DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed November 21, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 5 – 7, 9 – 12 and 17 – 23 are pending in the application with claims 2 – 4, 8 and 13 – 16 being cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 9 – 12 and 17 – 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 24-26: “that is configured for gas intake or connection with an apparatus to be deflated the end of the blower housing” should read --that is configured for gas intake or connection with an apparatus to be deflated, the end of the blower housing--.
Claims 5 – 7, 9 – 12 and 17 – 23 are objected to for being dependent on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 9 – 12 and 17 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “simultaneously activating both the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus” in last line. This limitation is a new matter. The originally filed specification does not disclose “both” first and second inflation apparatus being activated “simultaneously” (i.e. at the same time). For instance, the filed specification recites (see citations from pg. pub of the instant application provided below for reference) the controller being capable of controlling the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus. The recited control of the first driving assembly (belong to the first inflation apparatus) and the second inflation apparatus (belong to the second inflation apparatus) by the controller does not provide support for the claimed feature of “simultaneous activation of both the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus”.
[¶70] “In this way, when the apparatus to be inflated is inflated to a preset pressure value, the controller 200 is capable of controlling the first driving assembly 121 and/or the second driving assembly 131 to stop rotating according to a signal feedback from the gas pressure detection apparatus 1431 to achieve the function that the inflation pump 100 is controlled to stop inflating the apparatus to be inflated”;
[¶94] “In the inflation device 1000 as provided in the embodiments of the present application, by electrically connecting the controller 200 to the first driving assembly 121 and the second driving assembly 131, the first driving assembly 121 and the second driving assembly 131 are controlled to be started or stopped, so that the function of starting or stopping inflation of the first inflation apparatus 120 is achieved, and the functions of starting or stopping inflation, or starting or stopping deflation of the second inflation apparatus 130 are achieved. By providing that the power source 300 is electrically connected to the controller 200 and the inflation pump 100, the function of supplying power to the controller 200 and the inflation pump 100 is achieved by the power source 300. By providing the inflation pump 100, the controller 200 and the power source 300 in the outer housing 400, the functions of mounting and protection for the inflation pump 100, the controller 200 and the power source 300 are achieved.”;
Claims 5 – 7, 9 – 12 and 17 – 23 are rejected for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 12, 17, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Huabin (US 2023/0323870 – herein after Chen) in view of Hansen, Gary (US 2003/0015200 – herein after Hansen), Meng et al. (CN 218376822U – herein after Meng), evidenced by Yin, You-lei (CN 218030508U – herein after Yin) and Liu, Ying-An (CN 119103056A – herein after Liu).
In reference to claim 1, Chen teaches an inflation pump (as per title of Chen: “multipurpose inflation pump”), comprising (see figs. 1-8):
a gas pipe (see fig. A below) comprising a first mounting part (4/21; also labeled “mp1” in fig. A below), a second mounting part (see fig. A above: labelled “mp2”) and a third mounting part (see fig. A above: labelled “mp3”) that are in communication with each other, wherein the first mounting part (“mp1”) is configured to connect to an apparatus to be inflated (bed or boat or tire, see ¶28);
a first inflation apparatus (first pressure air pump 5, see ¶27 and fig. 4) comprising a first driving assembly (second motor 19 + gears 17, 18 + eccentric wheel 16) and a first inflation assembly (first piston 13 + first piston cylinder 11), wherein the first driving assembly is configured to supply power to the first inflation assembly (as discussed in ¶27), and the first inflation assembly is connected to the second mounting part (“mp2”) and configured to provide a first air flow (flow of air discharged by the first inflation assembly) to the first mounting part to inflate the apparatus to be inflated (see ¶27); and
a second inflation apparatus (blower 6; see ¶27 and figs. 3/4) comprising a second driving assembly (first motor 8) and a second inflation assembly (shell 7 + air blade 9), wherein the second driving assembly is configured to supply power to the second inflation assembly (as per disclosure in ¶27), and the second inflation assembly (7+9) is connected to the third mounting part (“mp3”), and connected to the first inflation assembly (13+11) [two inflation assemblies are connected to one another as evident from fig. 4 via a structure that defines inflation conduit 4] through the gas pipe (labeled in fig. A below); and the second inflation assembly is configured to provide a second air flow (flow of air discharged by the second inflation assembly) to the first mounting part (4/21) to inflate the apparatus to be inflated (see ¶27);
wherein the first inflation assembly (13+11) comprises a first cylinder (11), the second inflation assembly (7+9) comprises a blower housing (7); and
wherein an end (bottom end) of the blower housing (7) away from the first mounting part (4 or “mp1”) is provided with a fourth mounting part (see fig. B below) that is configured for gas intake (as depicted by intake arrow in fig. B below; gas intake occurs during inflation mode) or connection with an apparatus to be deflated (see ¶7: “When the inflatable bed or the inflatable boat needs to be deflated, an inlet of the blower is put to an outlet of the inflatable bed or the inflatable boat, and the blower may accelerate deflation of the inflatable bed or the inflatable boat”), is provided at an end (bottom end) of the blower housing (7) away from the first mounting part (4),
wherein the inflation pump is configured (see ¶28) to provide selective activation control of the first inflation apparatus (5) and the second inflation apparatus (6), wherein the selective activation control of the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus comprises: activating the first inflation apparatus, activating the second inflation apparatus.
