DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments 08/19/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauer et al (US Publication No. 20090020346) in view of Hayden et al (US Publication No. 20160178234).
Regarding claim 1, Krauer teaches a system (i.e., such as system/charging circuit 290) (fig. 2B) for maintaining (i.e., such as maintaining the proper current regulation for charging the battery pack 252 to regulate the temperature of heater 277 and vice versa) a working temperature (i.e., such as working temperature/operational-temperature of the system is operable whether the heater is included or bypassed) of a circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker 264) in an electrical system (i.e., such as electrical system 290), the system comprising: a heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277) mounted to a first surface (i.e., first surface dashed line 264) of the circuit breaker for heating (i.e., via heating 297 by the heater pad 277) the first surface of the circuit breaker (implicit, as seen in fig. 2B).
Krauer does not teach a temperature sensor mounted to a second surface of the circuit breaker, the temperature sensor configured to detect a surface temperature of the second surface of the circuit breaker; and a controller configured to: receive data associated with the surface temperature of the second surface of the circuit breaker; and control transmission of power to the heater pad and cause the heater pad to directly heat the first surface of the circuit breaker based on a deviation of the surface temperature of the second surface of the circuit breaker below a lower temperature limit to maintain the working temperature of the circuit breaker.
Hayden teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power thermal switches (i.e., CB 100) (fig. 2E); wherein a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 104 and 106) mounted to a second surface (i.e., temperature sensor 104 is mounted on the second surface inlet side 124 and temperature sensor 106 is mounted on the second surface outlet side 126; fig. 2E) of the circuit breaker (100), the temperature sensor configured to detect a surface temperature (surface temperature of inlet 124 and outlet 126) of the second surface of the circuit breaker (implicit, as seen in fig. 2E); and a controller (120) configured to: receive data associated with the surface temperature of the second surface of the circuit breaker (e.g., The control knob 140 is provided for a user to provide input to the controller 120, for example scrolling through various user menus and temperature set points; para. [0051]); and control transmission of power to the heater pad (128) and cause the heater pad to directly heat the first surface (the first surface of chamber 110) of the circuit breaker based on a deviation (deviation of temperature between the inlet 124 and outlet 126) of the surface temperature of the second surface of the circuit breaker below a lower temperature limit (i.e., lower temperature limit; para. [0106]) to maintain the working temperature of the circuit breaker (e.g., In all examples, the controller 120 may generate or use a plurality of set point temperatures 130 to establish upper and lower temperature limits for operations at different times and conditions; [0106]) (e.g., The controller 120 further controls electrical power to the high speed switch 112 by controlling the switching mechanism 108 and by maintaining a temperature level or power level below the maximum threshold of the temperature safety switch 118; para. [0085]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally mounted the temperature sensor to the second surface of the circuit breaker in Krauer, as taught by Hayden, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 2, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; wherein to control transmission of power (i.e., such as 262 is controlling transmission of power; for instance, in various embodiments, charging control circuit 262 is operable to open switch 297 based on a temperature signal from sensor 256, and thus to disconnect any electric power from having an electrical path through heater 277. In various embodiments, when switch 297 is opened during a charging cooperation, charging control circuit 262 is operable to detect that current is not being provided to power supply 261 through connections 240C and 240D, and to generate a charging fault condition signal; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]), the controller (i.e., such as controller 262; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) is configured to (i.e., such as controller 262 is configured to; for instance, referring to FIGS. 2A and 2B, and while a charging operation is being performed on the battery pack 252, having heater 277 included in series with battery pack 252 will produce some heat based on the amount of voltage across and the amount of current through heater 277. In various embodiments, heating/cooling system 270 will function to control and prevent overheating of both heater 277 and battery pack 252. In various embodiments, sensors 276 will monitor the temperature of heater 277, or of the fluid circulating in the heating/cooling system, or both, and will determine if cooling needs to be applied. In various embodiments, control 275 will turn on fluid circulation when heater 277 is included in the charging circuit. If the temperature of the heater 277 or of the fluid in the heating/cooling system 270 exceeds a pre-determined level, heating/cooling system 270 is operable to cool the fluid to prevent overheating. In various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 cannot be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260. In various embodiments, one or more of sensors 251 provides a signal representative of one or more temperatures within battery pack 252. In various embodiments, EVM system 260 determines that the temperature within one or more portions of battery pack 252 exceeds a level deemed to be appropriate for a charging operation. In such instances, if the heater 277 is included in the circuit being used to charge the battery pack, heater 277 is removed from the charging circuit. The charging operation will only continue on the battery pack if charging control circuit determines that a charging operation of the battery pack 252 can be performed without including heater 277 in the charging circuit. In various embodiments, an alternative heating element can be used, wherein heater 277 can be removed from