Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-12, 14-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 10-12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henderson et al. (2023/0180371) in view of Shinohara et al. (2025/0216514).
Regarding Claim 10, Henderson et al. (2023/0180371) discloses a method for remotely changing light distribution patterns controlling lighting characteristics of an outdoor overhead lighting device having a downward light throw (paragraph [0095]), the lighting device (light fixture) having a freeform lens (106) (paragraph [0260], Fig. 54A, B), configured to accommodate a plurality of light-emitting diodes (LEDs) (“array of LEDs 24 includes multiple LED strings 38) (paragraph [0094] and fig. 2), a processing device (30) (fig. 2), and a transceiver (receive commands from remote device, paragraph [0005]; “receiver and/or transmitter”, paragraph [0233]), power different subsets of the LEDs (power a different LED string, paragraph [0172]) to selectively generate the plurality of discrete light distribution patterns (when the different LED string is powered, the light distribution pattern through the lens is inherently generated), the method comprising:
wirelessly receiving, via the transceiver, a command from an external user device (by mobile remote device 16, fig. 1) to adjust generate a desired light distribution pattern (power a different LED string, paragraph [0172]) selected from the plurality of discrete light distribution patterns (when the different LED string is powered, the light distribution pattern through the lens is inherently generated); and
selectively activating, by the processing device, a specific subset of the LEDs (power different LED string, paragraph [0172]) based on the received command (e.g. through the mobile remote device 16) to achieve the desired light distribution pattern (powering different LED string renders desired light distribution).
As discussed above, Henderson essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose LEDs being positioned under the freeform lens to emit light towards the freeform lens wherein the freeform lens has a geometry which allows for a plurality of discrete light distribution patterns to be generated depending on the positioning of activated LEDs under the freeform lens, the geometry of the freeform lens permitting light.
However, Shinohara et al. (2025/0216514) discloses that a freeform lens (2) has a geometry (fig. 5) which allows for a plurality of discrete light distribution patterns to be generated depending on the positioning of activated LEDs under the freeform lens, the geometry of the freeform lens permitting light (Figs. 5, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a freeform lens of Shinohara in Henderson to transmit light to in order to provide desired light distribution pattern (Fig. 5 of Shinohara) at desired locations as taught by Shinohara
Regarding Claim 11, Henderson discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising:
detecting, by one or more sensors, environmental factors surrounding the lighting device (“measuring ambient light, paragraph [0004]; ambient light sensors, paragraph [0033, “detect modulated light via an ambient light”, paragraph [0120]]); and
wherein the selectively activating the specific subset of the LEDs (power different LED string, paragraph [0172]) includes automatically activating, by the processing device, the subset of the LEDs to achieve the desired light distribution pattern where the desired light distribution pattern is determined by the detected environmental factors (detection of ambient light or occupancy, paragraph [0091]) and predefined algorithms stored in a memory of the lighting device (stored profiles, paragraph [0236]).
Regarding Claim 12, Henderson discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising wirelessly transmitting, via the transceiver, a command (paragraphs [0084], [0088], [0089], fig. 1)to a second outdoor overhead lighting device (the term “lighting fixtures” is a plural form, paragraph [0084], fig. 1) to adjust a light distribution pattern (power a different LED string, paragraph [0172]) of the second outdoor overhead lighting device (when the different LED string is powered, the light distribution pattern through the lens is inherently generated).
Regarding Claim 14, as discussed above, Henderson essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the command from the external user device is sent using a smartphone app.
However, Henderson discloses mobile remote device (16) to send command to control the light (fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a smartphone app in the mobile remote device in Henderson in order to obtain the convenience of controlling the light.
Regarding Claim 15, Henderson discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising storing multiple lighting profiles (stored profiles, paragraph [0236]) in a memory of the lighting device (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Henderson discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising using machine learning (machine learning) to predict future lighting needs based on sensor data (sensor inputs) (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, Henderson discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate using radio frequency technology (radio frequency, known RF ranging technique, paragraph [0123]).
Regarding Claim 18, Henderson discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the detected environmental factors include daylight (“measuring ambient light, paragraph [0004]; ambient light sensors, paragraph [0033], “detect modulated light via an ambient light”, paragraph [0120]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845