DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (12372029) in view of Sutcliffe et al (2023/0286658). Miller et al teach(es) (19) A propulsion system for an aircraft, comprising: a housing structure comprising an exterior surface 18 [earlier Figs.], 812 [Fig. 41] bordering an environment external to the propulsion system; an open propulsor rotor 40 outside of the housing structure [col. 44, lines 12-30, see Fig. 41 and note this may be combined with earlier cooling system embodiments, e.g. Figs. 26, 33]; a turbine engine housed within the housing structure, the turbine engine configured to drive rotation of the open propulsor rotor 40 about an axis, the turbine engine including an engine flowpath 37→32, a compressor section 24, a combustor section 26 and a turbine section 28, 30, the turbine section comprising a first turbine rotor 28 and a second turbine rotor 30, and the engine flowpath 37→32 extending longitudinally though the compressor section 24, the combustor section 26 and the turbine section 28, 30 from an airflow inlet into the engine flowpath 37→32 to a combustion products exhaust 32 from the engine flowpath 37→32; and a thermal management system housed within the housing structure, the thermal management system configured to remove heat energy generated during propulsion system operation, the thermal management system [e.g. 100, 400, 500] including a system flowpath [includes 402, 105, 420 in Fig. 26; 502, 114 in Fig. 32], a boost compressor 420 [blower increases pressure and thus broadly may be construed as a compressor, see col. 28, lines 47-49] and a heat exchanger 112, the system flowpath extending longitudinally through the boost compressor 42 and the heat exchanger 112 from an airflow inlet into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust 118 [may be at the outside of 18, e.g. 226 in Fig. 13] from the system flowpath, the airflow inlet into the system flowpath [includes 402, 105, 420 in Fig. 26; 502, 114 in Fig. 32] and the airflow exhaust 256 from the system flowpath located at the exterior surface 18 [earlier Figs., e.g. Fig. 18], 812 [Fig. 41] and fluidly coupling the environment external to the propulsion system to the system flowpath [col. 44, lines 12-30, see Fig. 41 and note this may be combined with earlier cooling system embodiments, e.g. Figs. 26, 33, 18], and the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor 30 [see Fig. 18 and annotations to Fig. 26 for claim 19]; Accordingly, Fig. 26 modified by an airflow exhaust 256 airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor, is taught by the combination of embodiments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor, as taught by Fig. 18, in order to utilize typical locations used in the art to exhaust the cooling air. Miller et al further teach (19) wherein the first turbine rotor 28 is arranged axially between the second turbine rotor 30 and the combustor section 26.
Miller et al do not narrowly teach an electric boost compressor but rather uses an electric blower 420 that increases pressure and thus broadly may be construed as a compressor [see col. 28, lines 47-49] in the system flowpath. Sutcliffe et al teach a system flowpath 442 disposed outside of an engine, and the system flowpath 442 extending longitudinally through the electric boost compressor 420 or 450 and the heat exchanger 430 from an airflow inlet 442 into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust 414 from the system flowpath, where the system flowpath receives ram air and teaches the electric boost compressor 450 also pressurizes the air for the system flowpath [see e.g. ¶ 0052]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an electric boost compressor, rather than a boost blower, as an equivalent air mover that pressurizes the air for the system flowpath to the heat exchanger. Miller et al do not teach (17) a working fluid circuit extending through the heat exchanger, the working fluid circuit configured to flow a liquid working fluid. Sutcliffe et al teach (17) a working fluid circuit 435 extending through the heat exchanger 430, the working fluid circuit configured to flow a liquid working fluid [lubricant / fuel, see ¶ 0049 and note 30 is the gas turbine gearbox 30 which has {liquid} lubricant]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a heat exchanger with a liquid working fluid as a typical working fluid / lubricant used to cool the heat exchanger and which facilitates cooling of other engine systems.