Rejections Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. (12,617,374) to Hitnalli et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 1 and 12 are encompassed by claims 1 and 13 of patent (‘374) of Hitnalli et al.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication (2024/0391426) to Srinivas et al. in view of Canadian Patent Publication (3,142,701) to Srinivas et al. (‘701).
Regarding independent claim 1, Srinivas et al. teaches everything except, an arm hub connected to a drive shaft; a curved cantilever beam (110) connected to the arm hub, wherein the curved cantilever beam (110) has a cross-sectional shape; and an elastomeric wiper blade element (118) with that the elastomeric wiper blade element (118) includes a mounting channel (116) shaped to engage with the cross-sectional shape of the curved cantilever beam (110) such that the elastomeric wiper blade element (118) can be installed on the curved cantilever beam (110) (See paragraphs [0019]-[0023] of Srinivas et al. and FIGS. 1-3). As mentioned above, Srinivas et al. teaches everything except, an arm hub connected to a drive shaft. However, Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches wiper system (10) that includes a wiper (16) and a drive shaft (18). Srinivas et al. (‘701) further teaches that an arm hub (30B) is connected to the output shaft (18) (See paragraphs [0010]-[0012] of Srinivas et al. (‘701)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Srinivas et al. with Srinivas et al. (‘701) to connect the arm (110) to a hub (30B) with a drive shaft (18) in order to provide reciprocal motion in a manner that is conventional as taught in Srinivas et al. (‘701).
Regarding claim 2, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches claim 2. In particular, Srinivas et al. teaches the curved cantilever beam (110) includes a fastener section (102) configured to secure the curved cantilever beam (110) securely to the arm hub (30B). As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Srinivas et al. with Srinivas et al. (‘701) to connect the arm (110) to a hub (30B) with a drive shaft (18) in order to provide reciprocal motion in a manner that is conventional as taught in Srinivas et al. (‘701).
Regarding claim 3, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches claim 3. In particular, Srinivas et al. teaches that the fastener section (102) is configured to engage with two or more cantilever beam fasteners (capable of engaging different beam fasteners to secure the curved cantilever beam securely to the arm hub (30B).
Regarding claim 4, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches claim 4. In particular, Srinivas et al. teaches that the mounting channel (116) is configured to provide a snug fit between the elastomeric wiper blade element (118) and the curved cantilever beam (110).
Regarding claim 5, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches claim 5. In particular, Srinivas et al. 5 teaches that the elastomeric wiper blade element (118) is secured to the curved cantilever beam with one or more blade element fasteners (104).
Regarding claim 6, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches that the curved cantilever beam (110) is configured to have a curved shape that is selected to straighten when the windshield wiper system is installed against a windshield such that the curved cantilever beam (110) exerts a load sufficient to keep the wiper blade element (118) in contact with the windshield during all operational conditions. As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Srinivas et al. with Srinivas et al. (‘701) to connect the arm (110) to a hub (30B) with a drive shaft (18) in order to provide reciprocal motion in a manner that is conventional as taught in Srinivas et al. (‘701).
Regarding claim 7, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches the curved cantilever beam (110) is further configured to provide a uniform load distribution along a length of the curved cantilever beam (110).
Regarding claim 8, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches the windshield wiper system (100) is configured for use in terrestrial applications (capable of being used in below atmospheric applications).
Regarding claim 9, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches the windshield wiper system is configured for use in nautical applications (capable of being used in speed boats are the like).
Regarding claim 10, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches the windshield wiper system (100) is configured for use in aerospace applications (See paragraph [0012] of Srinivas et al.).
Regarding claim 11, Srinivas et al. as modified with Srinivas et al. (‘701) teaches that the windshield wiper system (100) has an aerodynamically efficient design that reduces aerodynamic drag (See paragraph [0019] of Srinivas et al.).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723