DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Drawings
The examiner notes that drawings should not contain excessive text; however, reasonable text provided for clarity is permitted. Figures 1-3 provides a diagram with numbered box and a flow chart with labeled steps which correspond in the specification to brief text elements that would be appropriate for such figures. While the submitted figures do conform to MPEP § 507, interpretation of the figures could be improved by including the text corresponding to each step/box. The examiner encourages the applicant to consider adding appropriate text to the stages depicted in Figures 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Butler (US20090261767A1).
Claim.1 Butler discloses a system for identifying an electrical device (see at least abstract, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor) comprising: an identification unit, associated with the electrical device, configured to generate an identification information representing at least one electrical parameter of the associated electrical device (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, The system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor, p4, a system controller is provided that includes a communication means for transmitting and receiving information from an installed blower motor controller, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor controller from the memory device, and to send said corresponding motor related parameters to the blower motor controller, p16, The various controller embodiments further include a processor that, upon installation and power up of the controller, is configured to receive the input of information that includes parameters associated with the particular system and its installed blower motor, which information is stored in the memory associated with the controller. The processor is further configured to receive information from the blower motor controller identifying the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed motor. From this identifying information, the processor is configured to retrieve from memory the motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor); and a controller, electrically coupled to the electrical device, the controller configured to: determine a device type of the electrical device based on processing the identification information from the identification unit (see at least fig.1-4, p21, a controller 100 further includes a processor 108, which can be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor (DSP) or any other suitable processing device. Upon application of electrical power to the controller 100, the processor 108 is configured to receive via the input interface 104 an input of information that includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 160 that may be installed for the particular system, p22, the processor 108 is configured to retrieve from memory 102 motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor 160, and to send the specific parameters to the blower motor controller 150, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system); and determine an operating parameter for the electrical device based, at least in part, on the device type (see at least fig.1-4, p21, a controller 100 further includes a processor 108, which can be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor (DSP) or any other suitable processing device. Upon application of electrical power to the controller 100, the processor 108 is configured to receive via the input interface 104 an input of information that includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 160 that may be installed for the particular system, p22, the processor 108 is configured to retrieve from memory 102 motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor 160, and to send the specific parameters to the blower motor controller 150, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system, p43, the system control 300 has a processor 308 that stores the specific values and parameters into its memory 302, such that the information and/or parameters relating to the particular blower motor that is installed can be retrieved for controlling operation of the identified blower motor. The processor 308 could then receive information from the blower motor controller 350 via the communication means 306, which identifies the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed blower motor 360).
Claim.2 Butler discloses wherein the electrical device is at least one of a motor, a battery, a heating device, a cooling device, a lighting device, a heating, ventilation, an air conditioning (HVAC) device, or a communication device; and wherein the controller is further configured to: controlling operation of the electrical device based at least in part on the operating parameter (see at least fig.1-4, p31, a particular 1/2 horsepower blower motor, with the appropriate motor related parameters, can be used in a number of different heating and/or cooling systems requiring up to a 1/2 horsepower blower motor, where the universal configurable controller is configured to include the parameters that are specific to the particular motor. This is in contrast to, for example, using multiple different HVAC system controllers for each different 1/2 horsepower blower motor, where each controller is programmed for a different type of HVAC system. Accordingly, a generic configurable system controller may be used in a number of different HVAC systems having different blower motor controllers, by configuring the controller with the motor related parameters specific to the particular blower motor controller that is installed).
Claim.3 Butler discloses wherein the motor is at least one of a furnace induction motor, a furnace blower motor, an air handler blower motor, an alternating current (AC) motor, a synchronous motor, a reluctance motor, a direct current (DC) motor, or a compressor motor (see at least fig.3, p41, the controller may further be configured to communicate via the communication means to other controllers in the environmental control system, such as a Unitary Controller 370 for an Air Conditioning system 380. The controller 370 may provide control signals or information to a compressor 380 or fan motor 384 for the Air Conditioning system).
Claim.4 Butler discloses wherein the operating parameter of the motor comprises an operating voltage, an operating phase, an operating current, an operating frequency, an armature voltage, a rotor speed, an output efficiency, an electrical time constant, a mechanical time constant, revolutions per minute (RPM), an insulation class, a service factor (SF), or a torque-speed parameter (see at least fig.1-4, p3, an energy efficient heating and cooling system capable of operating at different stages or capacities, to operate at the required level of heating or cooling in an energy efficient manner, p13, a blower motor controller that utilizes coefficients and parameters specific to the particular blower and/or system, which are used in determining a speed for which the installed motor will achieve the requested airflow or CFM, table 1, table 2).
