DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-11 do not use “means for” (or “step for”) language, or generic placeholders for "means” coupled with functional language without recitation of sufficient structure for carrying out the claimed functions and therefore do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.[claims 6 and 8]
Claim 6 recites “wherein the plurality of first connectors is shorter at positions closer to the main substrate in the first direction”.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the plurality of second connectors is shorter at positions closer to the main substrate in the first direction”.
The term “shorter” in claims 6 and 8 is a term of comparison which requires a point of reference, however the claims as written do not particularly define what the plurality of first/second connectors at positions closer to main substrate must be shorter than. Additionally, the term “closer” in claims 6 and 8 is similarly a term of comparison which lacks a particularly defined point of reference. Thus, it is unclear what the sections must be “shorter” than and “closer” to.
For the purposes of applying prior art, claim 6 will be read as requiring “wherein a first one of the plurality of first connectors located at a position closer to the main substrate than a second one of the plurality of first connectors is shorter than the second one of the plurality of first connectors”.
Similarly, for the purposes of applying prior art, claim 8 will be read as requiring “wherein a first one of the plurality of second connectors located at a position closer to the main substrate than a second one of the plurality of second connectors is shorter than the second one of the plurality of second connectors”.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US 2016/0338579 A1) in view of Official Notice.[claim 1]
Regarding claim 1, Amano discloses a imaging unit comprising:
a main substrate (e.g. Figure 10, 501) having a first surface (e.g. Figure 10, 501b) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (e.g. Figure 10, 501a);
a lens module including at least one lens having an optical axis in a first direction and an image sensor mounted on the first surface of the main substrate (Figure 2, 400; Paragraphs 0039, 0041-0042, 0046, 0048); and
a flexible portion connected to the image sensor in the lens module (e.g. Figures 8-10, 507 and 509), the flexible portion including
a first bent portion including bends and extending from the main substrate substantially in the first direction, the first bent portion having a first width in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 10, 507 extends substantially in the optical axis direction (Z) and has a width in both the X and Y directions (i.e. the directions perpendicular to Z, note that the second direction may be defined to be either X or Y)), and
a second bent portion including bends and extending from the main substrate substantially in the first direction, the second bent portion having a second width in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and to the second direction (Figure 10, 509 extends substantially in the optical axis direction (Z) and has a width in both the X and Y directions (i.e. the directions perpendicular to Z, note that the third direction may be defined to be the other of X or Y)),
wherein the first bent portion in the flexible portion includes
a plurality of first spans extending in the third direction and arranged in the first direction (Figures 8-10, 507 includes spans extending in the other of X or Y directions), and
at least one first connector connecting the plurality of first spans adjacent to each other in the first direction (Figures 8-10, 507 includes connectors extending in Z direction), and
the second bent portion in the flexible printed circuit board includes
a plurality of second spans extending in the second direction and arranged in the first direction (Figures 8-10, 509 includes spans extending in the X or Y directions), and
at least one second connector connecting the plurality of second spans adjacent to each other in the first direction (Figures 8-10, 507 includes connectors extending in Z direction).
Amano does not explicitly disclose that the flexible portions are printed circuit board containing wiring.
However, it is noted that the flexible portions of Amano connect the image sensor (501) to image processing circuitry (503). Official Notice is taken that it is well known in the art that flexible printed circuit boards (FPCBs) are commonly used to connect image sensors to processing circuits because FPCBs facilitate compact electronic assemblies and provide electrical connections between components arranged in three dimensions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use FPCBs as the flexible portions of Amano so that electrical connection could be made between the image sensor and image processing components while producing a tightly assembled package.[claim 2]
Regarding claim 2, Amano discloses wherein
the at least one first connector and the at least one second connector extend in the first direction (Figures 8-10; note that connectors 507 and 509 extend in both X and Y directions).[claim 3]
Regarding claim 3, Amano discloses wherein
the plurality of first spans has a same length in the third direction (Figures 8-10; note that the first spans have a consistent width in the A direction; note that depending on how the axes are defined the A direction might be either the X or Y direction and thus under one interpretation could be considered the “third direction” as claimed).[claim 4]
Regarding claim 4, Amano discloses wherein
the plurality of second spans has a same length in the second direction (Figures 8-10; note that the second spans have a consistent width in the A direction; note that the axes may be alternately defined such that the A direction is considered the “second direction” as claimed).
Additionally note that while claims 3 and 4 require defining the axes in different ways, since claims 3 and 4 do not depend on each other no conflict is raised by using a differently defined set of axes for claim 3 as compared to claim 4.[claim 5]
Regarding claim 5, Amano discloses wherein
the at least one first connector includes a plurality of first connectors alternating with one another in the third direction across the plurality of first spans arranged in the first direction (Figure 10; note connectors are arranged on alternating sides).[claim 6]
Regarding claim 6, Amano discloses wherein
the plurality of first connectors is shorter at positions closer to the main substrate in the first direction (Figure 10, note a first one of the first connector in 507 is shorter at a position closer to the 501 than a second one of the first connector located at a position farther away from 501).[claim 7]
Regarding claim 7, Amano discloses wherein
the at least one second connector includes a plurality of second connectors alternating with one another in the second direction across the plurality of second spans arranged in the first direction (Figure 10; note connectors are arranged on alternating sides).[claim 8]
Regarding claim 8, Amano discloses wherein
the plurality of second connectors is shorter at positions closer to the main substrate in the first direction (Figure 10, note a first one of the first connector in 509 is shorter at a position closer to the 501 than a second one of the first connector located at a position farther away from 509).[claim 10]
Regarding claim 10, Amano discloses wherein
the plurality of second spans has middles in the second direction shifted in the second direction from a middle of the main substrate in the second direction (Figures 9 and 10; note middles of the spans do not perfectly align with the middle of the main substrate in the second direction).[claim 11]
Regarding claim 11, Amano discloses wherein
the first bent portion and the second bent portion are within the main substrate when viewed in the first direction (e.g. Figures 9-10; note that the claim as written does not require that the first and second bent portions be entirely within the main substrate when viewed from the first direction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.[claim 9]
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest wherein
the plurality of first spans has middles in the third direction aligned with a middle of the main substrate in the third direction.
While Amano discloses a plurality of spans having a middle, the middle of the spans is not aligned with the middle of the main substrate as required by the claim (see e.g. Figures 8-10 of Amano).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shia et al. US 2025/0170362 A1
Heijne et al. US 2024/0364993 A1
Kim et al. US 2024/0048835 A1
Li et al. US 2023/0336855 A1
Ke et al. US 2023/0048452 A1
Gunji et al. US 2022/0124225 A1
Karavakis et al. US 2020/0296840 A1
Kim et al. US 2019/0132954 A1
Lim et al. US 2019/0097339 A1
Unsai US 2018/0317756 A1
Kajiya et al. US 2014/0102771 A1
Staiger US 2003/0061696 A1
Tanabe et al. EP 0541449 A2
/Timothy J Henn/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639