DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 26, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on October 25, 2024 are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I comprising claims 2-18 in the reply file on February 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-21 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic linking claim. Newly added claims 22-24 are also withdrawn from consideration as they are identical to claims 19-21 (non-elected invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-11, 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchang et al (US 2017/0132624 A1), in view of Kerr et al. (US 6,859,878 B1).
Regarding claim 2: Muchang disclose: A method, comprising:
determining an access by a user of an interactive component displayed by a user interface of a computing device; (See at least Muchang, Fig. 3; [0021] receiving at the processor an execute action to an extension area to start the expedite payment extension; the execute action 203 is a mouse click )
electronically examining, based on the access, computer code associated with the user interface; (See at least Muchang, Fig. 5; [0020]; [0032]; [0042] with web pages or servers using content scripts or cross-origin XMLHttpRequests. If an extension needs to interact with web pages, then it may need a content script. A content script may be some JavaScript that executes in the context of a page that's been loaded into the browser. It may be easier to think of a content script as part of that loaded page, not as part of the extension it was packaged with (its parent extension). Analyze web site commerce fields. At block 503, the text of the web site in the browser 201 may be read and may be compared to known open fields and logical alternatives.)
determining, based on a result of the electronically examining, whether one or more functionalities of an entity associated with the interactive component are supported by the user interface; and (See at least Muchang, [0002]; [0056] the payment and authorization data may be tailored to the specific merchant. By creating an extension 207, sufficient computer instructions can be downloaded into a browser 201 and may be able to work with virtually any online merchant system with no work from the merchant.)
Muchang does not explicitly disclose, however Kerr teaches;
causing a reconfiguring of the user interface based on a result of the determining whether the one or more functionalities of the entity are supported by the user interface, wherein the reconfiguring comprises modifying a content related to the interactive component. (See at least Kerr, Fig. 3; Col. 4 lines 58-67; Hereafter, whenever the user accesses a new-Uniform. Resource Locator address (URL) (step 316), the plug-in automatically searches for a record in the User Data that corresponds to that URL (step 318). If the URL is found, the plug-in validates the corresponding User Data (step 320) then uses the information in the User Data to automatically login to that URL based on the Log-In data-stored in the User Data (step 322). If an automatic login is unsupported by that particular URL site, the login data from the User Data will be stored into a "clipboard" memory on the user's system for easy access.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 3: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination further disclose;
Wherein the result of the electronically examining indicates that the one or more functionalities of the entity are supported by the user interface; (See at least Muchang, [0002]; [0056] the payment and authorization data may be tailored to the specific merchant. By creating an extension 207, sufficient computer instructions can be downloaded into a browser 201 and may be able to work with virtually any online merchant system with no work from the merchant.)
Muchang does not explicitly disclose, however Kerr teaches:
the causing the reconfiguring of the user interface comprises causing the user interface to display a graphical icon that represents the entity; and (See at least Kerr, claim 18; wherein said self-installing process modifies a browser application and provides (1) a set of user-selectable buttons that are displayed on a toolbar of said browser application).
an engagement of the graphical icon triggers the one or more functionalities of the entity. (See at least Kerr, claim 18; wherein said self-installing process modifies a browser application and provides (1) a set of user-selectable buttons that are displayed on a toolbar of said browser application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 4: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination further disclose;
Wherein the result of the electronically examining indicates that the one or more functionalities of the entity are not supported by the user interface; and (See at least Kerr, Col. 5 lines 1-5; If the URL is not found in the User Data, then a new record is created. After the user manually logs into the site (step 324), the plug-in will create a new record in the User Data which includes all the information needed to login to that site (step 326).)
the causing the reconfiguring of the user interface comprises causing the user interface to display a login window containing one or more fields configured to receive user login credentials for accessing a website of the entity. (See at least Kerr, Col. 5 lines 1-5; If the URL is not found in the User Data, then a new record is created. After the user manually logs into the site (step 324), the plug-in will create a new record in the User Data which includes all the information needed to login to that site (step 326).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 6: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination further disclose; causing information associated with the user to automatically populate one or more portions of the reconfigured user interface. (See at least Muchang, [0048] The user may also have an option of whether to autofill 215 the payment display.)