Claim.6 Butler discloses wherein the identification unit is associated with the electrical device by electrically coupling the identification unit through at least one of placing the identification unit on the electrical device, placing the identification unit within the electrical device, placing the identification unit with an exterior surface of the electrical device and placing the identification unit in a proximity of the electrical device (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, The system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor, p4, a system controller is provided that includes a communication means for transmitting and receiving information from an installed blower motor controller, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor controller from the memory device, and to send said corresponding motor related parameters to the blower motor controller, p16, The various controller embodiments further include a processor that, upon installation and power up of the controller, is configured to receive the input of information that includes parameters associated with the particular system and its installed blower motor, which information is stored in the memory associated with the controller. The processor is further configured to receive information from the blower motor controller identifying the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed motor. From this identifying information, the processor is configured to retrieve from memory the motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor).
Claim.7 Butler discloses further comprising a communication unit of electrical device configured to communicate the identification information to the controller (see at least fig.1-4, p48, determine an appropriate system configuration for a given combination of input signals received at the input connector 306 from the memory device 304. Although the embodiment of FIG. 3 may employ an input means and/or a wired communication means 306, it should be understood that one or more wireless inputs and/or wireless outputs (i.e., without connectors) can be used in a given application of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, the heating and cooling system controller 300, a blower motor controller 350( for controlling an electric motor 360 and a blower), and a thermostat 390. The controller 300 may further comprise an interface connector (not shown) that includes sixteen input pins for receiving input signals to the system controller 300 via a sixteen wire communication cable (not shown). The types of signals provided at the pins of the input connector 304 in this particular HVAC system are indicated in Table 2).
Claim.8 Butler discloses further comprising a wiring harness electrically associated with and coupled to the electrical device, wherein the identification unit is placed in the wiring harness (see at least fig.1-4, p48, determine an appropriate system configuration for a given combination of input signals received at the input connector 306 from the memory device 304. Although the embodiment of FIG. 3 may employ an input means and/or a wired communication means 306, it should be understood that one or more wireless inputs and/or wireless outputs (i.e., without connectors) can be used in a given application of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, the heating and cooling system controller 300, a blower motor controller 350( for controlling an electric motor 360 and a blower), and a thermostat 390. The controller 300 may further comprise an interface connector (not shown) that includes sixteen input pins for receiving input signals to the system controller 300 via a sixteen wire communication cable (not shown). The types of signals provided at the pins of the input connector 304 in this particular HVAC system are indicated in Table 2).
Claim.9 Butler discloses further comprising a circuit board connector electrically coupled with the electrical device, wherein the identification unit is placed in the circuit board connector (see at least fig.1-4, p48, determine an appropriate system configuration for a given combination of input signals received at the input connector 306 from the memory device 304. Although the embodiment of FIG. 3 may employ an input means and/or a wired communication means 306, it should be understood that one or more wireless inputs and/or wireless outputs (i.e., without connectors) can be used in a given application of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, the heating and cooling system controller 300, a blower motor controller 350( for controlling an electric motor 360 and a blower), and a thermostat 390. The controller 300 may further comprise an interface connector (not shown) that includes sixteen input pins for receiving input signals to the system controller 300 via a sixteen wire communication cable (not shown). The types of signals provided at the pins of the input connector 304 in this particular HVAC system are indicated in Table 2).
