DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 1, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130,228. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim is anticipated.
12,130,228 18/927,141
1. A system for deriving thermophysical properties of a sample, the system comprising: a tip suspended at a distal end of a cantilever, the tip configured to interact with the sample; a positioning laser source configured to focus a positioning laser beam at a reflective portion of the cantilever; a position-sensitive detector configured to receive the positioning laser beam reflected off of the reflective portion of the cantilever; a pump laser source configured to focus a pump laser beam at the distal end of the cantilever, thereby generating heat in the distal end of the cantilever that flows through the tip and into a region of the sample positioned adjacent to the tip; a probe laser source configured to focus a probe laser beam at a specular surface at the distal end of the cantilever, wherein at least a portion of the probe laser beam is reflected off of the specular surface; and a photodetector configured to receive the probe laser beam reflected off of the specular surface, wherein the reflected probe laser beam comprises thermoreflectance data that can be used to extract thermophysical properties of the sample.
1. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: a tip suspended at a distal end of a cantilever, the tip configured to interact with a sample; a pump laser source configured to illuminate the distal end of the cantilever with a pump laser beam, thereby generating heat in the distal end of the cantilever that flows through the tip and into a region of the sample positioned adjacent to the tip; a probe laser source configured to illuminate the distal end of the cantilever with a probe laser beam, wherein at least a portion of the probe laser beam is reflected by the distal end of the cantilever as a reflected probe laser beam; and a photodetector configured to measure a change in the reflected probe laser beam as a function of power of the pump laser beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/148632.
Claim 1
WO 2021/148632 discloses a tip (Fig. 1, Ref. 6) suspended at a distal end of a cantilever (Fig. 1, Ref. 5), the tip (Fig. 1, Ref. 6) configured to interact with a sample (Fig. 1, Ref. 3); a pump laser source (Fig. 1, Ref. 8; laser beam source) configured to illuminate the distal end of the cantilever (Fig. 1, Ref. 5) with a pump laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 8), thereby generating heat (See Page 10 of translation) in the distal end of the cantilever (Fig. 1, Ref. 5) that flows through the tip (Fig. 1, Ref. 6) and into a region of the sample (Fig. 1, Ref. 3) positioned adjacent to the tip (Fig. 1, Ref. 6; See Page 10); a probe laser source (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) configured to illuminate the distal end of the cantilever (Fig. 1, Ref. 5) with a probe laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 10), wherein at least a portion of the probe laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) is reflected (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) by the distal end of the cantilever (Fig. 1, Ref. 5) as a reflected probe laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 11); and a photodetector (Fig. 1, Ref. 12) configured to measure a change (reflected light intensity) in the reflected probe laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 11) as a function of power (P = I / E) of the pump laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 10).
Claim 2
WO 2021/148632 discloses the pump laser source (Fig. 1, Ref. 8) is configured to modulate the pump laser beam (pulse light; Page 7).
Claim 3
WO 2021/148632 discloses the pump laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 8) and the probe laser beam (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) are arranged to illuminate the distal end of the cantilever coaxially (pump and probe coaxially illuminate at Fig. 1, Ref. 42).
Claim 5
WO 2021/148632 discloses the change in the reflected probe laser (Fig. 1, Ref. 10) beam comprises a change in magnitude and phase of the reflected probe laser beam (See Page 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/148632.
Claim 4
WO 2021/148632 discloses the claimed invention except for the photodetector is a balanced photodetector configured to measure a difference in intensity between the reflected probe laser beam and a portion of the probe laser beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 2021/148632 with a balanced photodetector since it was well known in the art that a balanced photodetector ensures that the ultrasound-induced optical modulation is measured with minimal noise from the laser source, greatly improving the SNR, sensitivity, and accuracy of the subsurface imaging. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 6
WO 2021/148632 discloses the claimed invention except for a stage to move the sample laterally and vertically underneath an apex of the tip, thereby measuring the change in the reflected probe laser beam across a surface of the sample while either maintaining a constant force between the tip and the sample or maintaining the sample at a constant height. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 2021/148632 with a movable stage since it was well known in the art that using a stage to move the sample under the apex of the tip allows for controlled, repeatable, and comprehensive subsurface imaging by enabling precise lateral and vertical positioning. This ensures the probe laser beam can scan the sample in 3D, map depth profiles, and produce high-quality, aligned images efficiently. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 7
WO 2021/148632 discloses the claimed invention except for a metal film disposed on the distal end of the cantilever to reflect the at least a portion of the probe laser beam as the reflected probe laser beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 2021/148632 with a metal film on the distal end of the cantilever since it was well known in the art that the metal film on the distal end of the cantilever is used to maximize the return of the probe laser beam so that the cantilever’s deflection can be detected with high sensitivity, stability, and accuracy. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 June 23, 2026