Regarding claim 7: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination further disclose; wherein the interactive component was previously downloaded by the user and installed on the computing device. (See at least Kerr, Col. 4; lines 45-47; this is done by way of an installed browser plug-in. If the plug-in is not present on the user's system, the repository will download and install the plug-in.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 8: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 7. The combination further disclose; wherein the interactive component was previously downloaded by the user from a website of the entity. (See at least Kerr, Col. 4; lines 45-47; this is done by way of an installed browser plug-in. If the plug-in is not present on the user's system, the repository will download and install the plug-in.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 9: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination further disclose; wherein the user interface comprises a web browser, and the entity comprises a payment provider. (See at least Muchang, [0022] At block 105, once the extension area 205 has received an acceptable input action 203, the expedite payment extension 207 (FIG. 2b) may be executed in the web browser 201.)
Regarding claim 10: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 9. The combination further disclose; wherein the web browser is displaying a website of an online merchant when the interactive component is accessed by the user. (See at least Muchang, [0024]; [0043] As mentioned previously, the extension 207 may review the merchant website in the browser 201 and attempt to mimic the look of the merchant website. At block 505, an option may be displayed to a user to auto-fill open fields 215 (FIG. 2c) in the merchant website in the browser 201.)
Regarding claim 11: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 10. The combination further disclose; wherein the interactive component is displayed outside of the website of the online merchant. (See at least Muchang, [0048] In response to an execute action 203 occurring in the extension area 205, in FIG. 2b, the payment extension 207 may be displayed as a pop up area.)
Regarding claim 13: The combination of the Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination further disclose; wherein the interactive component comprises a web browser plugin or a web browser extension. (See at least Muchang, [0019] FIG. 1 may be a flow chart that illustrates one embodiment of the claims which calls for a web browser extension to expedite payments.)
Regarding claim 14: A system, comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions; and
one or more hardware processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to perform operations comprising:
detecting an engagement, made by a user, with respect to an interactive component embedded within a browser that is displaying a site of an online merchant, wherein the interactive component is displayed outside of the site of the online merchant; (See at least Muchang, Fig. 3; [0021] receiving at the processor an execute action to an extension area to start the expedite payment extension; the execute action 203 is a mouse click )
performing an electronic examination, in response to the detecting, of computer code associated with the browser; (See at least Muchang, Fig. 5; [0020]; [0032]; [0042] with web pages or servers using content scripts or cross-origin XMLHttpRequests. If an extension needs to interact with web pages, then it may need a content script. A content script may be some JavaScript that executes in the context of a page that's been loaded into the browser. It may be easier to think of a content script as part of that loaded page, not as part of the extension it was packaged with (its parent extension). Analyze web site commerce fields. At block 503, the text of the web site in the browser 201 may be read and may be compared to known open fields and logical alternatives.)
determining, based on a result of the electronic examination, whether one or more functionalities of an entity associated with the interactive component are natively supported by the site of the online merchant; and (See at least Muchang, [0002]; [0056] the payment and authorization data may be tailored to the specific merchant. By creating an extension 207, sufficient computer instructions can be downloaded into a browser 201 and may be able to work with virtually any online merchant system with no work from the merchant.
