DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on October 24, 2024 for application number 18/925,597. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on {November 05, 2024}, {May 16, 2025} and {June 09, 2025} were submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Parent Applications No. CN202211551878.5, CN202211548000.6, CN202211551851.6, CN202211551787.1, CN202211551411.0 and CN202223248551.9 filed on December 05, 2022.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 8-9 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“Control Device” in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (Raksincharoensak – US 7,668,635 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Raksincharoensak discloses:
A vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1), comprising:
a traveling assembly comprising a plurality of traveling wheels (front wheel tires 13 and 14: Fig. 1);
a steering wheel (steering wheel 2: Fig. 1) configured to control the vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1) to steer;
a traveling motor (front wheel steering motor 4: Fig. 1) for driving the vehicle-type driving device to steer at a target angular velocity, wherein a ratio of the target angular velocity to a change in a steering angle of the steering wheel (steering wheel 2: Fig. 1) is defined as a steering ratio; and
a control device (front wheel active steering controller 9: Fig. 1) configured to:
when a traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is within a preset range, set the steering ratio according to a steering ratio curve function (FIG. 4 shows the steering angle ratio of the front wheel actual steering angle and the steering wheel angle for the varied vehicle velocity computed in the front wheel active steering controller 9. Further on, the steering ratio function is a non-linear curve function);
wherein variables of the steering ratio curve function (steering ratio non-linear curve function) comprise the steering angle of the steering wheel (steering wheel 2: Fig. 1) and the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Raksincharoensak discloses:
A vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1), comprising:
a traveling assembly comprising a plurality of traveling wheels (front wheel tires 13 and 14: Fig. 1);
a steering wheel (steering wheel 2: Fig. 1) configured to control the vehicle-type driving device to steer;
a traveling motor (front wheel steering motor 4: Fig. 1) for driving the vehicle-type driving device to steer at a target angular velocity, wherein a ratio of the target angular velocity to a change in a steering angle of the steering wheel is defined as a steering ratio; and
a control device (front wheel active steering controller 9: Fig. 1) configured to:
when a traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is within a preset range, set the steering ratio according to a steering ratio curve function (FIG. 4 shows the steering angle ratio of the front wheel actual steering angle and the steering wheel angle for the varied vehicle velocity computed in the front wheel active steering controller 9. Further on, the steering ratio function is a non-linear curve function);
wherein a variable of the steering ratio curve function (steering ratio non-linear curve function) comprises the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Raksincharoensak discloses:
A vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1), comprising:
a traveling assembly comprising a plurality of traveling wheels (front wheel tires 13 and 14: Fig. 1);
a steering wheel (steering wheel 2: Fig. 1) configured to control the vehicle-type driving device to steer;
a traveling motor (front wheel steering motor 4: Fig. 1) for driving the vehicle-type driving device to steer at a target angular velocity, wherein a ratio of the target angular velocity to a change in a steering angle of the steering wheel is defined as a steering ratio; and
a control device (front wheel active steering controller 9: Fig. 1) configured to:
when a traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is within a preset range, set the steering ratio according to a plurality of steering ratio curve functions (FIG. 4 shows the steering angle ratio of the front wheel actual steering angle and the steering wheel angle for the varied vehicle velocity computed in the front wheel active steering controller 9. Further on, the steering ratio function is a non-linear curve function);
wherein a variable of at least one of the plurality of steering ratio curve functions comprises the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device (Steering Device for vehicle 100: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 1, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein the steering ratio curve function comprises a low-speed steering ratio curve function and a high-speed steering ratio curve function, the preset range comprises a low-speed driving threshold and a high-speed driving threshold, when the traveling speed is less than the low-speed driving threshold, a low-speed steering ratio is set according to the low-speed steering ratio curve function, and, when the traveling speed is greater than the high-speed driving threshold, a high-speed steering ratio of a traveling wheel of the plurality of traveling wheels is set according to the high-speed steering ratio curve function (Please see Fig.4 below showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 3, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 2, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein the plurality of traveling wheels comprise a left traveling wheel and a right traveling wheel, the low-speed steering ratio curve function comprises a left-wheel low-speed steering ratio curve function and a right-wheel low-speed steering ratio curve function, when a traveling speed of the left traveling wheel is less than the low-speed driving threshold, a low-speed steering ratio of the left traveling wheel is set according to the left-wheel low-speed steering ratio curve function, and, when a traveling speed of the right traveling wheel is less than the low-speed driving threshold, a low-speed steering ratio of the right traveling wheel is set according to the right-wheel low-speed steering ratio curve function (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 4, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 2, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein the