15, paras. 0168-0169], and
a fourth parameter indicative of the width of a flat surface associated with a fail-safe location of an electronic device (corresponding to, for example, the end of a row of PV modules, wherein sensors can be used to direct the robotic cleaning/electronic device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [paras. 0101, 0121 and 0140].
Regarding claim 11
Castellucci teaches the method as set forth above, further comprising:
determining a set of navigation instructions for the electronic device (200) based on the second set of parameters (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device can change directions or correct its course) [paras. 0101, 0121, 0140-0141],
wherein the set of navigation instructions is associated with cleaning of the set of solar panels of the PV power plant (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device 200 cleans the upper surface of the PV modules) [Figs. 15-20, paras. 0091, 0115 and 0140-0141];
transmitting the set of navigation instructions to the electronic device (200) [paras. 0141 and 0147]; and
controlling the electronic device (200) based on the set of navigation instructions (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device can change directions or correct its course) [paras. 0101, 0121, 0140-0141 and 0147-0148].
Regarding claim 12
Castellucci teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the set of navigation instructions comprises a first navigation instruction to control the electronic device to navigate through the fixed bridge (the robotic cleaning device 200 is conveyed over gaps between adjacent solar collectors that are at different heights, wherein sensors are used to provide positional feedback) [paras. 0101, 0121 and 0140].
Regarding claim 13
Castellucci teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the electronic device comprises at least one of a track-based robot, a crawler robot, a drone-based robot, a water-based robot, a dry dust removal robot, a modular cleaning robot, an automated scrubber robot, or a vacuum cleaner robot (the robotic cleaning device 200 is a robot or robotic cleaner) [para. 0092].
Regarding claim 14
Castellucci teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the second set of parameters is determined using an application of one or more mathematical operations on the first set of parameters (Data from the module 1208, 1210, 2112 can be utilized by the CPU 1200 in performing calculations) [paras. 0089-0090].
Regarding claim 15
Castellucci teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the first set of parameters comprises of a first parameter indicative of the gap between the module edge of the first solar panel and the module edge of the second solar panel (sensors detect the gap between adjacent solar collectors, wherein a user may change the values stored in the modules) [paras. 0089, 0097 and 0101-0102],
a second parameter indicative of a maximum design ground slope of a terrain on which the PV power plant is installed (the system can determine offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection modules and provide information to the robotic cleaning deice to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0121 and 0149-0150],
a third parameter indicative of a maximum vertical offset of axially adjacent module edges (the height difference between adjacent panels is determined using known trigonometric functions) [paras. 0117, 0119, 0167 and 0169-0170],
a fourth parameter indicative of a maximum horizontal offset of the axially adjacent module edges (the system determines offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection module and provides information to the robotic cleaning device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0067-0068, 0121 and 0149-0150], and
a fifth parameter indicative of a maximum magnitude of total angular misalignment between the module edge of the first solar panel and the module edge of the second solar panel (a controller can serve as means for compensating for angular offsets of the orientation of the solar collection modules, during sun-tracking operations, including those offsets caused by differences in thermal expansion and/or “mechanical slop” of components of the system, as well as other sources of such angular offsets) [paras. 0051].
Regarding claim 16
Castellucci teaches the method as set forth above, wherein the axially adjacent module edges are indicative of a first module edge and a second module edge axially adjacent and aligned along a first axis (corresponding to edges defining the gaps between adjacent modules in the horizontal direction) [Figs. 1J-1K, paras. 0051, 0097 and 0101-0102], and wherein the first module edge is associated with the first solar panel (12) and the second module edge is associated with the second solar panel (adjacent solar panel 12) [Figs. 1J-1K, paras. 0051, 0097 and 0101-0102].