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (12372029) in view of Sutcliffe et al (2023/0286658), as applied above, and further in view of Bowden et al (12055094). Miller et al [e.g. Figs. 26, 18, 41 combined] already teach applicant’s claims 19. For an alternate treatment of the end of claim 19, i.e. the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor, Bowden et al teach an open propulsor rotor 154, … the turbine section comprising a first turbine rotor 132 and a second turbine rotor 134 [Fig. 1], … the system flowpath extending longitudinally through the boost compressor and the heat exchanger from an airflow inlet into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust from the system flowpath, and the airflow inlet into the system flowpath the airflow exhaust [outermost 204 - 244 Fig. 7] from the system flowpath located at the exterior surface [leadline for 238] and fluidly coupling the environment external to the propulsion system to the system flowpath, and the airflow exhaust [outermost 204 -244 Fig. 7] from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor 134; wherein the first turbine rotor 132 is arranged axially between the second turbine rotor 134 and the combustor section 142. Miller et al teach that in an open propulsor engine, the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath located at the exterior surface and fluidly coupling the environment external to the propulsion system to the system flowpath, and the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor is a highly conventional location utilized in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor, as taught Bowden et al, in order to utilize typical locations used in the art to exhaust the cooling air, in an analogous engine.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caruel et al (2014.0369812) of the IDS. Caruel et al teach [see annotations] A propulsion system for an aircraft, comprising: a housing structure 1 comprising an exterior surface 3 bordering an environment external to the propulsion system; an open propulsor rotor 101 [Fig. 10] outside of the housing structure; a turbine engine 2 housed within the housing structure, the turbine engine configured to drive rotation of the open propulsor rotor 101 about an axis, the turbine engine including an engine flowpath, a compressor section [left side of 2], a combustor section [underneath 11 in Fig. 10] and a turbine section, and the engine flowpath extending longitudinally though the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an airflow inlet into the engine flowpath to a combustion products exhaust from the engine flowpath; and a thermal management system 13 housed within the housing structure, the thermal management system 13 configured to remove heat energy generated during propulsion system operation, the thermal management system including a system flowpath, a boost compressor 17 and a heat exchanger 10, the system flowpath extending longitudinally through the boost compressor 17 and the heat exchanger 10 from an airflow inlet 15’ into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust 16 from the system flowpath, the airflow inlet 15’ into the system flowpath and the airflow exhaust 16 from the system flowpath located at the exterior surface 3 and fluidly coupling the environment external to the propulsion system to the system flowpath 13, and the airflow exhaust 16 from the system flowpath disposed axially before the turbine section [the exhaust 16 is before the upstreammost turbine stage and all the turbine stages afterwards, which would correspond to axially before the second turbine rotor, in any two rotor turbine design. Caruel et al do not clearly teach the turbine section comprising a first turbine rotor and a second turbine rotor, wherein the first turbine rotor is arranged axially between the second turbine rotor and the combustor section. Udall et al [Fig. 1] teach a highly analogous propulsion system with an exterior surface 21 bordering an environment external to the propulsion system; an open propulsor rotor 23, 24 outside of the housing structure; a turbine engine 10 housed within the housing structure, the turbine engine configured to drive rotation of the open propulsor rotor 23, 24 about an axis, the turbine engine including an engine flowpath [from 12 to 20], a compressor section 14, 15, a combustor section 16 and a turbine section 17, 18, the turbine section comprising a first turbine rotor and a second turbine rotor, and the engine flowpath extending longitudinally though the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an airflow inlet 12 into the engine flowpath to a combustion products exhaust 20 from the engine flowpath, the turbine section comprising a first turbine rotor 17 and a second turbine rotor 25, wherein the first turbine rotor 17 is arranged axially between the second turbine rotor 18 and the combustor section 16. Udall et al teach the two rotor configuration of the turbine, using a high pressure turbine 17 and low pressure turbine 18, are conventionally used in the art as a typical gas turbine configuration [¶ 0003 teaches the turbine engine operates in a conventional manner] utilized in the art for driving the open propulsor rotor engine and which allow for e.g. contra-rotating propellor rotors 23, 24 which balance each other [due to the contra-rotation] and is suitable for efficient thrust delivery [see ¶ 0005] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the turbine section comprising a first turbine rotor and a second turbine rotor, and the engine flowpath extending longitudinally though the compressor section, the combustor section and the turbine section from an airflow inlet into the engine flowpath to a combustion products exhaust from the engine flowpath, wherein the first turbine rotor is arranged axially between the second turbine rotor and the combustor section, as taught by Udall et al, as the typical configuration of the conventional gas turbine engine used to drive the open propulsor rotors of Caruel et al and/or to provide for efficient thrust delivery. Accordingly, upon modification, in Caruel, the airflow exhaust 16 from the system flowpath is disposed axially before the second turbine rotor, as the exhaust 16 is already before the upstreammost turbine stage and all the turbine stages afterwards, which would correspond to axially before the second turbine rotor, in any two rotor turbine design.