DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in France on 25 October 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed certified copies of the FR2311593 or FR2311572 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01 April 2025, 08 May 2025, 14 August 2025, and 12 September 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches an optical sensor module comprising: an optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) configured to generate optical radiation directed at a target object (O) (see figures 1 and 2, light emitting part 1 having a light source LS; see figure 46, light source 1210; and ¶108, the output light may refer to a light signal that is output from the light emitting part 1 and incident on the object O, and the input light or the reflected light may refer to a light signal that is output from the light emitting part 1 to reach the object O and reflected from the object O and then input to the TOF camera apparatus); a reference sensor (PD/1230) positioned to receive a portion of the optical radiation (see figure 30, photodetector PD; see figure 46, light receiving element 1230; and ¶136, The light emitted from the light source LS is reflected by the first optical part 120, the first lens holder 130, and the like, and the photodetector PD may receive the above-described reflected light. In addition, the photodetector PD may output an output value indicating a detected amount according to the amount of received light); an optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) positioned to receive reflected optical radiation reflected off the target object (O) (see figure 2, light receiving part 2 having image sensor IS; see figure 46, image sensor 1250; and ¶147, the reflected light passing through the second optical part 310 may be provided to the image sensor IS); an electromagnetic interference shield (400) defining an interior, wherein the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) is positioned within the interior, and wherein the electromagnetic interference shield (400) comprises a top surface defining an aperture positioned such that the optical radiation generated by the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) passes through the aperture (see figure 2, cover 400 disposed over light source LS; see figure 26, first cover hole 410a; ¶157, the cover 400 may block electromagnetic interference (EMI). At this time, the cover 400 may be referred to as an “EMI shield can.”; and ¶291, The first cover part 410 may include a first cover hole 410a positioned on the first base part and overlapping the first optical part. A light signal (output light) passing through the first optical part through the first cover hole 410a may be irradiated to the object); and a housing cap (110/130) comprising: a barrier wall positioned such that the housing cap (110/130) defines a transmission cavity and a receiving cavity, wherein the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) and the reference sensor (PD/1230) are positioned within the transmission cavity, and wherein the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) is positioned within the receiving cavity (see figure 2, housing 110 and lens holder 130 creating apertures through which light passes); and an attenuation wall (1110/1075) positioned between the reference sensor (PD/1230) and the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) (see figure 46, partition wall 1075 disposed between light receiving element 1210 and light receiving element 1230; see ¶432; and ¶436, The cover member 1070 may include a partition wall part 1075).
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, further comprising: a receiver lens (310) positioned within the receiving cavity and above the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) (see figure 2, second optical part 310 (i.e. receiver lens); ¶147, The second optical part 310 may include a plurality of lenses. In addition, the second optical part 310 may be aligned with the image sensor IS thereunder; and see figure 46, lens member 1500).
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, further comprising: a substrate (4), wherein the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210), the reference sensor (PD/1230), the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250), and the electromagnetic interference shield (400) are disposed on the substrate (4) and electrically connected to the substrate (4) (¶158, in the camera apparatus 10 according to the embodiment, the light emitting part 1 and the light receiving part 2 may be disposed on the main substrate 4 (printed circuit board (PCB)). The main substrate 4 may be electrically connected to the light emitting part 1 and the light receiving part 2; and ¶157, The cover 400 may be connected to a ground portion of the main substrate 4).
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic interference shield (400) comprises a metal can (¶157, the cover 400 may block electromagnetic interference (EMI). At this time, the cover 400 may be referred to as an “EMI shield can.”; and ¶156, the cover 400 may be made of a metal).
Regarding claim 13, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the housing cap (110/130) further comprises: a top portion defining a transmission opening positioned over the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) such that the optical radiation generated by the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) passes through the transmission opening to the target object (O) (see figure 2, first optical part 120 disposed in top portion of housing; ¶119, The first optical part 120 may be composed of a lens; and ¶122, The light signal (output light) emitted from the light source LS toward the object may pass through the first optical part 120, that is, the lens).
Regarding claim 14, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 13, wherein the top portion of the housing cap (110/130) further defines a receiving opening positioned over the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250), such that the reflected optical radiation passes through the transmission opening to the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) (see figure 2, second optical part 310 (i.e. receiver lens) disposed in top portion of housing; ¶147, The second optical part 310 may include a plurality of lenses. In addition, the second optical part 310 may be aligned with the image sensor IS thereunder; and see figure 46, lens member 1500).
