DETAILED ACTION
Contents
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 2
Conclusion 5
This action is responsive to applicant’s claim set received on 10/25/24. Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leprince et al (US 2010/0232728 A1) in view of Knopp (US 2005/0031197 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Leprince teaches a method for registration of an ortho corrected image to a reference ortho corrected image, the method comprising the steps of: a) obtaining a first grid for creating the ortho corrected image from a raw match image and saving the grid (see 0039-0040, 0045); b) obtaining a second grid to match the ortho corrected image to the reference ortho corrected image (see 0094, 0098-0102, 0122); and d) conducting a single resample of the raw match image using the third grid to obtain a super registered image (see 0120, 0123, 0127). Leprince does not teach expressly c) adding the first and second grids together to obtain a third grid.
Knopp, in the same field of endeavor, teaches c) adding the first and second grids together to obtain a third grid (see 0119).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Leprince to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Knopp. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance efficiency by enabling a transformation within a single, one-step operation (see 0119). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Leprince, while the teaching of Knopp continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claims 2-3, Leprince teaches Cubic Convolution, a Sinc Function, or a Modulation Transfer Function (see 0023);
carried out N times to obtain a stack of N super registered images, where N is an integer greater than 1 (see 0021, 0034, 0040, 0115, 0116).
Regarding claim 4, Leprince teaches a computing device comprising one or more processors and at least one storage medium, the at least one storage medium containing non-transitory computer-readable instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to perform a set of operations, the operations (see 0140) comprising: a) obtaining a first grid for creating the ortho corrected image from a raw match image and saving the grid (see 0039, 0040, 0045); b) obtaining a second grid to match the ortho corrected image to the reference ortho corrected image (see 0094, 0098-0102, 0122); and d) conducting a single resample of the raw match image using the third grid to obtain a super registered image (see 0120, 0123, 0127). Leprince does not teach expressly c) adding the first and second grids together to obtain a third grid.
Knopp, in the same field of endeavor, teaches c) adding the first and second grids together to obtain a third grid (see 0119).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Leprince to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Knopp. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enhance efficiency by enabling a transformation within a single, one-step operation (see 0119). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Leprince, while the teaching of Knopp continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 5, Leprince teaches resampling method is Cubic Convolution, a Sinc Function, or a Modulation Transfer Function (see 0023);
Conclusion
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666