DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney (US 20220361381 A1) in view of Jaster (US 4047561 A).
As to Claim 1, Sweeney discloses:
An immersion cooling apparatus (immersion cooling system 10) for a circuit board including at least heat-generating section (Par. 0029 “FIG. 1 is a schematic illustration of an embodiment of an immersion cooling system 10 configured to cool electronic components 11, such as computer servers”; servers have circuit board with heat generating section), comprising:
a pressure vessel filled with liquid coolant (tanks 12 and 14; coolant 24 within 12 and 14);
a pump 42 that forcedly flows the liquid coolant 24 (Par. 0034 “the pump 42 may be employed during certain operating conditions to move the liquid coolant 24 through the immersion cooling system 10”); and
a sensor 52 configured to detect pressure and temperature within the pressure vessel 12/14 (Par. 0035 “a sensor 52 may be configured to detect an operating parameter of the immersion cooling system 10, such as a temperature of the liquid coolant 24 at any location in the immersion cooling system 10, a pressure of the liquid coolant 24 at any location in the immersion cooling system 10”),
wherein the pump 42 is controlled to adjust pressure and temperature of the liquid coolant 24 within the pressure vessel 12/14 according to detection data of the sensor 52 so that a state within the pressure vessel 12/14 is suitable for phase change between vaporization and condensation (Par. 0035 “The controller 46 may control a speed of the pump 42 based on feedback from the sensor 52 (e.g., to ensure a constant pre-defined flowrate of the liquid coolant 24 through the immersion cooling system 10). Additionally or alternatively, the controller 46 may control a setting of the heat exchanger 41 based on the sensor feedback received from the sensor 52, such as…an amount of cooling water (or other fluid) supplied to the heat exchanger 41, and the like, such that the heat exchanger 41 extracts a pre-defined amount of heat from the liquid coolant 24”; pump 42 controlled in response to sensor 52 readings, capable of adjusting state of tanks 12/14 for desired settings).
Sweeney does not disclose:
an accumulator that is a vessel configured to temporarily store the liquid coolant within the vessel, wherein the vessel is equipped with a heater inside for temperature adjustment.
wherein the heater in the accumulator is controlled to adjust pressure and temperature of the liquid coolant within the pressure vessel according to detection data of the sensor so that a state within the pressure vessel is suitable for phase change between vaporization and condensation.
However, Jaster discloses:
an accumulator that is a vessel (tank 16; Fig. 1) configured to temporarily store the liquid coolant 23 within the vessel 16 (cooling liquid 23 disposed in tank 16, see Fig. 1), wherein the vessel 16 is equipped with a heater 28 inside for temperature adjustment (col. 4, Lines 25-27 “a resistive heating element 28 is immersed in the liquid 23 or otherwise arranged to heat the accumulated liquid in the pressurizer expansion tank 16”; col. 1, Lines 57-59 “a heating element is provided to raise the temperature of the cooling liquid in the expansion tank”);
wherein the heater 28 in the accumulator 16 is controlled to adjust pressure and temperature of the liquid coolant 23 within the pressure vessel (portion of fluid flowing through 12) according to detection data of the sensor so that a state within the pressure vessel is suitable for phase change between vaporization and condensation (col. 1, Lines 59-62 “A control system utilizes temperature sensors preferably mounted on the condenser to actuate the pressure venting valve or control the heating element”; col. 1-2, Lines 63-38 and 1 “the combined gas separator and pressurizer with a heating element is mounted in a bypass branch of the main cooling duct loop and is elevated and connected between the heat exchanger (cooler) inlet and the pump inlet, to thereby establish favorable higher temperature and low pressure conditions for gas evolution”);
in order to drive gas out of the cooling liquid and decrease bubble production during cooling while providing the desired conditions for gas evolution (col. 4, Lines 30-35; col. 1, Lines 65-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sweeney as further suggested by Jaster e.g., providing:
an accumulator that is a vessel configured to temporarily store the liquid coolant within the vessel, wherein the vessel is equipped with a heater inside for temperature adjustment.
wherein the heater in the accumulator is controlled to adjust pressure and temperature of the liquid coolant within the pressure vessel according to detection data of the sensor so that a state within the pressure vessel is suitable for phase change between vaporization and condensation;
in order to provide the desired conditions or cooling.
