DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on May 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected composition and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2015/0152540) in view of Hamaya et al. (US 2014/0057078).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a plasma processing apparatus component with high corrosion resistance comprising a base material, an underlayer and a yttrium oxide film, see abstract and [0020]. The underlayer, which corresponds to the claimed lower layer, comprises yttrium oxide, has a thickness of 40 to 300 microns and a density of 85 to 95% [0039-0042]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges. Note that a density of 95% corresponds to a porosity of 5%.
The reference fails to disclose the yttrium oxide coating as a yttrium fluoride coating.
Regarding claim 1, Hamaya discloses a rare earth element oxyfluoride sprayed article comprising a substrate with a sprayed coating [0014]. Additionally, the reference discloses the rare earth element as yttrium [0017]. The spray material can be prepared by mixing rare earth element oxide and rare earth element fluoride [0023]. The sprayed coating typically has a thickness of 50 to 500 microns [0027]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the yttrium oxide coating of Sato to comprises the yttrium oxyfluoride of Hamaya in order to provide a higher corrosion resistance, see Hamaya [0009]
While Hamaya does not disclose the claimed porosity, given the similar composition and bulk density, it is expected the claimed and disclosed coatings with have a similar porosity, see above discussion, Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya abstract; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 2, Hamaya discloses the coating contains yttrium fluoride and yttrium oxyfluoride, see abstract and [0018 & 0023]. The sprayed coating typically has a thickness of 50 to 500 microns and an oxygen content of 3 to 15% by weight [0014 and 0027]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed hardness, given the similar composition and method of making the coating, it is expected that the claimed and disclosed coatings will have similar properties regarding hardness, see Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya Table I; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 3, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed amount of cracking, it is expected the disclosed and claimed coatings will have a similar amount of cracking given the similar composition and method of making the coatings, see above discussion, Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya Table I; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 4, while the reference does not disclose the claimed porosity, given the similar composition and bulk density, it is expected the claimed and disclosed coatings with have a similar porosity, see above discussion, Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya abstract; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses the coating contains yttrium fluoride and yttrium oxyfluoride, see abstract and [0018 & 0023].
Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses the coating contains yttrium fluoride and yttrium oxyfluoride, see abstract and [0018 & 0023]. The sprayed coating typically has a thickness of 50 to 500 microns and an oxygen content of 3 to 15% by weight [0014 and 0027]; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, the reference discloses the sprayed coating has a carbon content of not more than 0.1% by weight [0014]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
While the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed hardness, given the similar composition and method of making the coating, it is expected that the claimed and disclosed coatings will have similar properties regarding hardness, see Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya Table I; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 8, while the reference does not specifically disclose the claimed amount of cracking, it is expected the disclosed and claimed coatings will have a similar amount of cracking given the similar composition and method of making the coatings, see above discussion, Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya Table I; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 9, while the reference does not disclose the claimed porosity, given the similar composition and bulk density, it is expected the claimed and disclosed coatings with have a similar porosity, see above discussion, Applicant’s Specification Table I & Hamaya abstract; see also MPEP 2112.01 I & II.
Regarding claim 10, the reference discloses the coating contains yttrium fluoride and yttrium oxyfluoride, see abstract and [0018 & 0023].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,307 in view of Sato et al. (US 2015/0152540). U.S. Patent 12,152,307 in view of Sato discloses the claimed corrosion resistant multilayer structure with the claimed composition and properties, see above discussion and claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent 12,152,307.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783