plurality of traveling wheels comprise a left traveling wheel and a right traveling wheel, the high-speed steering ratio curve function comprises a left-wheel high-speed steering ratio curve function and a right-wheel high-speed steering ratio curve function, when a traveling speed of the left traveling wheel is greater than the high-speed driving threshold, a high-speed steering ratio of the left traveling wheel is set according to the left-wheel high-speed steering ratio curve function, and, when a traveling speed of the right traveling wheel is greater than the high-speed driving threshold, a high-speed steering ratio of the right traveling wheel is set according to the right-wheel high-speed steering ratio curve function (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 5, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 2, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein a maximum traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is greater than or equal to 11 km/h and less than or equal to 14 km/h, and the low-speed driving threshold is 20% of the maximum traveling speed (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 6, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 2, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein a maximum traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is greater than or equal to 11 km/h and less than or equal to 14 km/h, and the high-speed driving threshold is 90% of the maximum traveling speed (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 7, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 2, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein, when the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is between the low-speed driving threshold and the high-speed driving threshold, the low-speed steering ratio in the low-speed steering ratio curve function and the high-speed steering ratio in the high-speed steering ratio curve function are determined according to the steering angle of the steering wheel, and the steering ratio curve function at the traveling speed is determined according to the low-speed steering ratio and the high-speed steering ratio (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 10, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 7, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein the steering ratio is set according to the steering ratio curve function corresponding to when the traveling speed is between the low-speed driving threshold and the high-speed driving threshold, the target angular velocity is determined according to the steering ratio and the change in the steering angle of the steering wheel, and the traveling speed is determined according to the target angular velocity (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 11, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 1, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
a speed setting device for setting the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device, wherein the traveling speed set by the speed setting device is defined as an input speed, the traveling motor drives the vehicle-type driving device to travel at a target speed, a ratio of the target speed to the input speed is defined as a conversion ratio, and the control device is configured to be capable of setting the conversion ratio according to the steering angle of the steering wheel (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 12, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 11, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein during a steering process of the vehicle-type driving device, in a case where the steering angle of the steering wheel is within a preset range, when the steering wheel has a first steering angle, the control device sets the conversion ratio to a first steering conversion ratio, when the steering wheel has a second steering angle, the control device sets the conversion ratio to a second steering conversion ratio, and the second steering conversion ratio is different from the first steering conversion ratio (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 18, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 17, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein the plurality of steering ratio curve functions comprise a low-speed steering ratio curve function and a high-speed steering ratio curve function, the preset range comprises a low-speed driving threshold and a high-speed driving threshold, when the traveling speed is less than the low-speed driving threshold, a low-speed steering ratio is set according to the low-speed steering ratio curve function, and, when the traveling speed is greater than the high-speed driving threshold, a high-speed steering ratio of a traveling wheel of the plurality of traveling wheels is set according to the high-speed steering ratio curve function (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 19, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 18, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein, when the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is between the low-speed driving threshold and the high-speed driving threshold, the low-speed steering ratio in the low-speed steering ratio curve function and the high-speed steering ratio in the high-speed steering ratio curve function are determined according to the steering angle of the steering wheel, and a steering ratio curve function at the traveling speed is determined according to the low-speed steering ratio and the high-speed steering ratio (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Regarding claim 20, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 17, and further on Raksincharoensak also discloses:
wherein when the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device is within the preset range, the variable of a steering ratio curve function of the plurality of steering ratio curve functions comprises a steering ratio coefficient of the steering wheel depending on the traveling speed of the vehicle-type driving device, and a value of the steering ratio coefficient of the steering wheel is greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 1 (Please see Fig.4 above showing a non-linear curve function for the steering ratio in function of the vehicle velocity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Raksincharoensak – US 7,668,635 B2), in view of (Ishii – US 8,657,041 B2).