the charging circuit, and a different heating element as described herein, such as a heating element associated with the HVAC system, is coupled in the charging circuit in order to continue with the recharging operations without further heating the battery pack 252; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]): determine (i.e., such as determine; for instance, if charging control circuit determines that a charging operation of the battery pack 252 can be performed without including heater 277 in the charging circuit; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) whether the surface temperature (i.e., such as surface temperature of block CB 264 depicted by the dashed line; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) of the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) recedes below (i.e., such as recedes below; for instance, in various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 cannot be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) a lower temperature limit (i.e., such as lower temperature limit; for instance, in various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 cannot be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260. In various embodiments, one or more of sensors 251 provides a signal representative of one or more temperatures within battery pack 252; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) of the threshold temperature range (i.e., such as threshold temperature range; for instance, at block 580 method 500 includes circulating the fluid through the rechargeable battery pack during the charging while the heating element is coupled between the charging voltage and the rechargeable battery pack. In various embodiments, block 570 further includes monitoring a temperature of rechargeable battery pack, and cooling the fluid circuited through the recharge battery pack when the monitored temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature level; see for example fig. 5, para. [0096]- [0108]) or rises above (i.e., such as rises above; for instance, in various embodiments, sensors 276 will monitor the temperature of heater 277, or of the fluid circulating in the heating/cooling system, or both, and will determine if cooling needs to be applied. In various embodiments, control 275 will turn on fluid circulation when heater 277 is included in the charging circuit. If the temperature of the heater 277 or of the fluid in the heating/cooling system 270 exceeds a pre-determined level, heating/cooling system 270 is operable to cool the fluid to prevent overheating; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) a higher temperature limit (i.e., such as higher temperature limit; while a charging operation is being performed on the battery pack 252, having heater 277 included in series with battery pack 252 will produce some heat based on the amount of voltage across and the amount of current through heater 277. In various embodiments, heating/cooling system 270 will function to control and prevent overheating of both heater 277 and battery pack 252. In various embodiments, sensors 276 will monitor the temperature of heater 277, or of the fluid circulating in the heating/cooling system, or both, and will determine if cooling needs to be applied. In various embodiments, control 275 will turn on fluid circulation when heater 277 is included in the charging circuit. If the temperature of the heater 277 or of the fluid in the heating/cooling system 270 exceeds a pre-determined level, heating/cooling system 270 is operable to cool the fluid to prevent overheating; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) of the threshold temperature range (i.e., such as threshold temperature range; for instance, at block 580 method 500 includes circulating the fluid through the rechargeable battery pack during the charging while the heating element is coupled between the charging voltage and the rechargeable battery pack. In various embodiments, block 570 further includes monitoring a temperature of rechargeable battery pack, and cooling the fluid circuited through the recharge battery pack when the monitored temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature level; see for example fig. 5, para. [0096]- [0108]); supply the power (i.e., such as supply the power from node 269 to heater 277 via closing switch 266B/heater 277 is included; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) when the surface temperature (i.e., such as surface temperature of block CB 264 depicted by the dashed line; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) recedes below (i.e., such as recedes below; for instance, in various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 can not be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. p In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) the lower temperature limit (i.e., such as lower temperature limit; for instance, in various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 cannot be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260. In various embodiments, one or more of sensors 251 provides a signal representative of one or more temperatures within battery pack 252; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) such that the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) transfers the heat (i.e., such as heater 277 transfers the heat via line 295; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to the surface (i.e., such as surface as depicted by the dashed line of CB 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) of the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to raise (i.e., such as to raise as to keep the heater 277 included in the charging operation via keeping switch 266 ON; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) the surface temperature (i.e., such as surface temperature of block CB 264 depicted by the dashed line; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) above the lower temperature limit (i.e., such as lower temperature limit; for instance, in various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 cannot be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260. In various embodiments, one or more of sensors 251 provides a signal representative of one or more temperatures within battery pack 252; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]); and disconnect supply (i.e., such as disconnect supply of the power from node 269 to the heater 277 via opening switch 266B/heater 277 is excluded; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) of