DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding amended claim 1 the applicant argues the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is improper over Gottscho US 2019/0252163 because Gottscho fails to teach “wherein the analyzing includes identifying the shape of particles in the captured image, the location of particles on the component in the captured image, and streak signature of particles on the component in the captured image.” Regarding claims 2 and 10, the applicant argues the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is improper over Gottscho US 2019/0252163 because Gottscho fails to teach “wherein the analyzing includes identifying at least one of number, size, or particle density of particles on the component in the image.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding claim 1, paragraph [0040] of Gottscho reads:
“Besides spectral information in the light reflected from the chamber walls, images of each exposed region of the chamber can be collected and analyzed for uneven coating wear, residue build-up, uneven pre-coats, etc….The image processor can collect images collected over multiple sessions of imaging, which can then be coalesced into a time-based history of changes in the build-up of residues and/or consumable part wear. In one configuration, by rotating while translating the light source and detector, parts of the chamber, specific areas, specific parts or the entire inside of the chamber can be image profiled.”
Paragraph [0009] clarifies that the residue build up is particulate matter. Regarding the claim element in question, this reading teaches wherein the analyzing includes identifying the shape of particles in the captured image (the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the shape of particles in the captured images” includes the shape of each individual particle and also the shape of the bulk of the plurality of particles in aggregate. Collecting a timeseries of images of residue build and analyzing the changes over time is analyzing the shape of the bulk of particulate matter), the location of particles on the component in the captured image (the images are collected over specific parts, areas, etc. which is the location on the component), and streak signature of particles on the component in the captured image (paragraph [0039] of the specification defines the streak signature as the shape or pattern of the wetted particulate matter as it is deposited on the component. Gottsch paragraph [0031] discloses that the analysis includes identifying the uniformity or non-uniformity of the residues and such an analysis of the timeseries combined with the shape constitutes a streak signature.)
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Gottscho must only teach one element of the list “wherein the analyzing includes identifying at least one of number, size, or particle density of particles on the component in the image.” Paragraph [0031] of Gottscho discloses that the analysis includes identifying the uniformity or non-uniformity of the residues and such an analysis of the timeseries of the particulate residue build-up is at least analyzing the particle density.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gottscho US 2019/0252163.
Regarding claim 1, Gottscho discloses a method of monitoring cleanliness of a substrate processing chamber (para. 0027, 0041), the method comprising: illuminating a surface of a component of the substrate processing chamber (fig. 3; para. 0068), the component surrounded by a chamber enclosure that is sealed from external light (fig. 2 #120; chamber 120 is entirely closed and thus sealed from external light), the surface being illuminated by UV light (para. 0067) generated from within a volume between the component and the enclosure (fig. 2; scope 158 generates the light and is between at least one side of the enclosure 120 and a component); capturing an image of the illuminated surface (para. 0041); analyzing the captured image (para. 0041); wherein the analyzing includes identifying the shape of particles in the captured image (the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the shape of particles in the captured images” includes the shape of each individual particle and also the shape of the bulk of the plurality of particles in aggregate. Collecting a timeseries of images of residue build and analyzing the changes over time is analyzing the shape of the bulk of particulate matter), the location of particles on the component in the captured image (the images are collected over specific parts, areas, etc. which is the location on the component), and streak signature of particles on the component in the captured image (paragraph [0039] of the specification defines the streak signature as the shape or pattern of the wetted particulate matter as it is deposited on the component. Gottsch paragraph [0031] discloses that the analysis includes identifying the uniformity or non-uniformity of the residues and such an analysis of the timeseries combined with the shape constitutes a streak signature.); determining based on the analyzing whether chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0041); and when it is determined that chamber cleaning is needed, generating an alert indicating that chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0041).
Regarding claim 3, Gottscho discloses wherein the analyzing includes identifying at least one of number, size, particle density, or location of particles on the component (para. 0031-0032, 0040; metrics characterizing physical changes of residue build-up and uniformity of residues includes at least density and location information), and wherein the determining includes comparing the at least one of number, size, particle density, or location of particles on the component to one or more predefined thresholds indicative of deteriorated chamber cleanliness, and determining, based on the comparison whether chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 4, Gottscho discloses wherein the component includes a portion that houses a substrate support (fig. 2 #122; para. 0064).
Regarding claim 5, Gottscho discloses wherein the determining includes processing the captured image with a machine learning model (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Gottscho discloses wherein capturing an image includes capturing a plurality of images or video (para. 0040-0041; images and pictures being plural implies more than one image).
Regarding claim 7, Gottscho discloses wherein the surface is opaque or solid (fig. 3 #170a; the surface 170a is both solid and is reflecting incident light and is thus opaque).