Fig. A: Edited fig. 4 of Chen to show claim interpretation.
Fig. B: Edited fig. 4 of Chen to show claim interpretation.
Chen remains silent on the inflation pump wherein the second mounting part and the third mounting part “are coaxially arranged” and wherein the first cylinder and the blower housing “being coaxially arranged”.
However, Hansen teaches a pump system (see fig. 2 and ¶26: “The positive relative pressure gas supply 204 and the negative relative pressure gas supply 206 may be motors turning associated impellers or fans (e.g., blowers). Alternatively, the gas supplies may be any form of bellows, piston, pump, fan, impeller or other device that is capable of providing a gas at an elevated relative pressure”) wherein a first fluid transfer apparatus (204; equivalent in structure to claimed “first inflation apparatus”) having a first housing (equivalent in structure to claimed “first cylinder”) and a second fluid transfer apparatus (206; equivalent in structure to claimed “second inflation apparatus”) having a second housing (equivalent in structure to claimed “blower housing”) are coaxially arranged and connected to a fluid pipe (211, see fig. 2/3; equivalent in structure to claimed “gas pipe”). The first housing is connected to its corresponding mounting part (303; equivalent in structure to claimed “second mounting part”) on the fluid pipe, the second housing is connected to its corresponding mounting part (305; equivalent in structure to claimed “third mounting part”) on the fluid pipe, and an additional mounting part (309; equivalent in structure to claimed “first mounting part”) of the fluid pipe is not coaxial with the first housing and the second housing.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen’s inflation pump for having the second and third mounting parts coaxially arranged as taught by Hansen since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, Chen, as modified, makes obvious the inflation pump, wherein the second mounting part and the third mounting part are coaxially arranged, and wherein the first cylinder is coaxially arranged with the blower housing, and the first mounting part is not coaxial with the blower housing and the first cylinder.
Chen further remains silent on the inflation pump wherein the end of the blower housing away from the first mounting part is further provided with at least one first through hole that is configured for preventing the blower housing from damage due to overheating when the apparatus to be deflated is connected to the fourth mounting part and deflation of the apparatus to be deflated is completed.
However, Meng teaches the inflation pump wherein at least one first through hole (heat dissipation hole 20; see ¶59 of translation) is provided at the end (end corresponding to side 16 seen in fig. 2 or right end of 222 in view of fig. 4) of the blower housing (222) away from the first mounting part (213, see fig. 2 or 2222, see fig. 5), for preventing the blower housing from damage due to overheating when the apparatus to be deflated is connected to the fourth mounting part and deflation of the apparatus to be deflated is completed (see ¶57 and ¶59 of translation: when deflation process takes place and is completed, the heat dissipation hole prevents the blower apparatus 22 from accumulating a large amount of heat and causing damage).
Yin further evidences the second inflation apparatus (i.e. blower) similar to that taught by Chen. However, Yin’s second inflation apparatus additionally has “at least one hole” (based on presented drawing in fig. 1) on the blower housing (see fig. B1 below). It is further to be noted that Yin’s second inflation apparatus is similar to that disclosed by applicant in the instant application (see Yin’s fig. 1 and applicant’s fig. 1), wherein holes are present in similar fashion at one end of the blower housing.
Fig. B1: Edited fig. 1 of Yin to show claim interpretation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide “at least one first through hole” as taught by Meng at the end of the blower housing (see fig. B above), as evidenced by Yin, in the inflation pump of Chen for the purpose of preventing the blower apparatus from accumulating heat, as recognized by Meng above.