the power (i.e., such as disconnect supply of the power from node 269 to the heater 277 via opening switch 266B/heater 277 is excluded; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) when the surface temperature (i.e., such as surface temperature of block CB 264 depicted by the dashed line; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) rises above (i.e., such as rises above; for instance, in various embodiments, sensors 276 will monitor the temperature of heater 277, or of the fluid circulating in the heating/cooling system, or both, and will determine if cooling needs to be applied. In various embodiments, control 275 will turn on fluid circulation when heater 277 is included in the charging circuit. If the temperature of the heater 277 or of the fluid in the heating/cooling system 270 exceeds a pre-determined level, heating/cooling system 270 is operable to cool the fluid to prevent overheating; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) the higher temperature limit (i.e., such as higher temperature limit; while a charging operation is being performed on the battery pack 252, having heater 277 included in series with battery pack 252 will produce some heat based on the amount of voltage across and the amount of current through heater 277. In various embodiments, heating/cooling system 270 will function to control and prevent overheating of both heater 277 and battery pack 252. In various embodiments, sensors 276 will monitor the temperature of heater 277, or of the fluid circulating in the heating/cooling system, or both, and will determine if cooling needs to be applied. In various embodiments, control 275 will turn on fluid circulation when heater 277 is included in the charging circuit. If the temperature of the heater 277 or of the fluid in the heating/cooling system 270 exceeds a pre-determined level, heating/cooling system 270 is operable to cool the fluid to prevent overheating; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]) such that the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) restricts or stops transfer of the heat (i.e., such as heater 277 stops transferring heat via opening switch 297 to cut the feed on line 295; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to the surface (i.e., such as surface as depicted by the dashed line of CB 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) of the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to bring the surface temperature (i.e., such as surface temperature of block CB 264 depicted by the dashed line; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) below (i.e., such as below as to keep the heater 277 excluded in the charging operation via keeping switch 297 OFF; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) the higher temperature limit (i.e., such as higher temperature limit; while a charging operation is being performed on the battery pack 252, having heater 277 included in series with battery pack 252 will produce some heat based on the amount of voltage across and the amount of current through heater 277. In various embodiments, heating/cooling system 270 will function to control and prevent overheating of both heater 277 and battery pack 252. In various embodiments, sensors 276 will monitor the temperature of heater 277, or of the fluid circulating in the heating/cooling system, or both, and will determine if cooling needs to be applied. In various embodiments, control 275 will turn on fluid circulation when heater 277 is included in the charging circuit. If the temperature of the heater 277 or of the fluid in the heating/cooling system 270 exceeds a pre-determined level, heating/cooling system 270 is operable to cool the fluid to prevent overheating; see for example figs. 2A-2B, para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; wherein the threshold temperature range (i.e., such as threshold temperature range; for instance, at block 580 method 500 includes circulating the fluid through the rechargeable battery pack during the charging while the heating element is coupled between the charging voltage and the rechargeable battery pack. In various embodiments, block 570 further includes monitoring a temperature of rechargeable battery pack, and cooling the fluid circuited through the recharge battery pack when the monitored temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature level; see for example fig. 5, para. [0096]- [0108]) falls within an optimal operating temperature range (i.e., such as optimal operating temperature range as a temperature that is acceptable to be for initiating, or continuing with, a charging operation of battery pack 252; for instance, in various embodiments, charging of battery pack 252 is only enabled when battery pack 252 is within a given range of temperatures. In various embodiments, when battery pack 252 is not within a temperature range designated as an allowable temperature for charging operations on battery pack 252, charging control circuit 262 is operable to provide control 275 with control signals in order to have heating/cooling system 270 circulate heated or cooled fluid through tubing 299 within battery pack 252 in order to adjust the temperature of battery pack 252 to a temperature that is acceptable be for initiating, or continuing with, a charging operation of battery pack 252. In various embodiments, sensors 251 within battery pack 252 are used to determine the temperature within battery pack 252. In various embodiments, control 275 is operable to provide a signal over connections 294 to charging control circuit 262 to indicate that the temperate of heater 277 or of the fluid circulating in heating/cooling system cannot be maintained below a level deemed to be acceptable for battery recharging, and to remove the heater 277 from the charging circuitry. In such instances, if charging of the battery pack 252 cannot be performed without the voltage drop provided by heater 277, the charging operation will be terminated until a temperate change at the battery pack 252 allows initiation of the charging operation. In various embodiments, sensors 251 in battery pack 252 monitor one or more conditions within battery pack 252, and provides output signals though connection 291 to EVM system 260. In various embodiments, one or more of sensors 251 provides a signal representative of one or more temperatures within battery pack 252; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) of the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]).
