DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 101
The claims are directed to the abstract idea of recommending an item for purposes of sale; however, the claims recite additional elements related to displaying a suggested item in a digital image. These additional elements provide an improved interface that improves the functioning of the computer. Core Wireless Licensing S.A.R.L. V. LG Elecs., 125 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 2018). These additional elements constitute limitations that meaningfully limit the scope of the abstract idea so as to integrate it into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0378204 A1 (hereinafter “Ayush”).
With respect to claim 1, Ayush discloses
“A method comprising”: Ayush, abstract;
“obtaining, by a computing device, a digital image depicting a physical environment”; Ayush ¶ 0005 (digital image of real-world object in real world environment is obtained from camera);
“displaying, by the computing device, the digital image”; Ayush ¶ 0005 (digital image is displayed in augmented reality interface);
“removing, by the computing device, an object depicted at a location within the digital image”; Ayush ¶ 0005 (real world object is replaced with recommended object in augmented reality interface);
“identifying, by the computing device, an aspect of the removed object and at least one learned style attribute based on user data”; Ayush ¶¶ 0005, 0041, 0058 (style similarity is determined);
“determining a set of candidate objects based on the at least one learned style attribute”; Ayush ¶ 0005 (objects are filtered to select stylistically similar objects);
“locating, by the computing device, a prospective object by filtering the set of candidate objects based on the aspect”; Ayush ¶ 0005 (objects are filtered to select stylistically similar objects);
“configuring, by the computing device, the prospective object for display based on the location within the digital image”; Ayush ¶ 0005 (recommended object is displayed as an overlay); and
“displaying, by the computing device, the digital image as having the configured prospective object”. Ayush ¶ 0005 (recommended object is displayed as an overlay).
With respect to claims 2 and 11, Ayush discloses
“further comprising using a predictive algorithm to determine the at least one learned style attribute based on the user data”. Ayush ¶¶ 0022, 0024, 0041, 0043, 0054 (stylistically similar items are identified by machine learning model).
With respect to claim 3, Ayush discloses
“wherein the predictive algorithm is based on a model trained, by machine learning, on the user data”. Ayush ¶¶ 0022, 0024, 0041, 0043, 0054 (stylistically similar items are identified by machine learning model).
With respect to claims 4 and 15, Ayush discloses
“wherein the at least one learned style attribute includes at least one of an object type, color, pattern, texture, material, or style”. Ayush ¶ 0005 (color or style).
With respect to claims 5 and 14, Ayush discloses
“wherein the user data includes session history data, a user preference, demographic information, user input, user content, user characteristics, or combinations thereof”. Ayush ¶¶ 0005, 0027 (user data includes session data relating to captured image).
With respect to claim 6, Ayush discloses
“wherein the filtering the set of candidate objects based on the aspect includes filtering out a plurality of candidate objects that have the aspect”. Ayush ¶ 0042 (objects can be filtered based on having or not having a particular style or color).
With respect to claim 7, Ayush discloses
“further comprising determining the set of candidate objects from a database of listings of objects available for purchase”. Ayush ¶¶ 0027, 0028, 0030, 0034 (objects are filtered from product database to recommend objects for purchase).
With respect to claim 8, Ayush discloses
“wherein the removing the object is responsive to receiving user input indicating removal of the object”. Ayush ¶ 0056 (user can select items to be replaced).
With respect to claim 9, Ayush discloses
“wherein the identifying the aspect of the removed object is based on determining that one or more remaining objects depicted within the digital image do not have the aspect of the removed object”. Ayush ¶ 0042 (e.g., aspect is based e.g. on overall stylistic similarity or overall color compatibility; removed item may be incompatible with other objects).
With respect to claim 10, Ayush discloses
“A computing device comprising”: Ayush ¶¶ 0004, 0045;
“a processing system”; Ayush ¶¶ 0004, 0045; and
“a computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, responsive to execution by the processing system, causes the processing system to perform operations including”: Ayush ¶¶ 0004, 0045.
Claim 10 is otherwise rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
With respect to claim 12, Ayush discloses
“wherein the filtering the plurality of candidate objects for the aspect is based on an association between the removed object and a remaining object of one or more remaining objects depicted within the digital image learned by the model trained by machine learning”. Ayush ¶ 0042 (e.g., aspect is based e.g. on overall stylistic similarity or overall color compatibility).
With respect to claim 13, Ayush discloses
“wherein the identifying the aspect of the removed object includes generating a vector representation of the removed object from the model trained by machine learning, the vector representation indicative of the aspect of the removed object”. Ayush ¶¶ 0027, 0028, 0030 (style, color, and other features of object are vector representation used in identifying aspect of removed object).
With respect to claim 16, Ayush discloses
“One or more computer-readable storage media comprising instructions stored thereon that, responsive to execution by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform operations comprising”: Ayush ¶¶ 0004, 0045.
Claim 16 is otherwise rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
With respect to claim 17, Ayush discloses
“wherein the identifying the aspect of the removed object and at least one learned style attribute uses a model trained by machine learning”. Ayush ¶¶ 0022, 0024, 0041, 0043, 0054 (stylistically similar items are identified by machine learning model).
With respect to claim 18, Ayush discloses
“wherein the model is trained on the user data, the user data including session history data, a user preference, demographic information, user input, user content, user characteristics, or combinations thereof”. Ayush ¶¶ 0005, 0027 (user data includes session data relating to captured image).
With respect to claim 19, Ayush discloses
“wherein the configuring the prospective object for display includes learning an aesthetic location for the display of the prospective object within the digital image based on the model trained by machine learning”. Ayush ¶ 0141 (machine learning model can select location and orientation of object).
With respect to claim 20, Ayush discloses
“wherein the aesthetic location includes at least one of a relative size, a relative orientation, and a relative distance to one or more remaining objects depicted within the digital image”. Ayush ¶ 0141 (machine learning model can select location and orientation of object).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent Number 12,159,303 B2 (hereinafter “Belavy”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claims 1-20 are broader than claims 1-19 of Belavy, claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-19 of Belavy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ANONYMOUS, "IKEA launches new Al-powered, digital experience - IKEA", retrieved from https:/Awww.ikea.com/us/en/newsroom/corporate- news/ikea-aunches-new-ai-powered-digital-experience-empowering-customers-to-create-lifelike- room-designs-pub58c94890 on 2023-08-29, 4 pages (listed on applicant's information disclosure statement filed August 29, 2023 in parent application 17/584,684) (hereinafter 'Ikea") discloses removing objects from virtual rooms and replacing such items with other items. Ikea, pages 2-3.
ETHAN D. CIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/ETHAN D CIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688