Regarding claims 13-14, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 1.
But Raksincharoensak does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) a cutting motor, a first energy storage device, and a detection device, wherein the cutting motor is configured to drive a cutting assembly to work, the first energy storage device is configured to supply power to the traveling motor and the cutting motor and has a low power state, the detection device is configured to detect whether the first energy storage device is in the low power state, and the control device is configured to control output states of the traveling motor and the cutting motor; wherein, when the first energy storage device is in the low power state, the control device reduces torque of the traveling motor and reduces maximum rotational acceleration of the traveling motor.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, Ishii discloses/teaches the following:
As shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the riding lawnmower 10 is a self-propelled off-road vehicle suited to lawn mowing in which components such as left and right wheels 40 and 42 as main drive wheels, left and right caster wheels 44 and 46 as steering control wheels, a mower deck 20 {{{provided with a lawnmower blade as a lawnmower rotary tool}}}, and a seat 14 on which an operator sits and performs steering for lawn mowing work are attached to the main frame 12.
The main frame 12 forms the skeleton of the riding lawnmower 10, and is configured as a component having a substantially rectangular plane shape on which components can be mounted. On the main frame 12, the left and right caster wheels 44 and 46 are attached in a moveable condition at the bottom surface side of the front end thereof, the seat 14 is provided on the upper surface side in a substantially center part, and the left and right wheels 40 and 42 are attached in a moveable condition at the bottom side in a position between the seat 14 and the rear end. The mower deck 20 is disposed between the left and right caster wheels 44 and 46 and the left and right wheels 40 and 42 on the bottom surface side of the main frame 12. That is, the main frame 12 is also a skeleton member having a function of configuring the riding lawnmower 10 as an apparatus in which the rear wheels are the main driving wheels and the steering control wheels are the caster wheels that are disposed to the front of the mower deck. For the main frame 12, a metallic material having a suitable strength, such as steel, is used, and a member formed in a beam structure or the like can be used.
This type of riding lawnmower is used to cut lawn grass to a predetermined length while a person rides on and drives the riding lawnmower. When turning, by changing the rotational speeds of traction power sources, such as two electric motors provided on both the left and right side of the vehicle, turning is executed such that the wheel corresponding to the traction power source on the side on which the rotational speed is made higher is positioned on the outside. Furthermore, the caster wheel enables free steering in which the direction thereof can freely change, and the direction thereof changes to the turning direction that is determined in accordance with the speed difference between the main drive wheels.
For example, when a lever is tilted forward the wheel is caused to rotate to the forward travel side. In this case, as the lever is tilted more forward, the number of revolutions per unit time of the wheel increases and the forward travel speed increases. In contrast, when the lever is tilted backward the wheel is caused to rotate to the reverse travel side. In this case, as the lever is tilted more backward, the number of revolutions per unit of the wheel increases and the reverse travel speed increases. When the lever is in an intermediate position, the rotational speed (number of revolutions per unit time) of the wheel is zero. This state is a so-called "neutral state" in which the vehicle is in a stopped state. Thus, the two lever-type operator 70 has a function that can independently regulate the respective rotational speed of the left and right electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52 by operation of the two levers. In this connection, as described below, when also controlling the operations of the steering control wheel electric rotary machines 54 and 56 in combination with the operations of the electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52, the two lever-type operator 70 has a function that, by operation of the two levers, can independently regulate the respective rotational speeds of the left and right electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52, and regulate the rotational speeds of the steering control wheel electric rotary machines 54 and 56 in accordance with the rotational speeds of the electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the steering control system of Raksincharoensak as taught by Ishii because this is a simple substitution of one known element (e.g., a mower) for another to obtain predictable results, to executing suitable control between the rotational speeds of the rear wheels and the rotational speeds of the front wheels when turning.