Also, Hayden furthermore teaches the system (i.e., CB 100) (fig. 2E); wherein the lower temperature limit is of a threshold temperature range (i.e., if the controller 120 detects a temperature below a threshold at the inlet temperature sensor 104 and/or the outlet temperature sensor 106; para. [0064]); and wherein the threshold temperature range falls within an optimal (i.e., the controller 120 to better optimize usage of the tankless electric water heater 100; para. [0116]) operating temperature range of the circuit breaker (e.g., The controller 120 further controls electrical power to the high-speed switch 112 by controlling the switching mechanism 108 and by maintaining a temperature level or power level below the maximum threshold of the temperature safety switch 118; [0085]).
Regarding claim 9, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; a method (i.e., such as method 500; fig. 5). Hayden furthermore teaches the system (i.e., CB 100) (fig. 2E); a method (i.e., such as method 850/860; fig. 6). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 10, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 15, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 7. {See rejection of claim 7}
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauer et al (US Publication No. 20090020346) in view of Hayden et al (US Publication No. 20160178234) and further in view of Hatsir (US Publication No. 20150137980).
Regarding claim 3, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; wherein the threshold temperature range (i.e., such as threshold temperature range; for instance, at block 580 method 500 includes circulating the fluid through the rechargeable battery pack during the charging while the heating element is coupled between the charging voltage and the rechargeable battery pack. In various embodiments, block 570 further includes monitoring a temperature of rechargeable battery pack, and cooling the fluid circuited through the recharge battery pack when the monitored temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature level; see for example fig. 5, para. [0096]- [0108]).
Neither Krauer nor Hayden teaches a temperature range of minus 25 degree Celsius to minus 20 degree Celsius.
Hatsir teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power thermal switches (i.e., such as DTS 24; see for example fig. 1, para. [0095]); wherein a temperature range of minus 25 degree Celsius (i.e., such as temperature range of minus 25 degree Celsius as in the range of minus 40 degree Celsius; for instance, in some embodiments, detector testing switch [DTS] 24 is configured for being operable in a temperature range of from about minus forty degrees Celsius (-40.degree. C.) to about plus one-hundred and twenty-five degrees Celsius (+125.degree. C.); see for example fig. 1, para. [0095]) to minus 20 degree Celsius (i.e., such as temperature range of minus 20 degree Celsius as in the range of minus 40 degree Celsius; for instance, in some embodiments, detector testing switch [DTS] 24 is configured for being operable in a temperature range of from about minus forty degrees Celsius (-40.degree. C.) to about plus one-hundred and twenty-five degrees Celsius (+125.degree. C.); see for example fig. 1, para. [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the temperature range of the circuit breaker in Krauer, as taught by Hatsir, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards accommodating low-temperature applications, extreme-environment electronics, and specific consumer or automotive systems.
Regarding claim 11, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Claims 4-5, 8, 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauer et al (US Publication No. 20090020346) in view of Hayden et al (US Publication No. 20160178234) and further in view of Sinha et al (US Publication No. 20200249103).
Regarding claim 4, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; wherein the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]).
Neither Krauer nor Hayden teaches includes a 225W heater pad.
Sinha teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power thermal switches (fig. 3A, para. [0049]- [0053]); wherein includes a 225W (i.e., such as 225W; for instance, the heater line (heating element) is modeled as a constant heat source whose magnitude is equal to that of the heating power used in the measurements. The thermal properties of the materials are taken from the literature: k.sub.Au film=225 W/mK, k.sub.SiNx=0.8 W/mK, k.sub.Si=126.8 W/mK, and k.sub.tape=1.4 W/mK. The thermal contact resistance between the thin films (SiN.sub.x/Si, Au/Cr/SiN.sub.x) is on the order of 10.sup.−8 m.sup.2 K/W and is insignificant compared to the resistance of the adhesive tape (˜10.sup.−3 m.sup.2 K/W) itself. The contact resistance on either side of the adhesive tape is also assumed to be negligible; see for example fig. 3A, para. [0049]) heater pad (heater pad 218; fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the wattage rating of the heating pad in Krauer, as taught by Sinha, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards emulating the potential energy consumed by certain device(s) for proper and accurate protection purposes.