Chen remains silent on the inflation pump, wherein the selective activation control comprises: “simultaneously activating both the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus”.
However, Liu teaches an inflation pump (see ¶91 of translation) wherein the inflation pump is configured to provide selective activation control of the first inflation apparatus (apparatus with motor component 17) and the second inflation apparatus (apparatus with motor component 18), wherein the selective activation control of the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus comprises (see ¶91 of translation): activating the first inflation apparatus, activating the second inflation apparatus; and simultaneously activating both the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen’s inflation pump for also having the selective activation control of the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus to be comprised of simultaneously activating both the first inflation apparatus and the second inflation apparatus as taught by Liu for the purpose of satisfying the consumer needs, as recognized by Liu (see ¶91 of translation).
In reference to claim 6, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation pump (see Chen), further comprising a gas pressure detection apparatus (pressure sensor, see ¶28) and a fifth mounting part (mounting hole 28, see ¶28), wherein the fifth mounting part (28) is provided (see fig. 4), close to the first mounting part (4/21), at the inflation pump, and the gas pressure detection apparatus (pressure sensor) is provided at the fifth mounting part (28) and is configured to detect a gas pressure of the apparatus to be inflated (pressure sensor is capable of detecting “a gas pressure” in view of disclosure in ¶28).
In reference to claim 7, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation pump (see Chen), wherein a first check valve (second one-way outlet valve 12, see ¶27 and fig. 4) for unidirectionally passing through the first air flow is provided (in partial manner) between the first inflation assembly (13+11) and the second mounting part (“mp2”, in fig. A above), and the first check valve (12, see fig. 4) is provided on the first inflation assembly (13+11).
In reference to claim 9, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation pump (see Chen), wherein a second check valve (first one-way outlet valve 10, see ¶27 and fig. 4) for unidirectionally passing through the second air flow is provided (in partial manner) between the second inflation assembly (7+9) and the third mounting part (“mp3”, in fig. A above).
In reference to claim 12, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation pump (see Chen), wherein the first driving assembly (16+17+18+19) comprises a first motor (19) and a first support (see fig. C below: wall labelled “W” forming a support) for mounting the first motor (19), and the first inflation assembly (13+11) comprises a first cylinder (11) connected (indirectly) to the first support (as evident from fig. 4).
Fig. C: Edited figs. 3 and 4 of Chen to show claim interpretation.
In reference to claim 17, Chen, as modified, teaches an inflation device (see fig. ½; in Chen), comprising:
the inflation pump according to claim 1 (as discussed above);
a controller (29, see fig. 1 and ¶27; in Chen), electrically connected to the first driving assembly and the second driving assembly (controller 29 is connected to second motor 19 of the asserted first driving assembly and first motor 8 which is the asserted second driving assembly), wherein the controller is configured (see ¶28; in Chen) to provide selective activation control of the first driving assembly (motor 19) and the second driving assembly (motor 8), wherein the selective activation control comprises: activating the first driving assembly, activating the second driving assembly; and (in view of Liu’s teaching discussed above in claim 1) simultaneously activating both the first driving assembly and the second driving assembly;
a power source for supplying power, electrically connected to the controller and the inflation pump (power source is inherently present); and
an outer housing (1, see fig. 1/2 in Chen) in which the inflation pump, the controller and the power source are provided.
In reference to claim 18, Chen teaches the inflation device, further comprising:
a third inflation apparatus (second pressure air pump 23, see fig. 2 and ¶27) provided in the outer housing (1), wherein
the third inflation apparatus comprises a third driving assembly (third motor 39 + gears 37, 38 + rod 36, see figs. 5/6 and ¶27) and a third inflation assembly (second piston cylinder 33 + second piston 34, see figs. 5/6 and ¶27), the third driving assembly is connected to the third inflation assembly and is used for supplying power to the third inflation assembly (as evident from ¶27), and an end (end proximate outlet nozzle 41) of the third inflation assembly (33+34) away from the third driving assembly (36+37+38+39) is used for connecting the apparatus (automobile tire, see ¶28) to be inflated; and
the third driving assembly is electrically connected to the power source and the controller (inherent feature).
