DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449. The information disclosed therein was considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims (1, 9, 15) direct (see last clause) that the base bitline voltage and the adjusted bitline voltage that is based on the voltage adjustment value are both used to perform the read operation.
However, the disclosure directs only that the read operation is performed using the adjusted bit line voltage (see paragraph 0041 for example). Remaining claims share this deficiency by virtue of their dependencies.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As noted above, in view of the full disclosure, one of ordinary would be unaware of when they were infringing the claims.
Remaining claims share this deficiency by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Achtenburg (US 2017/0345510).
Regarding claims 1, 9, inasumach as understood Achtenburg discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a processing device (see Figure 1, controller), a read request (160) with respect to a set of memory cells of a memory device; identifying, using a voltage adjustment data structure, a voltage adjustment value based on operational characteristics of the memory device (see paragraph 0044); identifying a base bitline voltage (see pagraph 0060, “default value”) associated with the set of memory cells; and performing, using the base bitline voltage and an adjusted bitline voltage (total bit line voltage) based on the voltage adjustment value (offset), a read operation with respect to the set of memory cells.
Regarding claims 2, 10, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein operational characteristics comprise at least one of: a current operating temperature of the memory device, or a cross-temperature derived from the programming temperature and the current operating temperature (see paragraph 0134).
Regarding claim 4, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the programing temperature is determined using a metadata record associated with the set of memory cells (see paragraph 0042).
Regarding claims 8, 14, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the set of memory cells is provided by one of: a page or a block of the memory device (see paragraph 0037 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achtenburg (US 2017/0345510).
Claim 15 recites the same features as claim 1 above but implemented as a CRM not taught by Achtenburg. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to implement the features of claim 1 as a CRM in order to distribute the device for use, sale or manufacturing.
Claims 16 and 20 recite substantially the same features as claims 2 and 8 above and are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 3, 5-7, 11-13 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achtenburg (US 2017/0345510 in view of Yun (US 2014/0321209).
Regarding claim 3, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 2, but fails to teach the value is a of the media endurance metric. However, Yun teaches the modification of BL voltages based on a media endurance metric (P/E count, see Figure 10 s220 for example).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing provide for read voltage modification due at least in part due to an endurance metric to account for threshold shift due to increased P/E count.
Regarding claim 5, 11 and 17, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each voltage adjustment value of voltage adjustment data structure is generated using a respective data set reflecting values of a media endurance metric of the set of memory cells and a cross-temperature of the set of memory cells (as combined, Yun teaches implementing the P/E as an adjustment basis and Achtenburg teaches the cross-temp aspect—it would have been obvious to include both these aspect to offset both the effect on read).
Regarding claim 6, 12 and 18, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the adjusted bitline voltage is produced by applying the voltage adjustment value to a source-side voltage applied to a source-side of a bitline associated with the set of memory cells (see Figure 3 of Yun, either end of BL can be considered source side).
Regarding claim 7, 13 and 19, Achtenburg discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the adjusted bitline voltage is produced by applying the voltage adjustment value to a drain-side voltage applied to a drain-side of a bitline associated with the set of memory cells (see Figure 3 of Yun, either end of BL can be considered source side). .
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824