Claim.11 Butler discloses a method of identifying an electrical device (see at least abstract, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor) comprising: electrically coupling an electrical device with a controller (see at least fig.1-4, p21, a controller 100 further includes a processor 108, which can be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor (DSP) or any other suitable processing device. Upon application of electrical power to the controller 100, the processor 108 is configured to receive via the input interface 104 an input of information that includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 160 that may be installed for the particular system, p22, the processor 108 is configured to retrieve from memory 102 motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor 160, and to send the specific parameters to the blower motor controller 150, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system); generating an identification information representing at least one electrical parameter of the associated electrical device by an identification unit associated with the electrical device (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, The system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor, p4, a system controller is provided that includes a communication means for transmitting and receiving information from an installed blower motor controller, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor controller from the memory device, and to send said corresponding motor related parameters to the blower motor controller, p16, The various controller embodiments further include a processor that, upon installation and power up of the controller, is configured to receive the input of information that includes parameters associated with the particular system and its installed blower motor, which information is stored in the memory associated with the controller. The processor is further configured to receive information from the blower motor controller identifying the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed motor. From this identifying information, the processor is configured to retrieve from memory the motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor); determining a device type of the electrical device, by a controller, based on processing the identification information received from the identification unit; and determining an operating parameter for the electrical device, by the controller, based at least in part, on the device type (see at least fig.1-4, p21, a controller 100 further includes a processor 108, which can be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor (DSP) or any other suitable processing device. Upon application of electrical power to the controller 100, the processor 108 is configured to receive via the input interface 104 an input of information that includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 160 that may be installed for the particular system, p22, the processor 108 is configured to retrieve from memory 102 motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor 160, and to send the specific parameters to the blower motor controller 150, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system, p43, the system control 300 has a processor 308 that stores the specific values and parameters into its memory 302, such that the information and/or parameters relating to the particular blower motor that is installed can be retrieved for controlling operation of the identified blower motor. The processor 308 could then receive information from the blower motor controller 350 via the communication means 306, which identifies the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed blower motor 360).
Claim.12 Butler discloses wherein the electrical device is at least one of a motor, a battery, a heating device, a cooling device, a lighting device, a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) device, and a communication device (see at least fig.1-4, p31, a particular 1/2 horsepower blower motor, with the appropriate motor related parameters, can be used in a number of different heating and/or cooling systems requiring up to a 1/2 horsepower blower motor, where the universal configurable controller is configured to include the parameters that are specific to the particular motor. This is in contrast to, for example, using multiple different HVAC system controllers for each different 1/2 horsepower blower motor, where each controller is programmed for a different type of HVAC system. Accordingly, a generic configurable system controller may be used in a number of different HVAC systems having different blower motor controllers, by configuring the controller with the motor related parameters specific to the particular blower motor controller that is installed).
Claim.13 Butler discloses wherein the motor is at least one of a furnace induction motor, a furnace blower motor, an air handler blower motor, an alternating current (AC) motor, a synchronous motor, a reluctance motor, a direct current (DC) motor, and a compressor motor (see at least fig.3, p41, the controller may further be configured to communicate via the communication means to other controllers in the environmental control system, such as a Unitary Controller 370 for an Air Conditioning system 380. The controller 370 may provide control signals or information to a compressor 380 or fan motor 384 for the Air Conditioning system).
Claim.14 Butler discloses wherein the operating parameter of the motor comprises an operating voltage, an operating phase, an operating current, an operating frequency, an armature voltage, a rotor speed, an output efficiency, an electrical time constant, a mechanical time constant, revolutions per minute (RPM), an insulation class, a service factor (SF), and a torque-speed parameter (see at least fig.1-4, p3, an energy efficient heating and cooling system capable of operating at different stages or capacities, to operate at the required level of heating or cooling in an energy efficient manner, p13, a blower motor controller that utilizes coefficients and parameters specific to the particular blower and/or system, which are used in determining a speed for which the installed motor will achieve the requested airflow or CFM, table 1, table 2).
Claim.16 Butler discloses wherein the identification unit is associated with the electrical device by electrically coupling the identification unit through at least one of placing the identification unit on the electrical device, placing the identification unit within the electrical device, placing the identification unit with an exterior surface of the electrical device and placing the identification unit in a proximity of the electrical device (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, The system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor, p4, a system controller is provided that includes a communication means for transmitting and receiving information from an installed blower motor controller, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor controller from the memory device, and to send said corresponding motor related parameters to the blower motor controller, p16, The various controller embodiments further include a processor that, upon installation and power up of the controller, is configured to receive the input of information that includes parameters associated with the particular system and its installed blower motor, which information is stored in the memory associated with the controller. The processor is further configured to receive information from the blower motor controller identifying the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed motor. From this identifying information, the processor is configured to retrieve from memory the motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor).