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (12372029) in view of Sutcliffe et al (2023/0286658) and Williams Jr (2,412,110). Miller et al teach(es) A propulsion system for an aircraft, comprising: an open propulsor rotor [col. 44, lines 12-30, see Fig. 41 open propulsor and note this embodiment is taught as used with earlier cooling system embodiments, e.g. Figs. 26, 33, further note that each of the disclosed embodiments are combinable, per col. 44, lines 6-11]; a turbine engine configured to drive rotation of the open propulsor rotor 40 about an axis, the turbine engine including an engine core [contains flowpath 37] and an engine flowpath 37→32, the engine core including a compressor section 24, a combustor section 26 and a turbine section 28, 30, and the engine flowpath 37→32 extending longitudinally though the compressor section 24, the combustor section 26 and the turbine section 28, 30 from an airflow inlet into the engine flowpath 37→32 to a combustion products exhaust 32 from the engine flowpath 37→32; and a thermal management system [e.g. 100, 400, 500] configured to manage heat energy generated by the propulsion system during operation of the turbine engine, the thermal management system including an electric boost compressor [420 increases pressure and thus broadly may be construed as a compressor, see col. 28, lines 47-49; power source includes electric generator, see col. 37, lines 7-16], a heat exchanger 112 and a system flowpath [includes 402, 105, 420 in Fig. 26; 502, 114 in Fig. 32] disposed outside of the engine core [contains flowpath 37], and the system flowpath1 extending longitudinally through the electric boost compressor 420 and the heat exchanger 112 from an airflow inlet 114 or 402, 502] into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust 118 [may be at the outside of 18, e.g. 226 in Fig. 13] from the system flowpath, the system flowpath including a plurality of parallel legs [includes 420 in Fig. 26 and 410 or 412 in Fig. 26, combined with Fig. 30] upstream [broadly, as the inlet of both the parallel legs are upstream of the heat exchanger and note, near the diverter, the leg 412 is broadly upstream of the heat exchanger 112 in Fig. 26] of the heat exchanger 112 and fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger 112 [see Fig. 30, note again that each of the disclosed embodiments are combinable, per col. 44, lines 6-11], a first of the plurality of parallel legs extending longitudinally through the electric boost compressor 420 [Fig. 26] to a heat exchange leg [through 112 in Fig. 126], and the heat exchange leg [through 112] extending longitudinally through the heat exchanger 112. (2) wherein the system flowpath is fluidly decoupled from the engine flowpath 37→32. (3) wherein the airflow inlet 114 into the system flowpath is fluidly coupled to the engine flowpath 37→32 upstream of the compressor section 24 [Fig. 6]. (4) wherein the compressor section includes a low pressure compressor section 22 and a high pressure compressor section 24. (5) a housing structure 18 [Figs. 12, 26, 33] / 812 [Fig. 41] housing the turbine engine and the thermal management system [e.g. 100, 400, 500]; the housing structure comprising an exterior surface bordering an environment external to the propulsion system; and the airflow inlet 402, 502 [Figs. 26, 33, respectively] into the system flowpath disposed in the exterior surface 18. (7) wherein the airflow exhaust 226 from the system flowpath is disposed in the exterior surface [Fig. 13, see annotations]. (13) wherein the system flowpath further includes an inlet leg 402 extending longitudinally from the airflow inlet 402 into the system flowpath towards the plurality of parallel legs [includes 420 in Fig. 26], 412; and the thermal management system further includes a flow diverter 415 configured to fluidly couple the inlet leg to the first of the plurality of parallel legs during a first mode [when cooling 112]; and fluidly couple the inlet leg to the second 412 of the plurality of parallel legs during a second mode [when cooling 408]. (14) wherein the flow diverter 415 is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the second of the plurality of parallel legs during the first mode. (15) wherein the flow diverter is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the first of the plurality of parallel legs during the second mode. (16) a working fluid circuit 110 extending through the heat exchanger 112 and thermally coupled to a heat source within the turbine engine.
