DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 28 October 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication 2022/0415181 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for controlling travelling of a vehicle platoon, the method comprising: establishing, by a target vehicle of the vehicle platoon, a network connection with a remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 51, Fig. 2; the communication system, the first device and the second device can communicate data and control information to each other; vehicle platoon is controlled by the first device and comprises the vehicles); determining, by the target vehicle, that the target vehicle is to be remotely taken over (Wang: Para. 39-40; vehicles are ready for full or partial autonomous driving; vehicle may determine the driving command based on the received driving information); initiating, by the target vehicle, control of a plurality of statuses of a plurality of vehicles of the vehicle platoon other than the target vehicle (Wang: Para. 40, 117, Fig. 1; vehicle 110 may determine the driving command based on the received driving information and transmit the driving command to the vehicles 120; throttle parameter, brake parameter or steering wheel parameter); transmitting, by the target vehicle, a takeover request to the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 64; the first device may transmit the request to the vehicle to join the vehicle platoon), controlling, by the remote control terminal, the target vehicle to enter a driving state (Wang: Para. 57; if the vehicles are not adjacent, the vehicles will be remotely controlled to be adjacent); and receiving, by the target vehicle, a takeover confirmation message transmitted by the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 64; vehicle may generate the response to the request; vehicle agrees to join the vehicle platoon, the vehicle may generate an acknowledgment), wherein the plurality of vehicles include a leading vehicle (LV) and a following vehicle (FV) of the LV (Wang: Para. 39; vehicle 110 may act as the head vehicle; vehicles 120 may act as the follower vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the target vehicle is the LV, and wherein the initiating the control of the plurality of statuses comprises: transmitting, by the target vehicle, a platoon dismissing message to the FV based on the target vehicle determining the vehicle platoon is to be dismissed (Wang: Para. 70; first device may transmit “remote driving ending” to the vehicles in the vehicle platoon); receiving, by the FV, the platoon dismissing message (Wang: Para. 70; first device may transmit “remote driving ending” to the vehicles in the vehicle platoon); setting, by the FV, a status of the FV to a free state (Wang: Para. 70; first device may release the remote control and the second device may also release the remote control); and traveling, by the FV, out of the vehicle platoon (Wang: Para. 65; if the vehicle is to leave the vehicle platoon; the vehicle may be guided to move to the end of the vehicle platoon or move to another lane different from the lane in which the vehicle platoon is located).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the target vehicle is the FV, and wherein the initiating the control of the plurality of statuses comprises: transmitting, by the target vehicle, a leaving request message to the LV (Wang: Para. 65; if the vehicle is to leave the vehicle platoon, the first device may update the vehicle platoon); receiving, by the target vehicle, a platoon dismissing message transmitted by the LV (Wang: Para. 67; first device may release the remote control; vehicle may take its driving right back); setting, by the target vehicle, a status of the target vehicle to a free state (Wang: Para. 67; the vehicle may take its driving right back); and travelling, by the target vehicle, out of the vehicle platoon (Wang: Para. 65; first device may remotely drive the vehicle to a former planned specific location; vehicle may be guided to move to the end of the vehicle platoon or move to another lane different from the lane in which the vehicle platoon is located).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the target vehicle, status information of the target vehicle to the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 60-61; the second device transmits the second information to the first device; subsection indicating the driving parameters; a time parameter, a location parameter, a speed parameter, a headway parameter); determining, by the remote control terminal, traveling information based on the status information (Wang: Para. 62-63; first device generates the third information based on the second information; third information specific to the vehicle 2302 which is the follower, the third information may indicate the vehicle 2302 to change the speed to 120 km/h and keep the headway to be 1 m); receiving, by the target vehicle, the travelling information transmitted by the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 82; vehicle remote driving controller may transmit the third information to the vehicle); and performing, by the target vehicle, a driving behavior based on the travelling information (Wang: Para. 129; the third information comprises at least one of: an identity of the vehicle, an updated driving speed, an updated headway, a parameter of throttle setting, a parameter of brake setting, or a parameter of steering wheel setting).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches an apparatus for controlling travelling of a vehicle platoon, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store computer program code; and at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code, the program code (Wang: Para. 175; computer program codes or related data may be carried by any suitable carrier to enable the device, apparatus or processor to perform various processes and operations; computer readable medium) comprising: connection code, configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to establish network connection with a remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 51, Fig. 2; the communication system, the first device and the second device can communicate data and control information to each other; vehicle platoon is controlled by the first device and comprises the vehicles); processing code, configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to: determine that a target vehicle of the vehicle platoon is to be remotely taken over (Wang: Para. 39-40; vehicles are ready for full or partial autonomous driving; vehicle may determine the driving command based on the received driving information); and initiate control of a plurality of statuses of a plurality of vehicles of the vehicle platoon other than the target vehicle (Wang: Para. 40, 117, Fig. 1; vehicle 110 may determine the driving command based on the received driving information and transmit the driving command to the vehicles 120; throttle parameter, brake parameter or steering wheel parameter); first transmission code, configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to transmit a takeover request to the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 64; the first device may transmit the request to the vehicle to join the vehicle platoon); and first receiving code, configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to receive a takeover confirmation message transmitted by the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 64; vehicle may generate the response to the request; vehicle agrees to join the vehicle platoon, the vehicle may generate an acknowledgment), wherein the remote control terminal is configured to control the target vehicle to enter a driving state based on the takeover request (Wang: Para. 57; if the vehicles are not adjacent, the vehicles will be remotely controlled to be adjacent), and wherein the plurality of vehicles comprise a leading vehicle (LV) and a following vehicle (FV) of the LV (Wang: Para. 39; vehicle 110 may act as the head vehicle; vehicles 120 may act as the follower vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the target vehicle is the LV, wherein the processing code is further configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to transmit a platoon dismissing message to the FV (Wang: Para. 70; first device may transmit “remote driving ending” to the vehicles in the vehicle platoon), and wherein the FV is configured to set a status of the FV to a free state (Wang: Para. 70; first device may release the remote control and the second device may also release the remote control) and travel out of the vehicle platoon, based on receiving the platoon dismissing message (Wang: Para. 65; if the vehicle is to leave the vehicle platoon; the vehicle may be guided to move to the end of the vehicle platoon or move to another lane different from the lane in which the vehicle platoon is located).