DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 13, 14, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Sugawara et al. (US 20230168768 A1) (hereinafter – Sugawara) in view of
Chai et al. (US 20200394371 A1) (hereinafter – Chai).
Re. Claim 1: Sugawara teaches an apparatus for detecting biometric information (Paragraph 0033: “The display panel 5 with the photodiodes 30 (optical sensor) may also detect various types of information (biometric information)…”)
comprising:
a sub-display panel configured to drive a plurality of display pixels to emit light (Fig. 2 as described in Paragraph 0026: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the display panel 5 includes an array substrate 2, a counter substrate 3, and a liquid crystal layer LC. The array substrate 2 includes a first substrate 21 serving as a base and is a drive circuit substrate for driving a plurality of pixels PX (refer to FIG. 3)”), and
generate light sensing signals by sensing light using a plurality of light sensing pixels (Fig. 2, as described in Paragraph 0026: “The photodiode 30 is provided on the first substrate 21. In other words, the array substrate 2 serves as both the drive circuit substrate for driving the plurality of pixels PX (refer to FIG. 3) and the drive circuit substrate for driving the optical sensor including a plurality of photodiodes 30”);
a biometric information detection circuit configured to measure and detect biometric information using the light sensing signals received from the sub-display panel (Fig. 4, as described in Paragraph 0049: “The signal processing circuit 44 is a logic circuit that detects a predetermined physical quantity input to the optical sensor (the photodiodes 30) included in the display circuit 10 based on output signals of the detection circuit 48. When a finger is in contact with or in proximity to a detection surface (the surface of the cover member CG), the signal processing circuit 44 can detect the asperities on the surface of the finger or the palm based on the signals from the detection circuit 48. The signal processing circuit 44 can also detect the information on the living body based on the signal from the detection circuit 48. Examples of the information on the living body include the vascular image, the pulse wave, the pulsation, and the blood oxygen level of the finger or the palm”);
a display driving circuit configured to control a driving timing of the plurality of light sensing pixels and the plurality of display pixels of the sub-display panel (Fig. 8, as described in Paragraph 0086: “As illustrated in FIG. 8, the control circuit 102 controls the display period P1 for display by the pixels PX and the detection period P2 for detection by the photodiodes 30 in a time division manner”).
Sugawara does not disclose a main display panel configured to display at least a portion of the biometric information.
Chai teaches analogous art in the technology of display apparatuses (Abstract) which are capable of sensing biometric information via the display (Paragraph 0058). Chai teaches that “only a part of the display area DA may be set to the sensing area SA” (Paragraph 0058). Thus, a main display panel may be identified as the portions of a display panel which are separate from the portion of a display panel used for sensing. Therefore, Chai further teaches the invention wherein a main display panel configured to display at least a portion of the biometric information (Fig. 1: pixels PX exist outside of display area DA; Paragraph 0078: “The display apparatus may display the biometric information as an image by using the pixels PX”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Sugawara to include a main display panel portion to display biometric information as taught by Chai, the motivation being that displaying the results of measurement of a biometric such as pulsation provides a user with immediate identification of a health metric such as heart rate, and further allows a user to visualize whether or not such a measurement was accurately captured (e.g., a display of half a fingerprint may indicate an incomplete finger print measurement).
Re. Claim 2: Sugawara as modified by Chai teaches the invention according to claim 1. Sugawara further teaches the invention, wherein the sub-display panel comprises:
a first bio-signal detection panel comprising a first emission area in which first display pixels of the plurality of display pixels are arranged (Paragraph 0038: “The display region AA is a region where the pixels PX are provided”) and
a first light sensing area in which first light sensing pixels of the plurality of light sensing pixels are arranged (Paragraph 0038: “Each of the pixels PX is provided with the photodiode 30. The display region AA is a region provided with the photodiodes 30 included in the display circuit 10 and also serves as a detection region of the optical sensor”); and
a circuit board coupled and electrically connected to a first end portion of the first bio-signal detection panel, wherein the biometric information detection circuit and the display driving circuit are mounted on the circuit board (Figs. 3, 12: circuit board 510 and control substrate 501 containing detection signal and control circuit 102 which controls display driving sequences shown in Fig. 8).