Miller et al do not narrowly teach an electric boost compressor but rather uses an electric blower 420 that increases pressure and thus broadly may be construed as a compressor [see col. 28, lines 47-49] in the system flowpath. Sutcliffe et al teach a system flowpath 442 disposed outside of an engine, and the system flowpath 442 extending longitudinally through the electric boost compressor 420 or 450 and the heat exchanger 430 from an airflow inlet 442 into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust 414 from the system flowpath, where the system flowpath receives ram air and teaches the electric boost compressor 450 also pressurizes the air for the system flowpath [see e.g. ¶ 0052]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an electric boost compressor, rather than a boost blower, as an equivalent air mover that pressurizes the air for the system flowpath to the heat exchanger. Miller et al do not teach (17) a working fluid circuit extending through the heat exchanger, the working fluid circuit configured to flow a liquid working fluid. Sutcliffe et al teach (17) a working fluid circuit 435 extending through the heat exchanger 430, the working fluid circuit configured to flow a liquid working fluid [lubricant / fuel, see ¶ 0049 and note 30 is the gas turbine gearbox 30 which has {liquid} lubricant]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a heat exchanger with a liquid working fluid as a typical working fluid / lubricant used to cool the heat exchanger and which facilitates cooling of other engine systems.
For claim 20, Miller et al already teach A propulsion system for an aircraft, comprising: a housing structure comprising an exterior surface 18 [earlier Figs.], 812 [Fig. 41] bordering an environment external to the propulsion system; an open propulsor rotor 40 outside of the housing structure [col. 44, lines 12-30, see Fig. 41 and note this may be combined with earlier cooling system embodiments, e.g. Figs. 26, 33]; a turbine engine housed within the housing structure, the turbine engine configured to drive rotation of the open propulsor rotor 40 about an axis, the turbine engine including an engine flowpath 37→32, a compressor section 24, a combustor section 26 and a turbine section 28, 30, and the engine flowpath 37→32 extending longitudinally though the compressor section 24, the combustor section 26 and the turbine section 28, 30 from an airflow inlet into the engine flowpath 37→32 to a combustion products exhaust 32 from the engine flowpath 37→32; and a thermal management system housed within the housing structure, the thermal management system configured to remove heat energy generated during propulsion system operation, the thermal management system [e.g. 100, 400, 500] including a system flowpath [includes 402, 105, 420 in Fig. 26; 502, 114 in Fig. 32], a boost compressor 420 [blower increases pressure and thus broadly may be construed as a compressor, see col. 28, lines 47-49] and a heat exchanger 112, the system flowpath extending longitudinally through the boost compressor 42 and the heat exchanger 112 from an airflow inlet into the system flowpath to an airflow exhaust 118 [may be at the outside of 18, e.g. 226 in Fig. 13 or as annotated for claim 19] from the system flowpath, the system flowpath including a compressor leg 415, and a heat exchange leg [through 112], the system flowpath configurable between (a) directing compressed air along the compressor leg including the boost compressor 420 through the heat exchange leg 112; and (b) directing a free flow of air 434 from the airflow inlet into the system flowpath and to the heat exchange leg 112, the heat exchange leg 112 extending longitudinally within the heat exchanger 112, and the system flowpath [includes 402, 105, 420 in Fig. 26; 502, 114 in Fig. 32] fluidly decoupled from the engine flowpath 37→32. Miller et al teach (20) the heat exchange leg extending longitudinally within the heat exchanger; (b) directing a free flow of air 434 from the airflow inlet into the system flowpath but do not teach narrow construction of (20) a bypass leg bypassing the boost compressor and (b) directing a free flow of air from the airflow inlet into the system flowpath and along a bypass leg bypassing the boost compressor to the heat exchange leg nor (1) a second of the plurality of parallel legs bypassing the electric boost compressor and extending longitudinally to the heat exchange leg. Williams teaches the system flowpath including a compressor leg 28 [blower 16 pressurizes / supercharges the air], a bypass leg 28 and a heat exchange leg 22, the system flowpath configurable between (a) directing compressed air from the boost compressor 16 through the heat exchanger 22 and (b) directing a free flow of air from the airflow inlet 20 into the system flowpath and along a bypass leg 28 bypassing the boost compressor 16 to the heat exchange leg 22, the heat exchange leg 22 extending longitudinally within the heat exchanger 22. The bypass leg allows for bypassing the compressor 16 when supercharging pressures are not necessary. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (1) a second of the plurality of parallel legs bypassing the electric boost compressor and extending longitudinally to the heat exchange leg, and the heat exchange leg extending longitudinally through the heat exchanger and (20) a bypass leg, and (b) directing a free flow of air from the airflow inlet into the system flowpath and along a bypass leg bypassing the boost compressor to the heat exchange leg, as taught by Williams Jr, in order to bypass the electric boost compressor of Miller, when supercharging pressures from the boost compressor are unnecessary.