Regarding claim 15, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 13, wherein the top portion and the attenuation wall (1075) comprise a single, continuous structure (see figure 46, wall 1075 and top portion of housing 1070 being a continuous structure).
Regarding claim 16, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 13, wherein the top portion and the barrier wall (110) comprise a single, continuous structure (see figure 2, housing 110 comprising the barrier wall and the top portion of the housing).
Regarding claim 17, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, wherein the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) comprises at least one optical radiation source (LS) (see figures 1 and 2, light emitting part 1 having a light source LS).
Regarding claim 20, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, further comprising: a driver (CP) configured for controlling the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210) (see figure 30, controller CP; and ¶312, the controller CP may include a light controller configured to control the current supplied to the light source); and a photodiode (PD) configured to monitor the optical radiation-emitting device (1/LS/1210), wherein the driver (CP) and the photodiode (PD) are positioned within the interior defined by the electromagnetic interference shield (400) (see figure 30, photodetector PD and controller CP disposed within the interior of shield 400; see figure 46, light receiving element 1230; and ¶136, The light emitted from the light source LS is reflected by the first optical part 120, the first lens holder 130, and the like, and the photodetector PD may receive the above-described reflected light. In addition, the photodetector PD may output an output value indicating a detected amount according to the amount of received light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Zheng et al. (USPGPub 20240102854 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the barrier wall (120) (see figure 2). However, Han fails to explicitly teach wherein the barrier wall creates an impenetrable barrier between the transmission cavity and the receiving cavity.
However, Zheng teaches wherein the barrier wall creates an impenetrable barrier between the transmission cavity and the receiving cavity (¶47, Through the configuration of the partition 61, the light sensor 2 is separated from the light-emitting element 7. Accordingly, during operations of the light sensor 2 and the light-emitting element 7, the light emitted by the light-emitting element 7 can be prevented from being directly received by the light sensor 2 (which may otherwise cause interference and decrease detection accuracy)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to incorporate the teachings of Zheng to provide an impenetrable barrier between the light source and the light receiver in order to prevent interference, thereby increasing detection accuracy (Zheng, ¶47).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Halliday et al. (USPGPub 20190316959 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 1, further comprising: a circuit device (4), wherein the circuit device (4) comprises the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) and the reference sensor (PD/1230), and wherein a distal end of the barrier wall (110) is attached to the circuit device (4) (¶158, in the camera apparatus 10 according to the embodiment, the light emitting part 1 and the light receiving part 2 may be disposed on the main substrate 4 (printed circuit board (PCB)). The main substrate 4 may be electrically connected to the light emitting part 1 and the light receiving part 2; and see figure 2, barrier wall 110 connected to PCB 4). However, Han fails to explicitly teach wherein the circuit device is an integrated circuit device.
However, Halliday teaches wherein the circuit device is an integrated circuit device (claim 16, a second integrated circuit die mounted to the top surface of the support substrate, the second integrated circuit die including a reference infrared photodetector and another infrared photodetector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to incorporate the teachings of Halliday to provide the two light sensors on an integrated circuit device because of their increased reliability and small size, allowing for smaller device packages operating at high speeds with high performance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Gove et al. (USPGPub 20210258498 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches the optical sensor module of claim 5, further comprising: a receiver filter (F’) positioned within the receiving cavity (see figure 2, filter F’; and ¶151, The filters F and F′ may be coupled to the base 200. The filters F and F′ may be disposed between the first lens holder 130 and the light source LS or between the second lens barrel 320 and the image sensor IS. For example, the filters F and F′ may be disposed on each of the light emitting part 1 and the light receiving part 2). However, Han fails to explicitly teach wherein the receiver filter is positioned above the receiver lens.
However, Gove teaches wherein the receiver filter (940) is positioned above the receiver lens (924) (see figure 9, diffusion filter 940 disposed above lens 924).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to incorporate the teachings of Gove to have the filter be disposed above the filter as the mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify the operation of the device is an obvious matter of choice (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Shi et al. (USPGPub 20220066036 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches wherein the electromagnetic interference shield (400) is electrically connected to ground (¶157, The cover 400 may be connected to a ground portion of the main substrate 4). However, Han fails to explicitly teach at least one conductive pad disposed on the substrate, wherein the electromagnetic interference shield is electrically connected to the substrate via the at least one conductive pad.