Regarding claim 15, Raksincharoensak disclose the vehicle-type driving device according to claim 1.
But Raksincharoensak does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) a cutting motor configured to drive a cutting assembly to work, and a detection device for detecting a first operating parameter and a second operating parameter of the cutting motor, wherein, when the first operating parameter is within a first threshold range, the second operating parameter is within a second threshold range, and a duration that the first operating parameter is within the first threshold range and the second operating parameter is within the second threshold range is a first preset time, the control device controls the cutting motor to stop or slow down, the second operating parameter is different from the first operating parameter, and the second operating parameter comprises at least a rotational speed of the cutting motor.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, Ishii discloses/teaches the following:
As shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the riding lawnmower 10 is a self-propelled off-road vehicle suited to lawn mowing in which components such as left and right wheels 40 and 42 as main drive wheels, left and right caster wheels 44 and 46 as steering control wheels, a mower deck 20 {{{provided with a lawnmower blade as a lawnmower rotary tool}}}, and a seat 14 on which an operator sits and performs steering for lawn mowing work are attached to the main frame 12.
The main frame 12 forms the skeleton of the riding lawnmower 10, and is configured as a component having a substantially rectangular plane shape on which components can be mounted. On the main frame 12, the left and right caster wheels 44 and 46 are attached in a moveable condition at the bottom surface side of the front end thereof, the seat 14 is provided on the upper surface side in a substantially center part, and the left and right wheels 40 and 42 are attached in a moveable condition at the bottom side in a position between the seat 14 and the rear end. The mower deck 20 is disposed between the left and right caster wheels 44 and 46 and the left and right wheels 40 and 42 on the bottom surface side of the main frame 12. That is, the main frame 12 is also a skeleton member having a function of configuring the riding lawnmower 10 as an apparatus in which the rear wheels are the main driving wheels and the steering control wheels are the caster wheels that are disposed to the front of the mower deck. For the main frame 12, a metallic material having a suitable strength, such as steel, is used, and a member formed in a beam structure or the like can be used.
This type of riding lawnmower is used to cut lawn grass to a predetermined length while a person rides on and drives the riding lawnmower. When turning, by changing the rotational speeds of traction power sources, such as two electric motors provided on both the left and right side of the vehicle, turning is executed such that the wheel corresponding to the traction power source on the side on which the rotational speed is made higher is positioned on the outside. Furthermore, the caster wheel enables free steering in which the direction thereof can freely change, and the direction thereof changes to the turning direction that is determined in accordance with the speed difference between the main drive wheels.
For example, when a lever is tilted forward the wheel is caused to rotate to the forward travel side. In this case, as the lever is tilted more forward, the number of revolutions per unit time of the wheel increases and the forward travel speed increases. In contrast, when the lever is tilted backward the wheel is caused to rotate to the reverse travel side. In this case, as the lever is tilted more backward, the number of revolutions per unit of the wheel increases and the reverse travel speed increases. When the lever is in an intermediate position, the rotational speed (number of revolutions per unit time) of the wheel is zero. This state is a so-called "neutral state" in which the vehicle is in a stopped state. Thus, the two lever-type operator 70 has a function that can independently regulate the respective rotational speed of the left and right electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52 by operation of the two levers. In this connection, as described below, when also controlling the operations of the steering control wheel electric rotary machines 54 and 56 in combination with the operations of the electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52, the two lever-type operator 70 has a function that, by operation of the two levers, can independently regulate the respective rotational speeds of the left and right electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52, and regulate the rotational speeds of the steering control wheel electric rotary machines 54 and 56 in accordance with the rotational speeds of the electric-motor axle rotating machines 50 and 52.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the steering control system of Raksincharoensak as taught by Ishii because this is a simple substitution of one known element (e.g., a mower) for another to obtain predictable results, to executing suitable control between the rotational speeds of the rear wheels and the rotational speeds of the front wheels when turning.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0063581 A1 - Rehn ==> Figure 6
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747