Miller et al already teach for claims 13-15: (13) wherein the system flowpath further includes an inlet leg 402 extending longitudinally from the airflow inlet 402 into the system flowpath towards the plurality of parallel legs [includes 420 in Fig. 26], 412; and the thermal management system further includes a flow diverter 415 configured to fluidly couple the inlet leg to the first of the plurality of parallel legs during a first mode [when cooling 112]; and fluidly couple the inlet leg to the second 412 of the plurality of parallel legs during a second mode [when cooling 408]. (14) wherein the flow diverter 415 is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the second of the plurality of parallel legs during the first mode. (15) wherein the flow diverter is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the first of the plurality of parallel legs during the second mode. Miller et al do not teach (13) wherein the system flowpath further includes an inlet leg 18 extending longitudinally from the airflow inlet into the system flowpath towards the plurality of parallel legs 16, 28; and the thermal management system further includes a flow diverter 30 configured to fluidly couple the inlet leg to the first 16 of the plurality of parallel legs during a first mode; and fluidly couple the inlet leg to the second 30 of the plurality of parallel legs during a second mode [bypasses 16]. (14) wherein the flow diverter 30 is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the second of the plurality of parallel legs during the first mode [prevent bypass]. Alternately, to treat the above limitations, Williams Jr teaches (13) wherein the system flowpath further includes an inlet leg 18 extending longitudinally from the airflow inlet into the system flowpath towards the plurality of parallel legs 16, 28; and the thermal management system further includes a flow diverter 30 configured to fluidly couple the inlet leg to the first 16 of the plurality of parallel legs during a first mode; and fluidly couple the inlet leg to the second 30 of the plurality of parallel legs during a second mode [bypasses 16]. (14) wherein the flow diverter 30 is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the second of the plurality of parallel legs during the first mode [prevent bypass].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a second leg of the plurality of parallel legs bypassing the electric boost compressor, and have the second leg upstream of the heat exchanger and fluid coupled to the heat exchanger, as taught by Williams Jr, in order to bypass the electric boost compressor of Miller, when supercharging pressures from the boost compressor are unnecessary. As Miller et al already teach the diverter 415 may bypass the boost compressor 420, the diverter location 415 would be understood to be a typical location for such a control over the flow to allowing switching of the flow between the parallel legs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the bypass of Williams, connected to the diverter of Miller et al, as a typical bypass location utilized in the art, to allow selective flow into parallel legs. Accordingly, the prior art in combination teach (12) the system flowpath including a plurality of parallel legs [420, 412 or 415 in Fig. 26] upstream of the heat exchanger and fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger, a first of the plurality of parallel legs 420 extending longitudinally through the electric boost compressor [includes 420 in Fig. 26], and a second 412 of the plurality of parallel legs bypassing the electric boost compressor 420 [added by Williams at the diverter 415 to bypass the compressor 420 and rejoin upstream of the heat exchanger]. (13) wherein the system flowpath further includes an inlet leg 402 extending longitudinally from the airflow inlet 402 into the system flowpath towards the plurality of parallel legs [includes 420 in Fig. 26], 412; and the thermal management system further includes a flow diverter 415 configured to fluidly couple the inlet leg to the first of the plurality of parallel legs during a first mode [when cooling 112]; and fluidly couple the inlet leg to the second 412 of the plurality of parallel legs during a second mode [when bypassing the compressor and rejoining upstream of the heat exchanger, per Williams]. (14) wherein the flow diverter 415 is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the second of the plurality of parallel legs during the first mode. (15) wherein the flow diverter is further configured to fluidly decouple the inlet leg from the first of the plurality of parallel legs during the second mode [when bypassing the compressor 420 and rejoining upstream of the heat exchanger, per Williams].