DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Oversluizen et al. (US 8,243,230), of record by Applicant.
Regarding independent claim 1, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches in figures 2, 6, and 14D, and the corresponding text, a display structure (100), comprising: a display layer (104); a reflective polarizing layer disposed at a side of the display layer (106); a dispersed liquid crystal layer (102) disposed at a side of the reflective polarizing layer away from the display layer; and a pattern layer (1415, one side of plate 1410) disposed at a side of the dispersed liquid crystal layer away from the reflective polarizing layer.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the limitation of the pattern layer (1410) comprises a screen-printing layer or an inkjet coating layer appears to be a product by process limitation and has not been afforded patentable weight because it appears to be directed to how the layer is made and not the final product.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches the pattern layer comprises a plurality of pattern units (1415, but see description of part 1315 of figure 13c) arranged at intervals.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches the pattern units has an inclination angle relative to a boundary of the dispersed liquid crystal layer, and the inclination angle is between 0 degrees and 90 degrees (angle appears to be zero).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches a transmittance of the pattern layer is between 50% and 100% (when the entire disguising device 1404 is transparent).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches a complementary pattern layer (1415, opposite side of part 1410) disposed between the reflective polarizing layer and the display layer.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches a pattern of the complementary pattern layer corresponds to a pattern of the pattern layer, and a color of the complementary pattern layer is complementary to a color of the pattern layer (throughout the text, color and RGB light sources are disclosed).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches the use of Dual Brightness Enhancement Films (DBEF) (column 3, lines 36-38.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches the dispersed liquid crystal layer is configured to receive an external voltage, the dispersed liquid crystal layer is in a scattering state without receiving the external voltage, and the dispersed liquid crystal layer is in a transparent state when receiving the external voltage (see description of figure 6).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Oversluizen et al. (‘230) teaches the dispersed liquid crystal layer comprises liquid crystal molecules, when the dispersed liquid crystal layer is in the scattering state, the liquid crystal molecules in the dispersed liquid crystal layer are irregularly arranged (see description of figure 6).
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Koichi Hoshino (JP2009008710A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Koichi (‘710) teaches in figures 1-2, and the corresponding text, a display structure (no number), comprising: a display layer (11a); a reflective polarizing layer disposed at a side of the display layer (12); a dispersed liquid crystal layer (11b) disposed at a side of the reflective polarizing layer away from the display layer; and a pattern layer (14) disposed at a side of the dispersed liquid crystal layer away from the reflective polarizing layer.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the limitation of the pattern layer (14) comprises a screen-printing layer or an inkjet coating layer appears to be a product by process limitation and has not been afforded patentable weight because it appears to be directed to how the layer is made and not the final product.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Koichi (‘710) teaches the pattern layer comprises a plurality of pattern units (17) arranged at intervals (see abstract, i.e., logos, characters, patterns, etc.).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Koichi (‘710) teaches the pattern units has an inclination angle relative to a boundary of the dispersed liquid crystal layer, and the inclination angle is between 0 degrees and 90 degrees (angle appears to be zero).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Koichi (‘710) teaches a reflective brightness enhancement film (DBEF films).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Koichi (‘710) teaches the dispersed liquid crystal layer is configured to receive an external voltage, the dispersed liquid crystal layer is in a scattering state without receiving the external voltage, and the dispersed liquid crystal layer is in a transparent (read transmissive state) state when receiving the external voltage (see at least the abstract).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Koichi (‘710) teaches the dispersed liquid crystal layer comprises liquid crystal molecules, when the dispersed liquid crystal layer is in the scattering state, the liquid crystal molecules in the dispersed liquid crystal layer are irregularly arranged (see at least the abstract).
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875