Contents of this rejection:
35 U.S.C. 101 interpretation explanation
Prior Art rejections
References cited but not relied upon
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 101
The present claims are compliant with 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the last limitation of the independent claims takes the result of the identification step and transmits a signal to the control system of the actual refuse collection vehicle to adjust operating parameters, where the dependent claims define these operating parameters as physical actuations such as braking, steering, and using a refuse container grabber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lacaze US20210024068).
Regarding claim 1, Lacaze discloses a system for controlling an operation of a refuse collection vehicle (Abstract discloses that the invention being presented here automates the functions of the driver of the garbage truck. It involves a waste collection truck designed to follow routes to collect waste using a human to pick up the bins with refuse or other material comprising a truck that includes a drive-by-wire kit, a database storing the collection routes, a mechanism for detecting the position of the human which collects the waste bins and empties them on the back of the truck and a control mechanism that follows the assigned route and speeds or slows down the truck as to minimize the distance that the human will need to walk to empty the trash in the back of the waste collection truck. In addition, robots will replace the human workers who empty the bins), the system comprising:
at least one first sensor coupled to the refuse collection vehicle and configured to detect objects on one or more sides of the refuse collection vehicle during an approach (P54 discloses the sensor detects the location of the workers (203) and their progress in the work being performed such as when they are near the refuse bins (202). The sensors also detect the refuse bins as well as driving obstacles);
at least one second sensor configured to detect a position of the refuse collection vehicle during the approach (P52 discloses the autonomous driver is aware of the sensors (100) and the collection routes and this leads to the human detection of the waste); and
one or more processors configured to:
receive an object data from the at least one first sensor (See limitations above);
receive a positional data from the at least one second sensor (See limitations above);
identify a refuse container based at least on the object data and the positional data; and
responsive to identifying the refuse container based at least on the object data, transmit a first instruction to a control system of the refuse collection vehicle to adjust at least one operating parameter of the refuse collection vehicle during the approach (P36 teaches EO camera stands for electro-optical sensor and they are electronic detectors that convert light, or a change in the light, into an electronic signal. They are used in many industrial and consumer applications such as lamps that turn on automatically in response to darkness, position sensors that activate when an object interrupts a light beam, flash detection to synchronize one photography flash to another, and photoelectric sensors that can detect the distance, absence, or presence of an object. See further P42. P48 discloses this waste collection truck system, the humans collecting the bins are replaced with robotic systems. These robotic systems un-dock from the autonomous waste collections truck, search for the refuse bins, grab the bins, transport them to the truck, empty the bins, return the bin to the original location which could possibly be the original pose, and finally returns to the truck and docks).
Regarding claim 2, Lacaze further discloses wherein the at least one first sensors is at least one of a visible light camera, and infrared camera, a LiDAR sensor, a radar sensor, and a time-of-flight camera (P34 discloses LADAR refers to Light Detection and Ranging and it is also referred to as LIDAR. It is a surveying method that measures distance to a target by illuminating the target with pulsed laser light and measuring the reflected pulsed with a sensor. The differences in laser return times and wavelengths are used to make 3-D representations of the target that is desired to examine).
Regarding claim 3, Lacaze further discloses wherein the at least one operating parameter is one of a braking amount, a steering angle, an acceleration amount, a gear engagement, a suspension stiffness, and a refuse container grabber actuation (P48 discloses these robotic systems un-dock from the autonomous waste collections truck, search for the refuse bins, grab the bins, transport them to the truck, empty the bins, return the bin to the original location which could possibly be the original pose, and finally returns to the truck and docks).
Regarding claim 4, Lacaze further discloses:
responsive to identifying the refuse container and transmitting the first instruction to the control system of the refuse collection vehicle to adjust the at least one operating parameter of the refuse collection vehicle during the approach, transmit a second instruction to cause actuation of an engagement assembly to engage the refuse container (As discussed above, the truck has robotic arms that grab the bins);
responsive to receiving an indication of an engagement of the refuse container with the engagement assembly, update a database based at least on the positional data and the indication of the engagement of the refuse container with the engagement assembly (P2 discloses that there is a database for the vehicle to follow a route, and as above, part of this route is to pick up and refuse in the bin. This means that to follow the route the database has to account for following the route).
Regarding claims 5-7, the rejections above above discuss LiDAR systems and a grabber.
The rest of the claims are mirror claims and rejected for the same reasons as above.
Prior Art Cited but not Relied Upon
US20250284292A1 which discloses a system can include one or more processing circuits to detect a presence of a refuse can, determine a position of the refuse can with respect to a refuse collection vehicle, generate a trajectory that includes at least one path for the refuse collection vehicle to traverse to align the refuse collection vehicle with the refuse can, and present a user interface.
Conclusion
ARYAN E. WEISENFELD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3689
/ARYAN E WEISENFELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667