In reference to claim 22, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation pump (see Chen), wherein the first driving assembly (second motor 19 + gears 17, 18 + eccentric wheel 16; see ¶27 and fig. 4) further comprises a first motor gear (17) and a first protection cover (labelled “cover” in fig. C above), the first inflation assembly further comprises a first big gear (18, see fig. 4 and referred as “large gear” in ¶27) which is rotatably connected to the first support and is engaged with the first motor gear, and (as evident from fig. C above) the first protection cover (labelled “cover”) is connected to the first support (labelled wall “W” in fig. C above) and is used for protecting the first big gear.
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hansen, Meng, Yin (evidentiary reference), Liu and further evidenced by Rogers et al. (US 6,623,249 – herein after Rogers).
In reference to claim 5, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation pump (see Chen), wherein in a unit time, a volume of gas provided by the first inflation apparatus (first pressure air pump 5) to the first mounting part (4/21) is less than a volume of gas provided by the second inflation apparatus (blower 6) to the first mounting part (4/21) [claimed feature is implicitly present in Chen; in view of disclosure in ¶27: asserted first inflation apparatus 5 is a positive-displacement pump in a form of a reciprocating pump and the second inflation apparatus 6 is a non-positive displacement pump in a form of a blower/impeller; as it is well-known in the art, the non-positive displacement pump pumps more volume of fluid compared to a positive displacement pump; this is further evidenced by Rogers where “15” is referred as a relatively high air volume relatively low pressure fan pump and “20” is referred as low air volume relatively high pressure diaphragm pump].
In reference to claim 19, Chen, as modified, teaches the inflation device (see Chen), wherein in a unit time, a volume of gas provided by the third inflation apparatus (second pressure air pump 23, see fig. 2 and ¶27) to the apparatus (automobile tire, see ¶28) to be inflated is less than a volume of gas provided by the second inflation apparatus (blower 6) to the apparatus to be inflated [claimed feature is implicitly present in Chen; in view of disclosure in ¶27: asserted third inflation apparatus 23 is a positive-displacement pump in a form of a reciprocating pump and the second inflation apparatus 6 is a non-positive displacement pump in a form of a blower/impeller; as it is well-known in the art, the non-positive displacement pump pumps more volume of fluid compared to a positive displacement pump; this is further evidenced by Rogers where “15” is referred as a relatively high air volume relatively low pressure fan pump and “20” is referred as low air volume relatively high pressure diaphragm pump].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hansen, Meng, Yin (evidentiary reference), Liu and Miller et al. (US 10,228,067 – herein after Miller).
Chen remains silent on the inflation pump, wherein a third check valve, for unidirectionally passing through the first air flow or the second air flow to inflate the apparatus to be inflated, is provided at the first mounting part of the inflation pump.
However, Miller teaches a check valve (duck-bill valve 902) is provided at a mounting part (at end 900 of mounting part 704, see fig. 11) for unidirectionally passing through the air flow to inflate the apparatus (102, in fig. 1) to be inflated.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide another check valve in an apparatus to be inflated as taught by Miller such that the check valve is at the first mounting part of Chen when Chen’s inflation pump is coupled to the apparatus to be inflated for the purpose of inhibiting the air flow from the inflated apparatus, as recognized by Miller (see col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, lines 1-2).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hansen, Meng, Yin (evidentiary reference), Liu and Pololu (“Dealing with Motor Noise” – herein after Pololu).
Chen teaches the inflation pump, wherein the first driving assembly (16+17+18+19) comprises a first motor (19, see ¶27 and fig. 4).
Chen remains silent on the inflation pump, wherein the first motor is electrically connected with a capacitor.
However, Pololu teaches (see point 1 on page 1 of provided copy) a use of capacitors by electrically connecting them to the motor for suppressing motor noise.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Chen’s first motor electrically connected with capacitor as taught by Pololu for the purpose of suppressing motor noise, as recognized by Pololu above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hansen, Meng, Yin (evidentiary reference), Liu and Liao, Yuefei (US 2024/0035461 – herein after Liao).
Chen remains silent on the inflation device, further comprising a pair of output terminals, wherein the pair of output terminals are electrically connected to the power source and are configured to output a current for starting an engine of a vehicle.
However, Liao teaches the inflation device, comprising a pair of output terminals (at power transmission port 700), wherein the pair of output terminals are electrically connected to the power source (battery 300, see ¶69) and are configured to output a current for starting an engine of a vehicle (see ¶70).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen’s inflation apparatus for providing a pair of output terminals as taught by Liao for the purpose of providing added feature of starting the car in emergency situations, as recognized by Liao (see ¶70).
