DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 9-16) in the reply filed on 8/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gatten (US 2014/0319402) in view of Starzmann (US 2025/0207678).
Regarding claim 9, Gatten teaches a pilot operated shuttle valve (10, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0014]) comprising:
a shuttle pathway (15, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0013]);
a shuttle that translates within the shuttle pathway (19, Fig. 1A, paragraph [0013]); and
at least one spring which adjusts in shape based on at least one of pressure, temperature, or force applied to the spring by a fluid flowing to the pilot operated shuttle valve via an input (see at least paragraph [0014] which notes force);
wherein the adjustment in shape of the SMA spring causes at least one of:
a first output to adjust from an open position to a closed position (see Figs. 1A, 2A which show the open and closed position), or
a first output to adjust from a closed position to an open position (the limitation is not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative).
Gatten does not teach a shape memory alloy (SMA) spring. Starzmann teaches a valve which features an actuating device which uses a shape memory alloy (Starzmann, paragraph [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Gatten with an actuating device which uses shape memory alloy, as taught by Starzmann, in order to achieve actuation without electrical control steps (Starzmann, paragraph [0027]).
Gatten as modified does not specifically note a plurality of inputs and outputs. Nishimura teaches a control valve (Nishimura, Title) with a shuttle valve (Nishimura, 28, col. 6, lines 28-35) which connects a plurality of inputs (Nishimura, 25, 25’, Fig. 1, col. 6, lines 28-35) and a plurality of outputs (Nishimura, 31, 31, Fig. 1, col. 6, lines 28-35). It would have been obvious to one of orindary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Gatten as modified with a plurality of inputs and outputs, as taught by Nishimura, in order to increase fluid flow through the valve which thereby increases the rate of heat transfer in the valve.
Regarding claim 10, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 9, wherein when at least one of the plurality of outputs is open, fluid from the plurality of inputs flows out the at least one of the plurality of outputs (Gatten, paragraph [0015]-[0017], [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 9, wherein adjustment in shape of the SMA spring causes the shuttle to translate within the shuttle pathway, and wherein the adjustment in shape of the SMA spring is at least one of extension or compression (Gatten, see Figs. 1A, 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 11, wherein the shuttle translates from a first position to a second position within the shuttle pathway (Gatten, see Figs. 1A, 2A).
Regarding claim 13, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 12, further comprising a tension spring biasing the shuttle valve to a first position (Gatten, 6, paragraph [0014]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gatten in view of Starzmann, further in view of Eminger (US 5,727,595).
Regarding claim 14, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 9, but does not specifically teach that the shuttle valve is attached to an actuation assembly, and wherein the shuttle valve rotates a rotation portion of the actuation assembly.
Eminger teaches a valve system which features a rotation member to change the position of the valve between a first and second position (Eminger, col. 6, lines 12-28) wherein the changing of positions through the rotation adjusts the open/close position of a plurality of outlets (Eminger, col. 6, lines 27-45, see outlet ports 22, 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Gatten as modified with the shuttle valve rotating a rotation portion of the actuation assembly, as taught by Eminger, as it would be obvious to try to one of ordinary skill to use a known actuation method to change position within the valve.
Regarding claim 15, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 9, wherein when the shuttle valve is in a first position, a first output of the plurality of outputs is open, and a second output of the plurality of outputs is closed (Eminger. col. 6, lines 27-45, see outlet ports 22, 24, see motivation to combine in the rejection of claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, Gatten as modified teaches the pilot operated shuttle valve of claim 9, wherein when the shuttle valve is in a second position, a first output of the plurality of outputs is closed, and a second output of the plurality of outputs is open (Eminger. col. 6, lines 27-45, see outlet ports 22, 24, see motivation to combine in the rejection of claim 14).
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763