DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “among the transistors” and “each of the transistors” should read “among the plurality of transistors” and “each of the plurality of transistors” to provide proper antecedent basis with “a plurality of transistors”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2025/0232722) in view of Feng (US 2024/0306442). All reference is to Jiang unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Jiang teaches a display device comprising:
a scan line [construed as control signal lines (fig. 4 @81-85)] extending in a first direction [fig. 4 @Horizontal], wherein the scan line [fig. 4 @81-83] includes
a write [¶0080, “a data writing transistor T4”] scan line [fig. 4 @81],
a compensation [¶0080, “a compensation transistor T2”] scan line [fig. 4 @82] and a bias [¶0099, “node N3 are reset to a high voltage by the third reset transistor T8, which is equivalent to adding a negative bias voltage”] scan line [fig. 4 @84];
a data [fig. 2 @Data] line [fig. 14 @91] extending in a second direction [fig. 14 @vertical] crossing the first direction [fig. 4 @Horizontal]; and
a pixel connected to the scan line and the data line [¶0037, “FIG. 2 shows an equivalent circuit diagram of a pixel driving circuit of a display substrate”], wherein
a bias voltage [¶0099, ““the node N3 are reset to a high voltage by the third reset transistor T8, which is equivalent to adding a negative bias voltage to the gate-source electrode of the driving transistor T3”] is applied to the pixel in response to a bias scan signal applied thereto through the bias scan line [fig. 4 @84]
Jiang does not teach the bias scan line includes a plurality of sub-bias scan lines spaced apart from each other in the first direction; and a connecting line connected to the sub-bias scan lines
Feng teaches a bias scan line [fig. 5 @42] includes
a plurality of sub-bias scan lines [fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2] spaced apart from each other in the first direction [fig. 9b @X];
and a connecting line [fig. 11b @92] connected to the sub-bias scan lines [fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing display scan signal lines comprising unequal widths and through holes, as taught by Feng, into the display device taught by Jiang, in order to reduce parasitic capacitances between the second scan signal line 42, and the first power supply line, the data signal line, and the compensation signal line (Feng: ¶0158).
Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein
the connecting line [Feng: fig. 11b @92] is disposed in a layer different [Feng: fig. 9b is 2nd conductive layer and 11b is 3rd conductive layer] from a layer in which the sub-bias scan lines [feng: fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2] are disposed.
Regarding Claim 3 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 2, wherein
the connecting line [Feng: fig. 11b @92 ] is disposed above [Feng: fig. 9b is 2nd conductive layer and 11b is 3rd conductive layer] the sub-bias scan lines [Feng: fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2].
Regarding Claim 4 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein the pixel [fig. 1 @PX] includes:
a first pixel circuit [fig. fig. 1 @SP1],
a second pixel circuit [fig. 1 @SP2], and
a third pixel circuit [fig. 1 @SP3], which are arranged in the first direction [fig. 1 @Horizontal]; and
light emitting elements [fig. 4 @OLED, ¶0072] connected to the first, second, and third pixel circuits [fig. 5 @P1-P3], respectively [¶0005, “a plurality of pixel driving circuits provided on the base substrate, the plurality of pixel driving circuits are arranged in the first direction and the second direction, the plurality of pixel driving circuits are configured to drive the light emitting elements of the plurality of sub-pixels respectively”, ¶0037, “FIG. 2 shows an equivalent circuit diagram of a pixel driving circuit”].
Regarding Claim 7 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein
the data line is provided in plural [Feng: fig. 5 @70],
the pixel is provided in plural [Feng: fig. 5 @P1-P4],
the connecting line is provided in plural [Feng: fig. 5 illustrates single connector 92 that fig 2 teaches repeats a plurality of times], and
the sub-bias scan lines include three or more sub-bias scan lines [Feng: fig. 5 illustrates two sub scan lines 42 that fig 2 teaches repeats a plurality of times], and wherein
a plurality of pixels [Feng: fig. 5 @P1-P4], a plurality of connecting lines [Feng: fig. 5 @92], and the three or more sub-bias scan lines [Feng: fig. 5 @42 left of 92] are arranged in the first direction [Feng: fig. 5 @X].
Regarding Claim 11 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein the pixel includes:
a plurality of transistors [Feng: fig. 4 @T1-T3] connected to the data line [Feng: fig. 4 @D], the write scan line [Feng: fig. 4 @S1], and the bias scan line [fig. 2 @PReset]; and
a light emitting element [fig. 2 @130] connected to a corresponding transistor [fig. 2 @T4 via T3 and T6] among the transistors, wherein
each of the transistors [fig. 2 @T4 and T8] includes: a semiconductor layer [fig. 6 @T4 and T8] including a source area, a channel area, and a drain area [fig. 50 illustrates claimed structure for T2 which is construed as representative of T4 and T8]; and
a gate electrode [fig. 50 @822] disposed over the semiconductor layer [fig. 50 @22], and wherein
the sub-bias scan lines [Feng: fig. 9b @42] are disposed in a same layer [Feng: fig. 9b illustrates the second conductive layer] as the gate electrode.
Regarding Claim 12 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 11, wherein
the connecting line [Feng: fig. 11b @92] is disposed above [Feng: fig. 11b is 3rd conductive layer, fig. 9b is 2nd conductive layer] the gate electrode [Feng: fig. 9b @41-1].
