DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending before the Office for review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 11, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-17 in the reply filed on August 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0267081).
With regards to claim 1, Fu discloses a polishing composition for a semiconductor process, comprising: polishing particles (Paragraph [0009]); iron (Fe) ions (Paragraphs [0024]-[0026]); and an iron (Fe) ion stabilizer (Paragraphs [0027]-[0029]); wherein the iron ion stabilizer comprises two or more carboxyl groups (Paragraph [0029]), and wherein the polishing composition has electrical conductivity of 200 μS/cm to 800 μS/cm (Paragraph [0023]).
With regards to claims 2-3, Fu discloses wherein the iron ions are divalent or trivalent (ferric (iron III) or ferrous (iron II) compounds) and wherein the iron ions are derived from a compound selected from the group consisting of iron chloride, iron nitrate, iron sulfate, iron perchlorate, iron acetate and iron citrate. (Paragraph [0024])
With regards to claim 4, Fu discloses wherein the iron ion stabilizer is selected from the group consisting of ethanedioic acid, propanedioic acid, butanedioic acid, pentanedioic acid, hexanedioic acid, and heptanedioic acid. (Paragraph [0029])
With regards to claim 7, Fu discloses wherein the polishing particles comprise metal oxide particles, silicon oxide particles, or a combination thereof. (Paragraph [0009])
With regards to claim 8, Fu discloses wherein the polishing particles are colloidal silica particles (Paragraphs [0009]-[0014] discloses only colloidal silica particles which anticipates 100% colloidal silica particles) which anticipates wherein the polishing particles comprise 70 wt% or more of colloidal silica based on a total weight of the polishing particle.
With regards to claim 9, Fu discloses wherein the polishing composition comprises 1 wt% to 10 wt% of the polishing particles based on a total weight of the polishing composition (Paragraph [0014]).
With regards to claim 14, Fu discloses wherein a polishing selectivity of the polishing composition for a silicon oxide film relative to a tungsten film is 1 to 5. (Paragraph [0044] discloses 1:1).
With regards to claim 15, Fun discloses wherein a pH of the polishing composition is 1.5 to 4.5. (Paragraph [0022] discloses 2 or more and 4 or less).
With regards to claim 17, Fu discloses wherein the composition further comprises an additive selected from the group consisting of an oxidant (Paragraph [0030]), a pH adjuster (Paragraph [0022]) and dispersant (Paragraph [0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0267081).
With regards to claim 5, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed.
Fu does not explicitly disclose wherein a weight ratio of a content of the iron ion stabilizer relative to a content of the iron ions is 3 to 50.
However, Fu discloses wherein the stabilizer may be added to the slurries in an amount ranging from about 1 equivalent per ion containing accelerator to about 3.0 weight percent or more (Paragraph [0029]) rendering obvious wherein a weight ratio of a content of the iron ion stabilizer relative to a content of the iron ions is 3 to 50. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Fu to include the weight ratio as rendered obvious by Fu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired composition using the weight ratio content as rendered obvious by Fu. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 6, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed.
Fu does not explicitly disclose wherein the polishing composition comprises 1*10-4 wt% to 5*10-3 wt% of the iron ions.
However, Fu discloses wherein the polishing composition comprises 1-3000ppm Fe based on the total weight of the composition (Paragraph [0026]) rendering obvious wherein the polishing composition comprises 1*10-4 wt% to 5*10-3 wt% of the iron ions. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Fu to include the iron ion concentration as rendered obvious by Fu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired composition using the iron ion concentration as rendered obvious by Fu. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 16, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Fu does not explicitly disclose wherein a number of the particles having a diameter exceeding 1 μm in the polishing composition is 80/ml or less as measured by a large particle counter (LPC) per unit volume.
However, Fu discloses wherein the average particle size of about 5 to 150 nm when measured using a dynamic light scattering tool (Paragraph [0013]) which would render obvious particles below a diameter of 1 µm. As such Fu renders obvious wherein a number of the particles having a diameter exceeding 1 μm in the polishing composition is 80/ml or less as measured by a large particle counter (LPC) per unit volume as the modified teachings of Fu teaches the largest average particle size if 5 to 150nm.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Fu to include the particle diameter as rendered obvious by Fu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired composition using the particle diameter as rendered obvious by Fu. MPEP 2143D
Claims 10 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0267081) in view of KIM et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0212429).
With regards to claim 10, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1.
However Fu is silent as to wherein the polishing particles comprise: a first polishing particle filtered through a primary filter having a pore size of 0.05 μm to 2 μm; a second polishing particle filtered through a secondary filter having a pore size of at most 0.9 times of the pore size of the primary filter; and a third polishing particle filtered through a tertiary filter having a pore size of at most 1.5 times of the pore size of the secondary filter.
Kim discloses a polishing composition comprising colloidal silica (Paragraphs [0046]-[0048]) wherein the abrasives may be a multi-type dispersion type particle size distribution with three different type of average particle sizes to have better dispersibility and reduce scratches on a wafer surface (Paragraph [0053]) wherein the abrasives are between 5nm and 150 nm (Paragraphs [0052]-[0053]) which renders obvious Applicant’s polishing particle size. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) MPEP 2113(I) Therefore while the prior art of Fu as modified by Kim does not explicitly disclose filtering the particles through a primary filter, secondary filter and tertiary filter, it is the Examiner’s position that the particles of the prior art would fall within the resulting size distribution of particles filtered by Applicant’s method.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Fu to include the particle distribution as rendered obvious by Kim because the reference of Kim teaches that such particle distribution have a better dispersibility and reduced scratches (Paragraph [0053]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired polishing composition using the particle size distribution as rendered obvious by Kim. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claims 11-13, Fu discloses the limitations of claim 1.
However, Fu is silent as to wherein the composition further comprises a polyglycerin-based compound; wherein a weight average molecular weight of the polyglycerin-based compound is 300 g/mol to 1,200 g/mol and wherein the polishing composition comprises 0.001 wt% to 0.1 wt% of the polyglycerin-based compound based on a total weight of the polishing composition.
Kim discloses a polishing composition comprising colloidal silica (Paragraphs [0046]-[0048]) and a compound including at least one of polyglycerin (Paragraph [0057]) wherein the compound may have a weight average molecular weight of 800 or more (Paragraph [0061]) which renders obvious wherein a weight average molecular weight of the polyglycerin-based compound is 300 g/mol to 1,200 g/mol; and wherein the compound may be present in amounts of 0.0001 wt% to 5 wt% (Paragraph [0058]) which renders obvious wherein the polishing composition comprises 0.001 wt% to 0.1 wt% of the polyglycerin-based compound based on a total weight of the polishing composition. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of Fu to include the polyglycerin based compound as rendered obvious by Kim because the reference of Kim teaches that the compound may aid in high polishing rates while reducing dishing, erosion and loss of the polishing stop film during polishing (Paragraph [0058]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired polishing composition using the polyglycerin based compound as rendered obvious by Kim. MPEP 2143D
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713