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (12372029) in view of Sutcliffe et al (2023/0286658) and Williams Jr (2,412,110), as applied above, and further in view of Khalid et al (11572827). Miller et al do not teach a plurality of open guide vanes arranged circumferentially about the axis; a first of the plurality of open guide vanes projecting radially out from the housing structure into the environment external to the propulsion system; and the airflow inlet into the system flowpath disposed axially between the first of the plurality of open guide vanes and the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath. Khalid et al teach a plurality of open guide vanes 104, 134 arranged circumferentially about the axis; a first of the plurality of open guide vanes 104, 134 projecting radially out from the housing structure 125 into the environment external to the propulsion system is the normal practice in the art for open propulsor rotor engines, as these open guide vanes are used to decrease the swirl exiting the propulsor rotor [see col. 9, lines 30-40]. Miller et al further teach the airflow inlet 104 into the system flowpath disposed axially between the first of the plurality of fan propulsor guide vanes 52 and the airflow exhaust 118 from the system flowpath, where the fan outlet guide vanes 52 are for the closed rotor configuration [within nacelle 50]. The propulsor guide vanes 52 of Miller et al are analogous to the open rotor guide vanes 104, 134 of Khalid et al as these are both used immediately downstream the propulsor rotor blades and typically remove swirl, which is specifically mentioned by Khalid et al. Note upon combination, there are limited locations the airflow inlet may be located, either upstream of the open guide vanes or downstream of the open guide vanes and since Miller et al already teach placing the inlet downstream of [closed by nacelle 50] guide vanes 52, using an analogous positioning would be readily apparent when using open guide vanes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the airflow inlet into the system flowpath disposed axially between the first of the plurality of open guide vanes and the airflow exhaust from the system flowpath, i.e. position the airflow inlet downstream of the open guide vanes added from Khalid et al, as it is an analogous position downstream of the outlet guide vanes of Miller et al and one of very limited locations the airflow inlet may be located relative to the outlet guide vanes.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (12372029) in view of Sutcliffe et al (2023/0286658) and Williams Jr (2,412,110), as applied above, and further in view of Schwarz et al (2019/0145316). Miller et al further teach (8) a control system 130 [e.g. Fig. 2] configured to operate the electric boost compressor but do not teach it is configured to power the electric boost compressor when an operational parameter is above a threshold; and depower the electric boost compressor when the operational parameter is below the threshold and the turbine engine is operational; nor (9) wherein the operational parameter is a temperature of a working fluid within the propulsion system; (10) wherein the operational parameter is a temperature of ambient air in an environment external to the propulsion system; nor (11) wherein the operational parameter is a throttle setting for the propulsion system. Schwarz et al teach (8) a control system 138 configured to power the electric boost propulsor / fan 137 [analogous to a compressor for flow augmentation] when an operational parameter is above a threshold [see Fig. 2E which shows the control modes for different power / throttle levels and for higher compressor temperatures & pressures to right]; and depower the electric boost propulsor / fan 137 when the operational parameter is below the threshold and the turbine engine is operational [see ¶ 0067 which teaches electric motor driven propulsor / fan]. ¶ 0085 teaches the electric boost propulsor / fan is selectively operated for more or less fluid flow to control the flow augmentation. Fig. 2E shows the conditions where the cooling air flow is “off” [bottom left region] which in combination with selectively operating the propulsor, allows for powering the propulsor on or off when above, for an operating condition of throttles / powers / temperatures / pressures [each grid in Table of Fig. 2E can represent a different threshold for power, temperature, etc.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a control system configured to power the electric boost compressor of Miller et al when an operational parameter is above a threshold; and depower the electric boost compressor of Miller et al when the operational parameter is below the threshold and the turbine engine is operational, as taught by Schwarz, as operational conditions such as temperature, pressure, power/throttle, altitude, etc. are taught in Fig. 2E to control the different modes of propulsor boost “on” or “off” in operation. As for (9) wherein the operational parameter is a temperature of a working fluid within the propulsion system, the compressor temperature of the working fluid is taught as corresponding to the higher temperatures [top of Fig. 2E] and it would have been obvious to utilize compressor temperature as the operating threshold, taught by Schwarz et al, as this is correlates to the conditions which do or do not require additional cooling flow. As for using (10) wherein the operational parameter is a temperature of ambient air in an environment external to the propulsion system, it is noted that ground idle