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Sweeney in view of Jaster discloses:
wherein the pressure vessel 12/14 comprises a vessel body (wall 40, including sides 40a-40d; Sweeney) and at least one lid 40a which is detachably connected to the vessel body (first side 40a is capable of being detached from sides 40b-40d),
wherein the lid 40a has a coolant outlet 38 and a coolant inlet 44 through which temperature-adjusted liquid coolant 24 flows into the pressure vessel 12/14 (Par. 0033 “the inlet 44 and the outlet 38 are coupled to a common side 40a of the wall 40”),
wherein the sensor 52 is provided at a position between the coolant outlet 38 and the coolant inlet 44 (sensor 52 is disposed between 38 and 44; Sweeney).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Sweeney in view of Jaster discloses:
wherein the lid 40a has a protruding wall 56 on an inner wall of the lid 40a at a position between the coolant outlet 38 and the coolant inlet 44 (Par. 0036 “The liquid coolant 24 may be directed through the inlet 44, coupled to the wall 40 of the second tank 14 (e.g., outer tank), and into a chamber 54 defined in the second tank 14 and/or underneath a plate 56 (or panel) extending across the second tank 14…the plate 56 may separate the chamber 54 from the gap 16 defined between the first tank 12 and the second tank 14”; see Fig. 2, plate 56 extends between inlet 44 and outlet 38, coupled to 40a; Sweeney).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Sweeney in view of Jaster discloses:
wherein the pressure vessel 12/14 can be varied in shape (Par. 0054 “While only certain features and embodiments of the disclosure have been illustrated and described, many modifications and changes may occur to those skilled in the art, such as variations in sizes, dimensions, structures, shapes and proportions of the various elements, values of parameters including temperatures and pressures, mounting arrangements, use of materials, colors, orientations, etc.,”; Sweeney).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to the provide the pressure vessel of cylindrical shape, since it has been held that a change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Sweeney in view of Jaster discloses:
further comprising a driver system (controller 46/control system of Jaster) configured to control the pump 42 and the accumulator (16 of Jaster) to adjust pressure and temperature of the liquid coolant 24 within the pressure vessel 12/14 according to detection data of the sensor 52 so that a state within the pressure vessel 12/14 is suitable for phase change between vaporization and condensation (Par. 0034 “a controller 46 may be employed and configured to control the pump 42 and/or the heat exchanger 41”; Sweeney, controller 46 controls pump 42; col. 1, Lines 59-62 “A control system utilizes temperature sensors preferably mounted on the condenser to actuate the pressure venting valve or control the heating element”; col. 1-2, Lines 63-38 and 1 “the combined gas separator and pressurizer with a heating element is mounted in a bypass branch of the main cooling duct loop and is elevated and connected between the heat exchanger (cooler) inlet and the pump inlet, to thereby establish favorable higher temperature and low pressure conditions for gas evolution”; Jaster control system controls components of tank 16 for desired cooling conditions).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney (US 20220361381 A1) in view of Jaster (US 4047561 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Christiansen (US 10165707 B1).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Sweeney in view of Jaster discloses:
the immersion cooling apparatus according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Sweeney does not disclose:
A space vehicle equipped with the immersion cooling apparatus
However, Christiansen discloses:
A space vehicle equipped with the immersion cooling apparatus (col. 4, Lines 61-63 “a system 100 can be configured for providing immersion cooling in a compact-format circuit card environment”; col. 4, Lines 66-67 and col. 5, Lines 1-2 “the system 100 could be used in any desired use environment, such as, but not limited to, one in which transportation and/or operating space is at a premium (e.g., submarine, spacecraft, remote scientific station, or the like)”);
in order to provide immersion cooling within a spacecraft (col. 5, Lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sweeney in view of Jaster as further suggested by Christiansen e.g., providing:
A space vehicle equipped with the immersion cooling apparatus;
in order to provide immersion cooling within a spacecraft.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841