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hansen, Meng, Yin (evidentiary reference), Liu and Peng et al. (CN 221053884U – herein after Peng).
Regarding claim 21,
Chen remains silent on the inflation pump, wherein the first cylinder has a first surface, a center of the first surface is provided with a sixth mounting part for mounting the first check valve, and the first surface is provided with a plurality of first vent holes.
However, Peng teaches a similar inflation pump, wherein (see fig. 3) the first cylinder (30) has a first surface (surface of exhaust plate 38), a center of the first surface is provided with a sixth mounting part (portion on which valve assembly 391+392 is mounted) for mounting the first check valve (391+392), and the first surface is provided with a plurality of first vent holes (referred as “exhaust holes”; see ¶50 of translation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen’s cylinder for substituting Chen’s first check valve assembly for a specific check valve assembly that is mounted on a first surface of the cylinder as taught by Peng in order to obtain the predictable result of ensuring unidirectional flow of air from the first inflations assembly. KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 23,
Chen remains silent on the inflation pump, wherein the second inflation assembly further includes a blower support provided in the blower housing, a protection member for filtering gas from the fourth mounting part is provided between the blower housing and an end of the blower support close to the fourth mounting part.
However, Peng teaches a similar inflation pump, wherein a second inflation assembly (impeller pump 20 seen in fig. 1) includes a blower support (“support” element present in the blower is considered to be a blower support; in Peng: “support member 25” is a claimed blower support) provided in the blower housing (housing of impeller pump 20 seen in fig. 1; referred as “shell” in ¶45 of translation), a protection member (filtering piece 26, see fig. 2) for filtering gas from the fourth mounting part (21) is provided between the blower housing (between left end of blower housing 7 in view of fig. 2) and an end (left end in view of fig. 2) of the blower support (25) close to the fourth mounting part (21) [see ¶47 of translation: “support member 25 is provided in the shell between the first air inlet 21 and the second air inlet, and a filter member 26 is provided on one side of the support member 25 close to the first air inlet 21”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a blower support and a protection member as taught by Peng in the second inflation assembly of Chen for the purpose of filtering the air, as recognized by Peng (see ¶48 of translation).
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed November 11, 2025 have been fully considered:
Arguments with respect to “Coaxial Arrangement” (pages 9-10): Applicant argues that Chen teaches away from a coaxial structure and that Hansen, being from the medical field, provides no motivation for combination. These arguments are not persuasive for following reasons:
While Chen shows a parallel arrangement, it is well-settled that mere rearrangement of parts is a matter of routine skill in the art. Applicant’s contention that Hansen is in a “divergent field” is misplaced. Chen, present application and Hansen are directed to the same functional problem: the controlled delivery of pressurized gas using multiple supply sources (i.e. pumps). A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to optimize the spatial layout of the pumping system would naturally look to other gas-delivery systems, including medical ventilators, for integrated housing configurations. Hansen explicitly teaches that fluid transfer apparatuses (such as blowers or pistons, see ¶26) can be coaxially arranged and connected to a fluid pipe. Integrating Chen’s pump modules into Hansen’s coaxial configuration is a predictable application of known structural layouts to achieve a more compact device.
Arguments with respect to “First Through Hole” (pages 10-11): Applicant argues that Meng’s holes are not on the blower housing and that a “synergistic relationship” exists between the hole and the coaxial structure. These arguments not persuasive for following reasons:
While Meng teaches the general purpose of heat dissipation, Yin specifically evidences a blower housing that includes “at least one hole” disposed directly on the housing. Yin’s structure is nearly identical to the blower housing disclosed in the instant application. The placement of a vent hole at the end of a housing where heat accumulates is a standard engineering solution for preventing overheating. Applicant claims a synergistic cooling effect due to the coaxial alignment. However, the cooling of a motor via a through-hole is the inherent and expected result of providing a vent, regardless of whether the housing is parallel or coaxial. Applicant has not provided objective evidence (such as comparative test data) to show that this cooling effect is “unexpected” or goes beyond the sum of the individual features.
Arguments with respect to “Selective Activation Control” (pages 11-12):
The arguments for newly added feature of “simultaneous operation” are moot in view of new grounds of rejection made above in view of Liu’s teaching. Furthermore, note that this feature is a new matter as discussed above under 35 USC 112.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746