Regarding claim 17
Castellucci teaches a computer programmable product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon computer executable instructions (software comprising non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, media for performing the steps of a method, process or algorithm described) [para. 0089], which when executed by a processor (CPU 1200) [para. 0089], cause the processor (1200) to conduct operations, comprising:
obtaining, from a user device (corresponding to modules 1208, 1210 and/or 1212 which can be accessible to users to change values stored therein) [para. 0089], a user input comprising a first set of parameters associated with a fixed bridge (corresponding to, for example, mechanical slop history as well as dimensional variations of link members 64, 66 and 68, any one of said link members reading on the claimed “fixed bridge”, wherein users can determine and change values stored) [Figs. 1I-IK, paras. 0051, 0065-0072 and 0089], wherein the fixed bridge (any one of link members 64, 66 and 68) is an inflexible coupling (the drive links contribute to angular offsets and therefore do not bend) between a first solar panel (solar collection module 12) of a set of solar panels and a second solar panel (adjacent solar collection module 12) of the set of solar panels of a photovoltaic (PV) power plant (see solar collector array 11) [Figs. 1A and 1J-1K, paras. 0053 and 0065], and wherein the set of solar panels (12) is associated with a tracker (the solar collection modules are pivotally adjustable for sun-tracking purposes) [para. 0051];
determining a second set of parameters associated with the fixed bridge (any one of link members 64, 66 and 68) based on the first set of parameters (a second set of parameters is determined in order to help convey a robotic cleaning device 200 across the upper surface of the solar collectors 12, the second set of parameters based on the position of each module as a result of the angular offsets contributed by the link members i.e., the first set of parameters); and
rendering the second set of parameters including a first parameter indicative of a gap between a module edge of the first solar panel and a module edge of the second solar panel (sensors detect the gap between adjacent solar collectors, wherein a user may change the values stored in the modules) [paras. 0089, 0097 and 0101-0102], a second parameter indicative of a slope angle across the fixed bridge (the system determines offsets of the angular orientation of the solar collection module and provides information to the robotic cleaning device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [Fig. 15, paras. 0051, 0121 and 0149-0150],
a third parameter indicative of a maximum angular difference between two sides of the fixed bridge (a maximum height H of the upper surface of the modules 12 can be determined using known trigonometric functions using the determined or estimated angle of inclination, wherein the robotic cleaning device 200 is positioned to be at least as high as the maximum height of the upper surface of the module 12) [Figs. 1J-1K and 15-15, paras. 0168-0169], and
a fourth parameter indicative of the width of a flat surface associated with a fail-safe location of an electronic device (corresponding to, for example, the end of a row of PV modules, wherein sensors can be used to direct the robotic cleaning/electronic device 200 to change directions or correct its course to maintain proper alignment) [paras. 0101, 0121 and 0140].
Regarding claim 19
Castellucci teaches the computer programmable product as set forth above, the operations further comprising:
determining a set of navigation instructions for the electronic device (200) based on the second set of parameters (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device can change directions or correct its course) [paras. 0101, 0121, 0140-0141],
wherein the set of navigation instructions is associated with cleaning of the set of solar panels of the PV power plant (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device 200 cleans the upper surface of the PV modules) [Figs. 15-20, paras. 0091, 0115 and 0140-0141];
transmitting the set of navigation instructions to the electronic device (200) [paras. 0141 and 0147]; and
controlling the electronic device (200) based on the set of navigation instructions (navigation instructions/GPS coordinates in conjunction with sensor data are provided so that the robotic cleaning device can change directions or correct its course) [paras. 0101, 0121, 0140-0141 and 0147-0148].
Regarding claim 20
Castellucci teaches the computer programmable product as set forth above, wherein the set of navigation instructions comprises a first navigation instruction to control the electronic device to navigate through the fixed bridge (the robotic cleaning device 200 is conveyed over gaps between adjacent solar collectors that are at different heights, wherein sensors are used to provide positional feedback) [paras. 0101, 0121 and 0140].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castellucci as applied to claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-20 above, and further in view of US 2024/0030863 A1, Brulo et al. (hereinafter Brulo).
All the limitations of claims 1, 9 and 17 have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18
Castellucci does not teach the processor being configured to:
determine a set of instructions for installation of the fixed bridge based on the second set of parameters, wherein the set of instructions is associated with the installation of the fixed bridge between the first solar panel and the second solar panel; and
transmit the set of instructions to an installation device.
Brulo, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches determining a set of instructions for a fixed bridge (e.g., clamps) based on a second set of parameters, wherein the set of instructions is associated with the installation of the fixed bridge between the first solar panel and the second solar panel (robotic arm 456 is configured to selectively couple to one or more solar panels 16 and transport the solar panel 16 to a desired location) [Figs. 35-36 and 93-95, paras. 0161, 0240, 0242, 0298 and 0365]; and
transmit the set of instructions to an installation device (the autonomous working vehicle (AWV) receives information to install adjacent solar panels) [Figs. 35-36 and 93-95, paras. 0137, 0161, 0167, 0240, 0242, 0298 and 0365].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the self-cleaning solar power system of Castellucci, with the feature of providing installation instructions to a vehicle in the system of Brulo, in order to maximize the speed of the solar panel installation (see at least Paragraphs [0201], [0302] of Brulo).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choori (U.S. 2019/0009313 A1), which teaches a robot which is docked to a trolley, which moves along a row to enable a robot to clean solar panels.
Meller, et al (U.S. 2013/0305474 A1), which teaches a method for cleaning rows of solar panels.
Jiang, et al (U.S. 2018/0241343 A1), which teaches a solar panel cleaning robot.
Tadayon (U.S. 2012/0152877 A1), which teaches a method for maintaining a solar farm using a robot.
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721