Muchang does not explicitly disclose, however Kerr teaches;
causing a first type of content to be displayed via the browser based on determining that the one or more functionalities of the entity are natively supported by the site of the online merchant or a second type of content, different from the first type, to be displayed via the browser based on determining that the one or more functionalities of the entity are not natively supported by the site of the online merchant. (See at least Kerr, Fig. 3; Col. 4 lines 58-67; Col. 5 lines 1-5 Hereafter, whenever the user accesses a new-Uniform. Resource Locator address (URL) (step 316), the plug-in automatically searches for a record in the User Data that corresponds to that URL (step 318). If the URL is found, the plug-in validates the corresponding User Data (step 320) then uses the information in the User Data to automatically login to that URL based on the Log-In data-stored in the User Data (step 322). If an automatic login is unsupported by that particular URL site, the login data from the User Data will be stored into a "clipboard" memory on the user's system for easy access. If the URL is not found in the User Data, then a new record is created. After the user manually logs into the site (step 324), the plug-in will create a new record in the User Data which includes all the information needed to login to that site (step 326).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Muchang and Kerr disclose the system of claim 14. The combination further disclose; wherein the browser displays a visual element representing the entity when the determining indicates that the one or more functionalities of the entity are natively supported by the site of the online merchant; and (See at least Muchang, [0002]; [0056] the payment and authorization data may be tailored to the specific merchant. By creating an extension 207, sufficient computer instructions can be downloaded into a browser 201 and may be able to work with virtually any online merchant system with no work from the merchant.)
a user engagement of the visual element allows the one or more functionalities of the entity to be provided. (See at least Muchang, [0002]; [0056] the payment and authorization data may be tailored to the specific merchant. By creating an extension 207, sufficient computer instructions can be downloaded into a browser 201 and may be able to work with virtually any online merchant system with no work from the merchant.)
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Muchang and Kerr disclose the system of claim 14. The combination further disclose; wherein the browser displays a login window containing one or more fields configured to receive user login credentials for accessing the entity when the determining indicates that the one or more functionalities of the entity are not natively supported by the site of the online merchant. (See at least Kerr, Col. 5 lines 1-5; If the URL is not found in the User Data, then a new record is created. After the user manually logs into the site (step 324), the plug-in will create a new record in the User Data which includes all the information needed to login to that site (step 326).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Muchang and Kerr disclose the system of claim 14. The combination further disclose; wherein the interactive component comprises a web browser plugin or a web browser extension previously installed into the browser. . (See at least Kerr, Col. 4; lines 45-47; this is done by way of an installed browser plug-in. If the plug-in is not present on the user's system, the repository will download and install the plug-in.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muchang and include Kerr’s teachings in order to be able to quickly and easily login to any site the repository. (Kerr, Col. 5 lines 20-26)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchang and Kerr as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20150038115 A1).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination does not explicitly disclose; however Kim teaches: further comprising generating, based on the result of the electronically examining indicating that the one or more functionalities of the entity are not supported by the user interface, a notification to a server of the entity that the one or more functionalities are not supported by the user interface. (See at least Kim, [0010]; transmitting, to the server, a response for notifying the server that the operation is not supported.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Kim’s teachings in order to improve clarity, and supports better overall system reliability and user experience.
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muchang and Kerr as applied to claims 2 and 14 above, and further in view of Richards at al., (US 20150287046 A1).
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Muchang and Kerr disclose the method of claim 2. The combination does not explicitly disclose; however, Richards teaches; wherein the electronically examining comprises performing a Regex matching process. (See at least Richards, [0110-0112], Generally, to automatically navigate the current website, subroutine 400 begins analyzing a given page by using various regular expressions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Richards teachings in order to enhance the search method thereby enhancing the transaction performance and the user shopping experience.
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Muchang and Kerr disclose the system of claim 14. The combination does not explicitly disclose; however, Richards teaches; wherein the electronic examination is performed at least in part by scanning the computer code for terms that match one or more specified terms associated with the entity. (See at least Richards, [0110-0112], Generally, to automatically navigate the current website, subroutine 400 begins analyzing a given page by using various regular expressions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Richards teachings in order to enhance the search method thereby enhancing the transaction performance and the user shopping experience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Howe (US 2015/0052005 A1): Methods for identification by a payment cardholder of phishing and/or deceptive Websites (e.g., merchant Websites and financial institution Websites) are provided. In particular, a method involves initiating a proxy interaction of a payment cardholder computer system executing a browser application with an item of content associated with the merchant Website, and communicating with a payment card network connected to the merchant Website. The proxy interaction is used to determine whether the merchant Website is registered with the payment card network. Howe, Abs.
/K.G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/EDUARDO CASTILHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3698