conditions are at higher ambient temperatures than when flying, noting that higher altitudes, including cruise conditions are much colder than ground conditions. At ground & takeoff conditions, the ambient temperatures are higher, thus require more cooling thus selectively operate the propulsor [e.g. “full on” in Fig. 2E] vs colder temperatures at cruise conditions [“off”] which do not require the flow propulsor assistance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ (10) wherein the operational parameter is a temperature of ambient air in an environment external to the propulsion system, as ambient conditions associated with ground or flight conditions determine whether boost assistance is required or not. As for the (11) wherein the operational parameter is a throttle setting for the propulsion system, note that Miller teaches these power conditions for cruise, takeoff, etc., are reflective of the throttle setting [col. 4, lines 30-36] and takeoff is understood to be maximum throttle / load / power [col. 4, lines 11-13]. The operational parameter is a throttle setting for the propulsion system is already taught by the top of Fig. 2E of Schwarz et al as well as by contrasting take-off [full throttle / power] vs cruise [reduced throttle / power] which requires “full on” cooling augmentation vs cruise [lower power, cooling augmentation is “off”]. Also it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the operational parameter a throttle setting for the propulsion system, as taught by Schwarz et al, as output power / thrust reflect the need for more or less cooling boost.
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al (12372029) in view of Sutcliffe et al (2023/0286658) and Williams Jr (2,412,110), as applied above, and further in view of Griffin et al (4,773,212). Miller et al do not teach wherein the heat exchanger is a first heat exchanger, and the thermal management system further includes a second heat exchanger and a working fluid circuit extending through the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger. However, Miller et al do teach the heat exchangers 700, 700a, 700B may be used to cool other systems in the aircraft, including accessory systems [col. 41, lines 42-53] which as a term of art, typically includes fuel systems and oil/lubricating systems. Griffin et al teach an analogous thermal management system where the wherein the heat exchanger 82 is a first heat exchanger 82, and the thermal management system further includes a second heat exchanger 78 and a working fluid circuit 48 respectively extending through the first heat exchanger 82 and the second heat exchanger 78. Griffin et al teach using these additional heat exchangers and working fluid allow rejecting heat to the cooling air system from the fuel and oil / lubricant systems of the engine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the heat exchanger a first heat exchanger, and the thermal management system further include a second heat exchanger and a working fluid circuit extending through the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger, as taught by Griffin et al, in order to facilitate removing heat from engine systems such as the fuel and oil systems. While claim 17 was already treated previously, alternately, Griffin et al teach a working fluid circuit 48 extending through the heat exchanger 82, the working fluid circuit configured to flow a liquid working fluid [oil, col. 5, lines 47-52] so the oil/lubricant is cooled by the cooling airflow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a working fluid circuit extending through the heat exchanger, the working fluid circuit configured to flow a liquid working fluid, as taught by Griffin et al, as a typical way of rejecting heat from the oil/lubricant in the engine to a stream of cooling airflow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant completely ignored the teachings of the Williams Jr, which were used to teach the features in amended claims 1 and 20 and applied extensively from pages 10-20 in the final action of 4/28/2026. Moreover, applicant’s arguments regard to claim 19 fail to argue the treatment of claim 21, which was imported into claim 19 in the instant amendment. Moreover, the arguments ignore the treatment of claim 19 (21) with Bowden and thus are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, for claim 19, Miller teach in different embodiments, different locations for the airflow exhaust are contemplated. Furthermore, Miller teach the different embodiments may be combined. Accordingly, Fig. 26 modified by an airflow exhaust 256 airflow exhaust from the system flowpath disposed axially before the second turbine rotor, such as in Fig. 18, is taught by the combination of embodiments. The rationale to combine is to use the other disclosed locations taught by Miller as suitable locations for the airflow exhaust and consistent with his teaching that the different embodiments may be combined.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
August 6, 2026
1 Note multiple embodiments of Miller et al are applicable; especially, as applicant has multiple embodiments including inlets at different locations.