Re. Claim 3: Sugawara as modified by Chai teaches the invention according to claim 2. Sugawara further teaches the invention, wherein
the first display pixels are arranged in a matrix structure in the first emission area of the first bio-signal detection panel (Fig. 14: pixels PX arranged in matrix structure can be considered an emission area),
the first light sensing area of the first bio-signal detection panel is formed at a center portion of the first emission area to have a perimeter smaller than that of the first emission area (Fig. 14: AA_FG showing partial scanning area, i.e., a sensing portion formed at the center of the display), and
the first light sensing pixels are arranged in a matrix structure in the first light sensing area of the first bio-signal detection panel (Paragraph 0038: “Each of the pixels PX is provided with the photodiode 30;” thus, the matrix arrangement of pixels PX in the partial scanning area AA_FG are also arranged in a matrix structure).
Re. Claim 13: Sugawara teaches an apparatus for detecting biometric information (Paragraph 0033: “The display panel 5 with the photodiodes 30 (optical sensor) may also detect various types of information (biometric information)…”)
comprising:
a sub-display panel configured to drive a plurality of display pixels to emit light (Fig. 2 as described in Paragraph 0026: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the display panel 5 includes an array substrate 2, a counter substrate 3, and a liquid crystal layer LC. The array substrate 2 includes a first substrate 21 serving as a base and is a drive circuit substrate for driving a plurality of pixels PX (refer to FIG. 3)”), and
generate light sensing signals by sensing light reflected from a body part of a user using a plurality of light sensing pixels (Fig. 2, as described in Paragraph 0026: “The photodiode 30 is provided on the first substrate 21. In other words, the array substrate 2 serves as both the drive circuit substrate for driving the plurality of pixels PX (refer to FIG. 3) and the drive circuit substrate for driving the optical sensor including a plurality of photodiodes 30;” Paragraph 0028: “…light reflected by the object to be detected FG, such as a finger;” Paragraph 0038: “Each of the pixels PX is provided with the photodiode 30”);
a biometric information detection circuit configured to measure and detect biometric information of the user using the light sensing signals received from the sub-display panel (Fig. 4, as described in Paragraph 0049: “The signal processing circuit 44 is a logic circuit that detects a predetermined physical quantity input to the optical sensor (the photodiodes 30) included in the display circuit 10 based on output signals of the detection circuit 48. When a finger is in contact with or in proximity to a detection surface (the surface of the cover member CG), the signal processing circuit 44 can detect the asperities on the surface of the finger or the palm based on the signals from the detection circuit 48. The signal processing circuit 44 can also detect the information on the living body based on the signal from the detection circuit 48. Examples of the information on the living body include the vascular image, the pulse wave, the pulsation, and the blood oxygen level of the finger or the palm”);
a display driving circuit configured to control a driving timing of the plurality of light sensing pixels and the plurality of display pixels of the sub-display panel (Fig. 8, as described in Paragraph 0086: “As illustrated in FIG. 8, the control circuit 102 controls the display period P1 for display by the pixels PX and the detection period P2 for detection by the photodiodes 30 in a time division manner”),
wherein the display driving circuit generates electrical signals comprising gate signals, a data voltage, and a driving voltage for driving the sub-display panel (Abstract: see gate drive signals; Paragraph 0037: “The control substrate 501 is provided with the control circuit 102 and the power supply circuit 103. The control circuit 102 is, for example, a field-programmable gate array (FPGA). The control circuit 102 supplies control signals to the display circuit 10, the scanning line drive circuit 15, the signal line selection circuit 16, and the decoder circuit 17 to control a display operation of the display circuit 10 and a detection operation of the photodiode 30. The control circuit 102 supplies control signals to the backlight BL (refer to FIGS. 1 and 2) to control lighting and non-lighting of the light sources. The power supply circuit 103 supplies voltage signals including, for example, a reset potential VPP1, a power supply potential VPP2, a display reference potential COM, and a reference potential VCOM (refer to FIG. 5) to the display circuit 10, the scanning line drive circuit 15, and the signal line selection circuit 16;” Fig. 8), and
the biometric information detection circuit measures and detects the biometric information using light sensing signals received from the sub-display panel (Fig. 4, as described in Paragraph 0049: “The signal processing circuit 44 is a logic circuit that detects a predetermined physical quantity input to the optical sensor (the photodiodes 30) included in the display circuit 10 based on output signals of the detection circuit 48. When a finger is in contact with or in proximity to a detection surface (the surface of the cover member CG), the signal processing circuit 44 can detect the asperities on the surface of the finger or the palm based on the signals from the detection circuit 48. The signal processing circuit 44 can also detect the information on the living body based on the signal from the detection circuit 48. Examples of the information on the living body include the vascular image, the pulse wave, the pulsation, and the blood oxygen level of the finger or the palm”).
Sugawara does not disclose a main display panel configured to display at least a portion of the biometric information.