Regarding claim 8, Gottscho discloses a system configured to monitor cleanliness of a substrate processing chamber (#156, 108), the system comprising: a UV light source (#190; para. 0067); a camera (#180); and a controller coupled to at least one of the UV light source or the camera (fig. 3 #108 is coupled to the camera and light source), the controller comprising: one or more processors (fig. 3 #144, 146); and one or more non-transitory computer readable media having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform (para. 0070-0071; processors are described as being able to collect, process, and store data and executing instructions which implies the existence of non-transitory computer readable media, i.e. memory): illuminating a surface of a component of the substrate processing chamber (fig. 3; para. 0068), the component surrounded by a chamber enclosure that is sealed from external light (fig. 2 #120; chamber 120 is entirely closed and thus sealed from external light), the surface being illuminated by UV light (para. 0067) generated from within a volume between the component and the enclosure (fig. 2; scope 158 generates the light and is between at least one side of the enclosure 120 and a component); capturing an image of the illuminated surface (para. 0041); analyzing the captured image (para. 0041), wherein the analyzing includes identifying the shape of particles in the captured image (the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the shape of particles in the captured images” includes the shape of each individual particle and also the shape of the bulk of the plurality of particles in aggregate. Collecting a timeseries of images of residue build and analyzing the changes over time is analyzing the shape of the bulk of particulate matter), the location of particles on the component in the captured image (the images are collected over specific parts, areas, etc. which is the location on the component), and streak signature of particles on the component in the captured image (paragraph [0039] of the specification defines the streak signature as the shape or pattern of the wetted particulate matter as it is deposited on the component. Gottsch paragraph [0031] discloses that the analysis includes identifying the uniformity or non-uniformity of the residues and such an analysis of the timeseries combined with the shape constitutes a streak signature.); determining based on the analyzing whether chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0041); and when it is determined that chamber cleaning is needed, generating an alert indicating that chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0041).
Regarding claim 10, Gottscho discloses wherein the analyzing includes identifying at least one of number, size, particle density, or location of particles on the component (para. 0031-0032, 0040; metrics characterizing physical changes of residue build-up and uniformity of residues includes at least density and location information), and wherein the determining includes comparing the at least one of number, size, particle density, or location of particles on the component to one or more predefined thresholds indicative of deteriorated chamber cleanliness, and determining, based on the comparison whether chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 11, Gottscho discloses wherein the determining includes processing the captured image with a machine learning model (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Gottscho discloses wherein capturing an image includes capturing a plurality of images or video (para. 0040-0041; images and pictures being plural implies more than one image).
Regarding claim 13, Gottscho discloses wherein the surface is opaque or solid (fig. 3 #170a; the surface 170a is both solid and is reflecting incident light and is thus opaque).
Regarding claim 14, Gottscho discloses wherein the component is a component of a wet clean chamber (para. 0002).
Regarding claim 15, Gottscho discloses a substrate processing chamber (fig. 2) comprising: an enclosure surrounding a volume, the enclosure being sealed from external light (fig. 2 #120; chamber 120 is entirely closed and thus sealed from external light); a component disposed in the volume (fig. 3 #170; para. 0068; chamber part being equivalent to component); a UV light source disposed in the volume and configured to illuminate a surface of the component (fig. 2; scope 158 generates the light and is between at least one side of the enclosure 120 and a component); a camera disposed in the volume and configured to capture an image of the component when illuminated by the UV light source (#180; para. 0070); and a controller in communication with the UV light source and the camera (fig. 3 #108 is coupled to the camera and light source), the controller configured to analyze the image captured by the camera, wherein the analyzing includes identifying the shape of particles in the captured image (the broadest reasonable interpretation of “the shape of particles in the captured images” includes the shape of each individual particle and also the shape of the bulk of the plurality of particles in aggregate. Collecting a timeseries of images of residue build and analyzing the changes over time is analyzing the shape of the bulk of particulate matter), the location of particles on the component in the captured image (the images are collected over specific parts, areas, etc. which is the location on the component), and streak signature of particles on the component in the captured image (paragraph [0039] of the specification defines the streak signature as the shape or pattern of the wetted particulate matter as it is deposited on the component. Gottsch paragraph [0031] discloses that the analysis includes identifying the uniformity or non-uniformity of the residues and such an analysis of the timeseries combined with the shape constitutes a streak signature.), and determine, based on the analysis, whether chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0041, 0067), and generate an alert indicating that chamber cleaning is needed when it is determined that chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0041).
Regarding claim 16, Gottscho discloses wherein at least one of the UV light source or the camera is remotely moveable within the volume (para. 0048; the scope 156 houses both the UV light and the camera and is remotely movable via arm 150).
Regarding claim 17, Gottscho discloses wherein the component is a component of a wet clean chamber (para. 0002).
Regarding claim 18, Gottscho discloses wherein the surface of the component is opaque or solid (fig. 3 #170a; the surface 170a is both solid and is reflecting incident light and is thus opaque).
Regarding claim 19, Gottscho discloses a substrate support housed at least partially by the component (fig. 2 #122; para. 0064).
Regarding claim 20, Gottscho discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify at least one of number, size, or particle density of particles on the component (para. 0031-0032, 0040, 0067; metrics characterizing physical changes of residue build-up and uniformity of residues includes at least particle density information).
Regarding claim 21, Gottcho discloses wherein the analysis includes identifying at least one of number, size, or particle density of particles on the component in the image (para. 0031-0032, 0040, 0067; metrics characterizing physical changes of residue build-up and uniformity of residues includes at least particle density information), and wherein the determining includes comparing the at least one of number, size, or particle density of particles on the component to one or more predefined thresholds indicative of deteriorated chamber cleanliness, and determining, based on the comparison whether chamber cleaning is needed (para. 0040-0041).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 22, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest wherein identifying the shape of particles includes identifying solid particles and flakes on the component, along with other claim limitations.
Gottscho US 2019/0252163, does not disclose or suggest “wherein identifying the shape of particles includes identifying solid particles and flakes on the component," along with other claim limitations.
Contact Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884