However, Shi teaches at least one conductive pad (128) disposed on the substrate (130), wherein the electromagnetic interference shield (108) is electrically connected to the substrate (130) via the at least one conductive pad (128) (¶28, a portion of the EMI shield 108 (e.g., a surface of the EMI shield 108 that contacts the connecting material 128) may be configured to bond with the connecting material 128 and/or the substrate 130 of the user device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to incorporate the teachings of Shi to provide an electrical connect for the EMI shield in order to provide a functioning shield.
Regarding claim 9, Han as modified by Shi teaches the optical sensor module of claim 8, further comprising: a transmission lens (Han 120) positioned relative to the optical radiation-emitting device (Han 1/LS/1210) such that the optical radiation generated by the optical radiation-emitting device (Han 1/LS/1210) passes through the transmission lens (Han 120) (Han, see figure 2, first optical part 120; ¶119, The first optical part 120 may be composed of a lens; and ¶122, The light signal (output light) emitted from the light source LS toward the object may pass through the first optical part 120, that is, the lens).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Shi et al. (USPGPub 20220066036 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Mischke et al. (USPGPub 20210175180 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Han as modified by Shi teaches the transmission lens (Han 120) (Han, see figure 2). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the transmission element comprises a conductive trace.
However, Mischke teaches wherein the transmission element (38) comprises a conductive trace (40) (see figure 1B, window 38 having conductive trace 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Han and Shi to incorporate the teachings of Mischke to further include a conductive trace in the transmission element in order to ensure that window 38 is intact, and inhibits the operation of emitter chip 22 upon detecting a change in resistance that may occur if window 38 is compromised (Mischke, ¶19).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Shi et al. (USPGPub 20220066036 A1) and Mischke et al. (USPGPub 20210175180 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (USPGPub 20240102854 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Han as modified by Shi and Mischke teaches the optical sensor module of claim 10, further comprising: at least one conductive lead frame (Mischke 44) positioned within the interior of the housing cap (Han 110/130 | Shi 104 | Mischke 42) and electrically connected to the substrate (Han 4 | Shi 130 | Mischke 24) (Mischke, see figure 1B, contact pads 44; and ¶20, contact pads 44 around the aperture in housing 42 connect the ends of trace 40 on window 38 to one or more metal traces 46, which are disposed on the inner surface of the housing); and at least one conductive wire (Mischke 46), the at least one conductive wire (Mischke 46) electrically connecting the at least one conductive lead frame (Mischke 44) to the conductive trace (Mischke 40) (Mischke, see figure 1B, metal traces 46 (i.e. wire); and ¶20, Traces 46 may comprise, for example, metal leads that are embedded in housing 42 during the molding process or metal traces that are plated onto the inner surface of housing 42 after molding. Metal traces 46 contact respective conductive pads 30 on circuit substrate 24 when housing 42 is mounted on the circuit substrate, and thus convey signals to and from controller chip 28). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the wire is formed by wire bonding.
However, Zheng teaches wherein the wire is formed by wire bonding (¶52, performing a wire bonding procedure, in which the two ends of the conductive element 5 are respectively and electrically connected to the substrate 1 and the light sensor 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Han, Shi, and Mischke to incorporate the teachings of Zheng to connect the wiring using wire bonding as it is a common electrical interconnection that is cost effective.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Chen et al. (USPGPub 20240004034 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Han teaches the optical radiation receiver (2/IS/1250) and the reference sensor (PD/1230) (see figures 2 and 46). However, Han fails to explicitly teach wherein the detectors/receivers comprise single photon avalanche diodes.
However, Chen teaches wherein the detectors/receivers comprise single photon avalanche diodes (¶60, The first and second optical detectors 1004, 1006 may be configured similarly to the first and second optical detectors described with reference to FIG. 6, but may be implemented as single-photon avalanche detectors (SPADs)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have the detectors/receivers be SPADs because of their high sensitivity in low light environments.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (USPGPub 20230078421 A1) in view of Sidhu et al. (USPGPub 20220140176 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Han teaches the electromagnetic shield (400) having a top surface comprising an aperture (see figure 2). However, Han fails to explicitly teach an inner angled surface surrounding the aperture.
However, Sidhu teaches an inner angled surface (51/55) surrounding the aperture (24/26) (see figure 2, openings 24 and 26 (i.e. apertures) having surrounding angled surfaces 51 and 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to incorporate the teachings of Sidhu to further provide angled surfaces around the apertures in order to better direct light into said openings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the optical sensor module of claim 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the attenuation wall is positioned over the electromagnetic interference shield such that the attenuation wall and the electromagnetic interference shield define an attenuation gap through which the portion of the optical radiation passes to the reference sensor.
Conclusion
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878