Chai teaches analogous art in the technology of display apparatuses (Abstract) which are capable of sensing biometric information via the display (Paragraph 0058). Chai teaches that “only a part of the display area DA may be set to the sensing area SA” (Paragraph 0058). Thus, a main display panel may be identified as the portions of a display panel which are separate from the portion of a display panel used for sensing. Therefore, Chai further teaches the invention wherein a main display panel configured to display at least a portion of the biometric information (Fig. 1: pixels PX exist outside of display area DA; Paragraph 0078: “The display apparatus may display the biometric information as an image by using the pixels PX”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Sugawara to include a main display panel portion to display biometric information as taught by Chai, the motivation being that displaying the results of measurement of a biometric such as pulsation provides a user with immediate identification of a health metric such as heart rate, and further allows a user to visualize whether or not such a measurement was accurately captured (e.g., a display of half a fingerprint may indicate an incomplete finger print measurement).
Re. Claim 14: Sugawara as modified by Chai teaches the invention according to claim 13. Claim 14 recites limitations encompassed by citations of the rejection of claim 2 and is rejected analogously.
Re. Claim 15: Sugawara as modified by Chai teaches the invention according to claim 14. Sugawara further teaches the invention, wherein
the first emission area of the first bio-signal detection panel is formed in a rounded shape or a polygonal shape in plan view (Fig. 14: pixels PX are arrange in a rectangular array; Examiner is interpreting the term “plan view” as Applicant defines in Paragraph 0044, referring to the view shown in Fig. 1),
the first display pixels are arranged in a matrix structure in the first emission area of the first bio-signal detection panel (Fig. 14: pixels PX arranged in matrix structure can be considered an emission area),
the first light sensing area of the first bio-signal detection panel is formed at a center portion of the first emission area to have a perimeter smaller than that of the first emission area (Fig. 14: AA_FG showing partial scanning area, i.e., a sensing portion formed at the center of the display), and
the first light sensing pixels are arranged in a matrix structure in the first light sensing area of the first bio-signal detection panel (Paragraph 0038: “Each of the pixels PX is provided with the photodiode 30;” thus, the matrix arrangement of pixels PX in the partial scanning area AA_FG are also arranged in a matrix structure).
Re. Claim 19: Sugawara as modified by Chai teaches the invention according to claim 13. Sugawara further teaches the invention, wherein the sub-display panel further comprises a flexible film connected to the circuit board (Figs 3, 12: wiring substrate 510 connected to pixels PX of display region AA; Paragraph 0037: “The wiring substrate 510 is, for example, a flexible printed circuit board or a rigid circuit board;” Examiner further notes that the entire device may be flexible as suggested at Paragraph 0027: “In this case, the display device 1 may be configured as a flexible sensor”), and
the main display panel is electrically connected to the display driving circuit through the flexible film and the circuit board (see rejection of claim 13: a portion of display region AA is modified to be considered a “main display” in light of teachings of Chai; thus, the display region AA comprising a main display is also electronically connected to display driving circuitry in wiring substrate 510 and control substrate 501).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Sugawara et al. (US 20230168768 A1) (hereinafter – Sugawara) in view of
Cho et al. (US 20210145363 A1) (hereinafter – Cho).
Re. Claim 12: Sugawara teaches apparatus for detecting biometric information (Paragraph 0033: “The display panel 5 with the photodiodes 30 (optical sensor) may also detect various types of information (biometric information)…”)
comprising:
a sub-display panel configured to drive display pixels to emit light (Fig. 2 as described in Paragraph 0026: “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the display panel 5 includes an array substrate 2, a counter substrate 3, and a liquid crystal layer LC. The array substrate 2 includes a first substrate 21 serving as a base and is a drive circuit substrate for driving a plurality of pixels PX (refer to FIG. 3)”), and
detect light sensing signals by sensing light using light sensing pixels (Fig. 2, as described in Paragraph 0026: “The photodiode 30 is provided on the first substrate 21. In other words, the array substrate 2 serves as both the drive circuit substrate for driving the plurality of pixels PX (refer to FIG. 3) and the drive circuit substrate for driving the optical sensor including a plurality of photodiodes 30;” Paragraph 0038: “Each of the pixels PX is provided with the photodiode 30”),
the sub-display panel comprising:
a biometric information detection circuit configured to measure and detect biometric information of a user using the light sensing signals received through the sub-display panel (Fig. 4, as described in Paragraph 0049: “The signal processing circuit 44 is a logic circuit that detects a predetermined physical quantity input to the optical sensor (the photodiodes 30) included in the display circuit 10 based on output signals of the detection circuit 48. When a finger is in contact with or in proximity to a detection surface (the surface of the cover member CG), the signal processing circuit 44 can detect the asperities on the surface of the finger or the palm based on the signals from the detection circuit 48. The signal processing circuit 44 can also detect the information on the living body based on the signal from the detection circuit 48. Examples of the information on the living body include the vascular image, the pulse wave, the pulsation, and the blood oxygen level of the finger or the palm”); and
a display driving circuit configured to control a driving timing of the light sensing pixels and the display pixels of the sub-display panel (Fig. 8, as described in Paragraph 0086: “As illustrated in FIG. 8, the control circuit 102 controls the display period P1 for display by the pixels PX and the detection period P2 for detection by the photodiodes 30 in a time division manner”).