Claim.17 Butler discloses further comprising communicating the identification information, by a communication unit associated with the electrical device, to the controller (see at least fig.1-4, p48, determine an appropriate system configuration for a given combination of input signals received at the input connector 306 from the memory device 304. Although the embodiment of FIG. 3 may employ an input means and/or a wired communication means 306, it should be understood that one or more wireless inputs and/or wireless outputs (i.e., without connectors) can be used in a given application of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, the heating and cooling system controller 300, a blower motor controller 350( for controlling an electric motor 360 and a blower), and a thermostat 390. The controller 300 may further comprise an interface connector (not shown) that includes sixteen input pins for receiving input signals to the system controller 300 via a sixteen wire communication cable (not shown). The types of signals provided at the pins of the input connector 304 in this particular HVAC system are indicated in Table 2).
Claim.18 Butler discloses a system for identifying electrical devices (see at least abstract, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor ), the system comprising: an identification unit associated with a first electrical device and a second electrical device, wherein the first electrical device is a first motor, and the second electrical device is a second motor, and wherein the identification unit is (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, The system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor, p4, a system controller is provided that includes a communication means for transmitting and receiving information from an installed blower motor controller, the system controller further includes a processor configured to receive via the communication means the communication of identifying information from the blower motor controller that identifies the type of blower motor installed in the system. The processor is configured to retrieve motor related parameters corresponding to the specific identified blower motor controller from the memory device, and to send said corresponding motor related parameters to the blower motor controller, p16, The various controller embodiments further include a processor that, upon installation and power up of the controller, is configured to receive the input of information that includes parameters associated with the particular system and its installed blower motor, which information is stored in the memory associated with the controller. The processor is further configured to receive information from the blower motor controller identifying the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed motor. From this identifying information, the processor is configured to retrieve from memory the motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor) configured to generate (i) first identification information representing at least one electrical parameter of the first motor (see at least fig.3, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system. The specific information is preferably stored on the memory module 310 ), and (ii) second identification information representing at least one electrical parameter of the second motor (see at least fig.3, p41, the controller 370 may provide control signals or information to a compressor 380 or fan motor 384 for the Air Conditioning system. Accordingly, the system controller 300 may further be configured to communicate to a Unitary Air Conditioning Unit controller 370 for controlling one or motors of an Air Conditioning system); a first communication device associated with the first motor, the first communication device configured to communicate the first identification information from the first motor; a second communication device associated with the second motor, the second communication device configured to communicate the second identification information from the second motor; and a motor controller, electrically coupled to the first motor and the second motor, the motor controller (see at least fig.1-4, p21, a controller 100 further includes a processor 108, which can be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor (DSP) or any other suitable processing device. Upon application of electrical power to the controller 100, the processor 108 is configured to receive via the input interface 104 an input of information that includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 160 that may be installed for the particular system, p22, the processor 108 is configured to retrieve from memory 102 motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor 160, and to send the specific parameters to the blower motor controller 150, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system);configured to: determine a first device type of the first motor and the second motor, the motor controller configured to: determine a first device type of the first motor based on processing the first identification information from the first identification unit; determine a first operating parameter for the first motor based, at least in part, on the first device type; determine a second device type of the second motor based on processing the second identification information from the second identification unit; and determine a second operating parameter for the second motor based, at least in part, on the second device type (see at least fig.1-4, p21, a controller 100 further includes a processor 108, which can be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, a digital signal processor (DSP) or any other suitable processing device. Upon application of electrical power to the controller 100, the processor 108 is configured to receive via the input interface 104 an input of information that includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 160 that may be installed for the particular system, p22, the processor 108 is configured to retrieve from memory 102 motor related parameters that are specific to the identified blower motor 160, and to send the specific parameters to the blower motor controller 150, p39, a controller 300 further includes a processor 308 that, upon application of electrical power to the controller 310, is configured to retrieve the stored information from the memory module 310, which information includes parameters associated with a variety of blower motors 360 that may be installed for the particular system. This information may include various parameters associated with each type of particular motor that the manufacturer has selected or identified as a motor that may be installed for the particular size and type of system, p43, the system control 300 has a processor 308 that stores the specific values and parameters into its memory 302, such that the information and/or parameters relating to the particular blower motor that is installed can be retrieved for controlling operation of the identified blower motor. The processor 308 could then receive information from the blower motor controller 350 via the communication means 306, which identifies the manufacturer identification and/or horsepower of the installed blower motor 360).