Regarding claim 5, Krauer in view of Hayden and further in view of Sinha and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Krauer as modified by Sinha have been discussed above as well.
Krauer further teaches the system; wherein the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]).
Sinha furthermore teaches the power thermal switch (fig. 3A, para. [0049]- [0053]); wherein includes a 50W (i.e., such as 50W; for instance, a convection coefficient of 50 W/m.sup.2 K corresponding to natural convection in water is used; para. [0053]) heater pad (heater pad 218; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 8, Krauer in view of Hayden and further in view of Sinha and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Krauer as modified by Sinha have been discussed above as well.
Sinha further teaches the power thermal switch (fig. 3A, para. [0049]- [0053]); wherein the temperature sensor (i.e., such as temperature sensor 220; see for example fig. 3A, para. [0034]- [0037]) is a thermocouple coupled (i.e., such as thermocouple coupled junction 114; see for example fig. 3A, para. [0034]- [0037]) to the circuit breaker (i.e., such as the heater 218 that is attached as desired to any CB; see for example fig. 3A, para. [0034]- [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 13, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Regarding claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 8. {See rejection of claim 8}
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauer et al (US Publication No. 20090020346) in view of Hayden et al (US Publication No. 20160178234) and further in view of Hoyt (US Patent No. 3657517).
Regarding claim 6, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; wherein the heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad 277; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) and conductively (i.e., such as transferring heat from block-switch 297 via line 295; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) transfers the heat (i.e., such as transferring heat from block-switch 297 via line 295; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) to the first surface (i.e., such as first surface as depicted by the dashed line of CB 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]) of the circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker 264; see for example fig. 2B, para. [0059]- [0068]).
Neither Krauer nor Hayden teaches a silicon rubber heater pad.
Hoyt teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power thermal switches (i.e., see for example fig. 1, Col. 2 lines 23+); wherein includes a silicon rubber (i.e., such as silicon rubber; for instance, the above elements and parts being sandwiched between and sealed within vulcanized together sheets and masses of dielectric, heat resistant silicon rubber compound to be hermetically sealed therein and electrically insulated thereby; see for example fig. 1, abstract and Col. 2 lines 23+) heater pad (i.e., such as heater pad A; see for example fig. 1, Col. 2 lines 23+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the silicon rubber compound to the materials of the heating pad in Krauer, as taught by Hoyt, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards providing high-temperature insulation, moisture sealing, and flexibility.
Regarding claim 14, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 6. {See rejection of claim 6}
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauer et al (US Publication No. 20090020346) in view of Hayden et al (US Publication No. 20160178234) and further in view of Phillips (US Publication No. 20140054270).
Regarding claim 17, Krauer in view of Hayden and the teachings of Krauer as modified by Hayden have been discussed above.
Krauer further teaches the system; a power supply source (i.e., such as power supply source 261; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0069]); one or more electrical components (i.e., such as electrical components 252; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0069]) configured to receive power (i.e., such as configured to receive power via feed lines 241 and 243; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0069]) from the power supply source (i.e., such as power supply source 261; see for example fig. 2C, para. [0069]).
Neither Krauer nor Hayden teaches a switchgear including a circuit breaker to isolate the one or more electrical components during an overcurrent condition.
Phillips teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power thermal switches (i.e., such as electrical system 12; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0019]); wherein a switchgear (i.e., such as switchgear 10; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0019]) including a circuit breaker (i.e., such as circuit breaker CB26a-CB26c; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0019]) to isolate (i.e., such as to isolate the load at terminal 24a-24c from the power supply 14; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0019]) the one or more electrical components (i.e., such as to isolate the load/electrical components at terminal 24a-24c from the power supply 14; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0019]) during an overcurrent condition (i.e., such as during overcurrent/arc conditions sensed by the current sensor 20 as to trip CB26a-CB26c in case of any fault; see for example fig. 1, para. [0018]- [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switchgear in Krauer, as taught by Phillips, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards automatically interrupting dangerous electrical overloads and short circuits. And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 18, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 19, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 20, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 7. {See rejection of claim 7}
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838