DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to the application filed on 10/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230063010 A1 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a first vehicle; a second vehicle comprising one or more controllable elements (see at least Fig. 3); and
one or more processing circuits configured to: acquire, from the first vehicle, input data corresponding to the second vehicle (see at least [0007] and [0146]);
generate, based on the input data, control signals for the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle (see at least [0012]); and
provide the control signals to the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle to operate the one or more controllable elements according to the input data (see at least [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the one or more processing circuits; and a telematics unit configured to provide the control signals to the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle (see at least [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches a portable user device associated with the first vehicle, the portable user device configured to: generate the input data based on a user input; and provide the input data to the first vehicle (see at least [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the portable user device is configured to wirelessly connect to the first vehicle to provide the input data to the first vehicle (see at least [0145]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the input data corresponds to a location of the first vehicle; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to generate the control signals to cause the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle to transport the second vehicle to a position proximate the location of the first vehicle (see at least [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the input data corresponds to a path taken by the first vehicle; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to generate the control signals to cause the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle to transport the second vehicle along the path (see at least [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230063010 A1 (“Zhang”) in view of US 20210327170 A1 (“Rocholl”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses a first vehicle and a second vehicle (see at least Fig.3)
Zhang is not explicit on a first refuse vehicle comprising: a first chassis; and a first body coupled to the first chassis, the first body defining a first refuse compartment configured to store refuse therein; however
Rocholl discloses a first refuse vehicle comprising: a first chassis; and a first body coupled to the first chassis, the first body defining a first refuse compartment configured to store refuse therein (see at least Fig. 2A).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the first vehicle further comprises an input device configured to generate the input data based on a user input from an operator of the first vehicle (see at least [0007])
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the first vehicle further comprises a cab coupled to the first chassis, the input device positioned within the cab (see at least [0146]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang is not explicit on the first refuse compartment is configured to store a first type of refuse and the second refuse compartment is configured to store a second type of refuse different from the first type of refuse, however
Rocholl discloses the first refuse compartment is configured to store a first type of refuse and the second refuse compartment is configured to store a second type of refuse different from the first type of refuse (see at least Fig. 2D and [0042])
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang is not explicit on the one or more processing circuits are configured to assign the second vehicle to the first vehicle based the second vehicle being configured to collect and store a type of refuse, however,
Rocholl discloses the one or more processing circuits are configured to assign the second vehicle to the first vehicle based the second vehicle being configured to collect and store a type of refuse (see at least [0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses acquiring, from a first vehicle, input data corresponding to a second vehicle (see at least [0011]);
generating, based on the input data, control signals for one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle (see at least [0012]); and
providing the control signals to the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle to operate the one or more controllable elements according to the input data (see at least [0013]).
Zhang is not explicit on the first and second vehicles being a refuse vehicle, however
Rocholl discloses a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis, a body assembly coupled to the chassis, the body assembly defining a refuse compartment, (see at least Fig. 2D and [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses acquiring from, the second vehicle, a parameter corresponding to the second vehicle (see at least [0011]);
determining, based on the parameter, to assign the second vehicle to a third vehicle; acquiring, from the third vehicle, updated input data corresponding to the second vehicle (see at least [0012]);
generating, based on the updated input data, updated control signals for the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle (see at least [0012]); and
providing the updated control signals to the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle to operate the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle according to the updated input data (see at least [0013]).
Zhang is not explicit on the first and second vehicles being a refuse vehicle, however
Rocholl discloses a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis, a body assembly coupled to the chassis, the body assembly defining a refuse compartment, (see at least Fig. 2D and [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang is not explicit on the parameter is a type of refuse associated with the second refuse vehicle, however,
Rocholl discloses the parameter is a type of refuse associated with the second refuse vehicle (see at least [0013]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the input data corresponds to a location of the first vehicle; and the control signals cause the one or more controllable elements of the second vehicle to transport the second refuse vehicle towards the first refuse vehicle (see at least [0012]).
Zhang is not explicit on the first and second vehicles being a refuse vehicle, however
Rocholl discloses a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis, a body assembly coupled to the chassis, the body assembly defining a refuse compartment, (see at least Fig. 2D and [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang is not explicit on the input data corresponds to a refuse container; and the control signals cause the one or more controllable elements of the second refuse vehicle to engage the refuse container and transfer refuse from the refuse container into a refuse compartment of the second refuse vehicle, however
Rocholl discloses the input data corresponds to a refuse container; and the control signals cause the one or more controllable elements of the second refuse vehicle to engage the refuse container and transfer refuse from the refuse container into a refuse compartment of the second refuse vehicle (see at least [0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses a leader vehicle comprising a telematics unit; a follower vehicle comprising one or more controllable elements (see at least [0007]);
a user device communicably coupled to the telematics unit, the user device configured to generate input data corresponding to the follower vehicle; and one or more processing circuits (see at least [0010])
acquire, from the telematics unit of the leader vehicle, the input data corresponding to the follower vehicle (see at least [0011]);
generate, based on the input data, control signals for the one or more controllable elements of the follower vehicle (see at least [0011]); and
provide the control signals to the one or more controllable elements of the follower vehicle to operate the one or more controllable elements according to the input data (see at least [0012]).
Zhang is not explicit on the first and second vehicles being a refuse vehicle, however
Rocholl discloses a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis, a body assembly coupled to the chassis, the body assembly defining a refuse compartment, (see at least Fig. 2D and [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang is not explicit on the leader refuse vehicle further comprises: a chassis; and a cab coupled to the chassis, the user device positioned within the cab; and the follower refuse vehicle is a cabless refuse vehicle, however,
Rocholl discloses the leader refuse vehicle further comprises: a chassis; and a cab coupled to the chassis, the user device positioned within the cab; and the follower refuse vehicle is a cabless refuse vehicle (see at least Fig. 2D and [0042]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses the user device is a portable user device configured to wirelessly connect to the telematics unit to provide the input data to the telematics unit (see at least [0145]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang is not explicit on the refuse vehicle further comprises: a chassis; and a body coupled to the chassis, the body defining a refuse compartment configured to store refuse therein; the input data corresponds to a refuse container; and the control signals cause the one or more controllable elements of the follower refuse vehicle to engage the refuse container and transfer refuse from the refuse container into the refuse compartment of the follower refuse vehicle, however,
Rocholl discloses the refuse vehicle further comprises: a chassis; and a body coupled to the chassis, the body defining a refuse compartment configured to store refuse therein; the input data corresponds to a refuse container; and the control signals cause the one or more controllable elements of the refuse vehicle to engage the refuse container and transfer refuse from the refuse container into the refuse compartment of the refuse vehicle (see at least Fig. 2D and [0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the system disclosed by Zhang with the refuse vehicle disclosed by Rocholl in order to collect a wide variety of waste, trash, and other material from residences and businesses (Rocholl, [0002]).
Conclusion
/MATHEW FRANKLIN GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665