Sugawara does not teach the invention further comprising:
a main display panel configured to display the biometric information, wherein the main display panel is formed in a mobile display device in a state separated from the sub-display panel, and
the sub-display panel further comprises at least one short-range wireless communication module configured to transmit the biometric information detected through the biometric information detection circuit to the mobile display device in which the main display panel is formed.
Cho teaches analogous art in the technology of medical sensors having data transfer capabilities (Paragraph 0001). Cho further teaches the invention comprising:
a main display panel configured to display the biometric information, wherein the main display panel is formed in a mobile display device in a state separated from the sub-display panel, and the sub-display panel further comprises at least one short-range wireless communication module configured to transmit the biometric information detected through the biometric information detection circuit to the mobile display device in which the main display panel is formed (Paragraphs 0185-0186: “Expansion of the Use of Wireless Communication, e.g. Bluetooth: [0186] When the measuring device is connected to another device, e.g. a smartphone, via wireless communication, the display of the smartphone can be used as a supplementary display for the measuring device or as a complete replacement for the display of the measuring device;” Examiner notes that a connected display can be interpreted as a main display).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Sugawara to include a main display panel configured to display biometric information via short-range wireless communication with a sub-display panel as taught by Cho, the motivation being that doing so enables another user (e.g., physician or caretaker) to view results of measurement or to provide an alternative display in the case that display of information on the display panel of Sugawara is not possible or desired.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Sugawara et al. (US 20230168768 A1) (hereinafter – Sugawara) in view of
Chai et al. (US 20200394371 A1) (hereinafter – Chai) in further view of
Cho et al. (US 20210145363 A1) (hereinafter – Cho).
Re. Claim 20: Sugawara as modified by Chai teaches the invention according to claim 14, but does not teach the invention further comprising:
wherein the main display panel is formed in a mobile display device in a state separated from the first bio-signal detection panel and the circuit board, and
the sub-display panel further comprises at least one short-range wireless communication module configured to transmit the biometric information of the user detected through the biometric information detection circuit to the mobile display device in which the main display panel is formed.
Cho teaches analogous art in the technology of medical sensors having data transfer capabilities (Paragraph 0001). Cho further teaches the invention wherein the main display panel is formed in a mobile display device in a state separated from the first bio-signal detection panel and the circuit board, and the sub-display panel further comprises at least one short-range wireless communication module configured to transmit the biometric information of the user detected through the biometric information detection circuit to the mobile display device in which the main display panel is formed (Paragraphs 0185-0186: “Expansion of the Use of Wireless Communication, e.g. Bluetooth: [0186] When the measuring device is connected to another device, e.g. a smartphone, via wireless communication, the display of the smartphone can be used as a supplementary display for the measuring device or as a complete replacement for the display of the measuring device;” Examiner notes that a connected display can be interpreted as a main display).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Sugawara as modified by Chai to include another display interpretable as a main display and configured to display biometric information via short-range wireless communication with a sub-display panel as taught by Cho, the motivation being that doing so enables another user (e.g., physician or caretaker) to view results of measurement or to provide an alternative display in the case that display of information on the display panel of Sugawara is not possible or desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 requires a repeated component (i.e., “a second bio-signal detection panel”), but being “coupled and electrically connected to a second end portion of the circuit board.” The component which is identified as a circuit board in Sugawara (Figs. 3, 12: circuit board 510 and control substrate 501) only has one end portion in contact with a component which can be interpreted as a bio-signal detection panel. Thus, locating another bio-signal detection panel on another end portion of a circuit board is not taught by Sugawara, nor would such a modification be obvious over the prior art of record.
Claims 5-11 are dependent upon claim 4 and recite the allowable subject matter thereof.
Claim 16 contains identical allowable subject matter recited in claim 4.
Claims 17 and 18 are dependent upon claim 16 and recite the allowable subject matter thereof.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791