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the target vehicle is the FV, wherein the processing code is further configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to: transmit a leaving request message to the LV (Wang: Para. 65; if the vehicle is to leave the vehicle platoon, the first device may update the vehicle platoon), receive a platoon dismissing message transmitted by the LV (Wang: Para. 67; first device may release the remote control; vehicle may take its driving right back); and set a status of the target vehicle to a free state (Wang: Para. 67; the vehicle may take its driving right back), and wherein the target vehicle is configured to travel out of the vehicle platoon based on the status being set to the free state (Wang: Para. 65; first device may remotely drive the vehicle to a former planned specific location; vehicle may be guided to move to the end of the vehicle platoon or move to another lane different from the lane in which the vehicle platoon is located).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the program code further comprises: second transmission code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to transmit status information of the target vehicle to the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 60-61; the second device transmits the second information to the first device; subsection indicating the driving parameters; a time parameter, a location parameter, a speed parameter, a headway parameter); second receiving code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to receive travelling information transmitted by the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 61; the second device transmits the second information to the first device); and performing code configured to cause at least one of the at least one processor to control a driving behavior of the target vehicle based on the travelling information (Wang: Para. 9; third device is further caused to receive, from the first device, third information to be remotely controlled by first device based on the vehicle platoon), and wherein the remote control terminal is configured to determine the travelling information based on the status information (Wang: Para. 62-63; first device generates the third information based on the second information; third information specific to the vehicle 2302 which is the follower, the third information may indicate the vehicle 2302 to change the speed to 120 km/h and keep the headway to be 1 m).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to at least: establish network connection with a remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 51, Fig. 2; the communication system, the first device and the second device can communicate data and control information to each other; vehicle platoon is controlled by the first device and comprises the vehicles); determine that a target vehicle of a vehicle platoon is to be remotely taken over (Wang: Para. 39-40; vehicles are ready for full or partial autonomous driving; vehicle may determine the driving command based on the received driving information); initiate control of a plurality of statuses of a plurality of vehicles of the vehicle platoon other than the target vehicle (Wang: Para. 40, 117, Fig. 1; vehicle 110 may determine the driving command based on the received driving information and transmit the driving command to the vehicles 120; throttle parameter, brake parameter or steering wheel parameter); transmit a takeover request to the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 64; the first device may transmit the request to the vehicle to join the vehicle platoon); and receive a takeover confirmation message transmitted by the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 64; vehicle may generate the response to the request; vehicle agrees to join the vehicle platoon, the vehicle may generate an acknowledgment), wherein the remote control terminal is configured to control the target vehicle to enter a driving state based on the takeover request (Wang: Para. 57; if the vehicles are not adjacent, the vehicles will be remotely controlled to be adjacent), and wherein the plurality of vehicles comprise a leading vehicle (LV) and a following vehicle (FV) of the LV (Wang: Para. 39; vehicle 110 may act as the head vehicle; vehicles 120 may act as the follower vehicle).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, according to claim 9, wherein the target vehicle is the LV, wherein the initiating the control of the plurality of statuses comprises transmitting a platoon dismissing message to the FV (Wang: Para. 70; first device may transmit “remote driving ending” to the vehicles in the vehicle platoon), and wherein the FV is configured to set a status of the FV to a free state (Wang: Para. 70; first device may release the remote control and the second device may also release the remote control) and travel out of the vehicle platoon, based on receiving the platoon dismissing message (Wang: Para. 65; if the vehicle is to leave the vehicle platoon; the vehicle may be guided to move to the end of the vehicle platoon or move to another lane different from the lane in which the vehicle platoon is located).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, according to claim 9, wherein the target vehicle is the FV, wherein the initiating the control of the plurality of statuses comprises: transmitting a leaving request message to the LV (Wang: Para. 65; if the vehicle is to leave the vehicle platoon, the first device may update the vehicle platoon), receiving a platoon dismissing message transmitted by the LV (Wang: Para. 67; first device may release the remote control; vehicle may take its driving right back); and setting a status of the target vehicle to a free state (Wang: Para. 67; the vehicle may take its driving right back), and wherein the target vehicle is configured to travel out of the vehicle platoon based on the status being set to the free state (Wang: Para. 129; the third information comprises at least one of: an identity of the vehicle, an updated driving speed, an updated headway, a parameter of throttle setting, a parameter of brake setting, or a parameter of steering wheel setting).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, according to claim 9, further comprising: transmitting status information of the target vehicle to the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 60-61; the second device transmits the second information to the first device; subsection indicating the driving parameters; a time parameter, a location parameter, a speed parameter, a headway parameter); receiving travelling information transmitted by the remote control terminal (Wang: Para. 61; the second device transmits the second information to the first device); and controlling a driving behavior of the target vehicle based on the travelling information (Wang: Para. 9; third device is further caused to receive, from the first device, third information to be remotely controlled by first device based on the vehicle platoon), wherein the remote control terminal is configured to determine the travelling information based on the status information (Wang: Para. 62-63; first device generates the third information based on the second information; third information specific to the vehicle 2302 which is the follower, the third information may indicate the vehicle 2302 to change the speed to 120 km/h and keep the headway to be 1 m).
Conclusion
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663