DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed on June 17, 2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada (JP 2019-163988 in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Okada discloses a sensor device (laser radar, Fig. 1, abstract, para 0015) comprising: an optical device (20, 62, 30, 41) having a field of view which enlarges as advancing toward one direction from a predetermined position (P1, Fig. 1, para 0020-0024, 0028, 0032, field of view would enlarge as advances away from P1 horizontally); and a housing (13) which comprises a transmission unit (80) crossing an entirety of the field of view (Fig. 1, Fig. 1 shows the transmission unit crossing the reflected light L1, L2 at the outer edges in the vertical direction and because the transmission unit (80, 180) wraps around the sides for the entirety of the field of the view in the horizontal direction, it crosses an entirety of the field of view) and accommodates the optical device (para 0028), wherein the transmission unit includes a first side (top, Fig. 4), and a second side located (bottom, Fig. 4) on an opposite side to the first side, wherein a width of the transmission unit on a side with the second side is narrower than a width of the transmission unit on a side with the first side (Fig. 4 shows the bottom narrower, each flat plate 84 is narrower at the bottom and wider at the top), and wherein the second side of the transmission unit is located closer to the predetermined position in the one direction than the first side of the transmission unit (Fig. 1, the transmission unit 80 is angled so that the bottom or the second side is closer to the predetermined position, P1), wherein at least one of a front surface of the transmission unit and a rear surface of the transmission unit is curved (Fig. 4, para 0030-0036).
Regarding claim 2, Okada discloses wherein the housing includes a frame (13) surrounding the transmission unit, and wherein a portion of the frame stretching along the first side of the transmission unit protrudes toward the one direction more than a portion of the frame stretching along the second side of the transmission unit (Fig. 1 shows area above the first side or the top side of the transmission unit 80 protruding towards the one direction more than the second side or the bottom side).
Regarding claim 3, Okada discloses wherein the transmission unit is a lens (180, Fig. 2, para 0031, laser beam L1 is subjected to lens action by the transmission member 180) in which at least one of a front surface of the transmission unit and a rear surface of the transmission unit is curved (Fig. 2, para 0031, semi-cylindrical shape).
Regarding claim 4, Okada discloses wherein at least a portion of the first side of the transmission unit is curved, and wherein at least a portion of the second side of the transmission unit is curved (Fig. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Bakish (2022/0171026).
Regarding claim 6, Okada discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Okada also discloses wherein the transmission unit further includes a third side (left side) crossing the first side and the second side and a fourth side (right side) located on an opposite side to the third side (Fig. 4). However, Okada does not disclose the shape of a crossing portion of the field of view. Bakishi discloses a LIDAR system having a field of view having shape shown in Fig. 2A which is similar to the shape of the transmission unit (80, 180) of Okada in Fig. 2-4. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide field of the view in the shape of Bakishi to the transmission unit of Okada to that wherein at least a part of the first side is substantially parallel to a first edge of a crossing portion of the field of view and the transmission unit, wherein at least a part of the second side is substantially parallel to a second edge of the crossing portion, the second edge being located on an opposite side to the first edge, wherein at least a part of the third side is substantially parallel to a third edge of the crossing portion, the third edge crossing the first edge and the second edge, and wherein at least a part of the fourth side is substantially parallel to a fourth edge of the crossing portion, the fourth edge being located on an opposite side to the third edge in order to maximize optical efficiency.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada in view of Murotani et al. (Murotani) (JP 2021-4956, translation provided with Office Action, page number refers to the translation).
Regarding claim 7, Okada discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. However, Okada does not disclose how the transmission unit is installed on the housing. However, Okada does not disclose wherein the transmission unit is installed on the housing with a double-sided tape. The examiner takes an official notice that it is well known in the art to use magnets, screws, adhesive such as double-sided tape to install or attach an element of a sensor or an optical device. Murotani discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 and 2, pages 2 and 3) and light transmitting members 211y, 211m, 211c, and 211k attached to the lid member 210 to allow laser light to pass through and attached by adhesive, double-sided tape (page 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a doubles-sided tape to install the transmission unit on the housing as taught by Murotani since it is commonly used and selecting known method using known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that since Okada discloses the transmission unit 80 consisting of multiple flat plates 84, no single plate in Okada crosses the entirety of the field of view. Applicant also argues that since the transmission part of Okada in Fig. 4 is formed of multiple flat plates 84, it cannot be considered a curved surface. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the claim language does not distinguish a transmission unit consisting of multiple flat plates from one consisting of a single curved element. The transmission unit 80 of Okada may consist of multiple flat plates and no single flat plate crosses the entirety of the field of view but the transmission unit 80 as a whole does cross the entirety of the field of view.
Second, Fig. 4 of Okada shows that the transmission unit 80 is curved. Applicant even states in the response that the structure formed is “semi-cylindrical as a whole”, which clearly suggests “curved”. Okada also discloses in para 0036 that the plates 84 can be curved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 August 22, 2026