Regarding Claim 18 (Currently Amended), Jiang teaches a display device comprising:
a scan line [construed as control signal lines (fig. 4 @81-85)] extending in a first direction [fig. 4 @Horizontal], wherein the scan line [fig. 4 @81-83] includes
a write [¶0080, “a data writing transistor T4”] scan line [fig. 4 @81],
a compensation [¶0080, “a compensation transistor T2”] scan line [fig. 4 @82] and a bias [¶0099, “node N3 are reset to a high voltage by the third reset transistor T8, which is equivalent to adding a negative bias voltage”] scan line [fig. 4 @84];
a plurality of data lines [fig. 14 @91, ¶0080, “a data line 91 (corresponding to a data signal Data in FIG. 2)”], extending in a second direction [fig. 14 @vertical] crossing the first direction [fig. 4 @Horizontal]; and
a plurality of pixels [¶0005, “a plurality of sub-pixels provided on the base substrate … the plurality of sub-pixels are arranged in a first direction”] arranged in the first direction and connected to the scan line and the data lines [¶0037, “FIG. 2 shows an equivalent circuit diagram of a pixel driving circuit of a display substrate”],
wherein a bias voltage [¶0099, ““the node N3 are reset to a high voltage by the third reset transistor T8, which is equivalent to adding a negative bias voltage to the gate-source electrode of the driving transistor T3”], is applied to the pixel in response to a bias scan signal applied thereto through the bias scan line [fig. 4 @84]
Jiang does not teach the bias scan line includes a plurality of sub-bias scan lines spaced apart from each other in the first direction; and a connecting line connected to the sub-bias scan lines
Feng teaches a bias scan line [fig. 5 @42] includes:
a plurality of sub-bias scan lines [fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2] spaced apart from each other [construed as first sub-bias scan line is separated from the next first sub-bias scan line] for at least one pixel [fig. 5 illustrates first sub-bias scan line (fig. 5 left of K2) spaced by P3 and P4 (two pixels) from the next first sub-bias scan line]; and
a plurality [fig. 5 @P1-P5 repeats as illustrated in fig. 2] of connecting lines [fig. 11b @92] connected to the sub-bias scan lines
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing display scan signal lines comprising unequal widths and through holes, as taught by Feng, into the display device taught by Jiang, in order to reduce parasitic capacitances between the second scan signal line 42, and the first power supply line, the data signal line, and the compensation signal line (Feng: ¶0158).
Regarding Claim 19 (Original), Jiang in view of Feng teaches the display device of Claim 18, wherein
the connecting lines [Feng: fig. 11b @92] are disposed above [Feng: fig. 9b is 2nd conductive layer and 11b is 3rd conductive layer] the sub-bias scan lines [Feng: fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2] and connected to the sub-bias scan lines [Feng: abstract].
Regarding Claim 20 (Currently Amended), Jiang teaches an electronic device comprising:
a scan line [construed as control signal lines (fig. 4 @81-85)] extending in a first direction [fig. 4 @Horizontal], wherein
the scan line [fig. 4 @81-83] includes
a write [¶0080, “a data writing transistor T4”] scan line [fig. 4 @81],
a compensation [¶0080, “a compensation transistor T2”] scan line [fig. 4 @82]
and a bias [¶0099, “node N3 are reset to a high voltage by the third reset transistor T8, which is equivalent to adding a negative bias voltage”] scan line [fig. 4 @84];
a data [fig. 2 @Data] line [fig. 14 @91] extending in a second direction [fig. 14 @vertical] crossing the first direction [fig. 4 @Horizontal]; and
a pixel connected to the scan line and the data line [¶0037, “FIG. 2 shows an equivalent circuit diagram of a pixel driving circuit of a display substrate”], wherein
a bias voltage [¶0099, ““the node N3 are reset to a high voltage by the third reset transistor T8, which is equivalent to adding a negative bias voltage to the gate-source electrode of the driving transistor T3”] is applied to the pixel in response to a bias scan signal applied thereto through the bias scan line [fig. 4 @84]; and
the pixel includes: a plurality of transistors [fig. 2 @T8 and T3] connected to the bias scan line [fig. 2 @Preset]
Jiang does not teach two sub-bias scan lines spaced apart from each other in the first direction; and a connecting line connected to the two sub-bias scan lines, wherein the pixel includes: a plurality of transistors connected to the data line, the write scan line; and a light emitting element connected to a corresponding transistor among the transistors, and wherein the two sub-bias scan lines are disposed in a same layer as gate electrodes of the transistors, and the connecting line is disposed above the gate electrodes
Feng teaches two sub-bias scan lines [fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2] spaced apart from each other in the first direction [fig. 9b @Horizontal]; and
a connecting line [fig. 11b @92] connected to the two sub-bias scan lines [fig. 9b @portion of 42 left of K2 and portion of 42 right of K2], wherein a pixel includes:
a plurality of transistors [fig. 4 @T1 and T2] connected to the data line [fig. 4 @D], the write scan line [fig. 4 @S1]; and
a light emitting element [fig. 4 @OLED] connected to a corresponding transistor [fig. 4 @T2] among the transistors, and wherein
the two sub-bias scan lines [fig. 18 @portion of 42 left of K2 and 42 right of K2] are disposed in a same layer [fig. 18 illustrates each of transistor gates formed in the second conductive layer illustrated in fig. 18] as gate electrodes of the transistors [¶0155, T1 gate is fig. 18 @41-1, T2 gate is fig. 18 @41, fig. 18 illustrates second conductive layer], and
the connecting line [fig. 11b @92] is disposed above the gate electrodes [fig. 11b illustrates third conductive layer which is above the second conductive layer]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing display scan signal lines comprising unequal widths and through holes and on the same conductive layer as their respective transistor gate electrode, as taught by Feng, into the display device taught by Jiang, in order to reduce parasitic capacitances between the second scan signal line 42, and the first power supply line, the data signal line, and the compensation signal line and simplify connecting the scan lines with their corresponding gate electrodes (Feng: ¶0158).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-10, and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Patrick Edouard can be reached at 571-272-7603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Douglas Wilson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622