Claim.19 Butler discloses wherein the first motor is at least one of a furnace induction motor, a furnace blower motor, an air handler blower motor, an alternating current (AC) motor, a synchronous motor, a reluctance motor, a direct current (DC) motor, or a compressor motor (see at least fig.3, p41, the controller may further be configured to communicate via the communication means to other controllers in the environmental control system, such as a Unitary Controller 370 for an Air Conditioning system 380. The controller 370 may provide control signals or information to a compressor 380 or fan motor 384 for the Air Conditioning system).
Claim.20 Butler discloses wherein the first operating parameter of the first motor comprises an operating voltage, an operating phase, an operating current, an operating frequency, an armature voltage, a rotor speed, an output efficiency, an electrical time constant, a mechanical time constant, revolutions per minute (RPM), an insulation class, a service factor (SF), or a torque-speed parameter (see at least fig.1-4, p3, an energy efficient heating and cooling system capable of operating at different stages or capacities, to operate at the required level of heating or cooling in an energy efficient manner, p13, a blower motor controller that utilizes coefficients and parameters specific to the particular blower and/or system, which are used in determining a speed for which the installed motor will achieve the requested airflow or CFM, table 1, table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butler (US20090261767A1) as applied to claims 1, and 11 above, and further in view of Macdonald (US20140331751A1).
Claim.5 Butler does not disclose wherein the identification unit comprises at least one resistor which is connected in series with a second resistor forming a voltage divider circuit, wherein the identification information is a divided voltage from the voltage divider circuit.
However, Macdonald discloses wherein the identification unit comprises at least one resistor which is connected in series with a second resistor forming a voltage divider circuit, wherein the identification information is a divided voltage from the voltage divider circuit (see at least fig.2-6, p71, the sensor 4A has been provided with a dedicated added impedance 42, e.g. a resistor 42 of known value and with appropriate variance. In this case an impedance (DC resistance) has been added in series with one of the legs of a thermo-couple sensor, p73, impedance could be added in series with the signal because the electronics for the primary function will itself have a high input impedance and draw relatively very little current from the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Butler to include wherein the identification unit comprises at least one resistor which is connected in series with a second resistor forming a voltage divider circuit, wherein the identification information is a divided voltage from the voltage divider circuit by Macdonald in order to receive operational variable measurements output from the sensors (Macdonald’s abstract).
Claim.10 Butler discloses wherein the electrical device further comprising a communications unit comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag for communicating the identification information to the controller.
However, Macdonald discloses wherein the electrical device further comprising a communications unit comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag for communicating the identification information to the controller (see at least fig.2-6, p8, Every component in such a system would require a unique RFID tag in order to be able to identify a change. Furthermore, components in some assets, such as gas turbine engines, are required to operate in harsh environments, p44, the local network 6 for the asset 2 may comprise a so-called harness, thereby providing such wired connections. Additionally or alternatively a suitable connection may be achieved using wireless communication technology, such as Wi-Fi.RTM., Bluetooth.RTM., or similar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Butler to include wherein the electrical device further comprising a communications unit comprising a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag for communicating the identification information to the controller by Macdonald in order to receive operational variable measurements output from the sensors (Macdonald’s abstract).
Claim.15 Butler discloses wherein the identification unit comprises at least one resistor which is connected in series with a second resistor forming a voltage divider circuit, wherein the identification information is a divided voltage from the voltage divider circuit.
However, Macdonald discloses wherein the identification unit comprises at least one resistor which is connected in series with a second resistor forming a voltage divider circuit, wherein the identification information is a divided voltage from the voltage divider circuit (see at least fig.2-6, p68, The sensor swap detection hardware comprises a controller 32, a switching arrangement 36 and a variable frequency AC power source 34, which can supply power via suitable resistor 35. The power source 34 is connected to the sensor by switches 36 and resistor 35 to allow selective switching between the primary EMU function and the sensor swap detection function. Such an arrangement allows for selective application of an AC signal to the sensor 4A via existing wiring 30 of the sensor harness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the instant application to modify Butler to include wherein the identification unit comprises at least one resistor which is connected in series with a second resistor forming a voltage divider circuit, wherein the identification information is a divided voltage from the voltage divider circuit by Macdonald in order to receive operational variable measurements output from the sensors (Macdonald’s abstract).
Conclusion
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664